You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kieran Harnett

Cork City Council nominates Joan Freeman as its presidential candidate

Earlier today, Gavin Duffy secured the first council nomination of the presidential election.

PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE JOAN Freeman has received her first presidential nomination from a local authority.

Cork City Council voted for Freeman as their preferred candidate, with 14 councillors voting for the independent senator, and 11 councillors abstaining. None of the other candidates received a vote.

“Delighted Ireland’s second city has endorsed my candidacy to stand as a candidate in the presidential election tonight,” Freeman tweeted out after the vote.

“I am extremely grateful and proud for the support from the public representatives of Cork City and for the trust they have placed in me.”

She’s the second presidential hopeful to receive a first nomination; earlier today Dragons’ Den investor Gavin Duffy secured the first local authority nomination of the campaign from Meath County Council.

To get on the presidential ballot paper, a candidate needs the backing of at least four councils or 20 members of the Oireachtas.

Candidates have been addressing local authorities in the past few days making their case about why they should receive the council’s backing. So far, Meath and Cork City are the only ones to declare their support for a candidate.

The presidential election will be held on 26 October. Michael D Higgins will contest a second term in office, facing competition from a number of candidates including Seán Gallagher, who contested the 2011 election.

Other presidential hopefuls include Gemma O’Doherty,  Peter Casey, Paddy Smyth and an as-of-yet unknown Sinn Féin candidate.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:06 PM

Gemma O Doherty was doing her presentation today to Kerry Co. Co.
    Does the Journal want to report on that no? Please tell me Dinny hasn’t bought up majority shares in Distilled Media.

Mute James Kiernan
    Favourite James Kiernan
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:08 PM

@Tweed Cap: Shes as deluded as the rest of them if she thinks she has a hope.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:08 PM

@Tweed Cap: she was on the RTÉ news tonight. Happy now? Or is it a rotating conspiracy?

See 39 more replies ▾
    Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:22 PM

@Tweed Cap: o doherty has claimed she is not seeking nomination via councils and instead is looking for TDs and Senators, has she gotten any yet? No so theres no news on it

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:25 PM

@James Kiernan: Don’t be so sure. Gemma O Dohertys name is all over social media due to people taking exception hatchet job being done on her by the media.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:32 PM

@Tweed Cap: This campaign shows the unfairness in the media. and it’s only the beginning.

Mute James Kiernan
    Favourite James Kiernan
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:34 PM

@The Risen: Theres no hatchet job being done on anyone, by anyone…….except the make-believe one being magic-ed up by her supporter(s) to try and create some sort of misplaced outrage and support from her base of zero. Its so transparent its almost laughable.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:46 PM

@Ian McNally:
    There has been several articles on both the FF bag man and Duffy’s Circus for merely announcing their intentions. Prior to any formal presentations for nominations.
    But I suppose their stories are more interesting with the former claiming that he’s a born again Christian and the latter remortgaging his gaff, apparently for the better good of the nation.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:51 PM

@Tweed Cap: Not sure who il vote for yet,ML D raised alot of important social issues,I’ve great respect for Joan Freeman and I’d like Gemma O Doherty to get a chance to debate issues with the other candidates.It would be a shame if an anti corruption candidate didn’t get the chance in the Presidential election…. I think,it would be very interesting if she was given the chance by some courageous council!

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:02 PM

@James Kiernan: Stop spoofing James. It’s pretty obvious her base is not zero. Who do you plan to vote for yourself?

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:07 PM

@The Risen:

Her name is all over social media because she’s a conspiracy theorist and an anti vaxxer.

Worst. Candidate. Ever.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:16 PM

@Brinster: Like her conspiracy about an orchastrated campaign by Garda management against Maurice McCabe. Like her conspiracy theory about a 12 foot long blood stained gate going missing in the Sophie Tuscon DuPlantier case, that GSOC had to concede was true. Like her conspiracy theory in the Mary Boyle case that a former Garda sargant confirmed on video???

Mute Arthur O'Neill
    Favourite Arthur O'Neill
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:20 PM

@Brinster: worse candidate ever??? She’s put her career on the line exposing corruption in this country.

Mute Arthur O'Neill
    Favourite Arthur O'Neill
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:20 PM

@Brinster: worse candidate ever? She’s put her career on the line exposing corruption in this country.

Mute Arthur O'Neill
    Favourite Arthur O'Neill
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:21 PM

@Brinster: Worse candidate ever?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:51 PM

@Arthur O’Neill:
    There is no intelligent person in this country who thinks Gemma O’Doherty is a suitable candidate for President. She is a conspiracy theorist journalist, whose stories are more and more outlandish by the day. She now wants us to believe the Veronica Guerin was murdered by the State!!!!

She has no chance of getting a nomination, because no sane Councillor, Senator, or TD would nominate her. There is no conspiracy theory, just common sense.

How bad must your life be to believe some of this conspiracy nonsense. Ironically the same people who believe that our elected representative are completely incompetent at running the county, believe they are highly skilled at covering up murder and complex corrupt financial dealings through political maneuvering and even assassinations.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:55 PM

@CrabaRev: Just to clarify, you are stating that Gemma O’Dohertys claims about an orchestrated effort by Garda management to discredit the whistleblower Maurice McCabe is a ‘conspiracy theory’?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:02 AM

@The Risen: Where did I state that?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:06 AM

@CrabaRev: Where you refer to her above as a ‘conspiracy theory journalist’, so again…

You are stating that Gemma O’Dohertys claims about an orchestrated effort by Garda management to discredit the whistleblower Maurice McCabe is a ‘conspiracy theory’?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:26 AM

@The Risen:
    I never mentioned Maurice mcCabe. I am not aware of her breaking that story, which is still being investigated by the disclosures tribunal. I am aware she did break a story about Martin Calinann’s penalty points, which turned out to have some substance.
    I was referring to her Mary Boyle, Toscan de Plantier, Niall Molloy and more recently Veroinca Guerin stories.

You seem to suffer little from the conspiracy theories yourself, don’t you

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:32 AM

@CrabaRev:

He suffers from that and also Straw Man syndrome.

Watch the number of times he starts responses with “Are you stating that…?”.

Refuses to engage the points you made and the makes up others.

So The Risen – let me ask you.

Are you happy with an anti vaxxer as President?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:56 AM

@Brinster: Watch out for his attack dog, Dermo Adams.

Anyway, you are a FFG troll I shouldn’t be interacting with you. :)

This site has to be one of the funniest on the internet.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:03 AM

@CrabaRev: Intelligent people will make up their own minds about who they think they want as President and won’t be swayed by spin comments by anonymous commentators using pseudonyms!This award winning investigative journalist deserves a chance like everyone else to be heard in the Presidential election debates,then people will make up their own minds!

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:13 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara:

Don’t think she’ll be part of the debates Nuala. They will be reserved for people who actually get nominated.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:20 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara: I am as real as you are. I just happen to value my privacy enough not to post my personal details on a comments site. I have no idea what you mean by spin comments.
    Gemma O’Doherty will not get a nomination to run for President because no sane Councillor, Senator or TD will nominate her. It will be the same for the the Roscommon farmer, the IrishWhoLovePresidentTrump.com lady and the Marilyn Monroe impersonator and a few others.
    People will then be able to vote on real candidates.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Favourite We Love Katamari
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:23 AM

@CrabaRev: when you’re finiswhed talking to yourself…

the smear campaign on gemma all over social media, becasseu the press are ignoring it….

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2122055514471804&set=a.201612419849466&type=3&theater

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:24 AM

@Brinster: How do you know she won’t get nominated?Why shouldn’t the people have an opportunity to listen to all the candidates so that they can make up their own minds!?

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:30 AM

@CrabaRev: Why do you insinuate that any Councillor, Senator or TD would be insane to vote for this award winning investigative journalist? Surely the public should have the opportunity to hear her?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:34 AM

Hope you all noticed that brinster has gone from Gemma being a ‘conspiracy theorist journalist’ to being a conspiracy theorist journalist only in the instances where the stink is too harsh to credibly ignore.

Pathetic lads. Especially with a missing child in the equation.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:41 AM

@We Love Katamari:
    Have you been drinking again. You think Brinster and I are the same person because we have similar views. Are you Dermo Adams and the Risen the same person?

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:50 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara: You keep referring to her as “an award winning journalist”, What awards did she win?
    She is a journalist who has published conspiracy based stories and made conspiracy based comments in relation to Niall Molloy, Sophie Toscan Du Plantier, Mary Boyle, and more recently Veronic Guerin. She has a website, she has a facebook page, she has a twitter feed, she speaks publicly, nobody is preventing you from hearing her.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:55 AM

@James Kiernan: It’s called democracy, no person has the right to be autautomatically retain the position they hold by vested interests. This country is corrupt enough . Let the citizens decide which person will hold the office of President.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:56 AM

@The Risen: I assume you are talking about Mary Boyle who disappeared 41 years ago, if she is still alive she is 48 now. I didn’t choose the conspiracy stories. I am just referring to them.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Sep 4th 2018, 2:10 AM

@CrabaRev:
    2007 ESB National Media Awards(Print Campaigning & Social Issues)
    2011 GSK Irish Medical Media Awards (Consumer Print Media)
    2012: Shortlisted for 2011 NNI Journalism Awards (Crime& Security Reporter of the Year & Feature Writer of the year.
    2012 International Journalism Festival
    2016 Award of Excellence in the Feature Documentary Section at the Hollywood Independent Documentary Awards
    2016 Award of Merit at IndeFEST Film Festival
    I would like to hear her at the Presendential debates with the other candidates!

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 4th 2018, 3:17 AM

@The Risen:

Huh?

What are you on about?

Did you listen to the absolute car crash interview with Paschal Sheehy and GO’D?

It was horrendous.

He calmly asked her 5 times about her recent allegations.

She completely refused to answer.

It was cringeworthy stuff.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Sep 4th 2018, 6:26 AM

@Tweed Cap: do you think Joan Freeman has received more coverage than Gemma O’Doherty? I read an article on here about Joan when she announced she was running but I hadn’t seen anything else till this one and that’s because she got her first nomination.

Mute Mickey Fennessy
    Favourite Mickey Fennessy
    Sep 4th 2018, 7:30 AM

@Arthur O’Neill: nope she made a career out of it don’t be so naive

Mute Steve Mac
    Favourite Steve Mac
    Sep 4th 2018, 10:35 AM

@Tweed Cap: I’d say she’d get on great with Danny. Both have a tenuous grasp on reality.

Mute Steve Mac
    Favourite Steve Mac
    Sep 4th 2018, 10:36 AM

@The Risen: she did a hatchet job on herself on RTE yesterday.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 4th 2018, 11:07 AM

@Arthur O’Neill: What does being an investigative journalist have to do with the office of President?- Being accomplished in one field does not guarantee a person will be any good at the other role.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:37 PM

@Tweed Cap: In fairness, it is probably just as well: Duffy spoke about his 5 pillars and his communications corridor to Derry – nothing to do with the office of President; Smith talked about art, suicide and homelessness; nothing to do with the Presidency. O’Doherty talked about her work reporting on corruption (and dropped in homelessness); nice but nothing to do with the Presidency. Somebody from the William Delaney campaign also spoke – a noble gesture, but nothing to do with the office of President….

Mute Rob Smith
    Favourite Rob Smith
    Sep 6th 2018, 1:33 PM

@Tweed Cap: Only so far you can get with conspiracy theories

Mute Frank Dubogovik
    Favourite Frank Dubogovik
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:26 PM

Fair play to Cork co council.I think Joan Freeman will be a serious ” heavyweight” contender. Being a cynical realist though I think it’s all a bit of ” smoke and mirrors”- Mick D is riding the gravy train for another 7yrs

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:10 PM

@Frank Dubogovik:

Looking forward to the debates.

I think a lot of people would be loath to vote in another old, male, multi millionaire like Duffy, Gallagher or Michael D himself.

Freeman has a chance but not sure where she’s stood on the 8th?

Sep 3rd 2018, 11:27 PM

@Frank Dubogovik: the thing I like about a candidate like Freeman is that, win or lose, she will make mental health a part of the campaign and the debates. It’s worthwhile to have her run, regardless of the outcome.

Sep 3rd 2018, 11:30 PM

@Brinster:
    Maria Steen is her niece, and she voted no, but has said she supports the democratic will of the people and will sign it into law.
    https://www.newstalk.com/Presidential-hopefuls-to-kick-off-campaigns-in-Waterford

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:58 PM

@Rónán O’Suilleabháin:
    At least she is someone who has some knowledge of our political system, and has served her country and community as a senator and a mental health campaigner.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:33 AM

@Rónán O’Suilleabháin:

Ah I see.

Thanks Ronan.

That’s less than ideal.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 4th 2018, 11:11 AM

@Rónán O’Suilleabháin: How will she? What has mental health got to do with the office and role of the Pesident. It is a worthwhile subject but nothing to do with the Presidency. If she wants to have a public debate on the topic well and good, but truthfully it is not a matter regarding the Office of the President.

Mute Johnny Rotten
    Favourite Johnny Rotten
    Sep 3rd 2018, 10:45 PM

“Irelands second city” – careful with that talk Joan, or they’ll take it back, girl!

Mute Hellenize Dublin
    Favourite Hellenize Dublin
    Sep 4th 2018, 8:52 AM

@Johnny Rotten: I get your joke, but she is being honest unlike other politicians (or wannabes) who know lying through their teeth is the best modus operandi.

Wouldn’t be surprised if the other pretenders told Cork City council that Cork would overtake Dublin in EVERYTHING under their presidency.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Sep 4th 2018, 9:39 AM

@Johnny Rotten: i must admit I would take it as a slight. The first thing to call Cork was the second city. How about the merchant capital. Who is she anyway? Ill be honest I never heard of her.

Mute Liam O'Donoghue
    Favourite Liam O'Donoghue
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:19 PM

This election campaign is a waste of money everyone knows it’s Michael D for another term and in fairness the competition is abysmal.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:31 AM

@Liam O’Donoghue:

Disagree, Liam!

Joan Freeman is a very worthy presidential candidate imho, given her selfless work via Pieta House in assisting many Irish citizens over the years with mental health issues.

Also a Senator, this lady if nominated will give Michael D a good run for his money for seven-year Aras gig.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:59 AM

@Liam O’Donoghue: What gives Michael D the right to be elected unopposed. Happened before. It was wrong then , It is wrong now.

Mute Dave Slater
    Favourite Dave Slater
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:52 PM

The President should be chosen by lottery from those who have turned up and actually performed jury duty. Maybe a two-year term. Any eejit can cut ribbons, live in a palace, get €345,000 a year, shake hands before All-Ireland finals and keep their mouth shut.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:16 AM

@Dave Slater: Of all the crazy ideas you read here on a daily basis, this one is actually good!

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Sep 4th 2018, 10:53 AM

@Dave Slater: Except that you left out the most important role of the President: to protect the citizens of Ireland by ensuring that the legislation promolgated by him/her is not repugnant to the Constitution, and so, rights of the people. It is not sexy or public but has to be done, usually with no thanks.

Mute Séadhna Logan
    Favourite Séadhna Logan
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:03 PM

Interesting that 2 of the councils that supported Gallagher in 2011 have endorsed different candidates this time. Wonder if he had calculated that he may need different counties this time. Cork and Meath going to Freeman and Duffy may be a surprise to him. Will be a very crowded field if they all get on the ballot.

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:21 PM

Ah in fairness lads this be all a waste of time. Nobody’s going to come close to touching micky D. Wonder how much they pay for the nominations though haha

Mute Barry Buckley
    Favourite Barry Buckley
    Sep 4th 2018, 3:00 AM

Ah, well, for what my say is worth,
    I believe anyone who was born and resides in this country should have the right to put their name on the ballot to run in this election to become the president of this state, but, i as a person who has a vote , can only vote for the people who are on the ballot paper, who are put there by our TD’s or councillors,”( this is our choice of people that you as a person to vote for only have a choice to make)”, .Why don’t we cancell the election and let the TD’s and councillors decide between themselfs who they want to have in this office.
    Sorry,
    Rant Over…
    Ps: ( anyone who wants to run should finance the campaing themselfs).

Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    Sep 4th 2018, 3:36 AM

@Barry Buckley: So only the rich and powerful should be permitted to run? Gotcha

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Sep 4th 2018, 7:07 AM

Surely the relevant matter for News Reporters is to report which Councillors voted for and voted against which candidate.

Armed with this knowledge an informed electorate could decide which Councillors should be turfed out at the next election.

Mute Dave Walsh
    Favourite Dave Walsh
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:27 AM

Who?

Mute BarronVonVaderHam
    Favourite BarronVonVaderHam
    Sep 3rd 2018, 11:33 PM

as yes the presidency – it’s my number one burning issue at the moment. luckily, we have an abundance of qualified neurotics

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Sep 4th 2018, 12:22 AM

FF abstaining again

Shall we rename FF to AAFF?

Sep 3rd 2018, 10:07 PM

Dowtcha!

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Sep 4th 2018, 7:24 AM

At least they voted
    FF abstains

Mute Paul Cahoon
    Favourite Paul Cahoon
    Sep 4th 2018, 1:45 PM

The moment Gemma mentions investigating and fighting corruption the councillors will rally against her…enough said….