You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP/Press Association Images

Belly dancer jailed for six months - because her outfit looked like the Egyptian flag

The dancer, known as Safinaz, was fined E£15,000 (€1,800) but has been released on bail pending an appeal.

A COURT IN the Egyptian capital of Cairo has sentenced an Armenian belly dancer to six months in prison because her outfit bore too close a resemblance to the country’s flag.

The dancer, known as Safinaz, was fined E£15,000 (€1,800) but has been released on bail pending an appeal.

She was on trial for wearing this outfit during a performance last year in the Red Sea resort town of Ain Sokhna:

It was deemed to be too close to the Egyptian flag by a local hotel owner, who objected to the use of the flag print.

A 2014 law makes “insulting” the national flag a criminal offence in Egypt.

Safinaz is married to an Egyptian and gained instant fame after arriving in Egypt more than two years ago, with her “erotic moves” in performances in several movies and at high-profile weddings.

Read: Egyptian police and football fans clash leaving dozens dead

Read: Enda Kenny could yet intervene in the Ibrahim Halawa case

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:38 PM

Good man Hugh, a great article taking the pi$$ out of the Dear Leader.

(That’ll teach the little ba*tards in Young Fine Gael not to tell you as to why they ousted their Troop leader!)

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:43 PM

Kenny the man only a mother could love.

Mute Nira Line
    Favourite Nira Line
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:46 PM

True or False: During his tenure as Taoiseach, the country has gone from being run by the IMF to having over 6% economic growth per year, unemployment has dropped from 15% to 9%, and true or false, Enda Kenny was never a member of a terrorist organisation responsible for the murder of thousands of innocent people including gardai.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:49 PM

oh welcome back NOT

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:50 PM

@ Brian, don’t cod yourself, Hugh is trying to take the heat out of Kenny’s Porky’s

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Oct 31st 2015, 11:58 PM

Under his leadership we have to ask the question “Am I better or worse off than I was five years ago ?” Time to be honest with yourself and your family before truthfully voting in the next election ! P.S. I am not a party man just a family guy !

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 1st 2015, 12:25 AM

Nira – Eritrea: 8.5% economic growth, one of the fastest growing in the world…. yet thousands risk death crossing the desert to get out. Measure the right things…

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Nov 1st 2015, 12:32 AM
    Mute Del Bionic
    Favourite Del Bionic
    Nov 1st 2015, 2:28 AM

Don’t cod yourself David, nothing to do with Kenny & his mob, low interest rates & a strong US economy only reason we haven’t sank, the wind changes & we’re back into the same old shite as before.

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Nov 1st 2015, 2:34 AM

And was this Enda Jackanory Fact or Fiction. By the way Hugh way to hide the up coming FG heave.
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/politics/kenny-tells-an-outrageous-mugging-tale-in-dail-7227.html

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Nov 1st 2015, 4:36 AM

Watcher comparing Ireland to Eritrea is pretty pathetic. There’s genuine poverty in Eritrea. People dying of hunger. Poverty in ireland equates to not having enough money left over from the dole to buy that extra pack of cigarettes or crate of booze this week.some difference

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:24 AM

Nira. You are on the wrong site, this about Herr Kenny.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:34 AM

Good point-missing skills, there Pepper.

I wasn’t comparing Ireland to Eritrea – I was illustrating how meaningless trumpeting on about economic growth is.

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Nov 1st 2015, 10:02 PM

He’s a member of FG who collaborated with the British Forces who perpetrated the deliberate mass murder of innocent Irish civilians in Ballymurphy, Derry, Springhill, New Lodge, Newry, Dundalk, Dublin/Monaghan, etc.

Mute ReChew A.
    Favourite ReChew A.
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:57 PM

Just got a taxi from Dub Airport this afternoon and surely was a first in many years to hear the driver say that he doesn’t get time to eat his lunch these days .
    All you doomsday merchants should cop on and do something constructive with your lives rather than devote all your energies to a futile negative campaign against the Taoiseach which is going to back fire on you lads in due course .

Mute ReChew A.
    Favourite ReChew A.
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:00 PM

Poor Sean ,still living in the past ,it wasn’t the government here that robbed families of loved ones and buried them in isolated places all over the north east and further afield .

Mute Sean Costello
    Favourite Sean Costello

What a tool

Oct 31st 2015, 9:01 PM

In fairness the man is an idiot and even worse we elected him….

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Favourite Eamonn coughlan
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:07 PM

Hugh or Enda?

Mute Paige Turners
    Favourite Paige Turners
    Oct 31st 2015, 11:05 PM

I honestly don’t get the opprobrium towards Enda Kenny. He seems like a nice man to me, build FG from total despair following 2002 election, has overseen the removal of the IMF and huge growth in the country all the while keeping the country peaceful.

When I look back at some of our leaders – Cowen, Ahern, Bruton, Haughey (to name a few) I cannot understand the vitriol towards Kenny. I think history will treat him very well.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Oct 31st 2015, 11:53 PM

kerry, we didnt elect either of them. There is no election for Taoiseach..you get what your given..unfortunately.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Nov 1st 2015, 3:53 AM

Speak for yourself Kerry – I remember telling you that you’d rue the day you voted for either party and you laughed at me!!

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:21 AM

Paige. Are you living in Iteland? If so do you not hear the stress. Homelessness hospital trolleys schools drugs i could go on and on especially about the integrity and honesty of the man.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:34 AM

*Ireland*

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:55 PM

His latest lie is a slur on the people of Ireland. He stated publicly that the Governor of the Central Bank had told him the army would be needed to protect the banks. This is clearly untrue and the Governor has not confirmed it. Kenny has admitted as much and tried to deflect by talking of general briefing. Casting the Irish people as a rabble that would have attacked the banks is despicable given what we had to endure to restore the economy. We deserve better. He is not fit to be Taoiseach. All this for his own political benefit.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:13 PM

The Governor has actually stated that it was never mentioned in any of his discussions with Enda.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/central-bank-not-involved-in-army-at-atm-talks-honohan-says-1.2410779

Mute Jonathan O'Keeffe
    Favourite Jonathan O'Keeffe
    Oct 31st 2015, 11:20 PM

Just goes to show what he thinks of the Irish people, few years ago he said it was our greed that caused the whole collapse

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:22 AM

Youn know the most worrying thing about this ‘quiz’? Questions you’d expect to be false turn out to be true..FG are fkd with this witless clown leading them..really fkd!

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe

A whole column devoted to the ramblings of an idiot..and think of the ones that didn’t make the list…

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

@hugh – These attempts to endear enda kenny to your readers as anything other than a grade A spoofer is futile

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:14 PM

If he done it about gerry you’d be screaming from the roof tops

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Oct 31st 2015, 11:29 PM

Shinnerbots like James Connolly above only like fluff articles about their dear trampolining nelson mandela leader…

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 31st 2015, 11:49 PM

Bet Kenny’s raging he didn’t think of that Diarmuid, I mean he wouldn’t even have to worry about rattling his balls.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 1st 2015, 12:27 AM

Diarmuid – Ook! Are you a Librarian, by any chance?

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:48 PM

Enda Kenny is an embarrassment to the Irish Nation and his party are a disgrace. Don’t even get me started on the so-called Labour Party

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:02 PM

“Which of these Enda Kenny stories is true?”

To be honest Hugh even the ones that get the green correction marks may not be true….he may tell them but that doesn’t make them true….you know like the one about the Army and ATM’s are a case in point, etc
    Spin it all you like……….the man’s an idiot.

Mute Paul Morrissey
    Favourite Paul Morrissey
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:51 PM

how in the name of Jaysis is this man Taoiseach?

Mute Niall Moonan
    Favourite Niall Moonan
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:49 PM

Never mind his phone he should be decommissioned

Oct 31st 2015, 10:12 PM

I just picked the most ridiculous option and it was true. Just like him. Ridiculous.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:46 PM

Naturally I voted false to all. No story he tells is true.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:49 PM

If Enda told me tomorrow was Sunday I’d double check.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:39 PM

OMG. Stop posting these embarrassing stories. FG tell your ‘leader’ to shut the f/^k up. YFG take note

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:04 PM

This guy is a first class clown, how the fk does a moron become leader of a country, yeah I know the electorate, well will you cop on next time…. Please.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:08 PM

Man we’ve had some bunch a loons running this country over the last 20yrs

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:26 PM

Worst Taoiseach ever,can’t remember a more self serving one,his blatant lies are testament to the contempt he has for the position as Taoiseach,and for the people of this country.Goes to show how weak the Fine gaeler’s are,leaving him as leader.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:46 PM

I think Hugh has been tempted by the dark side. Darth Lucinda has turned him.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:07 PM

Spoofer..

Mute Scarce 9 Jutro
    Favourite Scarce 9 Jutro
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:26 PM

Another intelligent contribution from willy, but you left out fascist.

Mute Kieran Foley
    Favourite Kieran Foley
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:39 PM

None of them…….cause he is a tw@t

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:47 PM

Great quiz. Can enda be given same to show what a chancer he is?

Mute john fairclough
    Favourite john fairclough
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:18 PM

RTE NDA

On today’s news; In Sport, Ireland have been crowned Rugby World Champions after two converted tries from hooker Enda Kenny in the dying minutes.
    Soccer, after intense negotiations by FIAFG officials, Ireland have been deemed qualified for the European Championship as number one seeds, in no small thanks to Enda Kenny.
    Meanwhile, Mayo have been crowned All Ireland Hurling Champions for the fifth consecutive year, after two penalty saves from keeper Kenny, who then ran the length of the park to score not one, but three injury time goals.
    Later, while relaxing at the Irish Open, Mr Kenny managed only three holes in one to card an unbeatable round of 36 under par.
    North Korean leader Kim Jong-Un was heard to say “I don’t believe it”

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:47 PM

Kenny is a danger to this country, he must be removed from politics in GE.

Oct 31st 2015, 8:57 PM

Easiest quiz ever. None of them! Biggest liar ever.

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:23 PM

The Vincent Browne one was a dirty trick question!

Mute Leon O Haodhagain
    Favourite Leon O Haodhagain
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:56 PM

kinda reminds me of the game “David Brent or Brendan Rogers quotes”

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:10 PM

Wonder who Enda would see if he looked into the looking glass.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joWVrHV3qOU

Mute Nira Line
    Favourite Nira Line
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:44 PM

A link.

Mute oreal
    Favourite oreal
    Nov 1st 2015, 12:04 AM

“I was abducted by aliens today” claims Enda Kenny. “I tell you this the aliens were like ordinary people, they told me I was an excellent world leader. They were so impressed with me, they cloned me”….

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Nov 1st 2015, 12:20 AM

I’m not sure what you are a clone of but it certainly isn’t a comedian

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Oct 31st 2015, 11:29 PM

That gombeen and his sidekick will be the death of this Island

Mute All Aboard To China
    Favourite All Aboard To China
    Nov 1st 2015, 12:24 AM

I’m sure a lot of commenters (I made up that word) could come up with a more cutting true or false for that chancer Hugh

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Nov 1st 2015, 3:15 AM

True or False? Does Enda regularly brown nose DOB and Merkel?

Oct 31st 2015, 11:03 PM

You scored 8 out of 10!
    Opposition leader Enda Kenny
    You’re the challenger and heir apparent, but not there yet.

Mute Mark Jones
    Favourite Mark Jones
    Nov 1st 2015, 12:06 AM

Scored the perfect 10.A real Enda fan

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Nov 1st 2015, 6:15 AM

Edna, your pant are always on fire; you deluded twit

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Oct 31st 2015, 8:54 PM

In fairness, you couldn’t fault him at the end of the day.

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:00 PM

He’s a tough guy to be fair. Growing up on the means streets of Castlebar, entering the Dail aged 27 after serving his time (4 years) in the trenches with hardened 6 and 7 year old primary school kids. he’s a mans man. Tough as nails.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:03 PM

I can see why the comment ratings are free….they aren’t worth anything.

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Oct 31st 2015, 9:05 PM

Agreed Niall. Amazing CV, those 6 year olds are the one that voted him in, he must have left a good impression.

Oct 31st 2015, 11:03 PM

Finger nails or iron nails?

Mute Timmay Timeo
    Favourite Timmay Timeo
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:13 AM

Wow I didn’t know he had a one wheeled car until now.