You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
INDEPENDENT GALWAY WEST TD Catherine Connolly gave a passionate speech in the Dáil during Leaders’ Questions today, imploring Government to recognise the issue of wastewater in the Corrib estuary region in Co Galway.
Connolly said Government needs to do away with the “empty rhetoric” that Galway can become the next metropolis of Ireland if it continues to refuse the provision of a wastewater treatment plant for areas within the county.
The need to upgrade the existing pipes under the Corrib estuary was first flagged in 2007 but funding was not provided to Galway City Council as, at the time, Irish Water was being established.
Connolly claimed that Irish Water have yet to resolve the issue, despite it being a known problem for 17 years, and she has had to bring the issue to the Dáil again as a result.
Calls for a ‘hands-on’ approach by Govt
According to a recent report, read out by Connolly in the Dáil earlier today, the existing pipes under the estuary are at in “imminent danger of collapse” and are suffering from a number of structural defects.
She described the “kearnal” of the problem being at the wastewater treatment plant near Mutton Island. She detailed that while the plant has “plenty of capacity”, the collection network is stretched.
During her address to the Dáil today, she implored Green Party Leader Roderic O’Gorman – answering on behalf of the Taoiseach – to acknowledge the issue and the defects with Galway’s wastewater facilities and take a “hands-on” approach to resolving the issue.
There have been 70 incidents of human waste flowing in the Corrib in recent reports. Alamy Stock Photo
Alamy Stock Photo
Answering, O’Gorman said he “strongly believes” that Irish cities should be allowed to grow and added that he would be raising the issue with Community Development Minister Joe O’Brien.
He said that key infrastructure, such as wastewater treatment plants and upgrades to existing pipes, are the centre of improving Irish cities and believes that Irish Water has had a positive impact on such developments.
He added that he and Connolly would agree that more investment is needed so that Irish Water can carried out its work, which he said was “hugely valuable”.
‘Nothing has been done’
Responding to his answer, Connolly said: “Minister, I’m glad you’re here as the leader of the Green Party and a Green minister. I just want you to hear what I’m actually saying.
“The two main pipes taking the sewage out of through the estuary of the Corrib, one is in imminent danger of collapse. Could you imagine what that means for the area along, for health and for housing?
“Back in 2007 it was recognised that we needed a syphon or a new pipe – nothing has happened. Back in 2009 it was recognised that we needed a new wastewater treatment plant on the east of the city [...] nothing has happened.”
Connolly reiterated that her point was to call on the Government to “stop the empty rhetoric about development and growing Galway city without the infrastructure” and instead recognise the issue.
She called for “leadership and vision” from those in Government.
“Telling me about your good will, I appreciate very much. But I spent 17 years of my life at local authority level, I saw them apply for the money, recognising the faults that were there while Governments were busy setting up Irish Water and then not giving any steer to Irish Water, not giving the resources, a hands-off approach -”
Connolly, who is also the Leas Ceann Comhairle, had recognised she had ran out of time and remarked that she was “not used to being overtime”. The Dáil allowed the Independent TD to complete her point and she called for action by Government.
O’Gorman said he was “absolutely happy to bring those concerns forward” but reiterated his point that additional capital funding to Irish Water will allow the “immediate environmental and public health risks be addressed”.
He added: “It will also allow the necessary water infrastructure to be put in place to enable that level of development – that you and I both want to see across Galway – be maintained and be enhanced.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
36 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Wasn’t the rural speed limit 80kmph in 2021 too? How is this speed limit to blame now? This won’t make any difference, it’s window dressing. Enforcement of the 80 speed limit would save lives. This move is a finger in the dike, it’s an absolute joke and an insult to victims and their loved ones.
@Anthony Ryan: transport ministers keep putting the blame on speeds instead of actually addressing the real problem – terrible road conditions(surface/potholes/visibility/trees and vegetation) ministers doing and blaming everything other than the real problem.
Some of the experts were saying that the funding for road maintenance was absolutely abysmal, everything went to cycle lanes. And then government is raising concerns “why there are so many fatalities on the roads” because you invested all the fk road tax money in to cycle lanes and useless sh..t instead ???
@Anthony Ryan: agree, it’s the low driving standards that we can see on the Irish roads. Do people really think that 12h on the road with an instructor is enough, also the theory test is just a joke, the questions are way to easy.
@Lei tatt: you are legally obliged to drive at a speed at or BELOW the speed limit according to the conditions – rain, snow, fog or poor road surface. The speed limit is not an invitation to drive at that speed.
As for the expert who said road maintenance funding was used for cycle lanes, this is not true. The funding for cycle lanes was out of a completely separate fund, specifically set up for that, not the road maintenance fund. That so-called expert doesn’t know what he is talking about.
@Anthony Ryan: Agreed Anthony, but the only people who can stop the speeding epidemic currently happening are ourselves, the motorists. The Garda traffic unit, the speed vans, and the speed camera are not and never have been a deterrent. If speeding motorists don’t/won’t obey the current limits, they will not obey any reduced limits. I think it’s time to make examples of those caught speeding. Draconian as it may sound, if you are caught speeding in your own private vehicle,your employers vehicle, or any vehicle, then that vehicle should be immediately detained and not released until the Court date for the offence has concluded and on the instruction of the presiding Judge. Maybe, just maybe, after a few cases, motorists will cop on. The loss of a vehicle is better than the loss of a life.
@Kevin Farrell: The €69 per head of population funding was way too much for such a small minority in the country.
They have been shoehorned into places they cannot fit and the design endangers everybody. particularly pedestrians!
Once again the government take the easy option rather than increase enforcement. Might make sense to reduce the local roads to 60kph but the move to 30kph in every town is overkill and will be a goldmine for the speed vans in areas where there has been no fatalities.
@The next small thing: Even driving at 50 on a long approach to a town can be difficult to maintain. You’re driving in 3rd or 4th gear,causing more pollution to the environment. There’s no obvious hazards,but you’re driving slower than what can still be a safe speed. Drive carefully,drive safely,be aware at all times of potential danger,have respect for other road users.
@The next small thing: actually the 30km/h limit is based on scientific studies on the topic! The number didn’t come out of nowhere. It’s meant to be the best safety:speed ratio if I remember correctly. Though frankly including public transport infrastructure would also help in road fatalities and I think has a more obvious good that the public can get behind :^)
@Larry Betts: You hear this nonsense from motorists every time there’s a change in speed limit: that somehow it’s not safe to drive at that lower speed. In urban areas apparently 50km/h is the safe speed and driving at 30km/h is somehow impossible. Now you’re telling us driving at 50km/h is impossible if you’re approaching a town. Have you considered that maybe you’re just a bad driver?
@The next small thing: Here in mainland Europe driving at 30KM in residential areas and near schools is the norm. I haven’t heard of any Audi or BMW drivers here complaining about issues controlling their cars at such speeds…
Drive these types of roads daily. Barely anyone obeys the speed limit as it is. Been overtaken on a blind corner recently… A speed sign won’t change behaviors
@Rafa C: I am constantly facing drivers coming towards me after dangerously overtaking. Twice last week,within the space of thirty minutes, I had to actually stop as drivers overtook cyclists and narrowly avoided hitting me. Cyclist on their side of the road,they should slow down and pass when safe,not the driver they are heading towards
@Larry Betts: Being the cyclist in this situation is equally terrifying. Slowing down for a safe section of road with good sight lines is gone out the window. Drivers now just gamble on blind overtaking and then react like it’s a massive surprise when a car comes in the opposite direction. Putting two cars and a cyclist in danger to save a few seconds.
The reduction of speed limits on good straight roads will not reduce serious collisions. It’s driver behaviour that’s the cause,this needs to be tackled first. Certainly,some winding narrow roads with lots of little side roads leading off should be immediately changed,you could hardly drive at 80 even if you tried. National secondary routes reduced to 80? This needs to be done on a case by case basis. If the local council sees fit,change the limit,not done nationwide as if all roads are the same. Sort out repeat learner driver licences handed out,impound failed NCT cars,and have speed traps not in revenue income sites,but in places where they may make a difference.
@John Freeman: And punish, actually punish, the drivers who have no respect for others in the road. Fellas banned from driving should not be on the road, if they’re found behind the wheel they should be jailed and their cars confiscated.
Near record employment, roads busier than ever, number of accidents may go up, but the rate per capita is still among the lowest in the world. I bet they don’t even have any data behind the decision.
It’s unfortunate that people die on the road, but if you want to make substantive change then the discussion needs to be data driven.
Where are accidents occuring?
Age group?
Driving experience?
Road conditions?
Vehicle condition?
They’d never do that, easier just slap a lower speed limit on it and say “hey we did something”. What happens now when there is not statistical improvement?
It’ll take a recession to drive the rate down to take cars off the road.
This is insanity, it equates to a 37 MPH speed limit. It’s a blatant attempt to increase journey times and create revenue form drivers clearly obeying the 80KPH limit by reducing it even further.
@maureen doherty: definitely should be. Even learning the rules of the road would be better than nothing. I know that you cant get a provisional licence until 17 but they must have computer apps & steering wheels that could teach/help.
the backward gobsh%*e who pulls out and does 60 on a 100 stretch will now do 40 and cause more accidents because of the frustrated drivers who wish to obey the limits but are forced to a crawl by those who hug the centre of the road at 20/40 under the limit…therein lies the problem.
if you want to drive slowwwwly , keep well in to the left and allow other drivers to overtake safely and continue a safe drive with no stress.
@Michael James Brennan: Add in ignorant farm vehicle drivers who completely ignore the build up of traffic behind them and carry on regardless even though they could have pulled in at numerous places to allow people pass
@IMHO: Not only from those coming towards you,but from those up your ar$e behind you too. Rear view mirror,wing mirror dazzled by them. And also going around with fog lights on front and rear because main lights not working. This mandatory Garda instruction of 30 mins of road traffic duty per day should be stopping all of this
The local an regional roads are not fit for purpose an need to b upgraded most have 90degree bends high hedges an no cats eyes nite time driving is almost suicidal in parts
@Eric Gaffney: And why are they always dressed from head to toe in dark colours,is this a cult thing? At the very least they should be made to wear a hi-viz jacket. They sail through red lights,up on footpaths,back on the road again. Not a care the world. Need to be licensed,regulated and punishable for road traffic offences.
I’ve just checked the calendar. 7th February is a Friday. Why not start a new regulation on a Monday,start of the week,rather than the ‘end’ of a week? Public announcements,media coverage,” From next week you’re going to have to do this…” When are the speed limit signs going to be changed,overnight?! The whole thing is a farce
Like the increased penalty points and increased fines, lowering speed limits will do nothing unless the roads policing unit has more presence on the roads and enforces it
I live in North Wicklow…. parish of Mr Harris. The state of the roads in the greater Greystones/ Delgany/ Kilcoole area is an absolute disgrace…. there is barely a road marking to be seen not to mention the road surfaces.
@Jp Cleary: Safer roads, safer driving. That should be the focus. Forget about a sweeping statement of ‘Let’s Reduce the Speed Limits!’ That’s done in an office meeting with no meaningful effort. The real problems should be addressed,not just a ‘Hey we’re doing something to save lives’ malarkey
Oh god, so people who drive at 60kph on an 100kph road will now be driving at 30kph on an 80kph. The be safe be seen brigade are going to be over the moon :)
What about the European approach.. lower the limit where there is a reason to.. ie: bad bends etc.. 60kph on a long stretch of uninhabited road is just undoable.. make the limit suitable to the state of the roads instead of a revenue generating exercise..
The road on which I drive most often and on which I have driven on for years, used to have a 60mph/96.6km limit, then it changed to an 80km/49.7mph limit and on February 7th it will change to a 60km/37.2mph limit.
The changes have made it more dangerous, not less. I regularly find myself obstructed by muppets driving in front of me at less than 60km and across the centre line and them meeting their fellow muppets coming in the other direction at which point they both stamp on the brakes and crawl passed each other, they also drift across the line at corners turning in either direction, as if maintaining an equidistant position on the road was impossible task.
From the 7th of February, these muppets will continue to do the very same, but then at 40km/24.8mph.
What is a reduction going to do if idiots choose to ignore them and speed past it anyway? This some self-pat reassurance of “having done something” that’ll do sweet feck all..?
@Kieran Menon: You’re absolutely right. I encounter several dangerous overtaking manoeuvres every week from impatient drivers. Lowering the speed limits will only lead to more impatient drivers making more dangerous manoeuvres. I’m not saying increase the limits,I’m saying increase the policing of bad behaviour,let the responsible drivers continue to drive in a safe manner.
@Ronan Mc: Happened to be behind a fair few drivers who think its fine and dandy to trundle along at 70kmph along roads with 100kmph limits. When they go into a town where there are 60kmph and 50kmph limits, they still drive at 70kmph. Worst kind of driver, a menace to everyone and everything around them.
Speed limits won’t solve the problem of bad drivers on the Irish roads.
Driving Test standards are super low in this country – and exams are way to easy to pass
There is not enough radars or police actually doing their jobs.
60k/h can also kill you if you think you are good driver, when you’re not.
Speed traps nothing more. A revenue generating exercise. The person who came up with 60 km/h on all back roads clearly doesn’t drive them.
Just more big city folks with little brain ideas. It must hurt to know that the rest of the country doesn’t care about ye. #Dublin for the Dubs!
The nanny state strikes again! Don’t those idiots at the RSA and in the government realise that reducing speed limits has the opposite effect. People are more likely not to follow them the more stringent they get, and as a result, more people are involved in crashes on our roads. It’s no surprise that the safest motorway and road system in Europe is the Autobahn in terms on the number of crashes and fatalities, yet there is no speed limit whatsoever. That’s because people don’t feel the need to take extra unnecessary risks such as speeding, because they are able to freely choose the speed at which they go at. It’s high time that we repealed speed limits on most of our motorways and roads as well and let the people freely choose the speed at which they go at.
@William Jennings: Full of inaccuracies as ususl.. And we’re not talking about the Autobahn here Sherlock.. We’re talking about rural country roads and urban roads. Germany has 50km limits in towns and cities and 30km limits on some city roads..Also the “no speed limit” applies to just over half of the Autobahn..In built up areas it is restricted to between 95km- 115km ..Statistics also show that sections without limits have 75% more deaths and injuries than the sections with speed limits..so there goes your moronic theory.
@Brian: Stop lying and being a general idiot. You know right well that the areas of the Autobahn which have a speed limit is only about 15% of the full road network, not just under 50% like you incorrectly stated. There is also not a single study which shows that the areas with no speed limit have seen a 75% increase in the number of accidents. The accident rates on the Autobahn, which includes the 85% of the full road network without speed limits, are significantly lower than any other European country and that’s just a fact. you’re doing is pulling numbers out of your ass and I’m not going to fall for it buddy. Also, you are deliberately obfuscating what I said. I support repealing speed limits on the motorway and on rural roads, not any of the urban ones. You’re embarrassing yourself.
@William Jennings: Here Dumbo, Obviously whoever is in charge of you allows usage of their phone at the weekends .. You said it had no speed limits. . Now you’re saying 15%.. I said just over half, not under, and circa 60 percent is just over half . . Comprehension isn’t your strong point, you’re always reading what’s not there . I never said the no limit section has seen a” 75 per cent increase in the number of accidents ” read again slowly.. I said it had a higher death and injury rate than the applied speed limit section. Fact. https://www.spiegel.de/auto/aktuell/tempolimit-koennte-jaehrlich-bis-zu-140-todesfaelle-verhindern-a-1254504.html
@Brian: The important bit, because I just know you can’t speak German.. you have a tentative grasp of English, at best. “The number of seriously injured people and, above all, deaths is significantly lower here: While 0.95 fatal accidents occur per billion kilometers with a speed limit, this value is 1.67 in sections without a speed limit, i.e. around 75 percent higher. The number of seriously injured people is also almost 20 percent higher on sections without a speed limit”
@Brian: And another thing.. the recommended speed limit on the autobahn is 130kmph. This study shows that even without a speed limit, “77 percent of the cars on the motorways were driving slower than 130 kmph. Twelve percent drove at 130 to 140 kmph. Nine percent of drivers aimed for a speed of between 140 and 160 kmph. According to the study, less than two percent of drivers traveled at more than 160 kilometers per hour” .. Morons like yourself I assume. https://www.spiegel.de/auto/fahrkultur/tempolimit-77-prozent-der-fahrerinnen-und-fahrer-sind-mit-weniger-als-130-km-h-unterwegs-a-fa3faf62-3b81-4382-8e8b-e5b6eee04eec In the main they observe a speed limit very similar to our own.. like I said.. there goes you’re moronic theory.
@Brian: You done with your little incoherent rant chump? I get that you’re probably a kid by your mouthy attitude, so be quiet while I educate you on basic facts. The NRSO did a study on sections of the motorway with speed limits on the Autobahn. When the maximum speed limit was increased from 90km per hour to 120km per hour, it actually showed an 18% decrease in the number of accidents. Another study by the University of Hamburg showed that when the speed limit on parts of the Autobahn 24 between Berlin and Hamburg increased their speed limit from 70km per hour to 130km per hour, there was a 48% reduction in injury and material damage crashes, and a 57% decrease in casualties over the following three years. Increasing the speed limit means less people will be tempted to break it.
@Brian: Furthermore, the National Motorists Association’s study on decreasing speed limits on motorways showed that according to a speed-limit brochure published in conjunction with the Michigan State Patrol, inappropriately established speed limits which are capped at a low number cause drivers to take all traffic signals less seriously. The brochure also points out that unrealistic speed limits create two groups of drivers. Those that try to obey the limit and those that drive at a speed they feel is safe and reasonable. This causes dangerous differences in speed. Funny how you are deliberately choosing sources in foreign languages because you can’t be fact-checked. Anyway, there goes your moronic theory out the window. Cry more buddy, you don’t hold a monopoly on opinions.
@William Jennings: Once again you don’t post any links to your BS.. I’m sure the ” brochure ” you mention is cute and all that but you held up the Autobahn as your example but now you want to waffle on about Michigan. I’ve clearly demonstrated to you that deaths and injuries are greater in the non speed limit areas of the Autobahn .. as for fact checking( bit rich coming from a troll who never links any sources) I know this might come as a shock to you .. bit there is a thing called Google translate.. which helps morons like you read things in other languages..DER SPIEGEL is Germany’s leading news magazine and most up-to-date news website. Its journalism is characterized by in-depth investigations, reliable quality and its commitment to investigative journalism. Now jog on moron.
and bear in mind there was a green washer from 2020 til November 2024 as Minister for Transport, he gave no road funding to any roads. Made sure there is long waiting lists for the NCT and the driving test. Meanwhile there’s vehicles and drivers on the road that shouldn’t be allowed on the road as the indicator for other drivers where your going must be an optional extra in a lot of vehicles. As for when there’s a bulb blown in the vehicle, many people don’t replace these important bulbs
If the speed limits keep reducing the we’ll see a time where we’ll be overtaken by e-scooters and e-bikes. I believe it’s not so much the speed as the lack of experience, skill, variable conditions and road craft that account for an above average amount of incidents on public roads. Also it can be challenging for right hand side road drivers who come to a country where left hand side drivers barely know how to drive responsibly
The high amount of road deaths has proved the Go safe vans are only the governments cash cows the speed vans have done nothing to prevent road deaths as the road death figures prove ! Changing speed limits will not deter speeders or bad drivers enforcement through catching re-educating or removal of licence is the only deterrent that will work and saves lives.
More nonsense. Speed limits are irrelevant unless enforced vigorously. To do that would require a dedicated Garda roads policing unit numbering many thousands.
Without a proper breakdown as to cause of accident, details of driver/s, road and weather conditions, state of roadworthiness of vehicle and general attitude like non insured or non tested or taxed vehicles this is a pointless exercise.
Speed indeed makes the outcome of an accident worse. Why has nobody tried to identify the cause of the accidents and address this. Surely prevention is a better approach. .. too many distractions in a modern car.
This is the easy answer to a more complicated problem. Speed is not the sole cause of road deaths. Driver behaviour is obviously a major factor and a bad driver at 60kph is still a bad driver that may cause an accident.
What about road conditions, drainage and overgrown hedgerows blocking vision and access at junctions?
More importantly, tyres? One can purchase a cheap rubbish tyre and pass the NCT because it has sufficient thread depth. What about stopping distance in the dry and wet? It could be 100m plus more than a good reputable brand tyre. Why isn’t the quality of the tyre brand a part of the NCT? Why are substandard tyres allowed into the country?
Lads, I’m middle-aged and not very fit, but I could break the latter 2 speeds on my (non-battery) push-bike.
Part of the dangerous roads issue is that we still do not have a
serious driving test.
Both North and South of the border, we are deemed competent to drive all cars in all conditions by virtue of doing some stage-managed, low-speed manoeuvres in a low-powered hatchback. The driving test is more about suburban driving etiquette than actual driving. Among other inexcusable omissions:
- Motorway / high-speed driving is neither taught nor tested;
- Night driving is neither taught nor tested;
- Safe cornering techniques are neither taught nor tested; and
- Winter / low-grip driving is neither taught nor tested.
In Scandinavian countries for example, you drive at speed across a skid-pan, and the car spins out of control, between 2 orange lines on the track. To pass the test, you have to control the skidding car so as to keep it between the twi lines.
Can you imagine, introducing such a test requirement in Britain or Ireland? Many people would not be competent successfully to complete such a basic safety manoeuvre.
In the past, a stronger culture of general car enthusiasm meant that new drivers took pride in trying to drive competently and to continue developing their skills. In the EV age, the increasing muppet-ification of driving means that that culture of “pride in competence” no longer applies.
The facile nature of the driving test is deliberate. If driving was
made accessible only to the attentive, governments would suffer a
major tax revenue hit. The only way to ensure a high driver tax
return is to allow half-trained drivers onto public roads. And the
simplest way to monitor half-trained drivers is to ensure that
everyone drives at low speeds. It’s easier, and more profitable, to
manage roads negatively via ever-decreasing speed limits than to
manage them positively by getting serious about driving standards.
Absolute joke. Everyone that is not a career politician sitting in a cushy office knows exactly why road deaths are increasing: no Gardai on the roads. Literally none, for many many years now. Drive the M50 after 8pm and you see a scenario taken from Need for Speed or any other racing videogame. And even aside youngsters, even more worrying is that almost EVERYONE is starting to forget what the basic rules should look like, because again, no Gardai re-education. Lower the speed limits to 10km/h, even better, let’s push our cars; what difference will that make if there is no-one out there to enforce them, and enforce them “live” (not a notice by post a week later), and on a surprise basis (not pre-announced speed traps that are actually more dangerous rather than less).
Over 5,000 women in Europe have to travel abroad for abortions each year
Órla Ryan & Maria Delaney
4 hrs ago
na na na na na na na na
Quiz: How much do you know about the Batman films?
6 hrs ago
Gardaí
Six-year-old girl who was cycling her bike dies in incident involving a truck in Galway city
Updated
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say