You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kris Kristofferson performing at Glastonbury 2017. Alamy Stock Photo

Do you like country music?

Have your say.

ON MONDAY THE world learned that US singer and actor Kris Kristofferson had sadly passed away.

During his career, the veteran musician wrote a host of classics which were covered by artists including Janis Joplin and Johnny Cash.

The country singer also performed in Ireland several times throughout his career, with his last tour here taking place in 2018. 

It’s often said that Irish people love country music, as shown by the annual Late Late Show country music special taking place on Friday, but we want to know what you think.

So today we’re asking: Do you like country music?

Poll Results:

It wouldn't be my favourite, but I can tip my hat to it (5353)
I love it, yeehaw! (4287)
No, I will neither honk nor tonk (2761)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

83 Comments
    Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Jul 27th 2014, 4:48 PM

A captive portal that requires a code that lasts only 30 mins, get a code with every cup of coffee (or whatever) bought. Problem solved.

Mute luke daly
    Favourite luke daly
    Jul 27th 2014, 10:21 PM

Or just use the Wi-Fi hot spot on your phone.

Mute Jack Ripper
    Favourite Jack Ripper
    Jul 27th 2014, 11:08 PM

I never go to cafes in ireland unless I am getting a coffee to go. They are overcrowded and people don’t seem to respect personal space.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 27th 2014, 4:51 PM

One way to stop it. 30 minutes free internet with every purchase. You will find the code on the receipt. That’s what I would do if I ran a coffee shop. The spongers can go sponge someplace else.

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    Jul 27th 2014, 4:36 PM

Dear jaysus let’s hope so, we are turning into a nation of zombies. Ironic that I post this using my phone all the same

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Jul 27th 2014, 4:44 PM

Monty..It would only be ironic if you were using that phone in Starbucks after sitting there all day..

Mute Mark Hannon
    Favourite Mark Hannon
    Jul 27th 2014, 5:25 PM

I know this is going off on a tangent here, but reckon 3G / Wifi signals should be blocked in some cases in public places!! The pub scene is ruined with groups of people, heads down staring into phones!?! The chat n banter will be a thing of the past in the pub at this rate!

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Jul 27th 2014, 5:51 PM

Me & 3 mates waiting 20mins for seating in Star-B’s last week.
    Finally got one tiny high stool spot.
    We Had 2 coffees each & chat.
    We were In & gone within 45 mins.
    Crammed into one tiny spot.

Entire time this guy was sprawled out at comfy 6 seater on his tod with an empty coffee cup. His head stuck in a lap top which was plugged in..

Mute Mark Scott
    Favourite Mark Scott
    Jul 27th 2014, 6:12 PM

Daft isn’t it. I’d have sat beside the sponge.

Mute Timothy Gaythorpe
    Favourite Timothy Gaythorpe
    Jul 27th 2014, 7:14 PM

Maybe the church should embrace wifi, might fill up the place more :)

Mute John Croghan
    Favourite John Croghan
    Jul 28th 2014, 9:44 AM

That was me!

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Jul 27th 2014, 4:45 PM

I was in Belfast a few weeks back and more people outside a Starbucks on phones than people sitting in the shop. Obviously using the free internet. The owner pulled the plug on the modem they all walked off.

Mute mikeobrien4FM
    Favourite mikeobrien4FM
    Jul 27th 2014, 4:42 PM

Turn it off in all pubs!! Talk to each other!!!

Mute mikeobrien4FM
    Favourite mikeobrien4FM
    Jul 27th 2014, 8:14 PM

Ahh relax the kaks!

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Jul 27th 2014, 10:16 PM

I agree with mick it’ll ruin the craic in pubs if everyone inside is logged on.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Jul 27th 2014, 10:17 PM

Sorry , Mike

Mute Mark Carroll
    Favourite Mark Carroll
    Jul 27th 2014, 5:05 PM

I’ll admit I once sat outside the Maldron hotel in Smithfield for 2 hours to rob their wifi when I Locked my self out!!

Mute See My Vest
    Favourite See My Vest
    Jul 27th 2014, 6:21 PM

All you can eat data for me. Hate to be smug about it, but aside from holidays abroad, it makes no difference if a place has WiFi or not.

Mute chalk8down
    Favourite chalk8down
    Jul 27th 2014, 5:56 PM

30 minutes per purchase seems a fair approach to deter the wifi spongers in taking up valuable seating space. There’s a lot to be said for interacting with people around you as opposed to getting lost in the virtual world of social networking. I type this while alone just home from watching the hurling double header in my local, for those wannabe troll naysayers. :)

Mute cosmological
    Favourite cosmological
    Jul 27th 2014, 4:50 PM

‘a market niche for not having wi fi’, is there no end to corporate greed?

Mute Mark Sweetman
    Favourite Mark Sweetman
    Jul 27th 2014, 4:57 PM

No

Mute Mark Scott
    Favourite Mark Scott
    Jul 27th 2014, 6:14 PM

Feck it. I have a 4g connection with an ‘unlimited’ (15gb) plan.
    I have no need for their slow, insecure wifi.

Have to turn it off going into some places now.

Mute Reagan Smash
    Favourite Reagan Smash

It must be scary being old

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jul 28th 2014, 1:16 AM

It is Reagan.

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam

Turn it off on trains and look out the widow.. :-/

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jul 27th 2014, 5:31 PM

.. at the graffiti and rusty shopping trolleys?

Mute L Connors
    Favourite L Connors
    Jul 27th 2014, 5:36 PM

Leave the widows alone. They’ve been through enough.

Mute Angelic Lestat
    Favourite Angelic Lestat
    Jul 27th 2014, 6:26 PM

Ah feck off. Should people not read books or magazines on trains too? Should we just look out the window for the whole journey?

Would ya ever go away and done be annoying me.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 27th 2014, 10:55 PM

Even when it’s dark outside?

Great Idea!

Mute Black Dog
    Favourite Black Dog
    Jul 27th 2014, 10:05 PM

Look! This is a load of tosh…cafe’s can easily monitor overuse by insisting the customer buy’s more product.

Any A-Hole hogging the wi-fi for hours on end should be shown the door…

Mute Hairy lemon
    Favourite Hairy lemon
    Jul 27th 2014, 7:04 PM

I refuse to use a place if it doesn’t have wifi. Recently complained to Costa about it…. logged in to check whether the person I was meeting was on the way…. grabbed a coffee (waited in line) there was only 10 mins left on the timer when I got back. Ffs.

I get it about ppl hogging seats…. but they used to do that b4 wifi… sitting around a cold cup of coffee for ages. That’s not new.

If you don’t offer the service in this day and age then you don’t get my business.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Jul 28th 2014, 8:15 AM

Why didn’t you just ring the person, or text them?

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Jul 28th 2014, 8:28 AM

Because that person might be driving, for example.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jul 27th 2014, 7:34 PM

What ever happened to the Dublin Free WiFi? Never works…

Mute Tom Callaghan
    Favourite Tom Callaghan
    Jul 27th 2014, 5:02 PM

Pointless pointless waffle, if businesses are trying to increase customer volumes they are really scraping from the end of the barrel with this angle

Mute austin vaughan
    Favourite austin vaughan
    Jul 27th 2014, 8:53 PM

Wifi is free in most public libraries – for as long as you want!

Mute Range Rover P38
    Favourite Range Rover P38
    Jul 27th 2014, 10:32 PM

How would the girls get in touch with me Tinder??

Mute Eric McNamara
    Favourite Eric McNamara
    Jul 27th 2014, 10:55 PM

People have WiFi at home and most likely a data plan on their smart device. So…. Coffee shops are for coffee and maybe even shock, horror,- talking to someone?

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Jul 28th 2014, 1:14 AM

Wifi is a basic right.

Mute Robert Mcn
    Favourite Robert Mcn
    Jul 27th 2014, 8:52 PM

There are cafés here that have free wifi?

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Jul 28th 2014, 8:30 AM

In all fairness, most public wifi spots are so slow you are better off using your own phone’s 3g. If you have 4G there is no competition or point on using a public wifi spot unless you have reached a data limit or so.

Mute Phil Merrick
    Favourite Phil Merrick
    Jul 28th 2014, 9:13 PM

I think that public laptop users in Ireland may have a higher regard for manners. I am one of the owners of August First the cafe described in your article. We always felt that if lap top users had a sense of manners it would never have been a problem. Once they see people coming in and wanting a table to eat at, they should know that it’s time to leave. But I watched over and over again as people would come in and leave because there were no open tables while several tables had zombies staring at screens. Even though we would only have 2 or 3 at a time, it had an effect on the overall culture of the place. Our biggest surprise was how much the culture of the space improved when there were no longer any screens. A very happy change!