You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo of a bus in winter Alamy

Buses cancelled, ferry services disrupted: How Storm Darragh will impact transport

Status Red and Orange wind warnings are coming into effect tonight.

LAST UPDATE | 6 Dec 2024

PUBLIC TRANSPORT AND ferries have been disrupted as Storm Darragh is about to set in across the country.

From 10pm tonight, there’ll be a Status Red wind warning in place in Mayo, Clare and Galway, with Met Éireann forecasting extremely strong gusts.

Another Red wind warning will be in place for Donegal, Sligo, Leitrim, and Wicklow from later tonight or the early hours of tomorrow, depending on the county. 

A Status Orange wind warning is issued for the rest of the country.

Here’s how Storm Darragh will impact public transport and the ferry services.

Buses

A large number of Bus Éireann services around the country are cancelled this evening.

Expressway routes affected will include Wexford to Dublin, Ballina to Dublin, Sligo to Dublin, Donegal to Dublin, and Letterkenny to Dublin.

You can find all cancellations and time changes buseireann.ie/news/Storm-Darragh.

In Limerick, the 301, 302, 303 and 306 are delayed by up to 40 minutes.

Galway routes 401, 404, 405, 406 and 407 are also experiencing delays.

In a statement, Bus Éireann said it advises all intending passengers to check the ‘Service Updates’ section of the website before travelling. 

It said it will continue to monitor Met Éireann’s weather advisories as well as road conditions over the weekend. 

“The safety of our passengers and staff is of paramount importance to Bus Éireann and we would encourage all customers to plan their journeys in advance, allowing extra time for their journey, during this period of adverse weather.

“Bus Éireann apologises to customers for any inconvenience caused.”

Trains

There are ongoing delays and disruption to services on the Galway/Westport routes. Services have resumed, but some services have been held to allow trains to pass, creating a backlog in the area.

@IrishRail on X has the latest developments on this route and others, or search for specific services on the website and app.

Ferries

Irish Ferries has told passengers some services will be disrupted during the storm. 

The Dublin to Cherbourg service scheduled for 6.30pm this evening has been delayed to 6am on Sunday morning. The 4.30pm Cherbourg to Dublin crossing has been cancelled.

Two of tomorrow’s journeys, the 4pm Dublin to Cherbourg service and the 6.30pm Cherbourg to Dublin, were also cancelled.

Latest updates on specific services can be found on the Irish Ferries website

Stenaline has said that, due to Storm Daragh, all sailings between Rosslare and Fishguard tomorrow, 7 December have been cancelled.

The 7.30pm sailing this evening and the 8.50am sailing on Sunday have also been cancelled.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Finian McG
    Favourite Finian McG
    Nov 19th 2024, 7:36 AM

Whatever about Status Yellow, don’t forget Operation Green on Friday week. Get them yokes gone for good this time!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:05 AM

@Finian McG: No doubt you’ll be voting far-right. I prefer the Greens and other decent parties, thanks.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:13 AM

@Finian McG: anyone but the greens and SF

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:16 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: adding to the problem

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:21 AM

@Brendan O’Brien:
    LOL ! Delusions of grandeur…

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:26 AM

@Shane O Mac: By not voting far-right? Seriously?

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:47 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: 1mm to the right is “far right” apparently.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:51 AM

@Kieran Menon: No, that would be the centre or, at most, the centre right.

Mute Seosamh Ohuaine
    Favourite Seosamh Ohuaine
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:58 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: Is Anyone except the greens far right Brendan.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Nov 19th 2024, 10:08 AM

@Finian McG: it’s not like any of you were voting for my beloved greens in the first place. They’ve delivered much of their manifesto so green voters like myself are pleased with their performance.

Mute Mary M
    Favourite Mary M
    Nov 19th 2024, 10:42 AM

@eoin fitzpatrick: tool

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 19th 2024, 11:36 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: I wonder why I’m not surprised!

Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Nov 19th 2024, 3:01 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: Go sell your lettuce somewhere else, we are all stocked up.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 19th 2024, 3:39 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Greens and decent don’t go together.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Nov 19th 2024, 4:33 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: the greens like piling on useless carbon taxes on you and all how decent is that?? Brenden B.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Nov 19th 2024, 5:12 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: did Duffy no just stop 300 homes being built because “it overlooks my kitchen”
    Feck the greens

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Nov 19th 2024, 7:25 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Far right…you don’t even know what it means, clearly.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:03 PM

@damien leen: tell us then, Damien, what does far right mean to you?

Mute Mick Joe
    Favourite Mick Joe
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:12 AM

@Kevin Kerr: We don’t have any far right parties.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 19th 2024, 9:41 AM

As usual, …..an article about some chilly weather a-coming & it’s hijacked into political mud slinging & juvenile reamblings

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Nov 19th 2024, 5:28 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: No surprise at all. The kids are using mummy’s mobile. I wish she would keep them away from it.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Nov 19th 2024, 10:15 AM

Israel condemned last night by all political parties for their attack on Palestinians. There was little mention of the Hamas and Hezbollah attacks that started the conflict. Although I think Martin did condemn Hezbollah / Hamas. Anyway, most people label Israel right wing.

Israel formed after the holocaust. Nazi’ are considered right wing. Nazi’s were supported during the war by the Palestinians.

It can get very confusing when people are labelled right wing.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Nov 19th 2024, 1:00 PM

@AnthonyK: Israel had a plan hatched long before the holocaust. Chaim Weizmann had the ear of British parliament via his acetone, and he pushed Herzrl’s Der Judenstaat relentlessly. The idea that Hammas started the conflict last October is ignorant and insulting. The Jews are aware of the awful nature of the atrocities they’re committing. It’s a moral price they’re prepared to pay to ensure they’re survival as peoples.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Nov 19th 2024, 1:01 PM

@Pól Pot: *their survival….

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Nov 19th 2024, 1:05 PM

@AnthonyK: You can be bloody sure they’re right wing. No confusion.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Nov 19th 2024, 3:25 PM

@Pól Pot: You correctly point that Hamas didn’t start the conflict last October. NO, it would be more correct to say they started it in 2005, after Israel withdrew from Gaza and left them with a modern & well developed region on a prime Mediterranean coast. But such was their obsession to destroy Israel that they have ended being destroyed themselves. (And don’t mention walls, blockades, etc. – this all happened after their suicide campaign against Israeli civilians).

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Nov 19th 2024, 4:00 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: Ye know nought.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Nov 19th 2024, 4:23 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: Deir Yassin massacre?

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Nov 19th 2024, 4:46 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: I’m sure you’re wrong. Was it not the day before my 20th birthday? Either that or at the signing of the Balfour agreement which robbed generations of Palestinian people of their land and homes, in favour of Jews. Either way it goes back a bit. The only certainty is that Israel stole the land.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Nov 19th 2024, 4:54 PM

@AnthonyK: you seem to be under the illusion that the Hamas attacks started the conflict. Let me clarify for you and hopefully ease your confusion. The conflict started in well before October 7th and dates back to 1949. 2023 was the most deadly year on record for Palestinian children since records began. Up until the 7th October that was. It was one of the bloodiest years in the history of Gaza for Palestinian civilians. Then October 7th happened. Everyone and condemned October 7th. Everyone who supports Palestine condemned October 7th. It shouldn’t happen. Why can you not condemn Israel’s actions? Maybe learn more than “WhAt AbOuT oCtObEr 7Th” before commenting on the matter?

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Nov 19th 2024, 4:56 PM

@Eoin Jackson: I also struggle to believe October 7th happened without Israel’s blessing. This is a state that spends trillions on defence. Has an incredible intelligence agency in the Mossad that had Hamas infiltrated on nearly every level. But you’d have us believe that it was a complete surprise attack and the Israeli leadership had absolutely no idea it was brewing. Yeah, I have a bridge to sell you and it’s going at a great price, a special discount for you…

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Favourite North Phone Bowe
    Nov 19th 2024, 5:02 PM

@AnthonyK: Hamas was formed in 1987. Explain the Nakba and genocidal ethnic cleaning for 40 years prior to that.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Nov 19th 2024, 6:17 PM

@Paul Whitehead: Take that up with the Turks that owned it before the Jews returned, or the Arabs that abandoned their land at the behest of their invading Arab neighbours

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Nov 19th 2024, 6:56 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: Was never abandoned. Not ever. Consistently populated.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:09 AM

@Paul Whitehead: no such thing as Palestine. Never existed.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:10 AM

@Pól Pot: it wasn’t, it has been colonised by Arabs rats.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Nov 19th 2024, 1:35 PM

Great weather for a trip to the Sally Gap

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 19th 2024, 4:35 PM

@Ronan Mc: And no doubt, people will try to get there!

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:22 AM

@Brian Hunt: let Darwin look after it, people should be left too it don’t bother saving dumbos lol

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 19th 2024, 11:44 AM

I’m just waiting for the hired hacks to ambush anyone who suggests Climate Change is a scam cooked up by government to increase taxes!

Mute Finian McG
    Favourite Finian McG
    Nov 19th 2024, 12:46 PM

@Brian Hunt: Up to $41 billion in World Bank climate finance unaccounted for, Oxfam finds
    Published: 17th October 2024

Up to $41 billion in World Bank climate finance —nearly 40 percent of all climate funds disbursed by the Bank over the past seven years— is unaccounted for due to poor record-keeping practices, reveals a new Oxfam report published today ahead of the World Bank and IMF Annual Meetings in Washington D.C.

Mute Finian McG
    Favourite Finian McG
    Nov 19th 2024, 12:49 PM

@Brian Hunt: Plants the world over are absorbing about 31% more carbon dioxide than previously thought, according to a new assessment developed by scientists. The research, detailed in the journal Nature, is expected to improve Earth system simulations that scientists use to predict the future climate, and spotlights the importance of natural carbon sequestration for greenhouse gas mitigation.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Nov 19th 2024, 3:18 PM

@Finian McG: Oxfam has its own governance and accountability issues to deal with.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Nov 19th 2024, 7:45 AM

Ireland’s top scorer, Robbie Herzl.

Mute michael graham
    Favourite michael graham
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:05 PM

@Pól Pot: one of Ireland’s best ever players and started his.career as a manager very well

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Nov 19th 2024, 6:36 PM

I wonder what Gom will need rescuing off a mountain over the next few days,

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Nov 19th 2024, 4:47 PM

Has LIDL got any bread left??

Mute Marco Ilariuzzi
    Favourite Marco Ilariuzzi
    Nov 19th 2024, 7:01 PM

@Paul Whitehead: time to get the jcb out

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 19th 2024, 8:38 PM

@Paul Whitehead: Yes, but running low on bog roll!

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Nov 19th 2024, 10:23 PM

@Paul Whitehead: they have their ski gear on offer

Mute Paul whitehead
    Favourite Paul whitehead
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:58 AM

@P. V. Aglue: We may need it with this appalling weather alert. It’s terrifying. I can see white on the roof of my neighbour house.

Mute Paul whitehead
    Favourite Paul whitehead
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:59 AM

@Marco Ilariuzzi: Things are bad but surely we cannot go down that road again.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 19th 2024, 6:45 PM

Jesus it’s cold out there.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Nov 19th 2024, 7:39 PM

@Phillip Smyth: baby its warm in here.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 19th 2024, 9:23 PM

@Willie Marty: give it over.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Nov 19th 2024, 7:24 PM

Those lovely high energy bills, highest in Europe gonna come in real handy now…What am I talking about, forgot about the couple of €125 payments towards energy bills from this wonderful government, that’ll get us through the winter!

Mute john mac
    Favourite john mac
    Nov 19th 2024, 5:58 PM

Did sleepy cycle to cop meeting and eat bugs? he did in me b olocks

Mute Kevin Daly
    Favourite Kevin Daly
    Nov 19th 2024, 9:05 PM

There’s all them IPA’S in nice comfy hotels paid for by us tax payers whilst our own Irish women and children and men sleep on the freezing streets. It’s Sickening. I’ve two girls if I didn’t I would take one or two homeless people in it’s shameful what this current government has done

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Nov 19th 2024, 9:09 PM

@Kevin Daly: And I guarantee you Kevin that the same government (more or less) will be back in power in a few weeks. The electorate are thick.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Nov 20th 2024, 1:13 AM

@Kevin Daly: They also live in tents. Nobody cares what you think Kevin because you would never take any rough sleeping people.

Mute Margaret Gallagher
    Favourite Margaret Gallagher
    Nov 19th 2024, 3:08 PM

Drill baby drill is it so? Where will these climate change deniers find an Irish Trump to vote for ?

Mute Margaret Gallagher
    Favourite Margaret Gallagher
    Nov 19th 2024, 3:12 PM

Someone with a huge jet and a cavalcade of limos to move him around and of course who would to speak up for the “people ” and be besties wurh criminals and abusers of all sorts like himself ?

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:20 AM

@Margaret Gallagher: give it a rest and go and do some housework

Mute Paul Doheny
    Favourite Paul Doheny
    Nov 19th 2024, 9:43 PM

FFS it’s only frost

Mute Tomas Barrett
    Favourite Tomas Barrett
    Nov 19th 2024, 10:46 PM

@Paul Doheny: it’s not only frost. It”s cold enough that the water on the ground will freeze. Could be quite dangerous for people walking/ driving early tomorrow.

Mute Joanne Stokes
    Favourite Joanne Stokes
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:22 AM

@Tomas Barrett: well bring out the gritters hardly any out last time we had bad weather were the County Councils asleep at wheel. No accountability like!!

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 19th 2024, 3:12 PM

Change from the typical.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Nov 19th 2024, 10:26 PM

Storm coming Saturday.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Nov 19th 2024, 10:52 PM

@P. V. Aglue: bigger one Friday week-Hurricane Simon.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 19th 2024, 11:29 PM

@Willie Marty: light breeze Simon.

Mute Jonathan Hanlon
    Favourite Jonathan Hanlon
    Nov 19th 2024, 6:28 PM

This is dreadful news