You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Bin changeover a 'shambles' - Dublin Lord Mayor

Andrew Montague said that there had not been enough time given to the changeover.

Updated 13.15

DUBLIN CITY’S LORD Mayor has criticised the changeover to a new privatised bin service collection for the city calling it a ‘shambles’.

Andrew Montague said that the service had been “very poor” and blamed new provider Greyhound and Dublin City Council for not giving enough time for the preparation of the changeover.

The Mayor’s comments came a day after bin collection company Greyhound said that 18,000 customers face not having their rubbish collected this week unless they pay the upfront fee.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny, commenting on the situation in the Dail this morning, said that “common sense” should apply.

He urged Dublin City Council and Greyhound to “sit down and sort it out”.

On the €100 upfront charge, the Taoiseach told the Dáil: “In these times of economic challenge, there are people who can’t put up €100 like that, and I would have expected that the company would be flexible in this matter”.

Andrew Montague said that the 140,000 residents had not been given notice of the switchover until after it happened and that some bins haven’t been collected when they should have been

“Nobody could call what’s happened over the past month a first class job,” the Mayor said on RTE Radio One’s Morning Ireland programme this morning. “It has been a shambles”.

The Labour councillor said that more than 40 of Dublin City Council’s 52 councillors had been against the privatisation of the service and it had been “very unusual” for the City Manager to go against the will of the councillors so dramatically.

He called for an extension for another month of the free bin collection service.

Dublin city councillors held an emergency meeting at the end of January to discuss concerns over the changeover to private waste companies.

Greyhound took over waste collection services in Dublin city in January after it won the contract from Dublin City Council. The council had been responsible for collecting rubbish for over 100 years.

Greyhound warns 18,000 customers that bins will not be collected >

Data chiefs launch twin investigations into Greyhound bins transfer >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute Niall Dorr
    Favourite Niall Dorr
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:02 AM

If the councillors have no power, what’s the point of having them?

Mute Yvonne Byrne
    Favourite Yvonne Byrne
    Feb 15th 2012, 11:18 AM

You are so right N we pay our councillors 14;5 K pa + expenses. Some of these people can rack about 45 or 50 K a year!

Mute Idont Care
    Favourite Idont Care
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:15 AM

Why should Dublin have free bin collection when here in my home town we pay for this service and have done so for a number of years and it’s a lot more than €100 euro. So if they don’t want to pay let them rot in their own filth.

Mute Michael Feehan
    Favourite Michael Feehan
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:19 AM

It’s grand, we’ll just leave rubbish all over the place in your country’s capital city, I doubt the tourists will mind.

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:23 AM

I completely agree! Dublin has this impression that everyone must pay for their problems even though they are of their own making! Metro north was another one! I drive to airport and dont want to spend 400 million on a link to the airport! It’s your own doing so literally clean up your own!!

Mute Ballyer Rules
    Favourite Ballyer Rules
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:19 AM

Idont care is about right. You haven’t a clue have you. Dubliners paid Dublin city council to collect the rubbish before they transferred the ‘service’ to greyhound.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:27 AM

You have completely missed the point just so you could have ur anti dublin rant…..we pay bin charges. I reccommend you read the article this time.

Mute Ronan Lyons
    Favourite Ronan Lyons
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:30 AM

@Idont Care
    The issue is not about people not wanting to pay for a service, the issue is a lack of a service. I haven’t had my rubbish collected this year yet, six weeks in. And I’ve paid with my bin tags and am happy to pay for a service. I’m one of the lucky ones, if you can call it that – in that I’ve a garden where I can store my rubbish (/attract a menagerie of local animals every night) until Greyhound decide to actually collect it – but no waste collected since Christmas is a joke.

I haven’t once been contacted by Greyhound about formalities of changing over or even what their new collection schedule is. It was, according to their website, supposed to be collected this morning but sure enough, another Wednesday has passed by and the rubbish that I’ve paid to be collected builds up.

Your anti-Dublin tribalism is charming but unfortunately completely misplaced.

Mute Sarah Heaton
    Favourite Sarah Heaton
    Feb 15th 2012, 11:00 AM

We’re not looking for free collection, you muppet; we’ve been paying DCC bin charges for years. It’s the complete lack of service, or communication or information about said service, that’s the problem. We have not been sent the Information Packs and Payment Cards we were supposed to get so we CAN’T f***ing pay, that’s why we haven’t! Get over your anti-Dublin, “bloody Jackeens” bias and actually inform yourself of what’s going on before you start bitching.

Mute Owen Perry
    Favourite Owen Perry
    Feb 15th 2012, 1:10 PM

Muppet @ I don’t care. We’ve been paying 8 euro per collection for years.

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:19 AM

Well if they cannot sort it out now they will have a huge problem and very quickly the invasion will cost a huge sum to sort….. RATS RATS AND MORE RATS
    Disgraceful way to conduct business

Mute Leah
    Favourite Leah
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:35 AM

Yup. New York decreased bin collections as a budget decision and the rats are massive problem! Piles of rubbish bags sitting out for a few days, rats hiding in the middle!

Mute Chris Ld
    Favourite Chris Ld
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:17 AM

I blame Thatcher, down with privatisation

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:30 AM

Absolutely. The cow ;)

Mute adam dickson
    Favourite adam dickson
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:20 AM

The issue is not the charge, but people not being informed of the change over process. Myself and most people in my area have received no information from greyhound or Dublin city council. Only a few have received a request for payment and every week since the changeover about half the tagged bags are being left on the street. Greyhound are clearly not doing what they say they are, and yet want payment up front. Not good enough.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:34 AM

People just like to vent their anti dublin bile every now and again. Makes them feel better having something to give out about. While they completely ignore the real issue which its exactly a you say….the way the changeover was handled not the cost.

Mute vickey curtis
    Favourite vickey curtis
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:29 AM

I am actually sick of contacting both Greyhound and DCC about this issue. I have not recieved any response from Greyhound about as to why there are bins being left on my street for over 3 weeks now. I have sent 3 emails and rang on numerous occasions only to be told that someone will contact me, Im still waiting. I just rang DCC to make a complaint about the state of the streets, they now have to send a litter warden out to clean up the mess that Greyhound have left behind. The city is turning into a landfill.

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:48 AM

Yes the changeover should have been done more carefully and planned.Until that was sorted they should have left things as they are.There must be some red faces in the council.

Mute Sarah Heaton
    Favourite Sarah Heaton
    Feb 15th 2012, 11:12 AM

We’re not refusing to pay, we CAN’T pay – they haven’t sent us our payment cards!

Mute Pat Kirwan
    Favourite Pat Kirwan
    Feb 15th 2012, 11:39 AM

Proposed phone call to be made:

‘hello greyhound here is my bin account number and my credit/debit card number. I’d like to pay the service charge please. ‘

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Feb 15th 2012, 12:52 PM

Put bin tags on your rubbish and dump it outside the DCC the Dàil or Greyhounds main office. You have paid your charges now let them sort it out if they want.

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlainn
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlainn
    Feb 15th 2012, 2:09 PM

Love it…..! Lol

Mute Sarah Heaton
    Favourite Sarah Heaton
    Feb 15th 2012, 2:20 PM

Very tempting, trust me.

Mute Gemma Delaney
    Favourite Gemma Delaney
    Feb 15th 2012, 11:36 AM

Sure just pay the service charge if you want them collected lads….I’m joking, I’m joking! ;) The whole situation is God awful but I’ve nearly wet myself laughing reading through the comments (particularly those who have clearly missed the point!)

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:32 AM

Its a loadbof rubbish really

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Feb 15th 2012, 11:31 AM

Of course it’s a shambles. If FG get their way and privatise everything else that will be a shambles too. Don’t allow them sell everything from under us.

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:25 AM

It’s only free for recycling the cost of bin tags are 3.50 each it used to be free for elderly people. The cost of 1 bag of rubbish per week per year 182 euro. This is for houses that don’t have the room for wheelie bins, which are the ones that are not paying the 50 euro sign up charge.

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Feb 15th 2012, 9:39 AM

Outside Dublin we pay 30 euro a month for one bin on alternate weeks which means about 2/3 big bags in a two week period. Stop moaning about it and pay the piper!!

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:29 AM

Move to dublin….cheaper bin charges. Id hate to have to party that much. Bummer.

Mute Deke Diggler LLM,AO
    Favourite Deke Diggler LLM,AO
    Feb 15th 2012, 1:20 PM

Moaning about bin charges in Dublin, is like moaning about a fiver for your septic tank down the country…build a bridge and get over it.

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Feb 15th 2012, 4:54 PM

Don’t have septic tank by the way! Dcc just stated that they had to sell the garbage collection as they ran debt up to 6 million as people wouldnt pay!

Mute Pat Kirwan
    Favourite Pat Kirwan
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:19 AM

Once again the Dubs are giving out about paying for their bins. They were at it about 5yrs ago and they’re at again now. At the moment I’m paying nearly €300 for bin collection, they’re still getting it cheaper than a lot of people in the country.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:31 AM

Surely thats the pot and the kettle….you are giving out about bin charges…

Mute Sean Claffey
    Favourite Sean Claffey
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:42 AM

What is with the boggers thinking we don’t pay for rubbish collection? That wasn’t even the point of the article in the first place.

Mute Sarah Heaton
    Favourite Sarah Heaton
    Feb 15th 2012, 11:04 AM

Once again, read the bloody article, and comments from Dubliners and the like of Ronan Lyons above – we don’t have a problem paying, but we can’t pay because they haven’t given us our payment cards!! Nor bothered to collect our rubbish in several weeks.

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Feb 15th 2012, 4:56 PM

U never paid before either 6 million debt was ran up and that came from the Dublin mayor!

Mute Sean Claffey
    Favourite Sean Claffey
    Feb 15th 2012, 5:08 PM

We never paid before? How did you come to that conclusion?

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:33 AM

Load of rubbish lol,typo…

Mute Garreth OMahony
    Favourite Garreth OMahony
    Feb 15th 2012, 11:00 AM

If the cost is not the issue then pay the €100 the rubbish is not being collected because the service charge has not been paid.

Is this service charge new? Most other providers including county councils have a service charge and collect the recycle bin for this charge “free”

Saying this the changeover has been a shambles. Kildare coco recently changed their provider and it went smoothly rubbish is collected on the same day. Same bins are used and the new provider AES has put their stickers on them. Also those with a waiver have that for the next two years

Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    Feb 15th 2012, 1:31 PM

can someone explain who exactly it is that the Lord Mayor is criticising here?? if he’s the Lord Mayor does he not have a role??
    sick and tired of these people in roles of responsibility turning around and announcing that something is unacceptable!! we’re the ones saying that! you’re the one who’s supposed to fix it!

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Feb 15th 2012, 5:00 PM

Its actually laughable! 6 million debt was rung up by people in Dublin not paying the council so it seems ye dubs do have a problem paying! Ye expect everything to be handed to ye on a plate cause your the capita. I don’t care if it’s the capital I don’t live there! People in dingle don’t have rubbish charges paid for them because tourists visit the town! Pay up!!

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 15th 2012, 6:55 PM

Ahahahaha ur hilarious. get back under ur bridge.

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:21 PM

Thanks Niamh :) at least my bridge won’t have a rat infestation near it!!!

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 15th 2012, 10:31 PM

Ha ha, just a tourist fungi infestation. ;)

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Feb 15th 2012, 4:49 PM

Every time we see a “shambles” in and around Dublin be it flooding, non inspection and signing off of dangerous apartments, bad preparation for well forecasted snowfall and now the latest fiasco with the privatisation of the garbage collections the ‘DUBLIN CITY MANAGER’ features large in it. who is this person, is it just me or is there a clear pattern of incompetence here? Shambles after shambles, the phrase ‘out of their depth’ springs to mind surely someone needs to ask wether this person is up to the job and if they are not, then FIRE THEM!