You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Not returning: Here are all the TDs we're bidding farewell to after they lost their seats

Here’s who has lost out.

LAST UPDATE | 2 Dec 2024

FOR SOME TDs, the past three days have been confirmation of huge support in their local constituency. For others, years on the Dáil benches have been brought to an end.

Here’s who has lost out – in alphabetical order.

Chris Andrews (SF)

9302 Dail_90601472 Chris Andrews RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Sinn Féin’s outgoing TD for Dublin Bay South Chris Andrews has lost his seat.

Andrews was eliminated on the twelfth count, with the final seat in the affluent four-seater going to Social Democrats’ councillor Eoin Hayes.

Andrews, who is his party’s spokesperson for Sport, had been a TD for the area since 2020. 

Mick Barry (PBP)

people before profit 218_90670615 RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

In Cork North-Central, Labour’s Eoghan Kenny was declared the winner ahead of outgoing Solidarity-People Before Profit TD Mick Barry, with just 35 votes separating them.

A full recount was called for, during which it emerged that the gap had increased to 39 votes for Kenny.

Barry conceded the election. He had been a TD since 2016.

Cathal Berry (IND)

POSTER BATTLE II2A5298_90589741 Campaign poster of Cathal Berry in 2020 RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

In Kildare South, Independent Cathal Berry was eliminated on the tenth count.

He was elected to the Dáil for the first time in 2020.

Martin Browne (SF)

Tipperary Crash-20_90687442 Sinn Fein TD Martin Browne speaking to media near the scene of the crash in the Windmill Knockbulloge area of Cashel, Co. Tipperary, October 2023. Rolling News Rolling News

Cashel native Martin Browne lost his seat in Tipperary after being eliminated on the fifth count.

Browne had been elected to the Tipperary constituency in 2020.

Joan Collins (RTC)

joan-collins-right-to-change-arrives-for-the-general-election-leaders-debate-at-rte-studios-in-montrose-dublin-rtes-upfront-with-katie-hannon-is-hosting-irelands-largest-ever-leaders-general-el Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Joan Collins has been a TD since 2011, and she’s been a member of the Right To Change party since 2020. 

She was eliminated in the Dublin South-Central constituency on the twelfth count.

Patrick Costello (GP)

patrick Patrick Costello RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Green Party TD Patrick Costello didn’t hang on to his seat in Dublin South-Central after one term in the Dáil.

He was eliminated on the ninth count.

He is married to Hazel Chu, a Green Party councillor who also failed to get a seat this weekend.

Stephen Donnelly (FF)

424Cabinet Meetings_90715489

Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly was one of the most high-profile casualties to lose his seat, missing out on the thirteenth and final count in Wicklow in the early hours of Monday morning. 

Donnelly was first elected in 2011 as an independent, before co-founding the Social Democrats in 2015 alongside Róisín Shortall and Catherine Murphy. He left the party the following year, before joining Fianna Fáil in 2017. 

Francis Noel Duffy (GP)

dublin-ireland-7th-may-2023-catherine-martin-td-minister-for-tourism-culture-arts-gaeltacht-sport-and-media-and-francis-noel-duffy-arriving-on-the-red-carpet-at-the-irish-film-and-television-a Francis Noel Duffy (r) with his wife Catherine Martin TD Alamy Alamy

Green Party spokesperson on housing Francis Noel Duffy was a TD in Dublin South-West, but he has now lost his seat.

He was eliminated on the second count.

Duffy is married to Catherine Martin, who was deputy leader of the Green Party until June of this year.

Bernard Durkin (FG)

bernard-durkan-new-fine-gael-front-bench-2004 Bernard Durkin of Fine Gael will not be returning to the Dáil. RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

The Dail’s longest serving TD, Bernard Dublin, lost his seat in Kildare North after the 12th count.

Durkan was first elected in 1981 and previously served as a junior minister for social welfare, Fine Gael chief whip. 

Fianna Fáil newcomer, Naoise Ó Cearúil, took the final seat in the constituency.

Alan Farrell (FG)

taoiseach-leo-varadkar-left-with-fine-gael-candidate-frances-fitzgerald-and-fine-gaels-alan-farrell-at-the-count-centre-in-the-rds-dublin-as-counting-of-votes-continues-in-the-european-elections Former Taoiseach Leo Varadkar (left) with then MEP Frances Fitzgerald and Alan Farrell TD Alamy Alamy

Running in the new Dublin Fingal East constituency (created by the boundary changes last year), Fine Gael’s Alan Farrell didn’t manage to win a seat.

Farrell, who is chairperson of the parliamentary party, was eliminated on the eleventh count.

He has been a TD since 2011 – first in the Dublin North constituency (2011 – 2016) and then in Dublin Fingal.

Joe Flaherty (FF) 

Fianna Fáil TD Joe Flaherty missed out on keeping his seat in Longford-Westmeath. 

The former Longford County councillor, who has been a TD since 2020, was eliminated on the fifteenth and final count. 

Neasa Hourigan (GP)

9796 Green party Special Convention_90601589 Neasa Hourigan (2020) RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Outgoing Dublin Central TD Neasa Hourigan failed to hang on to her seat.

She was eliminated on the seventh count.

During the lifetime of the last Dáil, Hourigan was suspended from the Green Party twice – first for voting against the government on a motion calling for the new National Maternity Hospital to be built on state-owned land, and then for voting against the government on an amendment to a motion calling for an extension on the eviction ban.

Gino Kenny (PBP)

people-before-profit-td-gino-kenny-outside-leinster-house-in-dublin-as-tds-arrive-for-the-first-sitting-of-the-irish-parliament-since-a-divisive-election-with-no-prospect-of-a-deal-on-a-new-governmen Gino Kenny Alamy Alamy

People Before Profit – Solidarity TD Gino Kenny hasn’t managed to keep his seat in Dublin Mid-West. 

He conceeded defeat before he was eliminated on the ninth count, following two terms in the Dáil.

Kenny previously served as a councillor on South Dublin County Council from 2009 to 2016.

Brian Leddin (GP)

candidates-john-moran-and-brian-leddin-chatting-as-counting-continues-at-limerick-racecourse-in-limericks-mayoral-election-in-which-citizens-voted-to-directly-elect-their-own-mayor-for-the-first-tim Brian Leddin (r) at the count for Limerick mayor in June Alamy Alamy

Green Party TD Brian Leddin was elected in 2020 and has now lost his seat in Limerick City.

He was eliminated on the seventh count.

Catherine Martin (GP)

green-party-minister-catherine-martin-arrives-at-dublin-castle-for-a-cabinet-meeting Catherine Martin arriveing at Dublin Castle for a cabinet meeting. Alamy Alamy

Deputy Leader of the Green Party Catherine Martin has lost her seat in Dublin Rathdown. 

Martin served as Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media since June 2020.

She was eliminated on the ninth count.

Steven Matthews (GP)

steven-matthews-of-the-green-party-at-the-election-count-centre-at-shoreline-leisure-greystones-in-co-wicklow-after-voters-went-to-the-polls-to-elect-174-tds-across-43-constituencies-during-the-gener Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Green Party TD Steven Matthews, who was elected in 2020, lost out on keeping his seat in the Wicklow constituency. 

Matthews was eliminated on the eighth count. 

Malcolm Noonan (GP)

minister-of-state-for-nature-heritage-and-electoral-reform-malcolm-noonan-in-merrion-square-park-dublin-mr-noonan-who-was-a-climate-activist-for-20-years-has-spoken-about-his-efforts-to-protect Alamy Alamy

In Carlow-Kilkenny, Green Party minister of state Malcolm Noonan has lost his seat.

He was eliminated on the eighth count.

Joe O’Brien (GP)

green-party-leader-eamon-ryan-right-and-candidate-joe-obrien-during-the-green-partys-general-election-campaign-launch-at-the-royal-society-of-antiquaries-in-dublin Joe O'Brien (l) with former Green Party leader Eamon Ryan Alamy Alamy

Junior minister Joe O’Brien was quickly eliminated from the running in Dublin Fingal West.

After one term in the Dáil, he was today eliminated on the third count.

Marc Ó Cathasaigh (GP)

9857 Green party Special Convention_90601581 Marc Ó Cathasaigh meeting for a Special Convention of the Green Party, 2020. Rolling News Rolling News

Green Party TD did not manage to keep his seat in the Waterford constituency.

The party Spokesperson for Social Protection was eliminated on the eighth count. 

Thomas Pringle (Ind) 

90359635_90359635 RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Thomas Pringle lost his seat in Donegal in a closely-fought battle, losing out in the final count to Fianna Fáil’s Charlie McConalogue and 100% Redress’s Charles Ward. 

Pringle had been an independent TD for Donegal for 13 years. 

Anne Rabbitte (FF)

taoiseach-simon-harris-minister-for-children-roderic-ogorman-and-minister-of-state-anne-rabbitte-arriving-for-a-media-briefing-at-government-building-dublin-on-the-launch-of-the-autism-innovation Anne Rabbitte (centre) Alamy Alamy

Fianna Fáil TD and Minister of State Anne Rabbitte has lost her seat in Galway East after two terms in the Dáil.

She was eliminated on the ninth count.

Her party colleague, 26-year-old Albert Dolan won a seat.

Patricia Ryan (IND)

sinn-fein-spokesperson-on-health-david-cullinane-second-left-with-spokesperson-on-mental-health-mark-ward-left-spokesperson-on-addiction-recovery-and-wellbeing-thomas-gould-second-right-and Patricia Ryan (r) Alamy Alamy

After breaking away from the Sinn Féin party only recently, Independent candidate Patricia Ryan managed to garner very few votes, getting eliminated on the fourth count.

It’s a sharp contrast to her performance in the 2020 election, when she topped the poll.

Matt Shanahan (IND)

Screenshot (16) Matt Shanahan speaking during Leaders Questions, October 2024. Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

Independent TD Matt Shanahan lost his seat in the Waterford constituency.

Shanahan had served one term in the Dáil. He was eliminated on the final (twelfth) count.

Ossian Smyth (GP)

Student accommodation-23_90704222 Ossian Smyth RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Green Party TD Ossian Smyth was eliminated on the fifth count in Dún Laoghaire.

He served as a a Minister of State at the Department of Public Expenditure since 2020.

It was his first term in the Dáil.

Pauline Tully (SF)

5858 Sinn Fein_90640836 Pauline Tully, Sinn Féin candidate in Cavan-Monaghan, has not been re-elected. RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Pauline Tully, Sinn Féin’s spokesperson for disability and carers, has not been returned in Cavan-Monaghan after she was eliminated on the 11th count.

Tully was first elected to the Dáil in 2020.

Violet-Anne Wynne (IND)

Capture Violet-Anne Wynne (centre) RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Independent TD Violet-Anne Wynne’s performance this time around fell far short of her result in 2020, when she was elected on the back of the Sinn Féin surge in that election. 

She was eliminated on the third count in Clare with just 328 votes. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

109 Comments
    Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:17 PM

SocDems and Labour, take note that this is what happens when Left parties abandon their Left voters by propping up right wing parties. There are three big parties now. #TodaysLessonInHistory

Mute Name
    Favourite Name
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:01 PM

@F1rYnpWc: Greens got in and got a lot of what they wanted. I don’t know what your expectations of success are, but their base will be looking back with pride. They’ll be licking their wounds after this, but until they’re back again, green politics will live on in Labour, SocDems and to lesser extent FG/FF. Meanwhile, tell me what SF has achieved in all these years?

Mute North Dub
    Favourite North Dub
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:41 PM

@Name: The miles and miles of unnecessary bicycle lanes all over the city are a testament to the insanity of the Green Party’s policies. Griffith Avenue is completely destroyed. They were Green in name only & will not be missed.

See 36 more replies ▾
    Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:43 PM

@Name: Bilingual street signs in Northern Ireland.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:47 PM

@North Dub: People need to be encouraged to cycle. The cycle lanes do this.

Mute Name
    Favourite Name
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:48 PM

@North Dub: bike lanes thousands use everyday. You keep enjoying sitting in traffic, I’ll keep enjoying cycling to work. Meanwhile with the Greens still in the council and SocDems/Labour possibly in government, I look forward to more bike lanes, pedestrianisation and public infra being built.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:50 PM

@F1rYnpWc: Who are these “right-wing” parties that you are talking about? Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil are both solidly centre-left and they have the policies to match it. Labour and the Social Democrats will likely be going into coalition with FG/FF because they are all centre-left to left-wing.

Mute North Dub
    Favourite North Dub
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:58 PM

@Name: You missed the point completely. There is plenty of room on the footpaths on Griffith Avenue to accommodate a bike lane – but of course that was overlooked in favour of removing a driving lane from each side of the road.. creating absolute carnage during rush hour. But that was the plan wasn’t it? Also I don’t drive.

Mute Brian McCarthy
    Favourite Brian McCarthy
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:11 PM

@Frank O’Hara: FF/FG are definitely not center left…they’re neoliberal right of center. FG would happily nudge further to the right of given a chance.

Mute John Reynolds
    Favourite John Reynolds
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:16 PM

@Name: sf couldn’t achieve much due to no one will go in with them

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:19 PM

@Name: ah SF has not been in government

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:20 PM

@Vincent Alexander: wtf is wrong with you ??
    Don’t you want to speak your own language??
    Serf mentality

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:23 PM

@Trump24: bootlicker

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:45 PM

@Brian McCarthy: Absolutely not Brian. They are solidly centre-left with some left-wing leanings. FG/FF support inheritance tax and property tax hikes, minimum wage hikes which hurt businesses, rent control across the country, price controls for childcare, all of the Green Party’s wacky environmental policies like the carbon tax and “Net Zero”, they haven’t abolished a single government department, they keep throwing more money at state bodies like the HSE instead of privatising them, they are both virulently anti-Israel and they both like to cozy up to China. There’s not a single thing in their manifestos that is right-leaning.

Mute DavyDoDa
    Favourite DavyDoDa
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:09 PM

@Name: Stay in the Fffing lanes then. Some lanes are twice the size of the footpath, yet you guys race up and down the path.

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:40 PM

@Name:you mean green policies like grow your own cabbage,car pooling, reducing speed to save petrol

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:46 PM

@Name: really, that will not last long….the Greens time is over. They have put many under so much financial pressure that they deserved what they got. That was their second chance and they blew it. All going well, they will not get a third. Maybe when you grow up, you will see why.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:47 PM

@Name:
    If a council worker farts on the Shankill Rd. Council send another one up to the Falls Rd to let one off, before to Sinn Fein councilors and local MLAs block up the phone lines.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:03 PM

@F1rYnpWc: so vote for a party which has no intention of joining Govt and will achieve zero?

Gotcha

Mute Ger Byrne
    Favourite Ger Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:31 AM

@North Dub: dun laoghaire same. Bicycle lanes and no one using them. Not surprised greens gone

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Dec 2nd 2024, 8:19 AM

@Trump24: lol. Destroyed? You really have no idea what you’re on about have you? No surprise.

Mute W Jones
    Favourite W Jones
    Dec 2nd 2024, 8:59 AM

@Name: Sinn Fein have provided a genuine opposition to FF and FG who had carte blanche to do as they pleased for the best part of the last century. FF run the economy off a cliff, the voters turn to FG, FG impose all kinds of austerity on ordinary people, with the full backing of FF, although they are totally different parties, yeah. At least Sinn Fein have exploded that myth by forcing both into coalition. I for one am happy that the SF /Left vote hasn’t crashed and can keep the FFFG charlatans honest.

Mute GEORGE STAGG
    Favourite GEORGE STAGG
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:05 AM

@Name: SF, since you chose to mention them, look to be building steadily. They have progressed from a handful of seats a couple of cycles ago to a likely over 40 in this cycle. They have built solidly and secured a strong base. Their day is undoubtedly coming and when it does it will be built on a sound foundation and not on a one cycling wonder rushing blindly like lemons to the cliff edge.
    It appears to me that their mantra of ‘toichaid ár lá’ never looked more likely to be true.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:34 AM

@Name: The greens policies are about to be undone if independent Ire go into power.
    We will be knee deep in cow dung. But once they can burn turf, and bring their cows to mart. Sure its Grand oul country. You scratch my back.

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:44 AM

@Frank O’Hara: Funny that. The majority of the global media regard both FF and FG as centre right… I guess that if you are on the far-right, everything looks like a communist state!

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:50 AM

@F1rYnpWc: and sds only got in on left transfers.

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:15 AM

@Name: how the hell am I able to cycle from Maynooth to Dublin airport!

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:21 AM

@F1rYnpWc: no, it’s what happens when minority parties with no mandate to drive their own agendas over that of the electorate. The GP in particular have put their party before everything else and the people have corrected them.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:23 AM

@sean weir: it’s not ‘his’ language if he sees it that way. Not for you to put the jackboot on him – which is part of the SF problem.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:37 AM

@Frank O’Hara: haha ffg centre left are you joking. Want to tell that to all those rural who voted.

Mute Colette Mooney
    Favourite Colette Mooney
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:41 AM

@Name: wait till you can’t cycle i.e. older people have been totally.ignored in this election. Bus routes diverted, cyclists on paths, electric cars you can’t hear.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:02 PM

@North Dub: How is Griffith avenue completely destroyed? Talk about drama. Bike lanes are going in all over Europe for obvious reasons. For the plenty of people that do cycle. If you don’t fine but the more cars that can come off the streets the better. Of course a lot of people do have to drive and there is no other option which is where the lack of public transport options comes into play. They have to start this metro next year as planned along with a lot of other things.

Mute ruairi colton
    Favourite ruairi colton
    Dec 2nd 2024, 12:36 PM

@Name: How many trees are they cutting down for these bike lanes. Green in name only.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:37 PM

@Nick Vasilakis: You’ve haven’t provided a coherent rebuttal to the points that I made which clearly shows that Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil are centre-left. Is that because you know I’m right?

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:42 PM

@Colette Byrne: No, I’m most certainly not joking and if you bothered to read what I wrote, I clearly outlined all of their policies and how they are centre-left. Farmers are increasingly voting Independent as they are fed up with urban progressive shift of FG/FF in the last 15 years. 12 of the 14 Independent TDs were elected in rural seats and Independent Ireland won another 4 seats as well. There’s certainly been a shift recently in the number of farmers voting for FG/FF although some have to hold their nose and vote for them because an Independent isn’t running in their constituency and they have a choice between the centre-left of FG/FF and the left-wing Sinn Fein who is even more progressive.

Mute chewy
    Favourite chewy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 5:00 PM

@Brian McCarthy: The partys that supported abortion, marriage equality and hate speech laws is Center Right?

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Dec 3rd 2024, 12:12 AM

@Name: the greens are different. They play the long game. The way to deal with the greens is to undo their policies – remove carbon tax. No climate justice without social justice.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 3rd 2024, 12:40 AM

@Me Me: no, we don’t. It’s cold, wet & miserable and I have zero interest in being out in it. I’m sticking to my diesel.

Mute Thomas Devlin
    Favourite Thomas Devlin
    Dec 3rd 2024, 6:28 PM

@Name: A lot of what they wanted? Tax the poor,tell people they needed one car per 30 people,grow their food in window boxes, these prawn sandwich eating dilletantes should be confined to the dustbin of history

Mute Anthony Flynn
    Favourite Anthony Flynn
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:26 PM

Greens answer to everything was tax the life out of the people

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Dec 3rd 2024, 12:13 AM

@Anthony Flynn: so the answer to the greens is to remove the carbon tax.

Mute Any Name
    Favourite Any Name
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:50 PM

Delighted to see The Green Party vote collapse.

Mute Brian Lyons
    Favourite Brian Lyons
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:05 PM

Nessa will need a safe space to deal with the trauma of rejection.

Mute Lewis Armstrong
    Favourite Lewis Armstrong
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:01 PM

This election is proof that the “far right” is just a woke media boogeyman in Ireland. Too much US influence on our media and less grounded in reality which is that Ireland does not have a far right problem at all. Hopefully this nonsense can be put to bed

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:06 PM

@Lewis Armstrong: Nope. You couldn’t have it more wrong. It’s just proof that those people are nothing like the silent majority they claim to be. They’re just a fringe bunch of lunatics and opportunists… Thank God.

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:22 PM

@Louis Jacob: I think that’s what Lewis said. Ye are right,while we still vote in the same tools all the time, we are not stupid enough to vote in the weirdos,thank dog

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:27 PM

@HisMastersAlibi: It’s way off the mark to say they’re not a problem though. Ask the Fire Brigade.

Mute Lewis Armstrong
    Favourite Lewis Armstrong
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:02 PM

@Louis Jacob: “ask the fire brigade”; these are just scrotes and troublemakers and not a mobilised right wing group making any meaningful dent in society or politics

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:46 PM

@Louis Jacob: it’s proof in the elections that we don’t have a far right issue. They do scream loud though but as a nation we see beyond that drivel. Saying that we should not become complacent to them creeping in the shadows. They are abhorrent to modern life.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:25 PM

@Louis Jacob: spot on ,a minority that make a lot of noise ,follow the money

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:59 PM

@Lewis Armstrong: well I’ve seen videos online of people wanting to put all immigrants on a boat and blow it up with C4. Not to mention people like the dog kicked Dwyer going up to innocent folk and bullying them just for who they are. So there absolutely is a far right element in ireland that needs to be addressed. You may be happy to be an apologist for people like that but I won’t be.

Mute Janette Downs
    Favourite Janette Downs
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:45 PM

Sorry to see Gino go.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:27 PM

@Janette Downs: He was a unique voice. Hopefully he can stay he politics somehow after this

Mute chewy
    Favourite chewy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 5:08 PM

@Dave G Doe: be quiet you f@ggot

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:20 PM

When green turns to brown…

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:19 PM

I was sad to see cathal berry losing his seat ,he was 1 of a very few sincere politician,
    And I was delighted to see green party TDs martin and her husband losing their seats,a double whammy

Mute John Cambridge
    Favourite John Cambridge
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:14 AM

@Brian Molloy: the sucking thing is they will still get a golden handshake

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:35 AM

@Brian Molloy: cathal berry done nothing while in power.
    I’ve never even seen him in my area. Useless, we need more catherine Connollys

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:38 PM

Silver linings: No Monk. No Wllace. No far-right ethno-lunatics.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:55 PM

@Louis Jacob: added to that silver lining, greens wiped out and on their bike. Stephen Donnelly is currently 5th and hopefully about to be told to get his coat and go home

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:02 PM

@Ger Whelan: 100%

Mute Name
    Favourite Name
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:03 PM

@Ger Whelan: yeah, because switching health minister every four years has done wonders for the HSE?

Mute Brian Lyons
    Favourite Brian Lyons
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:06 PM

@Louis Jacob: no Clare Daly .. the golden lining

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:18 PM

@Brian Lyons: Finally the electorate has had enough of herself and Moscow Mick. Embarrassed us enough in Brussels.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:55 PM

@Louis Jacob: At the same time, Ger is probably very upset that his buddies Clare Daly and Mick Wallace didn’t get in since he’s pure pro-Putin sleaze.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:26 PM

@Name: so just keep a half wit in the job for the sake of it .
    You obviously work in the public sector.

Mute John Cambridge
    Favourite John Cambridge
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:10 AM

@Louis Jacob: Martin harris mcentee o gormen instead your point is

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:49 PM

@Louis Jacob: and no GP

Mute Brendan O'Connor
    Favourite Brendan O'Connor
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:17 PM

Hi everyone. I was on my first choo choo today

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:38 PM

@Brendan O’Connor: watching the kids no doubt

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:40 PM

@Brendan O’Connor: well done!! I had my first ‘jagermeeister & red bull’ in pub last night…..rubbish…won’t bother again

Mute John Paul Long
    Favourite John Paul Long
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:39 PM

With the exception of Gino Kenny it’s little consolation for this election. Delighted Cat Martin, her hubbie and the rest of the greens got the boot. Same for compo Farrell, cow $h¡t Rabbitte and pretent independent Cathal Berry!

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 1st 2024, 10:57 PM

@John Paul Long:
    If Gino is a Marxist then he is to dumb to serve the Irish people.

Mute Éamonn O'Kane
    Favourite Éamonn O'Kane
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:52 PM

@H Woo: Marxist come from the higher percentile of intelligence, as been proven many times.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 10:49 AM

When will party’s learn that ffg will sacrifice any small party to stay in power. They have proven they are now the one party.
    The smaller party’s should refuse to go in with them.
    But labour being the rats they are will probably join them.
    But sd should be aware they got left transfers, so be careful when their alliances are.
    I so wish people wouldn’t engage with the trolls. Just mute them.
    The losers in this election are Carers, Disabled community, and the 5000 plus homeless children.
    Let’s see if they break their first promise to remove the means testing for carers. Can’t wait for all the drama like swing gate, and over spends for another 5 years, oh and data centres .

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:29 AM

@Colette Byrne: when will small parties learn that if you are the kingmakers then that is not a licence to drive your narrow point of view over the rest of (us) as if it’s gospel ? That’s what killed the Greens – twice – they they put their narrow view of the world over everything else.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:40 AM

@John Moylan: they are pawns in a bigger game, it’s the king and queen holding all the cards.
    So ffg allowed them as it suited their agenda.

Mute Kevin Daly
    Favourite Kevin Daly
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:24 PM

Jesus what’s wrong with this country. Yet again for the hundred time we have ff fG in power. Why do you all keep voting them in. Ireland is going to be turned into mini Bradford now. Well done you all ruined our children’s country!

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:00 PM

@Kevin Daly: tbf Ireland could do with some decent curry houses so that sounds great.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Dec 2nd 2024, 3:13 PM

@Kevin Daly: how many seats did the far right candidates get ?

Mute Kevin Daly
    Favourite Kevin Daly
    Dec 2nd 2024, 6:35 PM

@Johnny Wilson: haven’t a clue but maybe we need a more Irish party that actually looks after us Irish instead of giving everything to the IPA’S. I work with a IPA he gets a 5 grand cat allowance to buy a car. Gets €70 a week just for working in a job. Gets free phone credit and also mosney where he lives has their own shop that’s stocked and free to all residents while our own Irish starve and live on streets

Mute Elizabeth Doyle
    Favourite Elizabeth Doyle
    Dec 2nd 2024, 11:45 AM

Hip Hip the Greens and other chances are ousted,Millions on chaos nightmare cycle lanes and bylicycle sheds and other chestpuffing nonsence. COMMON SENSE PREVAILS.

Mute Gerry Murray
    Favourite Gerry Murray
    Dec 2nd 2024, 1:37 PM

Alan Farrell has SOME NECK even standing for election! Same spurious compo claim as his party colleague the swinging Maria Bailey!

Mute Marcus Mc Mahon
    Favourite Marcus Mc Mahon
    Dec 2nd 2024, 5:56 PM

Delighted Farrell is out .can’t stand him

Mute Bertie
    Favourite Bertie
    Dec 2nd 2024, 7:24 PM

I may not have seen the results I wanted but great schadenfreude is to be enjoyed from the downfall of in particular the greens, Hazel chew chew and her hubby, I’m doing a jig, Stephen egg head who never blushed when Vincent tore him a new one, good riddance, oh and mister whip lash Alan Farrell, oh the karma is indeed feeding the schadenfreude, Gino the skanger and Mick Barry the langer from the judean people’s front, I’m wetting myself laughing, we’ll take the good wherever we find it

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 3rd 2024, 12:38 AM

Well it’s one list the Greens topped, so I’ll take solace in that :)

Mute Elizabeth Doyle
    Favourite Elizabeth Doyle
    Dec 3rd 2024, 7:32 AM

Great to see th e Healy Raes back and the Green one getting the shunt in K erry.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Dec 4th 2024, 10:43 AM

€53,350 VAT tax I paid to FG and FF for my house -obscene. No VAT on homes in any other country.

€636 car tax I paid every year since 2008 to FG and FF. My neighbour pays just €190. Obscene.

No tax on jet fuel – daft

All politics is local and nothing more local than a man’s wallet..

Vote Fair Dems next time…