You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

An early version of the robot bartender (they've come on a bit since then) PA Archive/PA Images

Robot pint-pullers and no more queues at the bar: The future of your night out

An army of cocktail-making machines is waiting in the wings to take over.

EVERYONE HAS THEIR own limit for queuing. We look a queue up and down and in a split second decide whether it’s worth the wait or not. It’s a problem for bars and  cafés that rely on walk-in trade, because it means being popular can harm business long-term.

In his book The Psychology of Waiting Lines, David Maister shares his theory on queuing and ordering. He explains that no matter how efficient and courteous businesses are to customers, “the bitter taste of how long it took to get attention pollutes the overall judgments that we make about the quality of service.”

As a result, Maister says people are less likely to return if they have to queue to order. Before high-tech machine learning solutions, self-checkouts and robot bartenders came on the scene, Disneyland theme parks were lauded for solving this problem. They distracted the masses waiting in line with famous Disney characters who would parade the waiting line, taking pictures with fans and entertaining them.

It has proved an effective way to keep impatient kids happy. However selfies with Goofy as you wait for your pint on a night out aren’t a one-size-fits-all solution. But new applications of machine learning tech and the internet of things are now reinventing how we order.

Irish startup Bamboo has started to make ordering easier by waging war on queuing. Its service allows users to order ahead for their coffee or sandwich at lunch, collect rewards points in the process, and skip the queue minutes later. The startup’s co-founder Luke Mackey says his service already has thousands of users who use the app an average of twice a week.

“I think people are going to become more and more focused on time and convenience,” says Mackey. “All we have to look at is Deliveroo and Uber. People are pressing a button on their phone to get their food and taxi brought to them, the same thing will happen in restaurants and cafés. I’m going to want to walk in and have everything sitting there waiting for me.

Look at Twitter, we refresh constantly for the next thing to come up, our concentration has gotten so short. We’re so driven by the now, so the same thing is going happen when I get my morning coffee. I’m going to be annoyed I have to stand in a queue for five or ten minutes.

nino-robotic-bartender-carlo-ratti-technology_dezeen_2364_col_1-852x662 Nino's robot bartender Makr Shakr Makr Shakr

Bamboo is taking on daytime ordering, making it easier to pick up lunch in a jiffy. But there are other companies worldwide tackling the same problem for your night out. For instance, a common service used by Irish restaurants called OpenTable allows people to book their table with a few clicks.

But for those who forgot to book and want a table as quick as possible, queue tracking app Eet actually monitors footfall at food joints in London and tells users if there’s a long waiting time.

Another interesting approach that could more dramatically overhaul your night out – that bartenders won’t be fond of – is Nino, a robot that can make nearly any drink in seconds. People place their orders through their phone, choose a traditional recipe or create their own concoctions from 170 bottles of spirits and then collect moments later.

It sounds like stuff of the future, but early models of Nino were first unveiled in 2013 and since then the robotic cocktail maker has been installed on Royal Caribbean cruise liners and in some high-end hotels.

Theme Park Review / YouTube

Similarly to Nino, there’s already a coffee joint in San Francisco called Café X being run by a $25,000 robot barista that can make over 100 espressos or flat whites an hour. 

Screen Shot 2018-11-28 at 12.45.06 Café X's barista robot Café X Café X

What’s next?

A big experiment being run by Amazon could set the tone for how quickly queuing is phased out and normalise the behaviour of ordering everyday items from your phone on-the-go.

In its new Amazon Go grocery stores, there’s not a cashier desk in sight and as a result, no queues. Each shop, which is the size of your average Spar or Centra, uses the same tech built into driverless cars. When you’re finished shopping, you just walk out the door and your card is automatically charged. No queues, no waiting.

Although these stores and the likes of Nino speed up ordering, the personal touch is gone, but should businesses be worried about that? The results are mixed.

A survey of 24,000 people in a dozen countries by tech website CRM Buyer showed that 80% of people preferred customer service from a person instead of a robot. However, research by the Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services showed that although people detest using self-service checkouts, they actually want more of them.

So it’s hard to tell if an army of Nino robots are about take over your local. Mackey says he’s certain queuing will be largely phased out, but he thinks cashiers can breathe a sigh of relief because that personal touch of ordering in some settings is still too valuable – a human touch is needed.

I think there will always be someone. Only a certain amount of ordering will ever be done through mobile ordering I think because there are different sides of the trade. Take full-service restaurants for instance where the service and food is important – they’re not really focused on take-out trade.

“But if it’s a restaurant that’s trying to get people in and out of the door, I can see them investing in self-service ordering kiosks or ordering ahead from your phone.”

More: Goodbye open-plan offices, hello couch calls: The future of being productive at work

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 37 comments
37 Comments
    Mute PC Principal
    Favourite PC Principal
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:16 PM

Of course we can learn lessons from the past, but the world is a very different place today with asymmetrical conflicts and issues.

I love how everyone harps on,”oh but the famine, oh they all let us in”. The difference is we did not pose the very real and dangerous risk of terrorism. Until proper vetting process are established the root out the bad ones then pull down the shutters

Mute ED
    Favourite ED
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:25 PM

@PC Principal: I’m not saying we shouldn’t do due diligence but let’s not over inflate the risk here.

Mute PC Principal
    Favourite PC Principal
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:31 PM

@ED: I encourage you to do some research and compare Islamic terrorism, anti-sematism, rape, and gang-related crime and violence from welcome nations such as the U.K., France, Germany and Sweden with the likes of Poland or Japan. There is a common denominator here.
    For the record, I’ve no issues with diversity or welcoming immigrants but we don’t let strangers into our home so quickly so how is this any different? This is a conservative talking point, not alt-right

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:52 PM

@PC Principal: crime is down to one thing and one thing only, poverty and inequality and nothing else. The most dangerous countries on the planet to live in a dirt poor with no migrants so were does your fantastic logic fit in there? The one percent are the real enemy, they are sucking more and more wealth for everyone and are using their influence in the media to point the finger at migrants etc to take the focus off them.

Mute PC Principal
    Favourite PC Principal
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:58 PM

@Peter Hughes: I accept that, but look at statistics and demographics for the countries I listed above. Again, I’m not xenophobic. I genuinely wish things were different but there’s no point in burying our heads in the sand

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:09 PM

@Peter Hughes: Just under 20% of the polulation is non-Irish, one of the highest rates in Europe for a tiny Country, have we not done our bit in that respect ?
    CSO also show that approx 9,000 pps numbers are being registered every month and that only 9% of Asylum Seekers were found to be genuine.
    This is the Elephant in the Room when it comes to the Housing Crisis.

Mute Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:30 PM

@Gowon Geter: where did you get that 9% figure from do u mind me asking?

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:33 PM

@Gowon Geter: vast majority are eu nationals as you know….we can travel to them and they can travel to us….either this or leave the EU which will see them all leave and you can have your pure blood utopia whatever that is while you are trying to find dinner in a bin because we would be wiped out economically.

Mute Ramón Nomar
    Favourite Ramón Nomar
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:49 PM

@Gowon Geter: Out of all OECD countries, Ireland has the highest percentage of its native-born population living overseas. Even though Ireland has started recovering from the devastating impact of the financial crisis, emigration remains high with 35,300 people leaving in the 12 months to April 2015. This was a 13 percent drop on the previous year where 40,700 Irish people moved overseas. An OECD analysis has shown that one in six Irish-born people now live abroad.” Having 18% of Irish born living abroad. Now being xenophobic and having so many people abroad doesn’t make senses.

Mute Eamonn VIDF
    Favourite Eamonn VIDF
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:59 PM

@Gowon Geter: Absolute vast majority are Brits / Americans

Jan 21st 2019, 7:04 PM

@Gowon Geter: ….(tumbleweed)…an example of the utter lies that get spread around here. And such a shame that ppl will happily jump on that like a dog in heat

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 8:01 PM

@Peter Hughes: The Media is Non-Existant, yes, all of those poor Countries are actually RICH Countries, Looted & Gutted from ‘Within’ by the IMF & World Bank, in order to Remove their Sovereignty, & buy up National Assets at a discount, a bit like they did to IRL in 2008, but Globalist Pawn Higgins won’t mention that.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 21st 2019, 8:25 PM

@Gowon Geter: “CSO also show that approx 9,000 pps numbers are being registered every month”

Wrong: Here’s the net immigration figures.

2012: -25,700
    2013: -18,700
    2014: -8,500
    2015: 5,900
    2016: 16,200
    2017: 19,800
    2018: 34,0000

Net immigration was 2,800 per month last year (.

We had had 4 years in a row where more arrive than left, previously more left than arrived. 25% came from the UK, 7.6% from the EU, 8% from Australia, 4.4% from the US and 45% came from outside the EU (15,500 or 1250 per month).

See: Table 3 Estimated Migration classified by Sex and Country of Origin/Destination, 2012 – 2018 – https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/er/pme/populationandmigrationestimatesapril2018/

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:14 PM

@Gowon Geter: The Irish Government pays €5.5 BILLION to 10,000 NGO’S operating in Ireland. Higgins is a Globalist puppet. There is No difference to British Plantation or Global Plantation. The Only ‘Racism’ is Anti-White, Anti-’Christian’ Racism, via those who Own the Central Banks & Media, & control our Pawn Government, Judiciary, Garda, & HSE. Wake Up IRL.

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:24 PM

@Ramón Nomar: The Subversives Pawns in Government are conditioning the Sheeple for the UN Migration Pact, that the Fake Media refused to report… The UN Pact makes Migration a ‘Human Right’ & any objection a ‘Criminal Offence’. The UN will eventually remove ALL Borders, & END ‘Nation States’. Higgins is a Pawn, used to ‘Patronize’ the Irish Sheeple into Submission. Open Borders for Israel.

Jan 21st 2019, 9:45 PM

@David Jordan: David ‘The Truthy Bomber’ Jordan from dooowntooown to blow your lies out of the water!! You’ll have a field day with this sausage that just landed. Not worth it by the looks of it though.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:59 PM

@PC Principal: “The difference is we did not pose the very real and dangerous risk of terrorism”

This is historical revisionism – the Irish Fenian Brotherhood literally invaded Canada in 1869, we did indeed have our own foreign fighters and terrorists back in the 19th century day in the US.

The Usual Way of Doing Things (depicting the Irish as militant troublemakers), by Thomas Nast, 1871 – https://i.imgur.com/LjZxIW1.png

The Irish Fenians and other Irish militant groups sprang up in the US in the aftermath of the famine and particularly after the end of the American Civil War. They attacked British interests and freed former slaves, and they most incredibly invaded Canada. A force of 60-700 Fenians fought Canadian forces in the 1869 Battle of Ridgeway – the Fenians won by the way.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Ridgeway

There was pervasive anti-Irish sentiment as a result. That is what Gangs of New York is based on, a sanitised version of the violence instigated by the Irish in New York that forgets the killings of former slaves; the Irish were worried they would steal the menial jobs.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:09 PM

@Fionn_Oisín: “The Irish Government pays €5.5 BILLION to 10,000 NGO’S operating in Ireland. ”

No, the Irish government spent €750 million foreign aid in 2017, 0.25% of our Gross National Product (€300.6 billion in 2017) on charity. 22% (€165 million) when to Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs), 0.055% of our Gross National Product.

You have thus exaggerated by 3333%.

A full breakdown on spending is available here…

https://www.irishaid.ie/what-we-do/how-our-aid-works/where-the-money-goes/

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:10 PM

@Peter Hughes: ‘one thing and one thing only, poverty and inequality’. That’s two.

Mute Fenian
    Favourite Fenian
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:42 PM

@David Jordan: The fenians weren’t terrorists you can find them on the militia groups register in america one of the hundreds of groups that were operating legally in america and could bear arms due to the 2nd amendment.

canada was outside of american jurisdiction
    the french and indians had raids operating regularly.

The gangs in new york were a result of failed multiculturalism where blacks, irish, italians english, and others were cramped into different areas and as a result riots, gang wars etc happened regularly

The anti catholic propaganda was in all protestant countries not just america they also had ones made of germans.
    In the modern sense they were some of the first memes.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 21st 2019, 11:12 PM

@Fenian: Build the Wall, history repeats – https://i.imgur.com/r2hXt72.jpg

Mute wacker macker
    Favourite wacker macker
    Jan 21st 2019, 11:59 PM

@Fionn_Oisín: You won’t get many agreeing with the truth. This is population replacement bigtime. The EU recon we can hold 65 million by 2050. I was in Liffey Valley SC last weekend and if someone dropped in from space they would not know what country they were in.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 22nd 2019, 12:33 AM

@wacker macker: “he EU recon we can hold 65 million by 2050. “#

The population of Ireland is predicted to reach 5.8 million by 2050…

https://www.populationpyramid.net/ireland/2050/

Mute Wont Surrender
    Favourite Wont Surrender
    Jan 22nd 2019, 3:19 AM

@PC Principal: when they say the famine what the really mean is attempted genocide by the British. And yet they remain on friendly terms with the British even inviting the filthy Queen to this shore.

Jan 22nd 2019, 9:03 AM

@David Jordan: David you appear to be confusing net migration figures with immigration. The net figure of 34k is correct but this is made up of Immigration approx 90k with Emigration (people leaving) approx 56k a net figure of 34k. Therefore the total new PPS is 90k or 7.5k per month. In addition the natural birth rate is 30k, which is 3.5k per month. So the total new registered PPS if everyone that arrived and were born applied immediately is approx 10k.
    Figures based on CSO data for 2018. So in summary 90k new people arrived in Éire in 2018 which was up from 84k in 2017 and required new PPS numbers and not 34k that you referenced.
    https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/er/pme/populationandmigrationestimatesapril2018/

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 22nd 2019, 7:05 PM

@John: I did day “net immigration figures.”, I did not confuse anything. Net migration is the most important figure, this figure increases (or decreases) the proportion of the population with an immigrant background, that is what most people worry about, immigrants staying here. People are not so concerned with e.g. Chinese or Brazilians studying and working for a year here and going home.

Also, it’s interesting to see that 61.7% of immigrants who arrived in the 12 months before April 2018 had a 3rd level qualification, significantly higher than the Irish population (43%). Also, Polish (122,515) are 23% of all immigrants, have (3.6%) almost half the unemployment rate of Irish (6.0%). The next largest group of immigrants are UK nationals (103,113), and they have an an unemployment rate of 3.9%. Polish + UK nationals make up 42% of immigrants in Ireland.

Jan 22nd 2019, 10:14 PM

@David Jordan: David you responded to a previous poster who stated approx 9k PPS are issued per month. You stated this was wrong, I’ve just pointed out this is close to factually correct. ie 90k immigration and 30k born so approx 10k per month (if everyone entitled applied) new PPS per year in 2018. I believe you further stated that the real figure of new PPS was around 3k per month based on a net figure of 34k which is wrong.
    I’m sure you appreciate its important to not misrepresent data and to ensure stats and data are analysed correctly.

Mute IrishFreeThinking
    Favourite IrishFreeThinking
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:11 PM

And why the return Micky?

It’s because working class people people with legitimate grievances about unfettered immigration are drowned out by so called “moderates” as racists and Nazis…

Why are we surprised when they get snapped up by UKIP, Pegida and others?

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:19 PM

@IrishFreeThinking: We don’t do discourse well, we never did…we are getting worse at it…can’t blame the Brits or the church this time!

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:30 PM

@IrishFreeThinking: Who appointed you as a spokesperson for the working-class people?

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:36 PM

@Orla Smith: He can speak for me anyways

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:57 PM

@Gowon Geter: He has my vote too

Jan 21st 2019, 6:05 PM

@Gowon Geter: not me. This ‘unfettered immigration’, open borders bollix is….bollix! Where were all these paranoid folk a few years ago? We’re not Britain and we’re not America. Racist, paranoid rhetoric is festering like a virus on here the last two years based on what is happening in other countries. We take in flip all asylum seekers and refugees and fg has increased deportation orders substantially compared to ff. Ppl need to have a cuppa n chill.

Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:12 PM

@Orla Smith: am I to assume that you are all for socialism, give everybody everything for free off the backs of those who work there ass’s off and get robbed in tax’s to support those what sit at home ???

Mute Ramón Nomar
    Favourite Ramón Nomar
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:31 PM

@Bruce van der Gutschmitzer: it’s a joke not liking foreigners and having some many people living all around the world at the same time.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:40 PM

@Karllye kripton: Vast majority of extra taxs, are to repay the banks for their gangsterism, the billions of taxs that have been poured into the creation of a private company called Irish water, the hundreds of millions recently paid to bondholders with interest, the writing off of a billion euros to the likes of Denis O’Brien. All this facilitated by politicians, Yet you blame people on social welfare.

Mute Toby Fish
    Favourite Toby Fish
    Jan 21st 2019, 7:21 PM

@Bruce van der Gutschmitzer: the Irish Muslim population is expected to believe increase by 186% due to immigration by 2030 according to Euro Stat.

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Jan 21st 2019, 7:22 PM

@Karllye kripton: I don’t support the Irish Yellow Vests.

Jan 21st 2019, 7:34 PM

@Toby Fish: do you have a link to that? If that’s true… our Muslim population will go from 1.4 to 2.6% of the population. Without taking in the natural increase if the national indigeonus population anyway so it’ll basically be in and around less than 2% of the population. That scares you I take it?

Jan 21st 2019, 8:08 PM

@Toby Fish: ….hellooooo…Tooooby…… gotta link there bro??……

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 21st 2019, 8:47 PM

@)Toby Fish: 186% increase on 2016 figures, 63,443 (x1.86) will result in a Muslim population of 116,000 by 2030. The population in 2030 is predicted be 5.2 million. Thus, Muslims will be about 2.2% of the population in 2030.

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:34 PM

@IrishFreeThinking: and Saint Patrick himself an immigrant. When we were all lunatic clans fighting each other. Sounds familiar these days, except we didn’t turn our backs to Patrick in fact a Welsh name is now perceived to be Irish. #whoknew

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:08 PM

@Orla Smith: Yr such a Pawn Orla, like Higgins himself.

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:09 PM

@Bruce van der Gutschmitzer: Fake News. Ireland has the Highest Immigration in the EU, & the Lowest Deportation numbers. In fact, 80% of FAILED Asylum Seekers are Not Deported.

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:12 PM

@Galwaygogo: Was he Tax Funded at €2.4 Billion, 2005-2015, with €848,000,000 spent accommodation, catering, language classes & welcoming committees ? What a joke comparing Our Patron Saint to a modern day Economic Migrant Scam.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:47 PM

@Fionn_Oisín: Oman is a mainly Muslim country, 6.5% of the population are Christian and it has many Christian churches, Hindu Temples etc. It is the most peaceful and tolerant Muslim Arab nation, respecting Christians, Hindus and people of many other faiths. I have friends who visited and camped in the desert there, people there were friendly and kind.

It is a fine example not only to other Arab counties but to us as well…

https://youtu.be/d5y85yWB6Kc?t=735

Mute Fenian
    Favourite Fenian
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:59 PM

@Galwaygogo: thats ancient times and your forgetting the high king existed then
    st patrick wasn’t an immigrant he was captured in the slave trade
    he later went back to wales and then came back
    wales was gaelic so he was coming back from a gaelic/celtic nation so emigration to here would’ve been easy

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 22nd 2019, 12:44 AM

@Fenian: wales was gaelic

True, however Saint Patrick was a Roman citizen, his given name was Pātricius. He likely spoke Vulgar Latin at home rather than old Welsh. His father, Calpurnius, was a decurion (equivalent to a member of a city council) and deacon. His grandfather Potitus, according to tradition, was from Glannoventa, modern Ravenglass, in Cumbria.

Mute PC Principal
    Favourite PC Principal
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:13 PM

Conflicting nationalism by its very definition with the international family of nations suggests he’s either out of touch or trying to be virtuous

Mute The Quare Fella
    Favourite The Quare Fella
    Jan 21st 2019, 8:39 PM

@PC Principal:
    And he didn’t seem to mind at all the very real, dark murderous nationalism practised by his hero Fidel Castro.
    Bu then, the Left have always excused the actions of their own, however terrible they were.

Jan 21st 2019, 10:20 PM

@The Quare Fella: our centre left government of the time supported and enabled global terrorists Team ‘Murica as they plundered their way through the middle east, murdering millions and destabilising an entire region of Earth all in the search of and stealing of black gold so that balances it out maybe. Don’t get me wrong, I detest dictators of all kinds but let’s not kid ourselves-our centre left and right are lapdogs to the world’s biggest bully. At least aul Fidel didn’t have aspirations of grandeur and wasn’t arrogant or self obsessed enough to step past his front garden….all the while avoiding assassination attempts because of a difference in ideology.

Mute Wont Surrender
    Favourite Wont Surrender
    Jan 22nd 2019, 3:15 AM

@Bruce van der Gutschmitzer: what you are there is talking truth to the left and that is their Achilles heel they cannot handle the truth. In a way being a leftist it’s like being in a cult totally brainwashed.

Mute nora boyle
    Favourite nora boyle
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:33 PM

He is so phony. The false idealisms are socialism, feminism, the green movement, multiculturalism All empty meaningless and soul dead and will not bring world peace.
    Only hope is if everyone starts thinking clearly and speaking truthfully.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:46 PM

@nora boyle: thinking clearly and speaking truthfully are 2 very different things.

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Jan 21st 2019, 8:05 PM

@Roy Dowling: They are, but you can’t have one without the other.

Mute Ron
    Favourite Ron
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:59 PM

Virtue signalling from the pulpit….

A good UN enforcer….

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:32 PM

More globalist, open border propaganda. Ireland needs a Donald Trump.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jan 22nd 2019, 1:39 AM

@Carnac: Casey #1?

Mute Robbie Redmond
    Favourite Robbie Redmond
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:15 PM

Pay the nurses

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:45 PM

@Robbie Redmond: not in his power to pay them.

Mute Toby Fish
    Favourite Toby Fish
    Jan 21st 2019, 8:57 PM

@Robbie Redmond: I thought it was about conditions?

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:32 PM

@Robbie Redmond: That’s Right. The Nurses are being exported by the Plane Load, while they IMPORT Nurses from India & the Philippines for €10 an hour. Subversive FG/FF Pawns have OVER SPENT the Budget for the new Children’s Hospital by €1,400,000,000……….., €1.4 BILLION !…………… But Refuse to attend the Public Accounts Committee, for the Mission Billion+ ! The Irish People are being Looted by a Pawn Government. There is Plenty of money for the Nurses Wages. Stop drinking Fluoride in yr Water, used to Sedate you, & make u fat, & Submissive. Wake Up IRL !

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:37 PM

@Fionn_Oisín: and the world is flat…………

Mute Ramón Nomar
    Favourite Ramón Nomar
    Jan 21st 2019, 11:10 PM

@Fionn_Oisín: Irish are leaving Ireland because in other countries are getting more money. That’s what a economic migrant is.

Jan 21st 2019, 11:32 PM

@Ramón Nomar: yes, we go to America, Australia, nz, Canada, the oil rich Emirates, Hong Kong, Singapore just about anywhere where there is money. We are v much economic migrants. But it’s ok because it’s us. Meanwhile, we have full employment and need foreigners to fill jobs that the ‘spongers’ and ‘scratchers’ that people cry about on thejournal won’t take. We also need 80,000-100,000 foreign construction workers just to build houses and apartments. People just don’t like hearing the cold, hard facts. We need workers for our economy to grow, the Irish abroad have made their lives there and hypocrites on hear don’t want to hear about it or come up with a solution. It’s just easier to release their frustrations on those without a voice. Grow a pair of balls Ireland!

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:25 PM

What he speaks of won’t effect him ….
    Liebour in his blood..

Mute Gallery and Museum Staff in Ireland
    Favourite Gallery and Museum Staff in Ireland
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:56 PM

President Higgins should warn of the return of ‘the ugly, hobophobic corruption of liberal elitism’. We have a domestic refugee crisis (homeless Irish Citizens dying on the streets) to solve. Only then will we have the capacity to deal with the victims of global conflicts and economic migrants. It’s undersandable that Ireland’s impoverished may not be visible from high ivory towers, or through rose tinted spectacles.
    At least our public health service is almost on par with the health services of a war torn country, so no culture shock there!

Jan 21st 2019, 5:59 PM

@Gallery and Museum Staff in Ireland: *’understandable’.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:22 PM

Only disdain for the narrative that all immigrants arriving here are refugees when clearly most are not.

Mute Pragmatist2018
    Favourite Pragmatist2018
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:45 PM

If we wanted globalism we would have remained in the globalist British empire. I personally have nothing against other ethnicities or countries but the whole point of independence is to decide matters for ourselves.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:35 PM

The corruption? Since the foundation of this state two political parties have governed..corruption is their legacy. Today these two parties are in collation The Blueshirt/F.F. collation represents everything that has sullied the name of this so called Republic.

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:37 PM

Whatever happened to the idea of helping Nations develop so that they could help their own people?
    Forget that, let’s just abandon Africa and all the other Third World countries of Asis and Central America and bring them all to Western Europe and America.

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:59 PM

@Carnac: BILLIONS is poured into Africa & most of it disappears. The Elite don’t care about migrants, they are using them as Pawns to destroy ‘NATION STATES’.

Mute BaaB
    Favourite BaaB

Was Michael D present at the original sitting of the first Dail in the Mansion House?.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling

@BaaB: He was in his nappies i believe

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

Wise words, we all need to do our part to stamp out the influence of those looking to divide us.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:17 PM

@Rochelle: Says your one!

Mute Brian O Donnell
    Favourite Brian O Donnell
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:15 PM

@John Smith: Answer of the day. Well done.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Jan 21st 2019, 7:47 PM

Same old waffle, from the same old waffler.

Mute Myles Fleming
    Favourite Myles Fleming
    Jan 21st 2019, 7:13 PM

The Irish establishment know there’s an avalanche of discontent coming their way as soon as no Deal brexit comes to pass. And they should . They haven’t prepared the country for its real negative outcomes.

Mute Rocky Stefan
    Favourite Rocky Stefan
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:11 PM

Irish people are going to be a minority in Ireland in 30 years and this is what this clown is talking about. Yikeeeees

Mute Ramón Nomar
    Favourite Ramón Nomar
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:37 PM

@Rocky Stefan: if you are so worry about it you can start bringing back the load of Irish living abroad. It’s not like Irish are escaping from war to be leaving. Explain why 50.000 Irish are ilegal in America. Seriously, why end ilegal in America? If you feel you are going to be minority is because you are leaving.

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:41 PM

@Ramón Nomar: The Majority in Direct Provision are from Pakistan, Nigeria, Albania, & Georgia, Low wage Countries.., NO Wars ! Subversive Flanagan handed out 20,000 Irish Passports to illegal Minors, ignoring the Constitutional Will of the Irish People, who voted NO by 79% in 2004 to anchor babies. The Number of Irish illegals in America was not established, some reports estimate 10,000, but this is out of the US Population of 323 MILLION. The number of Illegals in Ireland however, Soros Féin estimates is over 100,000, others estimate up to 60,000 with PPS Numbers. There is No Housing Crisis. A ‘New Plantation’ is taking place all over Ireland’s Rural towns, & in the main cities, by a Subversive Government, to create a Low wage, Mixed race Federation of NO identity, 2 END ‘Nation States’. The UN will become the Big Bully, after the EU falls by Design. Turn off Rté Propaganda TV & do yr Own research.

Mute Ramón Nomar
    Favourite Ramón Nomar
    Jan 21st 2019, 11:06 PM

@Fionn_Oisín: Irish are economic migrants. And they are leaving Ireland, for economy reasons, having now 18% living abroad, and are they getting upset because other countries are doing the same?

Mute Fenian
    Favourite Fenian
    Jan 21st 2019, 11:37 PM

checkmate
    irish people dont get welfare in the usa They Work.
    its the same with australia, dubai, new zealand etc
    and look up the stats for nigerians in ireland 90% are on handouts

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 22nd 2019, 2:13 AM

“@Fenian: “look up the stats for nigerians in ireland 90% are on handouts”

I can’t find those Stats. Could you provide a link to them.

Of the 57,850 Black or Black Irish in Ireland (1.2% of the population), 6,683 are Nigerian-Irish or 5,551 Nigerians, this is 0.25% of the Irish population (22% of Black or Black Irish).

On the other hand, 78% or 45,616 are Black or Black Irish of various other nationalities e.g. Congolese, South African, Zimbabwean, Mauritian and Moroccan etc.

Also, the population describing themselves as “African” the 2016 census decreased by 1.2% compared to Census 2011, attributed to more people calling themselves Black Irish instead of African.

Mute Ramón Nomar
    Favourite Ramón Nomar
    Jan 22nd 2019, 8:38 AM

@Fenian: a economic migrant is a person who travels from one country or area to another in order to improve their standard of living.

The Irish are economic migrants is a fact.

Mute Daniel Rea
    Favourite Daniel Rea
    Jan 21st 2019, 7:57 PM

Wiki:
    “Nationalism is a political, social, and economic ideology and movement characterized by the promotion of the interests of a particular nation, especially with the aim of gaining and maintaining the nation’s sovereignty over its homeland”.
    He’s our President and he calls this xenophobic? When public figures distort definitions, they have an agenda.

Mute Wont Surrender
    Favourite Wont Surrender
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:51 PM

Nationalism isn’t a dirty word regardless of what the so called elite tell you.

Jan 21st 2019, 6:36 PM

Our idiot president saying there is open disdain for immigrants and asylum seekers. What a gobsh!#e! Get the gov to fix the massive crisies in this country first and then we’ll welcome our fair share of non nationals to the country!

Jan 21st 2019, 7:08 PM

There are 2 narratives to his idiotic comment. 1 is because of our politicians poor national governance, we are taking in as many immigrants as possible as part of our govs deal to pay back the govs debt, in the middle of our housing crisis. Instead what he’s saying is we’re all racist, this gov is gonna take in plenty more and we’ve just gotta cram into whatever accomodation we’ve got while our self serving politicians unjustifiably make themselves wealthier than they could ever be. Well I welcome change, better governance and the end of our political disasters that are FF, FG and labour.

Jan 21st 2019, 7:23 PM

How much more insulting and punishment can the people take from these despicable awholes before they wake up and rid this country of these FF and FG shower of jokers. We laugh at the brits but the Irish establishment politicians arrogance and contempt towards the Irish public is astonishing.

Jan 21st 2019, 8:05 PM

@Adrian: I agree that our government is a disaster. But when you come out with a statement like “we are taking in as many immigrants as possible as part of our government deal to pay back the government debt” then it all just comes across as unhinged, paranoid rambling. You’re one of the ‘in need of a cuppa tea’ brigade. Put the feet up, take a breathe and then sip a cup of silky Barry’s….or Lyon’s…I don’t discriminate!

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:56 PM

@Adrian: Our Fake ‘Contrived’ Debt was €64,000,000,000 BILLION (9 Zeros) in 2008/9, & has now Morphed into €211,000,000,000 BILLION, we are only barely paying the interest…, which is exactly how the IMF wants it, in order to Remove Sovereignty, a bit like they’ve been doing in Africa for decades. They also destroyed Greece. The New Plantation is also ‘Contrived’ to ‘breed out’ White ‘Christians’ & ‘Nation States’ by a Zionist Elite 1%. The Kalergi Plan 1924. Merkel received a Kalergi Prize from her ‘Overlords’. Wake Up IRL.
    http://www.ronpaulforums.com/showthread.php?99477-Who-Really-Owns-The-Banks-(Some-answers-inside)

Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 9:57 PM
    Mute Fionn_Oisín
    Favourite Fionn_Oisín
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:01 PM

@Bruce van der Gutschmitzer: It’s Partly true, Pack & Stack them into Apartments for Agenda 2030, Agenda 2040. Global Socialism, Communism, Destroy the Family, Destroy Religion, Remove Property, Destroy the Nation. Marxism, socialism, for end game, Communism.

Jan 21st 2019, 10:25 PM

@Fionn_Oisín: Leo and co are far far removed from communism Fionn me ul flower. The TD/landlord class are bleeding workers dry while they watch their pockets bulge.

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    Jan 21st 2019, 8:42 PM

Higgins reminds me of a character from wanderly wagon if people can remember that children’s programme kids grew up with in the 70s/80s

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Jan 21st 2019, 7:43 PM

“Xenophobic corruption of nationalism”, is that the opposite of xenophilic corruption of nationalism?

Mute J.P. Ness
    Favourite J.P. Ness
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:46 PM

The old goat croaking out ideology as decrepit as his wrinkly auld you know what…

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    Jan 21st 2019, 8:40 PM

Silly old goat people like Higgins and the not so long ago departed Sutherland have no idea and want to turn Ireland into a third world dustbin . 8.3/10 bit harsh

Jan 21st 2019, 7:27 PM

An ecosystem is an ecosystem, even when it’s a socio-economic ecosystem and just as fragile:
    https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/blog/2018/11/red-squirrel-facts/

Mute MinMin
    Favourite MinMin
    Jan 22nd 2019, 9:21 AM

I say let the leftists bring in as many people as they want so long as they house the migrants and pay taxes on their behalf.

It’s only fair. I don’t see why the rest of us need to be paying for it.

Mute Farrelly Jt
    Favourite Farrelly Jt
    Jan 22nd 2019, 10:24 AM

” duty to honour the past and fashion the future, for the benefit of all of those on this island and in solidarity with our sisters and brothers from other nations”. I wonder if that includes the 100 million Marxist victims and the failures and destruction caused by the ideology that the little Higgins still holds.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Jan 21st 2019, 6:54 PM

Lots of Higgins triggered folk on here

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:49 PM

The amount of whiny right wing people in these comments though :’)

Mute Fenian
    Favourite Fenian
    Jan 21st 2019, 11:59 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: with that profile pic look whos talking ahahahaha kek

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:35 PM

So long as Squeaky Barrett’s National Party and Identity Crisis Ireland (are they even still a thing?) keep getting zero votes, and zero people continue to turn up for that pathetic Irish Yellow Vest protests we needn’t be too worried, but always keep an eye on them. There are still a few morons who have given the likes of the High Priest of Comedy Grand Torino a nice comfy living by donating to his Patreon page, suckers!

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:40 PM

@Orla Smith: Think you need to head back the US of A .. There was hundreds at the Irish Yellow Vests Protests and the only thing pathetic about them is that we dont have more of them.

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:44 PM

@Orla Smith: What did you think of how your hero Hilary Clinton treated Monika Lewinski ? any true Feminist should have real big issues with that, especially the defamation of her character and hinting at mental issues !!!

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith

@Gowon Geter: Hundreds? 20 turned up at the Dáil last week. I’m an Irish citizen, I’ll head back to the United States when I wish.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:47 PM

@Gowon Geter: Hundreds, barely 60 at the last one I seen last weekend.

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:49 PM

@Gowon Geter: About the same I think about Dido and Chritstina Aguilera I suppose.

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:56 PM

@Orla Smith: Why not use an Irish Flag then ?, why not a picture of Irish people in your Twitter Profile created only a month back then ?

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jan 21st 2019, 5:57 PM

@Roy Dowling: Oh so the only protest was the one you saw then ?
    So it isint raining here at the moment becasue you cant see it ?

Jan 21st 2019, 8:06 PM

@Gowon Geter: your account is barely two months old and you’ve splurged utter lies above.

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Jan 21st 2019, 10:44 PM

@Rowe de Molay: *You’re