You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sanna Marin Xinhua News Agency/PA Images

Finnish minister set to become country's youngest prime minister at age of 34

Sanna Marin will also become the world’s youngest sitting PM, according to Finland’s biggest newspaper.

A 34-YEAR-OLD transport minister is set to become Finland’s youngest prime minister ever and its third female government leader.

Finland’s ruling Social Democratic Party council voted 32-29 to name Sanna Marin over rival Antti Lindtman to take over the government’s top post from incumbent Antti Rinne.

Having emerged as Finland’s largest party in the April election, the Social Democrats can appoint one of their own to the post of prime minister in the Nordic nation of 5.5 million.

Marin has been the party’s vice chairwoman, a lawmaker since 2015 and served until this week as the minister for transport and communications.

According to Finland’s biggest newspaper Helsingin Sanomat and the Ilta-Sanomat tabloid, Marin will become the world’s youngest sitting prime minister.

Finland currently holds the European Union’s rotating presidency until the end of the year.

Politicians are likely to approve the appointment of Marin and her new government quickly so she can represent Finland at the December 12-13 EU leaders’ summit in Brussels.

Rinne stepped down on Tuesday after a key coalition partner, the Centre Party, withdrew its support, citing lack of trust.

The Centre Party also criticised Rinne’s leadership skills prior to a two-week strike by the country’s state-owned postal service Posti in November that spread to other industries, including the national flag carrier Finnair.

Rinne’s resignation prompted the formal resignation of a coalition of the Social Democrats and the Centre Party and three junior partners: the Greens, the Left Alliance and the Swedish People’s Party of Finland.

The Social Democrats and the four other coalition parties said they are committed to the government programme agreed upon after the April election and will continue in Ms Marin’s new government.

The new government will still have a comfortable majority of 117 seats at the 200-seat Eduskunta (parliament).

The Social Democrats said they are seeking to have Rinne, a former trade union leader, become the parliament’s vice speaker.

He also plans to stay on as the Social Democrats’ chairman until a party congress next summer.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 59 comments
59 Comments
    Mute Forest Hump
    Favourite Forest Hump
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:17 AM

I’m almost 34, best thing I’ve ever done was watch the lord of the rings trilogy in one sitting. Still think about it sometimes.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:20 AM

@Forest Hump: An outstanding achievement in all fairness.

Mute Forest Hump
    Favourite Forest Hump
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:30 AM

@David Corrigan: it was the extended cut too

Mute Michael Bodycoach
    Favourite Michael Bodycoach
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:30 AM

@David Corrigan: that is impressive, tried it one and made it through half the second… never thought it was possible after that.

Mute Pól Ó'hAodha
    Favourite Pól Ó'hAodha
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:34 AM

@Forest Hump: How long was it in total with the extended cut?

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:36 AM

@Forest Hump: By God. It just gets better and better. :-)

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:38 AM

@Pól Ó’hAodha: 11 or 12 hours. No mean feat.

Mute Forest Hump
    Favourite Forest Hump
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:39 AM

@Pól Ó’hAodha: 11ish hours, I’d trained for it for a few year binge watching stuff on Netflix though

Mute Pól Ó'hAodha
    Favourite Pól Ó'hAodha
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:40 AM

@Clifford Brennan: Jesus fair play. Forrest Hump for Taoiseach!

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:02 AM

@Pól Ó’hAodha: seconded, Forest you’ve got my vote. Probably as good a reason to vote for someone as most politicians can muster.

Mute Zippy
    Favourite Zippy
    Dec 9th 2019, 12:52 PM

@Forest Hump: tip of the hat sir!! I once watched 11hours of Heroes back to back I was extremely hungover and had no kids at that stage so only left the sofa for water refills!! Good times

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Dec 9th 2019, 1:58 PM

@Forest Hump: Never seen it. Is it a true story Forest ?

Mute Hanzee
    Favourite Hanzee
    Dec 9th 2019, 4:49 PM

@Forest Hump: take a bow son. Her achievement pales in significance next to this

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Dec 9th 2019, 5:06 PM

@Forest Hump: m

Mute Diarmaid O'Riordáin
    Favourite Diarmaid O'Riordáin
    Dec 9th 2019, 6:03 PM

@Forest Hump: lol, fair play :-)

Mute Trevor W
    Favourite Trevor W
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:40 AM

Politics needs some young people with fresh ideas. Especially in Ireland. Best of luck to her.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:43 AM

@Trevor W: you know leo is only 40 and Simon Harris is only 33. Life experience counts far more in my book

Mute Σ ΛΛ ΛΛ Θ
    Favourite Σ ΛΛ ΛΛ Θ
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:52 AM

@Trevor W: Well in Ireland it hasn’t worked, Varadkar, Harris and Murphy for example.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:20 AM

@Trevor W: or just fresh ideas – it doesn’t bother me what age the fresh thinking and new ideas come from …no harm in respecting the older wiser experienced people as has been the way since democracies began – but Ireland needs a complete reform…all depts are not fit for purpose at this stage

Mute Marie Agnew
    Favourite Marie Agnew
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:56 AM

@Darren Byrne: And Arlene Foster is also in her 40’s!!! Simon Harris only 33, wow he’s only a nipper

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Dec 9th 2019, 12:01 PM

@Darren Byrne: Yea? And how did that work out with Bertie Cowan and Enda and Noonan?
    Oh yes – 200 Billion in debt.

Talent, character and above all – dedication to the job are what matter. Not experience.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Dec 9th 2019, 12:18 PM

@Shazam37: all those you list were career politicians. Never stuck their head outside the bubble

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Dec 9th 2019, 12:46 PM

@Darren Byrne: Eh What? What has that got to do with it?

Does that somehow absolve them of responsibility?

Your point was life experience counts for more. And I pointed to succession of guys with life experience who were grossely incompetent.

Would you like for me to continue? Martin Callinan Head Of Gardai. Scandal. Corruption. Retired in disgrace. John Delaney – over 50, 20 years in the job – Irish football and FAI destroyed. Pat Hickey in his 70s – Olympic Ireland scandal – national embarrassment. Sean Fitzpatrick and David Drumm – ran Anglo – helped devastate the country.

On and on and on and on. Life experience doesn’t matter a damn. Ethics. Talent. And above all a dedication to doing the job right. These are what count.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Dec 9th 2019, 2:58 PM

@Shazam37: So you don’t think experience of working within industry, within health, within education, with disadvantaged groups and the ups and downs that come with that are necessary to running a state and ensuring it’s citizens are looked after. The only talent these young career politicians have shown is for picking the right groups to get in with.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Dec 9th 2019, 3:07 PM

@Darren Byrne: You’re conflating issues. You’re using THESE politicians as a bench mark. THESE young politicians are useless to the country. But so were there old predecessors.

You said experience is the most important factor. You continually ignore my point that all of the experience held by other politicians and important figures was of no use.

I’ll also point out that most of the great achievements are made by people in their youth. Spielberg made Laws when he was 26. Gates and Microsoft. Zuckerberf and Facebook. Tiger woods. Stripe. Shakespeare wrote Hamlet in his 30s Day Lewis won the Oscar for Left Foot.

“Experience” is what old people use to justify their position irrespective of talent.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Dec 9th 2019, 3:17 PM

@Shazam37: your example gates woods and zuckerberg are some of the worst you can choose when you previously mentioned ethics. And trying suggest the arts of Shakespeare or Lewis are comparable to running a company is laughable

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Dec 9th 2019, 3:59 PM

@Darren Byrne: They weren’t an example of ethics – they were an example of accomplishment at an early age. Do try to keep up.

Ethics and dedication are what’s required in political leadership. Which we don’t have.

I’m merely pointing out to you that the majority of great accomplishments are achieved by young men and women. Not “experienced” men and women.

Experienced men have run this country into the ground which you seem perfectly happy to ignore. Given the mess the country is in where’s the evidence experience is of any use whatsoever?

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Dec 9th 2019, 4:18 PM

@Shazam37: You have a very narrow view of great achievements citing things like sport or arts. Even the average age of a best Oscar winner is 44. How about real achievements like Newton and calculus or Einstein and relativity, Marie Currie sand radiation. People developing cures for cancer and pioneering transplant surgeries, raising children with special needs or sacrificing everything to care for sick people in their lives.. a bit of time and you may come to see that great achievements aren’t just the ones that bring you fame

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Dec 9th 2019, 4:54 PM

@Darren Byrne: Staggering STAGGERING missing of the point there Darren.

But since you brought it up – Einstein was 26 when he first posited E=MC2. Curie was 34 when she won the Nobel Prize – 30 when she discovered Pollonium. Newton is believed to have built the fundamentals of his understanding of calculus in his 20s.

Sad thing is you trotted out your silly virtue signalling examples without even giving them 5 minutes of research. Sloppy. Zero Marks.

Mute UCC Social Democrats Society
    Favourite UCC Social Democrats Society
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:49 PM

@Darren Byrne: agreed – voting on political Manifesto is what makes sense. Voting on a candidate’s age defies logic.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:02 PM

@UCC Social Democrats Society: Why would you vote on a Political Manifesto that is part pack of lies part dispensable once in coalition?

The Labour Party manifesto committed to no 3rd level fees as I recall before the election when Rabbit knew it was a lie. Admitted as much afterward.

The FG manifesto promised universal health insurance and to “end the scandal
    Of patients on trolleys” – how did that work out?

No. While a manifesto will give some indication of where a party’s interest might lie of far more
    Importance is the character as defined by the actions of those IN the party.

The FG manifesto is sure to have lots of goodies in it for example. But we KNOW Leo Varadkar is quite happy for the Dara Murphy to rip off the tax payer, happy with 4000 homeless children and happy with a disastrous HSE. Not to mention the children’s hospitals

So no soc Dems sorry. The manifesto is often not a great way to judge a party. Their track record is a far better guide. Not what they SAY they’ll do. What they ACTUALLY do.

Mute jnulty17@gmail.com
    Favourite jnulty17@gmail.com
    Dec 10th 2019, 9:46 AM

@Darren Byrne: cop on age nothing to do with who’s better we had to much older politicians for long enough too and it was accepted

Dec 9th 2019, 10:14 AM

The most prosperous, inclusive and progressive countries on earth are social democracies.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Dec 9th 2019, 1:20 PM

@UCC Social Democrats Society: I doubt that

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Dec 9th 2019, 1:47 PM

@Gisbert Bayertz: Social Democracy is the only way…

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Dec 9th 2019, 1:51 PM

@Gisbert Bayertz: your doubts are unfounded. Look up the stats for Norway Sweden Denmark Switzerland etc. under all of the headings the previous poster listed.
    You will even find that these social democratic countries produce more millionaires per capita than the extreme capitalist USA

Mute Joey Byrne
    Favourite Joey Byrne
    Dec 9th 2019, 2:41 PM

@UCC Social Democrats Society: nope look at the mess multi cultural Sweden has become

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Dec 9th 2019, 6:15 PM

@Jessie Ginger: I doubt that as well

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Dec 9th 2019, 6:16 PM

@john doe: Switzerland is governed by social democrats? I urge you to double check your information

Dec 9th 2019, 9:46 PM

@Joey Byrne: The Social Democrats have and always will celebrate a diverse & inclusive society; and will never apologise for that.

Mute Mary
    Favourite Mary
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:32 AM

Very impressive achievement at such a young age. Wishing her the best of luck.

Mute John Lavin
    Favourite John Lavin
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:20 AM

Does she only have the one job?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 9th 2019, 9:28 AM

@John Lavin: No she hosts Mastermind quiz show. Her best know phrase is “I’ve started as I’m Finnish”

Mute John O'Connor
    Favourite John O'Connor
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:42 AM

All the major political parties in Finland are led by women. Maybe it’s time to see if women can do a better job of running things than men. I don’t think they could do a worse job at any rate.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:45 AM

@John O’Connor: Unless you’re talking about Sinn Fein, then yes they can do a worse job.

Mute Billy Nomates
    Favourite Billy Nomates
    Dec 9th 2019, 10:53 AM

@Clifford Brennan: Ah poor Cliff. Were the Sinn Féin monsters under your bed again last night?

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Dec 9th 2019, 11:05 AM

@Billy Nomates: Maybe you’ll find the 50% of SF councillors who lost their seats after the local elections under your own bed, William? The facts terrified you into thinking you were funny. My condolences. :)

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Dec 9th 2019, 12:04 PM

@John O’Connor: Gender is irrelevant – talent and a dedication to the job are what matters

Mute Billy Nomates
    Favourite Billy Nomates
    Dec 9th 2019, 1:12 PM

@Clifford Brennan: Sorry to disappoint Cliff, but I have no affiliation with Sinn Féin so no condolences necessary. I just laugh when I see people try and connect every article to Sinn Féin. ‘Sinn Féin ate my hamster!’

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Dec 9th 2019, 1:41 PM

@Billy Nomates: I know, it was madness of me to illustrate a ‘women couldnt do any worse’ with an example of how McDonalds SF have been in freefall since she took charge. Don’t know where you got that I said, or implied, you had an affiliation to any party. SF have officially denied consuming any hamsters, and I for one believe them.

Mute John O'Connor
    Favourite John O'Connor
    Dec 9th 2019, 1:41 PM

@Shazam37: yes I agree that talent and dedication are important but gender is far from irrelevant. men and women think differently. women are more cautious and men are risk takers.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Dec 9th 2019, 1:19 PM

Another neo liberal

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Dec 9th 2019, 1:54 PM

@Gisbert Bayertz: do you even understand what that means?

The economic policies of capitalist economies like USA the UK and Ireland are considered neoLiberal. It does not refer to social policies.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Dec 9th 2019, 6:17 PM

@john doe: it may surprise you that you’re not the only one who knows what that means

Mute jnulty17@gmail.com
    Dec 10th 2019, 9:48 AM

@Gisbert Bayertz: you have no concept what that means Finland is not a neo liberal country compared to others and don’t think she is neo liberal

Mute Paul Quirke
    Favourite Paul Quirke
    Dec 9th 2019, 12:48 PM

Daughter of same-sex parents too!

Mute jnulty17@gmail.com
    Dec 10th 2019, 9:47 AM

@Paul Quirke: so

Mute Thomas Corrigan
    Favourite Thomas Corrigan
    Dec 9th 2019, 3:47 PM

We need young blood in government. We need to tackle climate change. Remember she is the future and she will succumb to the inevitable like her generation

Mute Julie Deans
    Favourite Julie Deans
    Dec 9th 2019, 4:20 PM

Wow fair play just what this country needs ,, young females with fresh idea , hashtag emma mc. Only 8 years to catch up

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected