You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo koalie via Flickr

Boy, 5, lives as girl in one of youngest cases of Gender Identity Disorder

Zach Avery behaved like a normal three-year-old boy until one day he decided he wanted to be a girl, according to reports.

A FIVE-YEAR-old boy in the UK is living as a girl after he was identified by doctors as one of the youngest ever children to have Gender Identity Disorder (GID).

Zach Avery, from Essex,  has been living as a girl for over a year having being diagnosed with GID – defined as being a conflict between a person’s actual physical gender and the gender that they identify himself or herself as - by doctors when he was four.

The Telegraph reports that he had first refused to live as a boy when he turned three.

According to his mother, Theresa,  Zach used to like Thomas the Tank Engine but then one day suddenly decided that he wanted to live like a girl and started watching Dora the Explorer as well as dressing in girl’s clothes.

“He just turned round to me one day when he was three and said ‘Mummy, I’m a girl,’” she is quoted as saying in The Sun.

Theresa, 32, says she thought her child was going through a phase until it “got serious”.

She said: “He would become upset if anyone referred to him as a boy,” adding that she wanted to raise awareness of the disorder by going public about it.

The primary school that he attends has even changed the children’s toilets to unisex in support of Zach since his official diagnosis.

The local health authority told TheFamilyGP.com that last year 165 chuildren were diagnosed with GID of which only seven were under the age of five.

Transgender worker “absolutely delighted” with €35,000 award

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

115 Comments
    Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:07 PM

Would he have been taken as seriously if he had decided he wanted to live his life as Spiderman?

Mute Julia Smith
    Favourite Julia Smith
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:15 PM

My son/bat often will only answer to the name batman and at 3 started dressing as various different superheros. Pity the mom is not as supportive of her childs rights to privacy.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 20th 2012, 11:32 PM

Your son is clearly dangerously mentally ill. He has split personality disorder, for your own safety get out of the house NOW!!!

Mute Laurence Fogarty
    Favourite Laurence Fogarty
    Feb 20th 2012, 7:47 PM

The child is barely old enough to know his name and we are expected to be believe that he knows he is a girl. He should be taken away from this awful woman who is happy to parade him in front of the world like a circus act.

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott
    Feb 20th 2012, 7:58 PM

A circus act…what???

Mute Mark Downes
    Favourite Mark Downes
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:42 PM

He should be taken away from his mother? Really? It is truly amazing what people feel qualified to comment upon. As if some bloke reading a news story has a better handle on the situation than the child’s mother and the doctors who diagnosed the condition.

Mute Kevin Nelson
    Favourite Kevin Nelson
    Feb 20th 2012, 11:48 PM

Lawerence. U are a plonker!!

Mute Eimear Lavery
    Favourite Eimear Lavery
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:19 PM

When I was 5 I wanted to be a hairdresser. Mammy brought me to the doctor, he said I was suffering Occupational Identity Disorder. I was put on a firm diet of academia & assessment. By aged 6 my condition was reviewed, by then I wanted to be an actress. He looked at my mother and said “Liz, this is very serious!”

True story! I swear!

*INSERT SARCASM FONT HERE!!!!*

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:18 PM

Except GID exists and is well documented.

Mute Eimear Lavery
    Favourite Eimear Lavery
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:29 PM

Yes Leigh I accept GID exists but how any 5-year-old could honestly have the physical or emotional development to fall into the category is surely debatable at best?!

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:36 PM

If you accept GID exists, then don’t make such a ridiculous mockery of it by comparing it to wanting to be a hair dresser. Your mistake is writing it off as “wanting to be something”, rather than it being a real condition that can be diagnosed, even in a 5 year old.

In a child this young, nothing permanent is ever done until they’re 18, so it’s largely irrelevant.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 20th 2012, 11:57 PM

I don’t think it’s intolerant or oppressive to say that the criteria for diagnosing this condition cannot apply to a 4 or 5 year old child in the same way that they will apply to a young adult who feels issues regarding their gender identity.

If I believed that there was a monster waiting under my bed I might be classed as some type of schizophrenic, if a four year old displayed the same belief it would be meaningless.
    The same criteria simply do not apply.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:59 AM

That’s not how schizophrenia works at all. Both transgenderism and schizophrenia are neurological conditions. Soon it will even be possible to screen, to some extent, for transgenderism.

I don’t think anyone’s doubting that a diagnosis made by a child who’s identity is in constant flux does not hold the same weight as one made in a competent adult, but it’s irrelevant as nothing permanent is being done here. The only thing that might happen is once puberty starts, they are put on blockers to postpone it. This doesn’t really cause any major side effects, and is safe to do. The alternative is forcing them through puberty, which means they end up aging as a male, and end up with facial hair which is painful and difficult to remove.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:11 AM

I’m quite well aware of how schizophrenia works. My point is, as you said yourself, “a diagnosis made by a child who’s identity is in constant flux does not hold the same weight as one made in a competent adult.”
    I disagree with you though when you say that it is irrelevant. The child is being diagnosed, labelled and then shoved out into the spotlight as some kind of mascot or example based on diagnostic criteria that are, at best, ill suited for their purpose.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:30 AM

Transgenderism in children is a real issue and one that doesn’t get near enough attention. I don’t see how “spotlighting” it in that regard is wrong and as far as I know this is being reposted from the Sun which no doubt gave negative connotations to it, so it’s not the pro-trans camp that are doing that.

And again schizophrenia is a neurological condition, it’s not just based on whether or not someone claims to see monsters under the bed. If there’s real evidence that the child is actually hearing or seeing things that aren’t there, then it’s possible they’re schizophrenic.

Isn’t it best to leave whether or not the child should be diagnosed up to the professionals? You can make the argument that we shouldn’t be diagnosing something so simple so early, but such a thing is necessary if they are going to be taken seriously by the school and other institutions – something others aren’t considering here. I don’t like needing a piece of paper to confirm I’m really a woman on the inside either.

Psychology may not be perfect, but neurology is fairly solid, and it’s sad how little faith people have in these fields.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:42 AM

The story is from the Telegraph and Sun and to be fair the article I read on the Telegraph site seemed entirely balanced, not sensationalised, and had a lot more of the salient details, including that the child attempted to cut off his/her penis which suggests that the version of the story posted here is highly watered down and trivialised.
    On reading the original article the child obviously came across as exhibiting a lot of the signs of having a genuine transgender issue as opposed to the “she likes pink things and dora the explorer” version that we see here.

In response to your comment, I don’t see anything wrong with spotlighting the issue but I don’t see how it is healthy to put the child out there in the public domain to be reviled by the intolerants and glorified by those who are liberal for the sake of being liberal.

Mute rathminer
    Favourite rathminer
    Feb 21st 2012, 10:39 AM

Cop on, Leigh. Just cop on.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 6:03 PM

Yeah, cop on with my actual relevant knowledge and experience in the field on which I am commenting.

I should just accept that ignorant asshats such as yourself should have the final say on issues you have no clue about.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 6:17 PM

I think that if the story printed here had contained more of the relevant details of the case as printed in the original article, the comments might have been a bit more enlightened

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 22nd 2012, 3:15 AM

Adam, I doubt it. Look up the article on the Paddy Power transgender add. Some serious scumbags in there.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 22nd 2012, 3:17 AM

Saw them yesterday. Not too pleasant.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:22 PM

Could be worse. He could of turned around and said he wanted to support Liverpool Football club.

Mute Niall Clarke
    Favourite Niall Clarke
    Feb 20th 2012, 9:15 PM

And be a part of the greatest football club on the planet??!

Mute Matthew Mark
    Favourite Matthew Mark
    Feb 20th 2012, 7:58 PM

The world is truly gone mad.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:22 AM

Things are changing! I don’t like it! Get off my lawn, damn kids!

Mute Maria Moran
    Favourite Maria Moran
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:21 PM

There seems to be a label & a disorder for just about everything these days..

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:20 PM

And what’s wrong with that? Should we just stop trying to understand how people work and what’s wrong with them?

If we didn’t have a label like “Transgender”, we wouldn’t be able to identify people who need treatment and give it to them. Transgenders in particular have a very high suicide rate.

I agree it shouldn’t be a “disorder” though, but I doubt that’s the point you’re getting at.

Mute Maria Moran
    Favourite Maria Moran
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:23 AM

Leigh, everything is wrong with labelling people. This “label” goes on your record & is something you carry with you for the rest of your life. To give a 5 year old child the label of “GID” who this moment in time still believes in Santa, The Easter Bunny & the Tooth fairy is wrong & unfair, his parents should not be parading him across the internet & print media also, he certainly won’t thank them for that.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:14 AM

You were complaining about the existence of the label in the first place. Also, trans kids don’t get enough recognition at all as is. If nobody ever gets “paraded”, then as far as the general public is concerned, they don’t exist.

I don’t know why some people are so intent on silencing trans issues.

Mute Maria Moran
    Favourite Maria Moran
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:28 AM

Leigh, don”t assume to know what my intent is..

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 6:06 PM

It’s pretty fucking obvious to see how that comment would be taken. Complaining about labels means you were complaining about the label of GID and we’re all too used to this kind of Daily Mail whinging. It’s not my job to clarify your intent for you.

Mute Maria Moran
    Favourite Maria Moran
    Feb 21st 2012, 6:40 PM

Well I can see you studied the book how to make friends & influence people. Get over yourself, down off your high horse & stop insulting people because their opinion differs to yours.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 22nd 2012, 3:16 AM

That doesn’t justify the offensive nature of your comment whatsoever. What I said in reply is irrelevant. You shouldn’t have made a comment that implied that the label of GID was somehow unnecessary.

It’s not a case of opinion here when we’re dealing with medical facts, and that’s a cop-out argument regardless. If your opinion is worth anything, you can back it up and defend it. I don’t have to respect opinions that are disrespectful towards me.

Mute Paul Tydings
    Favourite Paul Tydings
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:12 PM

Too young to know god should wait till he is older parents should know better

Mute Noddy Mooney
    Favourite Noddy Mooney
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:28 PM

Why is he too young to know god?

Mute Stephen Wall
    Favourite Stephen Wall
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:28 PM

Should the doctors who made the diagnosis know better?

Mute Ross Bowe
    Favourite Ross Bowe
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:48 PM

Don’t think god comes into the equation here, luckily enough

Mute Noddy Mooney
    Favourite Noddy Mooney
    Feb 20th 2012, 9:27 PM

Agreed Ross, just my sarcastic request for some punctuation.

Mute Lois Mcgrath
    Favourite Lois Mcgrath
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:49 PM

when.my son was three he told me he was teenage mutant ninja turtle he even dressed as one (i have photos)…..do you think that’s why his bedroom smells like a sewer:))

Mute Anna
    Favourite Anna
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:21 PM

Well done on using the wrong pronoun throughout the article, then. Great to see the usual gender policing in comments, too.

I say fair dues to this little girl that she knows who she wants to be, and it’s great to see her parents and school so supportive.

Mute Paraic Simpson
    Favourite Paraic Simpson
    Feb 20th 2012, 9:16 PM

But he’s a boy not a girl albeit physically….I have to agree with those that think he’s too young to know any different.

Mute Tommy Harper
    Favourite Tommy Harper
    Feb 20th 2012, 9:56 PM

When is it too young to know your own feelings, I knew I liked boys more than girls when I was in baby infants which made me 4 years old. Thankfully this child isn’t being made feel bad or that the child is abnormal, all the negative comments from people that are scared of something different of somebody that doesn’t conform to the “norm”

Mute Sean Claffey
    Favourite Sean Claffey
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:10 PM

“I knew I liked boys more than girls when I was in baby infants which made me 4 years old.”

I’ll take it from this statement, you mean you are gay. I’m pretty sure when I was 4 I liked boys more and thought girls had “cooties”… This is no longer the case for me and hasn’t been for many, many years, so I don’t really see the point in your argument.

Mute Leila Jane
    Favourite Leila Jane
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:20 PM

How is she too young to know? Surely the earlier somebody displays those sorts of feelings the better?

Mute Ross Bowe
    Favourite Ross Bowe
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:48 PM

He hasn’t even reached puberty that’s why

Mute Leila Jane
    Favourite Leila Jane
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:11 PM

She’s self aware and felt something was wrong. This is completely different from a kid wanting to be spiderman or whatever else. It is such a huge part of what makes you who you are so as I said identifying that there’s a problem early on makes sense. And there’s a diagnosis too, so there ya go it’s not just some kid going through a phase.

Mute Julia Smith
    Favourite Julia Smith
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:25 PM

And maybe it’s an uncomplicated as the child is just copying older sisters. A 3 yr old is still making sense of the world and is only aware of what he/she sees. My son often talks about when he was a grown up and I was a child. Should I contact the sun for an exclusive on parent and child in reincarnation role reversal?

Mute The One & Only
    Favourite The One & Only
    Feb 20th 2012, 11:44 PM

Ross its got zero to do with puberty

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:41 PM

I think if this story appeared in the IT it might have been taken a bit more seriously. God I hate The Sun….

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Feb 20th 2012, 9:39 PM

God I hope the Sun doesnt start another transphobic witch hunt because of this. Let the child be, its not like they’re using medical intervention at the age of 5, if she turns around later and feels differently then no harm done. Good on the school for being supportive.

Mute Francis Cussen
    Favourite Francis Cussen
    Feb 20th 2012, 9:42 PM

just started dressing in girls cloths. so a five year old can shop himself.

Mute Arch Stanton
    Favourite Arch Stanton
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:44 PM

I wonder what happened in this boys life to make him reject his own gender. Could it be our feminist-heavy media? Maybe if we took a break from pedestalising the feminine and denigrating the masculine, this boy would be OK with himself…

Mute Leila Jane
    Favourite Leila Jane
    Feb 20th 2012, 9:43 PM

Ha ha?

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:34 PM

Maybe you should read up on transgender issues to find out what it really is instead of assuming some psychological trauma caused something which is generally accepted by Neurologists the world over to be hardwired? It’s as real as schizophrenia and autism, at the very least.

Though you’re probably one of the batshit ones who think those are made up by the Librul media to excuse lazy kids.

Also, in your dumbfuck, sociopathic right wing worldview, aren’t all feminist butch, man-eating dykes, so why would that make a little boy want to dress in little girls clothes if s/he identifies as female?

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:26 AM

I can’t imagine why people downvote comments like that. If you read up on transsexuality and the neurological case for it, it’s true. We live in an age when facts and science have become even more subjective than before and the almighty ignorant opinion is more important than educated, informed viewpoints.

No wonder we’re so fucked as a country. Yeah lads, more of that Austerity stuff will get us back on track, don’t listen to those commie economists.

Mute Arch Stanton
    Favourite Arch Stanton
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:56 AM

@ Leigh Walsh. Putting YOUR words into MY mouth is not the same thing as making an argument. I have an opinion that happens to differ from yours; this does not make me a dumbfuck or a sociopath as you allege. Mature people are able to have discussions without resorting to childish accusation. If you ever manage to graduate from the ‘Schoolgirl Debating Society’ you can come back here and engage with adults.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:08 AM

It’s not a matter of opinion. Your remarks are highly offensive and represent an understanding of psychology outdated by perhaps more than a century.

The idea that the supposedly “feminist heavy” media can somehow manufacture transsexuals is absolutely bizarre, and deeply insulting. As far as I can see, you can say the same thing of any transgendered person.

The idea that someone is only transgendered because of some corrupt societal influence is no better than asserting the same of homosexuals as Fundamentalist Christians do.

The complete lack of empathy for those in situations different to your own is what leads to me calling these views sociopathic, and they really are.

Mute Arch Stanton
    Favourite Arch Stanton
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:16 AM

@Leigh Walsh. Thanks for the clarification. Let me summarise. Any opinion that differs from yours is ‘offensive’ and anyone who disagrees with you is a ‘sociopath. GOT IT!’

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 22nd 2012, 3:17 AM

Thanks for not reading my post at all.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Favourite Stephanie Fleming
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:34 PM

Delighted to hear how supportive the school are being, but given that this is going to be a difficult situation for the child to live with I’m not sure going entirely public is what’s best for her. Perhaps if her Mum had just told the story rather than revealing her identity.

I am thoroughly impressed with the school though, fair play.

Mute Sean Davids
    Favourite Sean Davids
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:55 PM

Someone’s looking to get a spread and a few pound in the women’s gossip mags.

Mute Sean Shaughnessy
    Favourite Sean Shaughnessy
    Feb 20th 2012, 11:44 PM

Mother of god, some people in this comments section have more issues than the poor kid …… Go for a walk or summink

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:30 PM

Two points, first off GID/transsexualism actually exists, is a real, well documented condition and the people involved know much more about it than the typical armchair conservatives commenting on this and the scumbags commenting on the Paddy Power article. Treatment for it is generally very successful, and it can cause severe depression and suicide left unchecked. None of that suffering is imaginary or made up as part of some stupid left wing conspiracy.

Secondly,no real medical intervention is being taken here. To act as if it’s a heresy for a physical male, or hell, even an actual male, to dress in typically female clothing is absolutely laughable and shows a level of ignorance and authoritarianism that should get you laughed out of the comments section. Gender roles which includes clothing are largely constructs in the first place. They’re helpful and sometimes necessary for a trans person to feel confident in their gender, but there no psychologist worth their salt would claim cross-dressing causes serious psychological harm, unless you engage in victim blaming when they get bullied.

Mute The One & Only
    Favourite The One & Only
    Feb 20th 2012, 11:33 PM

Plus a million there, I really wish people could at least educate themselves on the subject of GID before making a comment, I agree with some people knowing from an early age I never played with dolls yuck my ultimate goal was to play football from dawn to dusk I still don’t understand women because my brain is wired differently my brain and my body don’t match simple as that but it’s caused my over 30 years of depression a couple of suicide attempts and a large stint in Narnia, I would of loved to have a mum like that girl

Mute Stadler Waldorf
    Favourite Stadler Waldorf
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:37 PM

Jaysus, what’s with all the Gender Identity Disorder articles on the journal? It’s nearly as bad as all the Apple articles. How about some coverage of some run of the mill Windows 8 users without identity crisis for a change?

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:56 AM

In all fairness, transgendered people get a disproportionate amount of negative coverage in the media for a small minority, so it’s only fair to have positive articles. However this one isn’t really positive either. We’re just the butt end of every joke sadly.

Mute The One & Only
    Favourite The One & Only
    Feb 21st 2012, 10:14 AM

I actually put it like that , I’m a iMac with bloody Windows’s 7 software installed and it’s not working :)

Mute MyPolitics
    Favourite MyPolitics
    Feb 20th 2012, 11:03 PM

If this mother actually starts raising this boy as a girl, it will be nothing other than child abuse at its ugliest.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:54 AM

“It’s child abuse that a child is not being brought up according to my extremist socially conservative principles!”

Can you prove that? I fucking dare you.

What would cause more damage to the child is if they were forced to dress and act a certain way. Leave the child alone, there is no harm to be done by letting them express themselves. They have plenty of time ahead of them to change their mind, and even if they do, they may be all the more wholesome an adult for having explored their feminine side.

Until you can back up what you’re saying, don’t make such accusations.

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Favourite Giovanni Giusti
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:14 AM

I wonder why is it called a disorder…

If a boy wants to play with dolls and wear a skirt and long hair, why should that be a disorder? He (and note that I am not saying “she” here) should just be allowed to do it without pretending that he has another set of genitals.

It’s society that is “disordered” by imposing certain codes of behaviour on everyone, including children often as young as one (I can tell from what goes on in my son’s crèche).

There is nothing wrong in not wanting to conform to an old fashioned idea of what a “boy” or a “girl” should do. Kudos to the boy’s school for eliminating a potential embarassment for a brave small person, who crosses gender divides which should not be there in the first place.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:51 AM

Giovanni, I would have agreed with your post if you hadn’t said “He (and note that I am not saying “she” here) should just be allowed to do it without pretending that he has another set of genitals.”

Gender Identity is more than the hair and clothes you wear. It’s certainly often an important thing, to fit into the gender role of the gender you identify, in order to pass and feel confident, but the validity of a male who wears girl clothes and likes girls things should not invalidate those who actually identify as female, and may not even wear stereotypically feminine clothes at all. As I pointed out, transgenderism is a very real phenomenon.

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:12 AM

Unless we are talking genitalia or maybe facial hair or body shape, there is nothing inherently “male” or “female” that isn’t a social construct.

I was not suggesting that it’s just about the clothes and the toys and the hair – I was trying to imagine what the issues could be for a 5 year old to declare himself a girl – of course I don’t know him and the case in point.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:24 AM

That’s incorrect, and I would do some reading on brain sex, intersexuality, transgenderism, etc.

I am not saying girls should wear pink and boys should wear blue. But it’s possible that certain behaviours or methods of self-identification are inherent to one gender or the other(With the obvious exceptions in between).

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:32 AM

Actually Giovanni, the hypothalamus in the brain is shaped differently for in men and women. In transgender individuals their hypothalamus will usually more closely resemble that of the opposite gender.

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:33 AM

> implying that if I disagree with you I must not be well read

And another thing:

Think of the plight of gay people over the past – say 50 years, when homosexuality stopped being thought of as “an abomination” and became medicalised as a “disorder” or “mental illness”.

Of course a lot of gay people were unhappy about their “condition”. But the problem was not their homosexuality but the fact that it was not accepted. In the parts of the world where gay rights have been asserted, there is no issue about it being a “disorder”, something that is in some way diminishing. In fact it’s considered offensive.

I suspect that many transgender advocates coin terms such as “GID” because it makes it easier to elicit sympathy rather than saying “I will behave the way I want irrespective of received gender roles and sc**w you if you try and stop me”.

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:42 AM

@Adam – I know there are physical differences between males and females, thank you very much.

Unless the mother of this child is thinking of surgically altering him into a girl (whether by modifying his genitalia, his hair follicles, his hypothalamus, whatever) what we are talking about here is behaviour and that is not predetermined for girls and boys.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:46 AM

Less an implication than a statement of fact, at least in this case.
    Don’t worry about it though, you know now.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:49 AM

Maybe you only read the first half of my previous comment about the hypothalamus. I’ll give you a moment to catch up and then you can try again

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:50 AM

@Adam – um, that “implying” comment was for Leigh’s previous invitation to “read up”.

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:56 AM

@Adam, let me see:

“the hypothalamus in the brain is shaped differently for in men and women. In transgender individuals their hypothalamus will usually more closely resemble that of the opposite gender.”

So are you suggesting that if a person has the genitals of a man and the hypothalamus shaped like a woman’s, he will be a man that feels like / wants to be a woman? So maybe we should not look at the crotch of a baby at birth, but measure its hypothalamus? And how should that influence the way we raise the child? I challenge you to do that without falling into gender stereotypes.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 2:06 AM

Yes Giovanni. I must obviously be saying that when a baby is born it should be taken to an MRI machine and it’s hypothalamus should be measured just on the odd chance that the baby is one of that tiny percentage of people who happens to be transgender.

Or I suppose we could carry on with the tried and tested method of checking what’s between the baby’s legs and leave out all of the MRI business and only use it as a diagnostic tool for people who feel the necessity.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 4:07 AM

“> implying that if I disagree with you I must not be well read”

Who are you quoting?

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 5:07 AM

Giovanni, the trans community has heard your argument many a time and it’s something that’s been done to death. Gender roles and gender identity are separate and gender identity is something there’s real scientific backing for.

Just because the idea of gender being complete nonsense is more “Liberal” and progressive doesn’t necessarily make it more correct, just because liberal things tend to be more scientific.

Mute Kieran Mac Court
    Favourite Kieran Mac Court
    Feb 20th 2012, 9:46 PM

This proverb is as true today as when Solomon wrote it 3000 years ago:
    “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

Mute Ronan Melia
    Favourite Ronan Melia
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:28 PM

good point, because I was actually ‘trained’ to be gay……?

Mute Steven Smyth
    Favourite Steven Smyth
    Feb 20th 2012, 11:41 PM

I bet this has something to do with the Paddy Power advertisement, I’ll offer odds on that (see what I did there?).

Mute Gwyn Morgan
    Favourite Gwyn Morgan
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:16 AM

Have you heard about the case of David Reimer? David was was a Canadian man who was born as a healthy male but was sexually reassigned and raised as female after his penis was accidentally destroyed during circumcision. The decision was made to raise David as a girl under the assumption that gender identity was primarily learned. David never felt female however and began living as a male at age 15.

Not saying that this either validates or invalidates the case in this article, you could probably argue it either way, just interesting…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Reimer

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:49 AM

Well, it certainly makes a good case for gender being something innate rather than decided on by genitalia or society.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:30 AM

Okay, downvoters, you have me on this. How is what I said above incorrect? How does it not make a good case for gender being hard-wired?

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:45 AM

well gender *is* hardwired in your chromosomes and in your genitalia… or did you mean “gender identity”?

Are you suggesting that being “girly” is a necessary consequence of having a vulva? But then transgenderism could not exist!

(PS I didn’t downvote the comment so it wasn’t me)

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 4:10 AM

There is such a thing as brain sex. There’s a lot of interesting studies done into this, especially with regardles intersex individuals.

Mute HazelKatherineLarkin
    Favourite HazelKatherineLarkin
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:01 AM

While those of you busy judging and deriding the child, the child’s mother, god, the child’s diagnosis and the child’s doctors, I have one question: If this were a ‘cutesy’ story about a five year old boy who declared his love for a girl two doors down and his intention to marry her and make babies with her, would the judgement and derision be as loud?

All this mother has done is state her truth and the truth of her child. Maybe it will help other people whose children are having similar difficulties.

Of course everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but a smidgen of kindness and tolerance is never misplaced.

Mute Silent P
    Favourite Silent P
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:03 AM

I see James McClean switched sides too.. Not all bad.

Mute MyPolitics
    Favourite MyPolitics
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:04 AM

I still don’t understand why my comments where removed? Are different view points not tolerated here? They contained no offensive words and got many thumbs up, next thing I know they all gone…..what a waist of effort writing them.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:23 AM

Accusing parents of child abuse with no evidence whatsoever is a hefty accusation.

And that’s the comment that actually made it through the filter. I can’t imagine the horrors that didn’t. I can’t imagine we’re missing anything. Perhaps if you at least educate yourself on transgenderism, you may find your posts going through.

That said, there have been no mods active on here, so it’s probably just a system error, it’s happened to me before, and it’s funny how quick sheltered individuals are to scream discrimination.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:58 AM

Wait! You mean your previous comments weren’t trolling?

Mute Dominic Achom
    Favourite Dominic Achom
    Feb 20th 2012, 8:34 PM

She could also claim that she or he the choice is your is from Asia aka continent identity disorder.

Mute Cian McAlone
    Favourite Cian McAlone
    Feb 20th 2012, 10:24 PM

Mother Theresa!

Mute Jon Hayes
    Favourite Jon Hayes
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:18 AM

what’s a cootie?

Mute MyPolitics
    Favourite MyPolitics
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:40 AM

What’s the point of commenting here when most my comments get removed?

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:49 AM

What kind of comments are you making? Some vicious comments were made in the Paddy Power thread and never got removed.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:55 AM

Ah right, I see your comment. I guess the mods took my comment to heart -

“Secondly,no real medical intervention is being taken here. To act as if it’s a heresy for a physical male, or hell, even an actual male, to dress in typically female clothing is absolutely laughable and shows a level of ignorance and authoritarianism that should get you laughed out of the comments section. ”

How about you take part in rational discussion instead of accusing parents of child abuse for not conforming to gender roles, a practice which actually can be abusive?

Mute rathminer
    Favourite rathminer
    Feb 21st 2012, 10:35 AM

This is nothing a few good smacks wouldn’t fix. Such stupidity.

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    Favourite Shane Boyle-Simms
    Feb 21st 2012, 3:11 PM

yeah beat the child – great logic gobshite

Mute rathminer
    Favourite rathminer
    Feb 21st 2012, 3:14 PM

There’s nothing wrong with ‘beating’ a child when it’s called for, and within reason. It’s a necessary discipline.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 3:37 PM

Ah yeah Rathminer, beating a child is a great way of teaching them the basic tenets that they’re going to need to get through life.
    Tenets such as;
    * Fear Me, I’m bigger than you!
    * Violence is the solution to all conflict
    * People that you love will sometimes give you a thump to let you know who’s boss

Mute rathminer
    Favourite rathminer
    Feb 21st 2012, 3:55 PM

Partially correct, Adam.
    *Yes, fear of discipline is of paramount importance to it’s effectiveness.
    *Violence will rarely, if ever, be resorted to. It is the aforementioned fear thereof that is the key.
    *People that you love will sometimes discipline you to keep you on the right path, BECAUSE they love you.

Many thanks.

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Feb 21st 2012, 4:01 PM

You’ve come a long way from your original, “nothing a few good smacks wouldn’t fix” comment.
    Anyone who is familiar with the mechanisms of conditioning will tell you that promise of reward is a far better incentive than threat of punishment in children.
    Threat of punishment teaches them only to misbehave when they won’t be found out.

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 6:08 PM

rathminer, you are an evil human being.

Transgendered people, LGBT people, people who are gender variant in any way are regularly subject to abuse and violence, and you’re endorsing that? You’re dressing like a girl! Time for RAPE AND BEATING!!1

You’re a vicious, transphobic authoritarian.

If you treat your children this way, you should be locked up. it’s child abuse. Letting your kid dress the way you want, apparently though, is what’s child abuse to some idiots, not physical violence.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:39 PM

Rape? Where did Rathminer mention rape?

No-one mentioned rape. He mentioned parents smacking children. To read rape into that is to trivialise rape

Mute Leigh Walsh
    Favourite Leigh Walsh
    Feb 22nd 2012, 3:19 AM

No, I’m speaking from real life experience of how the abuse many transgedered people face.

Endorsing violence towards trans people is always wrong.

And once again, you take more issue to my posts than you do someone advocating something that’s actually morally wrong. “Beating the gay” out of someone doesn’t deserve your attention, but calling someone on it does?

This sheds further light on our conversation on the other thread. You have some of the worst principles I’ve ever seen.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Feb 22nd 2012, 6:01 PM

Great. Where did you get rape from?

Mute Joanne Cussen
    Favourite Joanne Cussen
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:29 AM

It was in a magazine recently that angelina jolie and brad putt have a little girl that want to be a boy !! Will only wear boy clothes and has a name dat she prefers to be called !!! Angelina confirmed this herself !!! Bet she has gid !!

Mute The One & Only
    Favourite The One & Only
    Feb 21st 2012, 1:10 AM

Chas Bono and Stephen Beatty both suffer from GID so if that’s the case for Brad and Angs little one she won’t be the first

Mute Jo Kennedy
    Favourite Jo Kennedy
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:14 PM

Dumbest thing iv probably ever read on this website ‘give him a few smacks’. Knocking the child’s confidence even further is not going to help him/her figure out his place in this world. I would imagine the mother has gone public as the child Is in a school with other children and presumably other people know of what is happening if the mother hadn’t of gone public someone else has. I think the woman Is brave for seeking the help her child needs after him/her trying to physically harm to him/herself. The mother was probably scared out of her mind when she found the child trying to make himself a girl. I have a 5 year old and she is happy in her own skin so far and I would do anything necessary to keep her feeling like that. I think this woman is just doing what she thinks is best for her child and what she has been advised by medical professional she’s seen. I truly wish this child every bit of luck in the future, a hard road lay ahead if this thread is anything to go by