We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
garda stations

Closure of 95 garda stations to go ahead today

Last night the Dáil voted down a motion tabled by Fianna Fáil to stop the closures.

THE DÁIL HAS voted down a motion by Fianna Fáil to keep 95 garda stations open that are due to close today.

Opposition TDs in the Dáil yesterday slammed the closures saying it would leave people living in rural areas vulnerable and criticised the timing with the recent spate of aggravated burglaries against older people.

Justice Minister Alan Shatter had criticised Fianna Fáil, and in particular its leader Micheál Martin, for refusing to postpone the debate until after the funeral of the murdered Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe which took place yesterday.

During the debate, Independent TD Maureen O’Sullivan said the most significant way for the government to show its gratitude gardaí for the work they do is by ensuring they have adequate resources and enough personnel to do their work well.

Shatter has previously explained that many of the stations earmarked for closure are only open on a limited-hours basis and that keeping these stations open means gardaí are diverted from patrol duties.

98 of the 100 stations that were earmarked for closure over the course of the year are only open on a part-time basis, with 88 served by only one garda. 94 of the stations were ordinarily open for three hours a day or less.

In full: the 95 Garda stations due to close today

Note: The stations are listed below in alphabetical order. Details of the stations to which their duties are being assigned can be accessed on the Garda website.

  1. Abbeydorney (Tralee district, Kerry division)
  2. Aclare (Ballymote district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  3. Adrigole (Bantry district, Cork West division)
  4. Annagaire (Glenties district, Donegal division)
  5. Ardagh (Granard district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  6. Ballacolla (Portlaoise district, Laois/Offaly division)
  7. Ballinahowan (Athlone district, Westmeath division)
  8. Ballinakill (Portlaoise district, Laois/Offaly division)
  9. Ballinalee (Granard district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  10. Ballinskelligs (Caherciveen district, Kerry division)
  11. Ballinspittle (Bandon district, Cork West division)
  12. Ballintubber (Castlerea district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  13. Ballycastle (Ballina district, Mayo division)
  14. Ballyduff (Dungarvan district, Waterford division)
  15. Ballyfarnon (Ballymote district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  16. Ballyforan (Roscommon district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  17. Ballyglass (Castlebar district, Mayo division)
  18. Ballymoe (Tuam district, Galway division)
  19. Ballymore Eustace (Naas district, Kildare division)
  20. Ballyragget (Kilkenny district, Kilkenny/Carlow division)
  21. Ballytore (Kildare district, Kildare division)
  22. Ballyvary (Castlebar district, Mayo division)
  23. Bawnboy (Ballyconnell district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  24. Beaufort (Killarney district, Kerry division)
  25. Blacksod (Belmullet district, Mayo division)
  26. Broadford (Killaloe district, Clare division)
  27. Brosna (Listowel district, Kerry division)
  28. Camp (Tralee district, Kerry division)
  29. Castletown Conyers (Newcastlewest district, Limerick division)
  30. Castletown Geoghegan (Mullingar district, Westmeath division)
  31. Cliffoney (Sligo district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  32. Cloone (Carrick on Shannon district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  33. Corrinshigagh (Carrickmacross district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  34. Crossakiel (Kells district, Meath division)
  35. Donard (Baltinglass district, Wicklow division)
  36. Doonbeg (Kilrush district, Clare division)
  37. Dromahair (Manorhamilton district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  38. Dromod (Carrick on Shannon district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  39. Dundrum (Tipperary Town district, Tipperary division)
  40. Easkey (Ballymote district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  41. Fenit (Tralee district, Kerry division)
  42. Finea (Mullingar district, Westmeath division)
  43. Galbally (Bruff district, Limerick division)
  44. Gleann Cholm Cille (Glencolmcille) (Glenties district, Donegal division)
  45. Glenfarne (Manorhamilton district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  46. Grangemockler (Clonmel district, Tipperary division)
  47. Hollymount (Claremorris district, Mayo division)
  48. Hollywood (Baltinglass district, Wicklow division)
  49. Inagh (Ennistymon district, Clare division)
  50. Inistioge (Thomastown district, Kilkenny/Carlow division)
  51. Johnstown (Kilkenny district, Kilkenny/Carlow division)
  52. Keshcarrigan (Carrick on Shannon district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  53. Kilchreest (Gort district, Galway division)
  54. Kilcolgan (Gort district, Galway division)
  55. Kilconly (Tuam district, Galway division)
  56. Kilfinane (Bruff district, Limerick division)
  57. Kilgarvan (Killarney district, Kerry division)
  58. Kill (Naas district, Kildare division)
  59. Kilmeedy (Newcastlewest district, Limerick division)
  60. Kilmessan (Trim district, Meath division)
  61. Kilmihil (Kilrush district, Clare division)
  62. Kiltealy (Enniscorthy district, Wexford division)
  63. Kiltullagh (Galway (Mill St) district, Galway division)
  64. Knockcroghery (Roscommon district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  65. Labasheeda (Kilrush district, Clare division)
  66. Lahardane (Ballina district, Mayo division)
  67. Lahinch (Ennistymon district, Clare division)
  68. Lauragh (Killarney district, Kerry division)
  69. Leenane (Cliften district, Galway division)
  70. Leighlinbridge (Carlow district, Kilkenny/Carlow division)
  71. Malin (Buncrana district, Donegal division)
  72. Mallow Road (Mayfield district, Cork City division)
  73. McCurtain St (Mayfield district, Cork City division)
  74. Meelin (Kanturk district, Cork West division)
  75. Menlough (Ballinasloe district, Galway division)
  76. Mín an Lábáin (Churchill) (Milford district, Donegal division)
  77. Mountshannon (Killaloe district, Clare division)
  78. Na Brocacha (Brockagh) (Letterkenny district, Donegal division)
  79. New Inn (Cahir district, Tipperary division)
  80. New Inn (Loughrea district, Galway division)
  81. Newbliss (Monaghan district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  82. Newtowncashel (Longford district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  83. Quin (Ennis district, Clare division)
  84. Rathduff (Gurranabraher district, Cork City division)
  85. Rathowen (Mullingar district, Westmeath division)
  86. Rearcross (Nenagh district, Tipperary division)
  87. Shanaglish (Gort district, Galway division)
  88. Shannonbridge (Birr district, Laois/Offaly division)
  89. Shantonagh (Carrickmacross district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  90. Stradbally (Tramore district, Waterford division)
  91. Stradone (Cavan district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  92. Terryglass (Nenagh district, Tipperary division)
  93. Tournafolla (Newcastlewest district, Limerick division)
  94. Tynagh (Loughrea district, Galway division)
  95. Valentia Island (Caherciveen district, Kerry division)

Five further stations will close later in 2013:

  1. Barrack St, Cork
  2. Kill O’ The Grange, Dublin
  3. Mary St, Limerick
  4. Redhills, Co Cavan
  5. Stepaside, Dublin

Related: 95 Garda stations to close by end of month>
More: Dáil rejects FF motion to keep garda stations open>

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.