You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Harris recognised that it is a commercial decision for each bank to take. Alamy Stock Photo

Harris tells lenders he wants to see cost of mortgage repayments fall 'as quickly as they rose'

The group discussed mortgages, the housing market, SMEs and farmers.

IN A MEETING between Simon Harris, banks, credit unions and non-bank lenders, the Taoiseach said he wants the cost of monthly repayments to fall “as quickly as they rose”.

During the discussion, sought by the Taoiseach, the group discussed mortgages, the housing market, SMEs and farmers.

Irish lenders have previously come under fire from customers and politicians over claims that they have not been fair for the cost of mortgages or enticing enough with the return for lenders. 

The banks, however, have insisted that they have been fair and are working in line with interest rates set by the European Central Bank. Harris today said he believes monthly mortgage repayments should “fall just as quickly as they rose”.

Harris recognised that it is a commercial decision for each bank to take but he said he has urged lenders to have a “responsible approach” to reductions and added that the Government would be monitoring the situation over the coming months. 

It is understood that he later emphasised this belief to his parliamentary party, adding that a similar approach must be applied in slashing rates as was provided when they were first hiked.

Gabriel Makhlouf, head of the Irish Central Bank, has said that he wanted just one more cut to interest rates this year by the European Central Bank in order to determine, with certainty, that inflation rates are on a path to drop to the desired 2%.

According to Harris, there is recieved limited evidence that of any increases in mortgage arrears at this time.

Separately, he added that the banks have welcomed the Government’s move to build up to 50,000 homes per year – announced by the Taoiseach after his election as leader of Fine Gael.

He said the lenders’ representatives were keen to make more development finance available to assist with the delivery of that target.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

53 Comments
    Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:09 PM

Fine Gael the millionaires party
    How would he describe fine Gael candidate John mcGahon
    (A nice friendly guy)!!!

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Nov 20th 2024, 3:55 PM

@Kevin O Brien: SF candidates, policy makers make other partys’ candidates look like kittens

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:43 PM

@Kevin O Brien:
    Sinn Fein the biggest property speculators in the Dail.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 11:10 PM

@Kevin O Brien:
    Dessie and Martin?

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:13 PM

Are fine gael being funded by millionaires and the 1%

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:48 PM

@Kevin O Brien: True that the higher paid 1% and business pay most of tax to fund public services like health, education and social Welfare. Is that not good. That teachers are the academic is true but the real world is the ultimate teacher. What’s wrong with saying that. ?

Mute Pat O'Shea
    Favourite Pat O'Shea
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:16 PM

@Kevin O Brien: Yes in a nutshell, to the detriment of the rest of us.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:44 PM

@Kevin O Brien:
    Are Sinn Fein still being bank rolled by the Kremlin.

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:42 PM

He’s right we need business men and business women in our Dáil. People who have proven they know how to work with money. How much is being wasted at tax payers expense right now? Incompetent people like ex- teachers, Rose of Tralee winner, jockeys etc. If I were to ask you, who would you trust with YOUR money, a business man/woman or a retired primary school teacher? Unfortunately too many people will vote for the former, and is why our country is in the way it’s in.

Mute john salmon
    Favourite john salmon
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:45 PM

@Cole Palmer: business men only know how to look after themselves we definitely don’t need the likes of o Leary in power

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:53 PM

@john salmon: Simon Harris and his crew know how to spend money don’t they? They should think about a career in stock market when they retire.

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:53 PM

@john salmon: ya doctors like varadkar and James Reilly really worked out well

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:56 PM

@john salmon: You don’t appear to live in a community that has benefitted from Michael O’Leary’s success and generosity.

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:05 PM

@Cole Palmer: Ah now, leave jockeys out of it: look how well Bertie did out of them…..

Mute john salmon
    Favourite john salmon
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:19 PM

@Athena: I find the cost of living a struggle and I know the likes of O’Leary would only put the boot in. Things are bad enough already.

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 20th 2024, 3:31 PM

@William Slevin: well said, I agree with you. I should have included that about O Leary. F him.

Mute Pat O'Shea
    Favourite Pat O'Shea
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:18 PM

@john salmon: Agree 100%

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:47 PM

@Cole Palmer:
    U turn Mary flys Buisness class on her travals for Sinn Feins.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 11:09 PM

@john salmon:
    As long as Mr Micheal O’Leary keeps providing for the working classes long may he prosper.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:16 PM

No apology at all, no wonder they treat young teachers like shit, temporary contracts pushed all the time, Peter Burkes attitude is the same for all working people paying Tax, he looks down on them & does nothing for them, but looks up to & prioritizes Multi Millionaires, hopefully the voters will teach him a lesson, arrogant ahole.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 11:04 PM

@John Mc Dermott:
    Michael O’Leary is a hero to the working classes.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:41 PM

He’s right. A non “story”

Mute CP
    Favourite CP
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:49 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: I’m just shocked a comment section is open on an article to do with Fg

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:05 PM

@CP: there are several fg/election articles open for comments, from yesterday and today

Mute well done to all the rescue teams
    Favourite well done to all the rescue teams
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:03 PM

@CP: completely agree with you!
    no comments open to congratulate justice of 6.5 years to the man who set fire to a garda car…justice won today

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 11:01 PM

@well done to all the rescue teams:
    Crystal meth santa came to mind out side the court.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:41 PM

Just imagine Michael O leary as a minister or even taoiseach??? Then we’d be hurling/ making progress

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:48 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Some of us would rather live in a society rather than an economy.. a self serving businessman who is driven by profit and loss wouldn’t be to my taste.. but obviously you’re different.. very very different.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:50 PM

@Brian: grew up in the 60′s….. believe me, it Wasn’t great,lol

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:55 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: That has absolutely nothing to do with wanting a self serving businessman in charge of a county and society.. but you’re obviously into that sort of thing. BTW you were conspicuous by your absence on the latest appointment by your “president of peace ” this morning.. no “another amazing appointment ” spiel.. wonder why ?

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Brian: btw grew up in the 70s.. I dont need you to tell me what things were like.. ta very much Ken.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Brian: was away down the strand with BEST doggies in Ireland……. can you believe them rascals…..STILL wearing their MAGA bandanas, lol

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:01 PM

@Brian: ‘ken’??? I like that one…. normally you go for Stephen or Maurice ,lol

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:08 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: I wouldn’t believe a word out of your mouth.. As usual nothing worthwhile to offer.. its hillarious your saviour who promised to put money back in the pockets of hard working Americans will end up taking it out of them with his proposed tarrifs. But the top 1 percent will be fine with his new tax proposals .. and targeting Ireland specifically in the process.. I suspect we’ll be seeing less and less of you as the siht show unfolds.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:14 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: You’ll always be Ken Mc Carthy to me .. I’ve always called you Ken because it was the 1st troll account of yours I engaged with..as for those other names .. you’re getting your accounts mixed up again.. just waiting for Kevvy to pop up.. was missing this morning too.. out walking the dogs with ya no doubt.. did ye have a good chat ? Lol

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:19 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: We’d be hurling in the US ‘vomiting’ sense.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:35 PM

@William Slevin: You’re barking up the wrong tree, William. I (like almost all the commenters here, I would say) have just the one account.

‘Frank Mc Carthy’, on the other hand, has dozens, and trolls here full-time.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:55 PM

@William Slevin:
    Sinn Fein also voted to bail out the banks with the government.
    Only Labour voted against the bail out.

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:30 PM

The whole room laughed at a dig at teachers ,a room full of FG followers..

It is what it is, be surprised if any teacher votes for FG

Mute Aidan Collins
    Favourite Aidan Collins
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:46 PM

He would say that, wouldn’t he? The Hee Hawing of the Fine Gaelers at O’Leary’s comment was repulsive. At least, unlike Simon Harris, the teachers did not drop out of college.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Nov 20th 2024, 4:00 PM

FG have never valued the great work of our teachers. Treated them appallingly since the crash on 2008.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:51 PM

@Paul Whitehead:
    Greedy teachers union members sold out new entrants to the profession in order to avoid paycuts.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 11:02 PM

@Paul Whitehead:
    With a 20 per cent illiteracy rate in the country, teachers need a pay cut

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 20th 2024, 2:43 PM

Ah Peter the joys of entitlement

Mute Joe Bergin
    Favourite Joe Bergin
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:32 PM

A nothing story. He’s right.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:50 PM

The desperation of the looneys is palpable

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:12 PM

@Paul M Doe: exactly, when better stories are there to report on. Like Colm Brophys wife and Fg Cllr /general election candidate propositioning a developer for home upgrades so they won’t object to building developments.

Mute tom o reilly
    Favourite tom o reilly
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:57 PM

@Paul M Doe: Tired jim / Paul m doe / william slevin / fintan pox / john doe / john m doe / john p doe /ulysses / exhausted jim / tired jim / john jon / lefty tears / lefty cries and dozens more troll accounts . Read any of their posts and you will see the quality of his comments, he has never added anything constructive or of any merit to any conversation on this platform. He has been banned on many occasions for good reason.
    On one hand , it is sad to think how someone’s life choices have led them to be this desperate for attention , while on the other hand it is easy to see that he is so pathetic that nobody will interact with him in the real world.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:49 PM

@James Reardon:
    Or fat Sinn Fein ex hunger strickers building fire death trap appartments.

Mute kingfin70
    Favourite kingfin70
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:13 PM

A media bubble story about a media bubble story

Mute St. Mary's Special School
    Favourite St. Mary's Special School
    Nov 20th 2024, 3:40 PM

Absolutely no way teachers are that sensitive…