You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Antoine Dupont on the charge for France. Manuel Blondeau/INPHO

France thrash Wales 43-0 in Six Nations opener

Les Bleus ran out 43-0 winners.

France 43 

Wales 0

WINGERS LOUIS BIELLE-BIARREY and Theo Attissogbe both scored twice as Six Nations favourites France started the tournament with a comfortable home win over Wales this evening.

Bielle-Biarrey and Attissogbe made their contributions in a 22-minute first-half spell, putting down a statement for France’s title hopes before the hosts finished the game down a man following a late Romain Ntamack red card making him a doubt for next Saturday’s trip to England.

The defeat marked a record-extending 13th straight Test loss for Wales and a first failure to score a single point in a game since 2007, increasing pressure on coach Warren Gatland before heading to perennial underachievers Italy next weekend.

Les Bleus coach Fabien Galthie named Oscar Jegou and Hugo Auradou on the bench for their first Test since they were investigated over rape claims last year before they were dismissed.

When Jegou and Auradou’s names were read out pre-match in-front of 77,000 fans they were welcomed with cheers by the vocal crowd. But they were met by boos and whistles when they came off the bench.

Scrum-half Antoine Dupont skippered the hosts after missing last season’s Six Nations to focus on playing seven-a-side rugby at the Olympic Games in Paris.

Gatland, in his 150th game in charge of Wales, recalled experienced full-back Liam Williams and winger Josh Adams as the New Zealander looked to claim a first international win since October 2023.

The buzzing pre-match atmosphere stepped up a gear with the anthems and an acapella version of La Marseillaise with the home support in an expectant mood for the fixture and the Championship as a whole.

Les Bleus underlined their favourites tags for not just the game but the tournament, crossing the Wales line after after just four minutes but Dupont was held up and the visitors cleared their lines.

Wales won a free-kick at the first scrum of the game on 10 minutes, allowing them to venture into France’s territory, highlighting an early possible impact by former prop Adam Jones in his role as a consultant at the set-piece.

Dupont the provider

Wales’ ascendancy was short-lived before Dupont provided his 35th try assist in 56 Tests setting up Attissogbe in the corner with a delicate cross kick.

Full-back Thomas Ramos converted to leapfrog Christophe Lamaison as France’s second highest scorer.

By the half-hour mark Les Bleus had doubled their lead as Ramos set up Bielle-Biarrey for his 17th try in as many games for club and country this season.

Wales’ hopes for an unlikely first win against France since 2019 were hindered as hooker Evan Lloyd, on his first international start, was shown a sin-binned for a high tackle on Bielle-Biarrey.

Dupont provided two further masterful assists before the interval to set-up Attissogbe again and Bielle-Biarrey for their doubles as France led 28-0 at the break, with France in total control.

It was Wales’ heaviest deficit at the 40-minute mark since trailing 29-0 to the same opponents in 1998, a game which ended 51-0.

The hosts returned from half-time lethargic, seeming to be happy with their advantage.

It played into Wales’ hands as they made good gains into France’s 22m after an Adams break down the left wing but a knock-on from lock Dafydd Jenkins gave the home side the chance to clear.

With half an hour to play and the result beyond doubt Dupont was replaced by Nolann Le Garrec in six changes made at once by Galthie.

Replacements Julien Marchand and centre Emilien Gailleton both crossed for tries before Ntamack’s error with 11 minutes to go.

In his first Test appearance since August 2023, Ntamack was shown a yellow upgraded to red for a high hit on opposition No 10 Ben Thomas.

With two minutes to play France No 8 and man-of-the-match Gregory Alldritt rubbed salt into Wales’ wounds by crossing from short range in a clinical display from Les Bleus.

– © AFP 2025

Written by AFP and originally published on The 42 whose award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye. Subscribe here.

View 22 comments
22 Comments
    Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:46 PM

Heard an interview with one of the pilots saying people were blowing their horns passing them outside the airport and the great support they were getting. He forgot to say that the horns also came with two fingers at the pilots….

Mute 6gRrQtLn
    Favourite 6gRrQtLn
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:52 PM

@Thomas Meaney: heard it on the radio myself, sounded so chuffed with himself that they were on strike, obnoxious bellend

Mute Jim Connolly
    Favourite Jim Connolly
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:05 PM

@Thomas Meaney: An obnoxious sounding individual, a left over superiority attitude from the Aer Lingus of the 60s. These people will have to get a new way of thinking nowadays when air travel isn’t the preserve of the few any more. Hopefully their bosses in Spain will sort them out and make them do more for less money.

Mute John Harron
    Favourite John Harron
    Jun 29th 2024, 11:11 PM

@Thomas Meaney: Meaney by name, Meaney by nature.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:13 PM

@Jim Connolly: how dare they want to be paid a fair wage ,do you think the big boss in Spain sees your boot licker comments Jim ?

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:10 PM

Aer Lingus, just pay your pilots!

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:11 PM

@Ciaran: if this pay rise is given, the passengers will be the ones paying for it!

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:21 PM

@Ian McDonald:
    1000s upon 1000s of passengers. A couple of euro at most.

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:23 PM

@Ian McDonald: No way, is that how it works, customers fund their pay?!?!….. €45m is what they said it would cost. Thats around 4.50 per passenger per flight based on 2023s passenger numbers, and that would be to maintain a €255 million profit. But, they were forecasting growth this year and the next few years so it should be less. They could also absorb the cost as they’re making so much profit….. But they’d prefer to play hardball at the expense of their customers to maintain the profit and cut pilot terms for any increase above 13%….. FYI, it’s not 2019 anymore, there’s been 20%+ inflation so you can’t expect flights to be as cheap as before……. Fair play to the pilots fighting to keep up with inflation. Greedy management whose increases and bonuses were also paid by your fares

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:31 PM

@Ciaran: it must 100 to 1 ratio male to female pilots.

Mute Stephen O
    Favourite Stephen O
    Jun 30th 2024, 2:19 AM

@Ian McDonald: aer lingus is already making record profits, this is their labour’s fruit and rightfully so.

Mute Alan d
    Favourite Alan d
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:21 AM

@Ciaran: There comes a time when enough is enough , personally I feel they are overpaid for what they do . No way Aer Lingus should pay them what they want . Greed at play here

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:39 AM

@Alan d: So you favour the few billionaires over the people. Do you think they’ll be grateful to you or something?

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:11 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: them made 225 million profit last year ,the pay rise for the pilots would cost them 30 million .
    Pay you staff ,or don’t do business,
    Cannot understand all the big boss boot lickers on here

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:15 PM

@Alan d: next time you fly remember and tell the pilots exactly what who thinks of them before you take off

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:15 PM

Beyond time to reign in these commie unions

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:27 PM

@John D Doe: have some compassion. Poor lads on only €250,000 a year must be finding it hard to buy bread and milk.

Mute Mary Conneely
    Favourite Mary Conneely
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:43 PM

@Pat Hazzard: they wouldn’t be on strike if they got 250k a year. A fact or two wouldn’t go amiss.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Kevin Collins
    Favourite Kevin Collins
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:53 PM

@John D Doe: Are you enjoying your weekend? You have commie unions to thank for that.

Annual leave?
    Bank holidays?
    Sick pay?
    Maternity / parental leave?
    40 hour working week? All communist.

It’s disgusting all the rights that workers have thanks to unions indeed. Everyone should be sent down the mines at 12 years old for 2 and sixpence a fortnight.

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:11 PM

@Mary Conneely: a pilot’s starting package is 65k and it rises rapidly from there. If you have tears to shed, save them for teachers and healthcare workers

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:36 PM

@Ian McDonald: Aer Lingus starts at 80.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:37 PM

@Ian McDonald: A co-pilots starting package is less than 40k.

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:39 PM

@John D Doe: the wind ups are getting too obvious mate.

Mute Old Times
    Favourite Old Times
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:49 PM

@Ian McDonald: Shed a tear for teachers. Now that’s the funniest comment this weekend

Mute Paddy Whelan
    Favourite Paddy Whelan
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:56 PM

@John D Doe: You want to put “commie unions” on a throne?

Mute John Harron
    Favourite John Harron
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:06 PM

@Ian McDonald: the teachers and healthcare workers are welcome to go and get pilots licences. Same for anyone else whinging about pilots wages.

Mute Tomás Clayton
    Favourite Tomás Clayton
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:09 PM

@Ian McDonald: starting salary is in the low €30,000’s and their training usually costs up to €100,000 so they spend a large part of their first few years paying it back.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:13 PM

@Kevin Collins: Well said .. these clowns haven’t a clue of what a century of unions, activism and disruption have delivered them.. ignorant beyond belief.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:36 PM

@Mary Conneely: Here’s some facts
    Published figures:
    Just over one quarter are on an overall package – basic pay, variable pay, pension contributions etc. of €287,000.

The next 12% are on an overall package of €215,000

The next 19.5% are on an overall package of €170,000

The remaining 57% are on an overall package of “in and around” €200,000

This includes an employer pension contribution of 21%
    Still not bad money for flying increasingly automated aircraft.
    They are a disgrace and will loose out in the long term when IAG replace them with other brands in the group
    The cabin crew have to deal with most of the disruptive passengers, so presumably they should get paid the same.

Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:54 PM

@Kevin Collins: eu regulations secured most of that..

Jun 29th 2024, 8:01 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: Yep, that’s a good awl management IR tactic to publish their pension contributions on-top of their salary to make the number look bigger for the public. Now do one for what they get net into their pocket after tax and contributions! 200k gross is about 98.5k in the pocket….. How will IAG replace them at Dublin airport? With Iberia and BA pilots who earn more?!?!….. Put a cabin crew in a cockpit and see how they deal with a birdstrike in the engine or landing in a storm if you think they should be paid the same…… Hopefully they get around 20% and the rest of the EI staff put in claims for the same!

Jun 29th 2024, 8:47 PM

@Pat Barry: incorrect……. Heard its 55k for starters on the cadet program due to paying back training costs…….. For direct entry it’s a basic salary of €63,500 as per their own website if non type rated, €77,000 if type rated. That’s not unreasonable for flying a plane. Should they start on something like 30k in your eyes?!?!

https://www.aerlingus.com/careers/careers-in-the-air/direct-entry-pilots/

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Jun 30th 2024, 10:41 AM

@John Harron: Thanks for those words of wisdom Captain Harron

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:16 PM

@Pat Hazzard: pats back talking out his Ar$e again

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:19 PM

@John D Doe: the most backward comment I have seen in a long time , away you go and tug your fore lock to the bosses ,you wouldn’t have ANY employment rights if it wasn’t for unions,
    Foolish comment

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:23 PM

@Ian McDonald: teachers ??
    Are you kidding.
    Worked to the bone from 8.30 to 3.30 five days a week ,
    And the holidays?
    And you can sod off for a year or two and still come back to your job .
    Oh my god how do they manage ????

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:30 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: tom your numbers are completely incorrect

Mute Michael Williams
    Favourite Michael Williams
    Jun 30th 2024, 8:49 PM

@John D Doe: Pete Donohoe or whatever you’re calling yourself this week. Don’t be so down about your tiny willy; I’m sure there are treatments available these days, to at least make you feel more like a man. Now your psychopathy, that’s another matter.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:22 PM

More power to them. I hope they reach an acceptable outcome.

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:38 PM

Shame on them. Such greed and making paying customers suffer.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:49 PM

@Sean Money: I take it Sean you have never asked your boss for a pay rise because you wouldn’t want to be greedy

Jun 29th 2024, 5:53 PM

@Sean Money: it’s greedy looking for your pay not to be devalued by inflation?!?! That’s a strange opinion….. Guess the majority of workers in the country are greedy then, and there’s something wrong with the rest…… Greed by profit hungry EI management who want to devalued staff remuneration and cut conditions for anything above 13%

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:15 PM

@Ger Whelan: they were offered a pay rise and now they want a bigger one.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:32 PM

@Ian McDonald: they weren’t even offered half of what they asked for and what they were offered came with conditions. But of course you won’t mention that would you.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:16 PM

@Stephen Brennan: Got it in one Stephen!

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:27 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: not when they’re on the extortionate money they’re on! Sitting there watching automation. And don’t say they’re the best of the best pilots, cronyism is rampant there. Captains daughters are the flavour of the day
    When it comes to job success there.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 10:02 PM

@Ger Whelan: Wrong, they were offered off with no strings and it was shot down.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 10:22 PM

@Pat Barry: half not off.

Jun 29th 2024, 10:55 PM

@Éanna o Sca: Who do you fly for?….. Who said they’re the best of the best?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:40 AM

@Sean Money: Would agree. These massive companies owned by a handful of millionaires need to spread the wealth a little bit, record profits for the owners, then a little something for the staff, seem right.

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Jun 30th 2024, 1:26 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: with due respect, none of your business

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:24 PM

@Éanna o Sca: are you mad?

Mute W210 - W212
    Favourite W210 - W212
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:40 PM

These guys are responsible for anywhere between 100-300 per flight.
    Give them their pay.
    I want them relaxed and rested, their home lives and living conditions comfortable and their moods happy, while they are flying us in those planes.
    Aer Lingus can well afford it and if it costs me an extra tenner per flight so be it.

Mute ken bramley
    Favourite ken bramley
    Jun 29th 2024, 10:11 PM

@W210 – W212: Nah , tell them to stay at home. We will fly Ryan air instead. Thanks anyway !

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:19 PM

Hope they got soaked

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:41 AM

@reg morrisey: A fan of the uber rich eh?

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:28 PM

@reg morrisey: that’s right get that good old begrudging in there , backward you are just backward

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:30 PM

Why did Aer Lingus tell them they could not wear their uniforms? Sounds like bully boy tactics to me .

Mute Paddy Cullen
    Favourite Paddy Cullen
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:38 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: maybe because when they wear the uniform they are representing the company but today they were representing themselves??

Mute John Harron
    Favourite John Harron
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:03 PM

The top pilots in AL pay €2500 PER WEEK in tax. The irony of their huge contributions to the exchequer going towards the social welfare payments of some of the clowns commenting here. Get off your arse, get a pilots licence, get an aviation medical cert, pass the assesment to become a Captain, serve 26 years while passing multiple yearly proficiency tests and you too can earn the same. How much should a person earn for taking the responsibility of a €200,000,000 aircraft 38000 feet in the air travelling at 600 mph with 300 hundred men, women and children on board? If something goes wrong they can’t just pull over and stop. They are worth far more than they are asking. Finally a group is standing up and saying enough is enough. Pay them.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:11 PM

@John Harron: Aye aye Captain John.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:25 PM

@John Harron: Serve 26 years with Aer Lingus and earn €350K PA if this agreement goes through and 21% pension and 7 weeks holidays, sorry mate too much and won’t happen.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:39 PM

@John Harron: that’s not a reason. That’s social racism and supporting elitism. You are making a fool if yourself.

Mute KB
    Favourite KB
    Jun 29th 2024, 10:20 PM

@Pat Barry: I think you’ve outed yourself as management…

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 10:29 PM

@KB: That’s funny, I’ve been promoted to Aer Lingus management and a troll tonight.

Mute KB
    Favourite KB
    Jun 30th 2024, 6:42 AM

@Pat Barry: I’d say the two are akin

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:42 AM

@John Harron: Yup. the dopey right continues it’s blind march for the elites that use them. It’s impressively ironic

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:33 PM

@Dominic Leleu: supporting elitism,it’s not china ,you should be payed your worth ,you going to tell a heart surgeon he should be paid the same as a teacher

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:24 PM

They a greedy bunch on great salaries and good perks

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:41 PM

@Pauline Cahill: and? You’re saying anyone on a decent salary doesn’t deserve a pay rise? They, in fact, deserve massive pay cuts over time when inflation is factored in. What about the aer lingus bosses who’ve given themselves significant pay rises whilst not doing anything for their pilots… Any comment about them?

Mute Deirdre Moffat
    Favourite Deirdre Moffat
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:42 PM

@Pauline Cahill: You’re a pilot then?

Mute Gerard McMonagle
    Favourite Gerard McMonagle
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:36 PM

@M To The B: are you for real,No1 they get a decent wage,no2 inflation has happened everywhere and no3 don’t hide behind a stupid name

Mute David Connell
    Favourite David Connell
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:46 PM

@Pauline Cahill:
    Oh, good woman, you’re talking about Senior Management who gave themselves a 66% pay rise in the same 5 year period. The pilots took a 10% reduction during covid, which was supposed to be given back (but wasn’t). So if you work it out, it realistically is a 14% inflation related increase over 5 years. Aer Lingus conviently omitted that part.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:43 AM

@Pauline Cahill: daft comment when the shareholders are recording record profits. Only and elitist fool gets caught on the wrong side of these things Pauline.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:37 PM

@Gerard McMonagle: if they are not paid properly they won’t fly ,company will lose out.
    Other companies are paying,pilots will move to them .
    Fact is they have a solid claim and AL is making a complete balls of it as well and losing brand share

Mute Johnno Reilly
    Favourite Johnno Reilly
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:03 PM

Sack them all

Mute T S
    Favourite T S
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:10 PM

@Johnno Reilly: Well, now ya see this Johnno….and try to understand it if you have good comprehension skills….

There is a global shortage of pilots. Somewhere in the region of 34000!!!! So already, market value of a fully trained, highly experienced pilot is well, rather high!!!!! Throw into the works the immense reputation which Aer Lingus pilots hold on the marketplace….it really is something Ireland should be proud of. Aer Lingus pilots are considered some of the best.

So, if we do as you suggest, and sack them all! Well that would be the end of Aer Lingus, and perhaps Irish aviation as any potential replacement with half a brain cell (and pilots certainly require more than half a brain cell) would avoid working in Ireland like the plague!

Does that make sense to ya?

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:29 PM

@T S: You’re on the losing side T S.

Mute T S
    Favourite T S
    Jun 30th 2024, 8:12 AM

@Pat Barry: I’m on the side of economic science my insular minded friend

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 30th 2024, 8:46 AM

@T S: Voodoo economics more like.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 30th 2024, 8:51 AM

@Pat Barry: Unrealistic and ill-advised.

Mute William O leary
    Favourite William O leary
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:00 PM

another rte..where’s the ceo in all this being paid a million a year .not a word ..

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:06 PM

@William O leary: Obviously the difference is Aer Lingus is a private company and RTÉ isn’t.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:44 AM

@Pat Barry: Again, and again and again, RTE is 50% private.

Mute Deirdre Moffat
    Favourite Deirdre Moffat
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:29 PM

Journal…close the comments on this! The nut jobs are on their way!

Mute Gavan Hogan
    Favourite Gavan Hogan
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:30 PM

@Deirdre Moffat: Pride

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:20 PM

@Deirdre Moffat: They never left!

Mute donal finn
    Favourite donal finn
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:24 PM

They only marched around the airport because it wouldn’t have been safe anywhere else.

Mute bruce banner
    Favourite bruce banner
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:21 PM

No comments allowed on most important news today.. Smokey bacon flavoured golf balls.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:40 PM

€100K to become a pilot, woopdidoo, to do a Masters in anything costs half that and you’re not guaranteed anything near a pilot’s salary.

Jun 29th 2024, 9:38 PM

@Pat Barry: yeah, the actual job that they do dictates the salary. You know, being responsible for the lives of the passenger day in day out. 10s of thousands a year. Being responsible for a €100+ million aircraft….. You’re only guaranteed a job if you do a cadetship actually. Some learn to fly on their own backs but don’t make it commercial…… Every single one of your posts smacks of begrudgery. You should try to become a pilot instead of trolling and trying to belittle the job, there’s a global shortage of them! I hear it’s well paid, although the government takes half!

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 10:15 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: I’m glad I’m upsetting y’all.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:04 PM

All the talk of inflation from 2019 to 2024, we all know why that is, a temporary situation, consider the consumer price index inflation calculator for the previous five years from 2014 to 2019, do you know what it was, well I’ll tell you what it was, it was 0.7%, pilots will you go back to work please and stop acting the maggot.

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:26 PM

Every person should be given a payrise that works in Ireland it should be law cost of living out of control how are people to live and work this country is a washout with money

Jun 29th 2024, 8:18 PM

@Alan Moloney: Everyone should. I’d say management levels are getting the big increases while keeping the “workers” down and profits up. Inflation and tax sucking the life out of the average Joe as the years go on

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:52 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Income tax in Ireland is anything between 16th and 20th spot in the EU depending on what source you look at, either way it’s a lower tax economy.

Jun 29th 2024, 10:42 PM

@Pat Barry: Are you sure about that Pat?!?! It not only depends on the tax rate in these comparison tables but at what amount you enter the higher rate, your credits… Etc. Denmark for example is much higher on these lists than us but when you look and actually do the calculations you pay 1k more tax here than in Denmark on a salary of 100k, and they have much better services. France, higher on the list but again you pay 1k more here….. 40% top rate entry in England is £50.2k. €42k here. That’s over €17k higher….. Get the picture?…… Either way our tax bands are out of date, and the services we get for them are shocking. Govt taking in massive income tax and vat after the COL crisis and the bands need to be raised as well with all the inflation. Milking us dry

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jun 29th 2024, 11:42 PM

Hear, hear. Solidarity with everyone who’s still waiting to have pay cuts restored. More power to them.

Mute Sill Scoundrel
    Favourite Sill Scoundrel
    Jun 30th 2024, 10:42 AM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Moving tax bands for inflation is always a good idea and the thresholds have been moved and probably will get moved again in the next budget. You have to look at social transfers to get the full picture. At the end of 2023 the 6th decile of Irish households had a mean total market income of 1,219 Euro per week and a net disposable income of 1,137 Euro. In the 7th decile total market income is 1,681 and net income is 1,307. In the 8th decile total market income is 1,990 and net income is 1,515. Households only really hit a 20% drop in gross income when they are in the top 20% of income earners. In the fifth decile TMI is 942 Euro and net is 971. From the fifth decile down households now receive more social transfer than they make in contributions and without the social transfers, most of them go bust. When you get under the median figures, that’s where you really start to see the problem. In the fourth decile TMI is 653 Euro and net income is 805 Euro ( even though their total deductions are 160 Euro). Transfers are getting bigger when wages should be rising. It’s unsustainable. I don’t know enough to comment on the wages pilots receive but wages have to go up and the projected real wage growth for this year will still leave most workers worse off than 2019.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:40 PM

Back in the bad ‘oul days in the 80s it cost £300 just to get to London and it’s twice that now with Aer Lingus, wake up people anybody supporting the pilots!

Jun 30th 2024, 5:19 PM

@Pat Barry: £300 in 1985 is nearly a €1k in today’s money. €158 euro return to LHR for the saver fare for the first week in Sept…… Why bother lying?!?!

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:29 PM

Not only screwing their own customers but also disturbing business of other airlines and collateral. All that without consequence for them obviously.
    If they were baggage staff, it would be a scandal, but posh boys with high salary and uniform would got away with that.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:41 PM

@Dominic Leleu: unbelievable comment,are you not ashamed off yourself for that

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:32 PM

Shocking isn’t it…pouring rain near midsummer!

Mute Maurice Byrne
    Favourite Maurice Byrne
    Jun 29th 2024, 10:33 PM

At the top of their scale these guys currently earn more than the Taioseach. They’ve lost all sense of themselves in delusional self importance

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 10:43 PM

@Maurice Byrne: Leo was on just under €209K before he left, the senior Aer Lingus pilots will be on €350K plus fringe benefits if this deal goes through, which it won’t.

Jun 29th 2024, 10:54 PM

@Maurice Byrne: did you know that the Taoiseach salary isn’t the benchmark for all other salaries, especially not in a private company. Most aren’t top of the scale. You me or anyone else would also fight so their salary isn’t devalued by inflation if we could. Public sector has around 20% since 2019 and 3 more small hikes to go until the end of 2025…… These lads are worth their salary, the professional spoofers and PR spinners in govt aren’t. There are plenty of other airlines that pay more, it’s a well paid job. Not that hard to get your head around.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 29th 2024, 11:07 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: What’s your source for this 20% public service increase and in what departments?

Jun 30th 2024, 6:32 AM

@Pat Barry: The internet. Govt sites. All staff. Stability/Building momentum agreements and the recent COL one…. Do I need to wipe your ar$e too?!?!:

Jan 2019 by 1%
    Sept 2019 by 1.75%
    Jan 2020 up to €32k by 0.5%
    Oct 2020 by 2%
    Oct 2021 by 1%
    Feb 2022 by 3%
    Oct 2022 by 1%
    Mar 2023 by 2%
    Oct. 2023 by 1.5%
    Jan 2024 by 2.25%
    Jun 2024 by 1%
    Oct 2024 by 1%
    Mar 2025 by 2%
    Oct 2025 by 1%
    Feb 2026 by 1%
    June 2026 by 1%

All annualised

Jun 30th 2024, 6:41 AM

@Pat Barry: Incorrect figures again. Also, compare like for like!!!!! Either base salaries for both or total remuneration for both instead of manipulating the data for those that don’t bother fact checking!!!!

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:46 AM

@Maurice Byrne: Aer lingus CEO… “pay last year included a base salary of €963,000 and a €1.6m bonus split evenly between cash and a deferred share award”… Sit down Maurice.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:47 PM

@Maurice Byrne: Taioseach has never had a proper job ,that lad wouldn’t get past “do Yiu want frys with that” in the real world

Mute Niall Whyte
    Favourite Niall Whyte
    Jun 30th 2024, 12:38 AM

“The last thing we want to do is to hurt the public”

First thing they do is hold an all strike on one of the busiest weekends in Dublins social calendar. Knew exactly what they were doing and have *no* problem inconveniencing anyone as long as they aren’t.

Moaning about inflation but oblivious to the extra costs there forced on the customers they claim to care about. IALPA care about no one but IALPA

Jun 30th 2024, 6:55 AM

@Niall Whyte: Is that the first thing they did?!?!….. What about the 22 months of negotiations? What about the work to rule, you know, not coming in on your days off to do overtime to help management cover up a poorly run operation (purposely understaffed to cut costs)? They only did the 8hr strike because management saw it fit to start sending out threatening letters to staff escalating things….. Pilots union appear happy to meet management, go to the LC, come down on percentage…. Management putting preconditions on any meetings, playing hardball on figures, wanting to cut terms…..etc. Your anger appears to be misplaced.

Mute Niall Whyte
    Favourite Niall Whyte
    Jun 30th 2024, 10:33 AM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: deflect deflect deflect deflect and whataboutery. Im not one bit angry as im totally unaffected by whats going on. Simple fact is they said they were doing a work to rule and then seemingly from nowhere a full workstoppage. As for pilots getting arsey about perks being stopped….if i was a company owner and my staff were working to rule you can bet I’d be stopping all perks beyond basic salary too.

Jun 30th 2024, 11:16 AM

@Niall Whyte: oh you missed the part where individual pilots were threatened by HR and the union members were sent threatening letters? I’d say the letters to the union were legal letters given the action in an attempt to bully…… It was touched on in my comment and widely reported. THAT directly led to the 8 hr strike action so it wasn’t out of nowhere or unwarranted. And not related to the perks, I’m sure that was expected by them.

Jun 30th 2024, 11:21 AM

@Niall Whyte: Try stick to the facts and timelines of events. You’re omitting events to suit the narrative of your comments.

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Jun 29th 2024, 5:40 PM

Non Management “workers” with power. IBEC must want to vomit. Legislation FG….how has this happened!

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 30th 2024, 9:05 AM

A nurse’s average salary in 2019 was €36K, it’s now €40K which equates to an 11% increase.

Mute KB
    Favourite KB
    Jun 30th 2024, 9:54 AM

@Pat Barry: Pat this article is not about nurses. It’s about pilots pay.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:47 AM

@Pat Barry: Jeepers Pat (and the 8 lantern jaws that liked this)…. ‘These cows are close up, and those ones are far away’!

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:53 PM

Few people support this money grab.I hope these greedy swines got soaked today. A legacy airline with legacy terms and conditions but still not enough for these spoilt,pampered brats.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jun 29th 2024, 11:44 PM

@Gerry Lamont: Save your breath because I think you’re swimming home after that.

Mute Paul O+Brien
    Favourite Paul O+Brien
    Jun 30th 2024, 8:31 AM

Pull the rug from under them all. Give them what they want for now then wind the airline down temporarily in the low season then fire the lot of them and let them re apply for their jobs as contractors like most of the Ryanair pilots. End of strike action and smug attitude.

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Jun 30th 2024, 9:31 AM

@Paul O+Brien: OK so force all pilots into awful contracts leading to more stress and less job satisfaction, you want tired pissed off pilots at the controls??? Terrible idea.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:48 AM

@Paul O+Brien: Why would stakeholders do that, they’re recording record profits? Are you 12?

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:59 PM

@Paul O+Brien: that would thankfully be illegal

Mute Mary Crehan
    Favourite Mary Crehan
    Jun 30th 2024, 12:39 AM

They should be ashamed of themselves. 25% increase and ruining ordinary peoples lives

Jun 30th 2024, 6:02 AM

@Mary Crehan: Ruining lives?!?!….. How is that? Bit dramatic Mary.

Mute Niall Whyte
    Favourite Niall Whyte
    Jun 30th 2024, 3:40 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: have you seen the articles of the people who’ve been affected? Massively increased costs for rebooking flights, having to stay longer in hotels than intended, cancelled trips to eagerly awaited events etc etc. But hey, it’s not about IAPLA hurting the public is it.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:53 PM

@Mary Crehan: first world problems for you mary

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:53 PM

@Mary Crehan: first world problems for you mary??

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:56 PM

@Niall Whyte: no that would be the responsibility of the company

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Jun 30th 2024, 9:29 AM

Aer lingus is making huge profits and the pilots want a share of this, which isn’t unreasonable so too all staff should share in the profitability of A L.
    Introduce a profitability sharing bonus scheme paid annually as% of salary.

For those attacking the pilots remember there have been 22 months of negotiations and A L management and the government knew this strike was coming and did nothing to prevent it.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 30th 2024, 9:50 AM

@Niall Murphy: What’s the government got to do with it?

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Jun 30th 2024, 9:58 AM

@Pat Barry: are you serious Pat?????

If I’ve to explain this to you…..

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:46 PM

Well footed and booted

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:02 PM

If they’re not happy, leave!!! No one is asking them to stay. Loads of pilots type rated and more than happy to work under existing condition’s.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:19 PM

@Éanna o Sca: In the AL ballot only 1% of pilots were happy with current pay.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:49 PM

@Éanna o Sca: rubbish

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:49 AM

My gosh, the IQ of this place is on the floor.

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected