Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Tuesday 3 October 2023 Dublin: 10°C
Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
# LE14
The final stretch: Fewer than 40 council seats still to be filled
Counting is due to resume in most areas at 10am this morning.

LOCAL ELECTION RESULTS are continuing to trickle in this morning from count centres, with counts in Donegal and Mayo continuing right past dawn.

It’s into the final stretch now, with fewer than 40 seats left to be filled.

Some are pending a recount, while others will not continue until later this morning.

Fianna Fáil dominate the councils, holding 27 per cent of seats across the country, with Independents’ Day living on – they’re just marginally behind at 24 per cent.

Sinn Féin has doubled their representation on local councils from almost 8 per cent to 16 per cent.

Fine Gael has a significant grip on councils with 23 per cent of the seats, while Labour’s stake has nose-dived to barely 5 per cent.

Here’s a quick round-up of the current state of play at 7.30am:

Fingal County Council
Counting will resume at 10am this morning as six seats are still to be filled in Swords. Philip Lynam (SF), Darragh Butler (FF) have currently made it passed the mark.

Louth County Council

All six seats are currently filled for Ardee, but a recount is due to be held at 10am, requested by Independent Hugh Conlon who lost out on the last seat.

Longford County Council

A full recount is to begin at 11am. Only one seat has been filled in the Granard area – Fine Gael’s Michael Carrigy.

Limerick City and County Council

The six-seat Adare-Rathkeale LEA has yet to be filled, with Tom Neville (FG) and Emmett O’Brien (Ind) gaining a seat. Counting will be continue in this area this morning.

Kilkenny County Council

A recount has been called in Kilkenny City-East, with counting to continue to fill the six seats. Two Fianna Fáil candidates, Andrew McGuinness and Peter ‘Chap’ Cleere, currently hold seats.

Kerry County Council
Three of the seven Listowel seats have been filled, featuring a mix of Fianna Fáil (Brassil), Sinn Féin (Beasley), and Fine Gael (Thornton). A recount is expected with counting to continue this morning.

Meath County Council

While all six seats in Ashbourne have been filled, the count is Ratoath has been suspended until 2pm. Four out of seven councillors have been elected – Brian Fitzgerald (Ind), Nick Killian (Ind) Maria O’Kane (SF) Damien O’Reilly (FF).

Mayo County Council
Six seats have been filled in Ballina, but it’s going down to the wire – counting has continued past 7am this morning.

Monaghan County Council

The election in Ballybay-Clones will rerun after the sudden death of Councillor Owen Bannigan on Friday.

Offaly County Council
It’s almost done and dusted, except for a recount in Tullamore.

Wicklow County Council
Pat Fitzgerald (FF), Pat Kennedy (FF) Tommy Annesley (FF) and Sylvester Bourke (FG) all hold seats in Arklow, but a recount will take place at 11am before the other two are filled.

Who is your new local councillor? Here’s a list of everyone elected so far

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.