You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Simon Harris and Micheál Martin believe their parties can come to an agreement by the end of next month. Alamy Stock Photo

Social Democrats say 'exploratory' talks on government formation to become 'more focused' next week

Both Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael hope to form a government before the end of January.

LAST UPDATE | 12 Dec 2024

THE SOCIAL DEMOCRATS have said that the “exploratory” talks the party has been having so far on forming a government will become “more focused” next week.

The Social Democrats held a parliamentary party meeting this morning and deputy leader Cian O’Callaghan said a decision was taken to continue talks with Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, Sinn Féin and Labour. 

Yesterday, the Social Democrats had separate meetings with both Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael, and O’Callaghan today said all the meetings the party has held so far have been “positive and constructive, with a good exchange of views”. 

While O’Callaghan said these talks have been “exploratory to date”, he added that he expects they will become “more focused” next week, particularly on the “dealbreakers” the party highlighted during the election campaign. 

“Those dealbreakers were the delivery of 50,000 genuinely affordable homes during the lifetime of the next government; the full implementation of Sláintecare; quality public childcare; a senior minister for disability and credible climate action to avoid up to €20 billion in EU fines.,” said O’Callaghan.

O’Callaghan also said that by continuing the talks, the Social Democrats are “delivering on a commitment we gave to the electorate to talk to every party after the election with a view to forming a government and delivering on our mandate”.

Elsewhere, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael are to meet again today in the latest round of government formation talks.

The two parties met yesterday and discussed issues ranging from policy priorities to who their likely coalition partner may be.

Both have been expected to return to government since last month’s election, but need the support of another party or Independents following the near-wipeout of the Greens.

The two parties have previously said that they hope a government will be formed before the end of January.

In terms of policy, it is understood Simon Harris’s Fine Gael has seven negotiating priorities, while Micheál Martin’s party is prioritising housing and the cost-of-living measures as set out in its manifesto.

Possible changes to disability services are expected to feature in the talks – it’s considered an area both parties share common ground on, particularly after a bruising campaign for Harris when it came up on the campaign trail for the Fine Gael leader in Kanturk.

It’s understood that the view among Social Democrat TDs is that they remain serious about entering government and have not ruled themselves out just yet.

However, sources have indicated that the party does not think Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael is willing to meet the Social Democrats’ five key priorities. 

Speaking to reporters after yesterday’s meetings, deputy party leader Cian O’Callaghan said one of the key stumbling blocks in talks was commitments on climate change and meeting emissions targets.

The Journal understands that the largest gulf is with Fianna Fáil and the agriculture sector. 

It is understood that discussions on housing policy were also positive and that the Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin was “surprised” by some of the Social Democrats policy goals in this area. 

With reporting by Christina Finn and Jane Matthews

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

71 Comments
    Mute Meh Meh
    Favourite Meh Meh
    Dec 12th 2024, 8:14 AM

Like we’re all supposed to believe that they’re not best buds, having sleep overs most days of the week. Fwends, politician fwends.

Mute Patrick Newell
    Favourite Patrick Newell
    Dec 12th 2024, 8:41 AM

@Meh Meh: Of course but the media are firmly in the back pockets of the mob in FFG, tried having their sad supporters believe both parties were against each other during the campaign when it was akin to watching jake paul fight mike tyson…….a pure set up to dupe their voters and now the show continues

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 12th 2024, 10:08 AM

@Patrick Newell: not sure what media you read/watch (besides the Journal), but all the media that I consume called out this at the time as pantomime politics, and that includes The Journal

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Dec 12th 2024, 10:46 AM

@Dave G Doe: same old same old

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 12th 2024, 1:43 PM

@Kevin Kerr: same here. It was called out from the start

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Dec 12th 2024, 3:25 PM

@Dave G Doe: Two separate cheeks of the same ar&%.

Mute Martin Laird
    Favourite Martin Laird
    Dec 12th 2024, 9:37 AM

Health, housing, homelessness, they could not care less

Mute Billy Hayes
    Favourite Billy Hayes
    Dec 12th 2024, 10:34 AM

FF & FG renewing their wedding vows – how sweet !

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Dec 12th 2024, 12:53 PM

Did Fine Gael not come 3rd

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Dec 12th 2024, 1:07 PM

@Kevin O Brien
    FF: votes 481,417 Seats 48
    SF: votes 418,627 Seats 39
    FG: votes. 458,134. Seats 38

Mute Hot Jim
    Favourite Hot Jim
    Dec 12th 2024, 1:39 PM

@Kevin O Brien: I’m sure Labour and Democratic Left and the PDs came last, but a thick like you wouldn’t know how democracy works

Mute Pat O'Shea
    Favourite Pat O'Shea
    Dec 13th 2024, 5:46 AM

@honey badger: Are you forgetting we have a PR electoral system which is the envy of most democracies around the world?? Keep ur ‘first past the post’ stuff to UK politics.

Mute Hunt Ley
    Favourite Hunt Ley
    Dec 12th 2024, 11:05 AM

That gobsh+×e Martin…all puffed up and you can bet the WhiteHousw visit outfit has been picked already for rge shamrock gimmick.
    Guy in politics 40 years, still no Cork to Limerick motorway….while there’s from Dublin to the Megapolis of Tuam.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 12th 2024, 12:19 PM

@Hunt Ley: Megapolis? What’s that? Unless you mean the game?

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Dec 12th 2024, 9:15 PM

@Hunt Ley: certainly not what your calling him, U seem jealous, He brought his party back with 48 seats maybe its u thats the Gob+xe I’ not a fan but your comment is just crap

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Dec 12th 2024, 11:31 AM

Fine Gael Capo Michael lowry still running negotiations on behalf of fianna gael?

We know what happened the last time he was left in charge of negotiations don’t we?
    #moriartytribunal #bagsofcash #fiannafailmafia

Mute Hot Jim
    Favourite Hot Jim
    Dec 12th 2024, 11:37 AM

@Michael o connor: topping the poll every election

Mute Quinny
    Favourite Quinny
    Dec 12th 2024, 8:53 AM

They’ll be exchanging gifts , wink wink ;)

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    Dec 12th 2024, 11:03 AM

The left should definitely stay out of goverment formations they get eating up and after every term they align with centreist partys they get set back years (ask the greens) (ask labour) this is not because goverments ruin the left party’s on purpose from within , it’s because public opinion always changes with the left parties where as ff/fg and independents always have that consistency with voters, rural independents in my opinion bolster a ff/fg goverment where as left leaning parties always seem to push their ideology to much and the public takes only so much of that again ask the greens.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 12th 2024, 1:01 PM

@Darran Macken: They don’t push it enough unfortunately. Why are we the ninth biggest tax haven in the world and fourth in Europe for wealth inequality.

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Dec 12th 2024, 8:09 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: because we vote for it

Mute Patrick Newell
    Favourite Patrick Newell
    Dec 12th 2024, 8:35 AM

MM to Harris, heres how many carriages FG will get on the gravy train, how big the gravy bowl is and then we will blame the independents and other smuck parties who are dumb enough to get involved with us and they will all get hammered in 4 years. Meanwhile we and our mates get fatter financially and the same suckers who voted us in 2 weeks ago will do the same again cos they have permanent amnesia in said 4 years…..easy peasy the taxpayers getting done over squeazy

No we await the closet FFG support and lads who think Donald trump is cool to come along and say something about the shinners to deflect

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Dec 12th 2024, 9:17 AM

@Patrick Newell: Are you trying to be funny?

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Dec 12th 2024, 11:23 AM

@Vincent Alexander: What’s incorrect about his comment? It would be funny if it wasn’t true.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Dec 12th 2024, 1:38 PM

@Vincent Alexander: The sad part is that isnt funny its actually true…

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 12th 2024, 1:59 PM

@Vincent Alexander: the boot licker returns

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Dec 12th 2024, 4:43 PM

@sean weir: Tom L , FlipBip. Maybe you can get your satirist to write a story about an abattoir operative and a barman that condoned a terrorist war for 30years until they joined the gravy train of MLAs. When they achieved that objective, one had the audacity to think he was fit to became President the other Taoiseach.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Dec 12th 2024, 6:51 PM

@Patrick Newell: U should get out in the fresh Air & clear your Head

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Dec 12th 2024, 10:42 AM

Who wants to be the spitroast between me hall and arris

Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Dec 12th 2024, 10:07 AM

Well, Ireland, you made your bed. Now it’s time to lie in it.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Dec 12th 2024, 8:35 AM

The face of Harris like a scalded cat and as for the other scoundrel you’d swear butter wouldnt melt ……

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Dec 12th 2024, 12:19 PM

Desperate to drag this on as long as possible

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Dec 12th 2024, 9:42 AM

Yet again yesterday showed that you cannot trust any politicians especially that go shite on the right.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Dec 12th 2024, 1:34 PM

I’m sorry but are you having a laugh the social Democrats molling options sure they don’t have any. The willingly allowed someone to run As a party candidate who Person Benefits under the murder of innocent people And Palestine

Mute GoodBrother
    Favourite GoodBrother
    Dec 12th 2024, 2:02 PM

I wish ruin and misery to anyone who props up this government. FF and FG looks like they will be in government forever, but those that help them should face every political consequence.

Mute FFG
    Favourite FFG
    Dec 12th 2024, 2:31 PM

@GoodBrother: Hopefully they will they do a fantastic job and we should all be grateful for such a good government and free elections.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Dec 12th 2024, 9:02 AM

Two non ideological skewed students in the class of practical life experience are going to conclude similar conclusions to deal with the issues confronting Ireland.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 12th 2024, 12:53 PM

@thomas molloy: Ha ha, that’s your excuse is it?

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 12th 2024, 9:59 AM

Just get on with it. This should take a couple of days, max

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Dec 12th 2024, 10:47 AM

@Dermot Blaine: keep dreaming on

Mute Hot Jim
    Favourite Hot Jim
    Dec 12th 2024, 11:36 AM

@Dermot Blaine: you’re a good Catholic

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 12th 2024, 2:59 PM

@Hot Jim: comment reported as offensive

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Dec 12th 2024, 4:11 PM

@Hot Jim: The bait fishing in Howth is good even for amateurs.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Dec 12th 2024, 12:02 PM

SocDems are zero experience and can’t be relied upon, far better to go with experienced independents or even Labour

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 12th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Johnny Wilson: Ha ha, the proven and failed? Ha ha

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Dec 12th 2024, 10:21 AM

They need to form the government quickly. People from Nigeria, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Somalia… coming in huge numbers and have nowhere to live. Opening Thornton Hall asylum center should be a top priority. There is enough place for several thousand people.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Dec 12th 2024, 11:04 AM

@Sergej Simonov: They’ve made a mess of that place given the need for revised environmental assessments.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Dec 12th 2024, 1:09 PM

@Sergej Simonov: how many candidates who stood for election to Dail repeating such nonsense got elected ?

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Dec 12th 2024, 6:54 PM

@Sergej Simonov: what are so many coming here for

Mute Mike Dunne
    Favourite Mike Dunne
    Dec 12th 2024, 3:37 PM

The Banana republic of the EU!

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Dec 12th 2024, 3:59 PM

I’ve been a supporter of the SDs for a number of years because they’re on the right side of a number of issues that are important to me. Holly Cairns especially has been very vocal on defunding the greyhound racing industry. I’m not opposed to seeing them go into government but if they do an about face on the pledges that won my vote in the first place they’re going to go the way of all the other junior govt parties.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 12th 2024, 4:08 PM

DON’T GO THERE, HOLLY!

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Dec 12th 2024, 6:52 PM

@Me Me: she is not going anywhere that the point

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Dec 12th 2024, 3:20 PM

Daft. FFG need a couple of tame independents and that’s all. The SD’s or any third party will have essentially no leverage

Mute FFG
    Favourite FFG
    Dec 12th 2024, 3:36 PM

@lesidees: The left has zero chance of sitting around the big boy table

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 12th 2024, 7:45 PM

@FFG: FFG are left