You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Green Party Minister of State Joe O'Brien. Alamy Stock Photo

Green Party promise to facilitate cut in electricity prices for EV owners if reelected

The party said it will introduce a system where EV owners can charge their car batteries using low-price electricity at night, and then run their homes using that same electricity during the day.

THE GREEN PARTY has promised to facilitate a cut in electricity prices for electric vehicle (EV) owners if reelected to government.

Green Party Minister of State Joe O’Brien said that the amount of electricity stored in an EV battery is “surprising big” compared to the typical household power demand.

“Over the course of a day, the average Irish household uses less than a sixth of what a typical EV can store in its battery,” he said.

The party said that most EV owners currently charge their car batteries at night as electricity tends to be cheaper to use due to lower demand, but most owners don’t come close to using their full battery charge during a normal day. 

Speaking today, O’Brien said that the Green Party will introduce a system where EV owners can charge their car batteries using low-price electricity at night, and then run their homes using that same electricity during the day – if returned to power.

“This means they get to avoid paying more expensive day-time rates for electricity,” he said, adding that it was also more environmentally friendly, as most electricity generated at night comes from wind power, while gas plants are used during the day to supplement increased demand.

The new system would also allow EV users to sell a portion of the electricity from their car batteries to the national grid for a profit when demand is high, such as during winter nights when lots of families are cooking and watching TV at the same time, the party said.

A similar system is already in place which allows homes to sell surplus electricity from their solar panels to the grid.

“The Green Party has been leading the way for years on making green technology more accessible to households such as cutting the red tape around installing solar panels or making them cheaper or harnessing the potential of offshore wind. That’s why it’s so important that we’re part of the next government,” Minister O’Brien said.

In September, it was reported that new registrations of electric vehicles were down 29.3% last month compared to the same month the year before, according to figures released by the Society of the Irish Motor Industry.

The chair of the Irish Electric Vehicle Association said that the decline in electric vehicle sales has been driven by a reduction in grants provided by the government.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 133 comments
133 Comments
    Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:18 PM

These muppets have already cost the tax payer a fortune and not one of them contribute to the coffers.

Mute Jackie Culligan
    Favourite Jackie Culligan
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:32 PM

these Irish citizens have a right to protest. Would you like a gas terminal built next to your property

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:35 PM

I’m sure a whole town isn’t avoiding tax, you’ve no evidence to back your conspiracy theories

Mute Ink Toner
    Favourite Ink Toner
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:54 PM

Spot on Chris, this motley crew of tree huggers together with the save the whale brigade & other work shy losers should be moved back to where they came from- they have cost our country a fortune!!!

Mute glenoir
    Favourite glenoir

Bet you give out but sit on your as

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:59 PM

Exhibit A, the picture accompanying this article.Read the signs.These people’s livelihoods are being damaged by Shell. The Gardaí are impounding fishing vessels because apparently Shell own the sea now too. The people are trying to work as they always have.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jun 16th 2014, 8:52 PM

I’m sure the whole town isn’t against the pipeline either.

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Jun 16th 2014, 9:44 PM

Your right Sandbag. Most of Belmullet has benefited financially. How many 00′s of millions have been spent by shell? Most of the town and surrounding area (up to 1 hours drive) are benefiting from the jobs and investment. Ask the local hard working honest people of the area what they think. I have never seen such a thriving town during our biggest recession since the formation of the state. Go see for yourselves instead of knocking what benefits it is bringing.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:43 PM

Most of those who work on this pipeline are English and their accommodation is paid for by Shell.

Mute richard fallon
    Favourite richard fallon
    Jun 17th 2014, 10:05 AM

I spoke to a crowd of these people last time they were en masse in Belmullet and found that very few of them were even Irish, a lot of Dutch and Germans.

Mute richard fallon
    Favourite richard fallon
    Jun 17th 2014, 10:06 AM

I refer to the protesters , of course.

Mute Andrew Dagg
    Favourite Andrew Dagg
    Jun 16th 2014, 8:35 PM

Professional picketers. One of them is my neighbour (North Tipperary) never worked a day in her life and spawned 2 more with the same life ethos. Travels Ireland and UK to anti fracking/anti wind farm/anti water metering: anything but work.
    Last year she did a tour of the Middle East as her (compensation funded) holiday.

Mute Jack Dexter
    Favourite Jack Dexter
    Jun 16th 2014, 9:31 PM

Your not a nice person talking about your neighbours behind their backs

Mute Andrew Dagg
    Favourite Andrew Dagg
    Jun 16th 2014, 9:34 PM

@jack Dexter. Thanks. I tell it like it is.

Mute Phil West
    Favourite Phil West
    Jun 16th 2014, 9:58 PM

At least she is doing something worthwhile, I’m sure the lot of a professional picketer is not always easy.

Don’t thing that just because someone is employed that he or she is necessarily doing something worthwhile, take Micheal ‘Fingers’ Fingelton who helped destroy this country and is now living off a very generous pension.

Mute Sean Mahoney
    Favourite Sean Mahoney
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:44 PM

Couldn’t agree more, they should all be lined up and shot. IMO the guards should of smacked them up more.

Nobody likes to see the country being sold off one piece at a time, but we have bills to pay. So everything else is secondary.

Get over it FFS

Mute Phil West
    Favourite Phil West
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:57 PM

Sean,
    Oh dear, it sounds like you would favour a strong leader…
    …now if I know my history, that doesn’t always work out too well.

I think it was in Nurnerburg that certain people on trial said that they were just following orders FFS.

Mute Simon Power
    Favourite Simon Power
    Jun 17th 2014, 12:04 AM

#Godwin’s Law

Mute keith o brien
    Favourite keith o brien
    Jun 17th 2014, 12:55 AM

I’m not sure have any of ye posting here , ever seen the documentary called The pipe , our have ever deemed it necessary to take a stand against corruption . This country is being asset stripped at an alarming rate , and when all is said and done , what will you say you did to stop it . ? Good little sheep that ye are , nothing is the answer !

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Favourite Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jun 17th 2014, 4:35 AM

This lad is an idiot….A waste of skin

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:19 PM

Go home you Hippies

Mute Jackie Culligan
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:30 PM

They are home you fool, shell to sea is an Irish organization based in the parish of Kilcommon in Erris, County Mayo.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:44 PM

Jack maybe you could educate tony on how many are residents in that area and how many are protestors from elsewhere?

Mute rmcd66
    Favourite rmcd66
    Jun 16th 2014, 8:09 PM

Well said Tony. Crustys living on the dole with medical cards etc . A burden to the state

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jun 16th 2014, 8:31 PM

Whenever someone stands up against the establishment they are automatically branded as layabouts and hippies by the establishment and their mouthpieces. Some may be but most certainly not all are. Many are local residents standing up for what they believe to be right.

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Jun 16th 2014, 8:46 PM

God I wish these people would go away.they spin lies about this project constantly.it the only part of the country that had solid work during the last few years.
    Can’t stand these idiots getting in the way if progress.

Mute eye_c_u___
    Favourite eye_c_u___
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:05 PM

Half of them have english accents. The population dropped about time of dale farm protests in the uk

Mute Shane Hogan
    Favourite Shane Hogan
    Jun 17th 2014, 8:55 AM

Shakka, there’s no issue with standing up to the establishment and voicing their opinions. People’s issues are with how they’re draining their taxes without contributing anything.
    I they had full time jobs and paid taxes people probably wouldn’t be so irritated with them.

Mute richard fallon
    Favourite richard fallon
    Jun 17th 2014, 10:08 AM

@Jackie , see my post above/

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:15 PM

Another inquiry, if they want it let them pay for it

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:34 PM

Paying for inquiry’s isn’t the issue it’s the quality of the inquiry’s that have rendered them useless

Mute Shane Hogan
    Favourite Shane Hogan
    Jun 17th 2014, 8:51 AM

And the fact that they’re complaining for the sake of publicity and that it’s the current flavour of the month thing to do.

Are the protestors all locals?, if not why are they protesting?, I can’t really see how it’s any of their business.

Mute Jack Daniels
    Favourite Jack Daniels
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:43 PM

Only in Ireland would people give out about other people standing up to bullys Shell Gardai private Security firms.Oh by the way Shell and Statoil are making a fortune off yere backs and here getting nada why because the Irish are a soft touch and get offended and insult people that show them up for the subservient good little pixies they are.

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:46 PM

It sounds as if your are drinking too much of your own name.

Mute Premium Gamerz
    Favourite Premium Gamerz
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:53 PM

Actually Statoil stopped, it’s just Shell milking ireland

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:24 PM

They called for whistleblowers to provide info a few weeks back, did they get anything obviously not!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:37 PM

After what happened to McCabe and Wilson do you honestly think other guards will stand up to this? They picked booze over justice belmullet will tell you that

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:14 PM

What better timing…

Mute Liam Mc Meel
    Favourite Liam Mc Meel
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:13 PM

I was sure that protest had finished along time ago ?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:35 PM

The media coverage of it certainly did.

Mute Eagle eye
    Favourite Eagle eye
    Jun 16th 2014, 8:41 PM

These clowns lost all credibility years ago. It’s just a shame that they are still getting media time. They’ve cost us, the taxpayers, millions. And we were paying their benefits while they were doing it.

Mute Phil West
    Favourite Phil West
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:04 PM

That’s not a fair comment – not all Gardaí are clowns.

Mute rmcd66
    Favourite rmcd66
    Jun 16th 2014, 8:04 PM

Summertime and the crustys are busy. Stop there dole and medical cards and benefits and they soon would give up costing the county money. All the locals see are euro signs

Mute djk
    Favourite djk
    Jun 16th 2014, 9:15 PM

That’s what wrong with Ireland parish pump politics “sure the local TD sister husband owns a hang sandwich shop and sure were making a fortune on sambos, sure why would we be bothered by a cooperation riding roughshod over us the real money is in sandwiches not gas”

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:36 PM

Problem is that they have a point. Thugs/Gardaí for hire.But then again what else is new

Mute Brendan Boyd
    Favourite Brendan Boyd
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:46 PM

They’re for hire by all citizens. Say you owned a business. If I decided to block access to your yard and put you out of business what do you think would happen? You’d ring the gardai and they’d arrest me allowing you to do business. It’s that simple.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe

But would Gardaí be bussed in from other areas to take land from its rightful owners?

Mute Jackie Culligan
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:55 PM

The difference is Brenden the Gardai wouldn’t hound you afterwards, like standing next to your property filming your every move and constantly harassing you when you drive down the road.

Mute Brendan Boyd
    Favourite Brendan Boyd
    Jun 16th 2014, 8:00 PM

Yes if it was orgnaised by groups of 20+ and ongoing for years.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Jun 16th 2014, 8:49 PM

Supposing I sent €30,000 of booze around to the Garda station and told them to make sure you didn’t get access to your yard.

“OSSL’s allegations come in the wake of a recent report by a special rapporteur for the United Nations which found “excessive and disproportionate use of force against protesters” peacefully opposing the pipeline.

Rapporteur Margaret Sekaggya said that she “received credible reports and evidence … indicating the existence of a pattern of intimidation, harassment, surveillance and criminalisation of those peacefully opposing the Corrib gas project … Moreover,” she reported, “there have been serious concerns about the lawfulness of certain actions of the private security firm employed by Shell.”

The rapporteur “expresses her concern at … shortcomings in official investigations, particularly those relating to the use of excessive force and abusive behaviour by the police”.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/aug/10/shell-pipeline-protests-county-mayo

This story was reported around the world last year. It makes the film ‘The Guard’ look like a documentary and Ireland like the banana republic that it has become.

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:24 PM

So you would like to close down the Corrib gas project and then do just leave it lying under the seabed,the people of the country need this secure gas supply so i propose that if it makes them all happy in Mayo, close it down and transfer the whole shebang down to Cork where they have far more experence in handling offshore gas for nearly 40 years without none of the hysteria associated with Corrib,and the countrys taxpayers would save millions in policing and security being stood down.

Mute Jackie Culligan
    Jun 16th 2014, 11:16 PM

The point that most people seem to forget is that these protesters don’t necessarily want the company to shut down, pack up and leave. shell to sea concerned about the health impacts to the community. In fact they have no problem with the company exploiting the country, all they want is that the gas is processed offshore and not pumped ashore and for very good reasons. Raw, unprocessed gas would be carried at extremely high pressure, directly from under the sea-bed, through a pipeline in an unstable bog where landslides are common. The proposed pipeline for Rossport is nothing like the gas pipelines people live close to in other parts of Ireland:
    • the pressure would be 144 bar, and possibly higher, compared to a maximum 5 bar in a domestic pipeline;
    • the gas would still contain chemical impurities that corrode pipes and are highly explosive – these are removed at the refinery;
    • it would not contain the odour that alerts residents to a leak – this is added at the refinery.
    Since 2000, local people have been demanding that the gas is processed at sea, before it reaches residential areas, as is standard practice worldwide. They have never objected to gas being piped ashore in the normal way

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Jun 16th 2014, 9:22 PM

Dept of social welfare should carry out inspections amongst them and those protesting who are receiving jobs seekers allowance should be cut off immediately.

Some of these protesters are professional in so much as they are great at avoiding work.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:12 PM

Investigation should be mandatory for any welfare recipient who is arrested

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jun 16th 2014, 11:32 PM

Hmmm.
    Go on… Explain how you can link the right to welfare with an arrest. I mean we could do that anywhere, I’m just not sure how it would work. I mean, are you saying that welfare recipients are not entitled to protest (like the pensioner revolt a few years back) or are you saying that all Shell to Sea should be arrested…
    It’s not really clear where you stand on issues of law and governance. Should we continue having elections?

Mute glenoir
    Favourite glenoir
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:57 PM

At least these guys try and do ye have anywhere you can sign a peition ‘re this cause I’d certainly sign it

Mute Brendan Boyd
    Favourite Brendan Boyd
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:26 PM

I put this on every now and then after a tough day. It’ never fails to pick me up.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6N5Fk6xaKo

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Jun 16th 2014, 9:50 PM

I must put that in my favourites. Shame they did not record the reason the Garda lost the plot. I’m sure lots of lip, threats and other anti Garda and personal insults plus loads of sh+te was the real reason. The camera man should get a good editing job in hollywood. OOpps silly me the country of the great Satan.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:11 PM

Should be an enquiry into the thuggish behaviour and law breaking of many of the protesters

Their lunatic opposition to necessary infrastructure has cost the tax payer millions

The Gardai have exercised extreme restraint despite have endured much provocation. In many other countries these protesters would have been dealt with far more robustly

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jun 16th 2014, 11:36 PM

Check his twitter link.
    Former govt. “Special Advisor” and proud of it.
    Also seemingly unaware that FF are not out of the woods yet.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jun 16th 2014, 11:39 PM

Reading the comments now I know fully why the government have succeeded in screwing the people of Ireland.

Mute tractor1000
    Favourite tractor1000
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:42 PM

Dumbass crustys costing the state millions! You would have received more respect if your protests were peaceful at the beginning! The Guards use video cameras as back up to the lies and rubbish that was spun by the idiot rent a crowd moaners! Nobody trusts or backs ye so just get a life and feic off costing the state!!!

Mute Vincent Nolan
    Favourite Vincent Nolan
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:06 PM

Frightening today Russia’s action to cut off gas which Europe is dependent on and we stop gas coming ashore which would protect our fragile economy. I just don’t get what all the fuss is about. The major cities in Ireland have gas pipes running throughout the city and no major risk uncovered.

Mute Jackie Culligan
    Jun 16th 2014, 11:02 PM

Agreed johnny, plus shell are under no obligation to sell our own gas to us

Mute Greg Corrigan
    Favourite Greg Corrigan
    Jun 17th 2014, 3:57 AM

Are you serious???

Mute eye_c_u___
    Favourite eye_c_u___
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:09 PM

Thing is local guards doung well out of it some second houses I believe. Not that I begrudge them. Perfectly entitled to it working overtime. Mayo been the golden goose for years

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:34 PM

General election soon start lob binging for best deal

Mute Jackie Culligan
    Jun 16th 2014, 7:40 PM

Won’t work this is Enda’s constituency

Mute joebloggs
    Favourite joebloggs
    Jun 17th 2014, 7:34 AM

As a member of the general public I have no confidence in Shell to Sea and call for an inquiry into their behavior, into the fact that they have delayed an infrastructure project unduly, they have interfered with the public’s right to go unhindered, that the have cost the exchequer millions in pay, for An Garda Siochana,

Mute Peter Lavelle
    Favourite Peter Lavelle
    Jun 17th 2014, 12:10 AM

She’ll to sea has cos the taxpayer enough money! Feck off with another inquiry

Mute Peter Lavelle
    Favourite Peter Lavelle
    Jun 17th 2014, 12:31 AM

Have a quick look at this and see what u think! Very intresting

Mute Peter Lavelle
    Favourite Peter Lavelle
    Jun 17th 2014, 12:32 AM
    Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    Jun 16th 2014, 10:37 PM

Im sure Boyd Barrett will have something to say on this

Mute James Mcguinness
    Favourite James Mcguinness
    Jun 17th 2014, 12:08 AM

Nother like a bit of 1950′s priest justice for the protesters….you’ve been a bad boy!!!!

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Favourite Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jun 17th 2014, 5:20 PM

The Garda got a huge amount of drink to turn a blind eye and even at times participate in abuses