You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Alamy Stock Photo

Eurozone inflation jumps in December to 2.9%, dampening calls for interest rate cuts

Consumer prices reached a peak of 10.6 percent in October 2022.

THE ANNUAL RATE of inflation in the eurozone rose to 2.9 percent in December mainly due to energy costs, the EU’s statistics agency said today.

Consumer prices edged up from 2.4 percent in November 2023, in line with expectations by analysts for Bloomberg predicting inflation would increase to 2.9 percent.

The data supports comments by European Central Bank (ECB) chief Christine Lagarde, who has warned that Europe should remain on guard despite falling inflation.

The ECB has undertaken a series of interest rate hikes to tame red-hot inflation after consumer prices reached a peak of 10.6 percent in October 2022.

Talks of rate cuts ‘premature’

But as eurozone inflation edged closer to the ECB’s two-percent target, there have been growing calls to cut rates, which the bank’s officials have pushed hard against.

“December’s jump in headline inflation in the eurozone was widely anticipated and entirely due to a base-effects driven increase in energy inflation, so it won’t alter ECB policymakers’ views on the outlook for monetary policy,” said Jack Allen-Reynolds, deputy chief eurozone economist at Capital Economics.

The rise had been expected because of governments had provided exceptional support in December 2022 to households to confront heating bills that had surged due to  Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Energy prices in the eurozone fell in December, by 6.7 percent on an annual measure, but that was less than the 11.5 percent drop in November, data published by the EU’s official statistics agency showed.

Food and drink price increases slowed down to 6.1 percent last month compared with 6.9 percent in November, according to Eurostat.

Core inflation, which strips out volatile energy, food, alcohol and tobacco prices, however slowed to 3.4 percent in December from 3.6 percent in November, Eurostat said.

Core inflation is the key signal for the ECB.

The ECB’s Lagarde has insisted that it is too early to declare victory over inflation and has previously dismissed any talk about interest rate cuts as “premature”.

The next rate decision meeting will be on January 25.

Allen-Reynolds of Capital Economics said he still suspected the ECB would start cutting rates “in or around April”.

Among the 20 countries that use the euro, Belgium and Italy had the lowest inflation rate, reaching 0.5 percent in December, Eurostat said.

Inflation also rose in the European Union’s two biggest economies.

In Germany, inflation increased to 3.8 percent in December from 2.3 percent the previous month. And in France, consumer prices ticked up to 4.1 percent in December from 3.9 percent in November, Eurostat said.

raz/del/rl

© Agence France-Presse

Additional reporting by Jane Matthews

View 17 comments
17 Comments
    Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:35 PM

Love the way it’s practically all blamed on the ‘substances he took’ and that the culprit ‘can’t remember’ the attack because of all the bad bad intoxicants. What about the other 64 offences?

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:39 PM

Fair play to the guy. Not sure if a “chivalrous and courageous” description of the man was necessary by the judge as I see blokes stepping in to help people every day of the week in all kinds of situations. If he is in fact “chivalrous and courageous” then so is virtually every single man I know in my personal life.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:45 PM

No I disagree, I was mugged once on Amiens St years ago and hit quite viciously and I could see at least three people scurrying by with their heads down, and to be honest I couldn’t really blame them as the muggers were off their heads even though we’d all like to think we’d step in

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:57 PM

I’m no expert on these matters but 64 “convictions” in about 5 years..that would suggest that he got away with many more offences not proven..didn’t his victim say he was hiding his face in preparation for attacking the woman from behind?a one man crime wave.

Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Oct 28th 2015, 10:30 PM

64 convictions in about 10 years. Put him away now and save countless people the grief he would otherwise cause into the furture.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Oct 28th 2015, 10:49 PM

The only way to get the govt to act is hit them in the pocket. If the victim, mr Callan sued the state for negligent court sentences or failing to keep him safe due to the amount of convictions, then law would be drafted for minimum sentences

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Oct 28th 2015, 10:52 PM

The blame for this assault lies firmly with judge who in his expert opinion that conviction 64 didn’t see this lowlife locked up for a very very long time.
    The judge who allowed this man free should pay compensation to the victim.

Oct 28th 2015, 11:10 PM

wow Niall you must be very observant .

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Oct 29th 2015, 9:31 AM

@Joachin: The 64 priors were proven… as he had convictions. It’s the other 5000 things he’s done that he wasn’t caught for that are unproven. 64! They should throw away the key.

Mute Lennie
    Favourite Lennie
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:33 PM

Scobie should have got longer.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:36 PM

64 previous convictions…a busy psychopathic chap..

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Oct 28th 2015, 11:28 PM

He paid someone to do a bit of painting years ago and suddenly he had his own business and employed staff. Pull the other one.

Mute Jane Black
    Favourite Jane Black
    Oct 29th 2015, 12:21 AM

Imagine being the solicitor bullshiiting your way to a more lenient sentence.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:44 PM

I’m generally proud of this country and its people – the thing that sticks in my craw more than anything is the judiciary and the sentencing. 64 PREVIOUS CONVICTIONS! Serious assault on a decent citizen who probably prevented an attack on a vulnerable woman and this sc@mbag gets 42 months in jail – with automatic remission of 25% he’ll be back on the street in around 2 1/2 years. It’s sickening.

Dave
    Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:40 PM

64 previous convictions. Could no one see the trend there like…

Mute Rob O'Farrell
    Favourite Rob O'Farrell
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:45 PM

Ah yes a true blue Dub -salt of the earth, gerrowra ra.. And it’s all down to the winning combo of ” tablets and alcohol ” Did you ever hear such rubbish in all you life. Sure -he had his own business at 19 until those damn tablets took hold. And they always come from respectable families these beauts. Yea it’s sounds as tho his “mudda and fadda” did a delightful job in raising this gentleman. A doff of the cap to all concerned. Nice name too – Karl. Quality.

Mute John Clare
    Favourite John Clare
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:54 PM

Are you trying to say that this only happens in Dublin Rob? Typical small town small mind comment..

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Oct 28th 2015, 10:34 PM

Rob, not sure what point you’re trying to make there. Are you sugeesting that this would only happen in Dublin with such a crime only committed by a ‘true blue Dub’. If so then open your eyes bud.

Mute Josephine Gallagher
    Favourite Josephine Gallagher
    Oct 28th 2015, 10:43 PM

Rob..there are a number of Irishmen born after 1979 who are called Karl instead of the more common John Paul.

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Oct 28th 2015, 10:56 PM

Sc**bag no doubt.. But what has his name got to do with it? I know a few Karls and none of them behave like him!

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Oct 29th 2015, 11:43 AM

Not many called karol?

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:35 PM

Why not more

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:43 PM

I wonder of given a choice between homelessness for the winter, or a prison cell with food and a roof over ones head, prison is an actual punishment.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Oct 28th 2015, 9:55 PM

People need better choices.

Mute Red Ed
    Favourite Red Ed

He was targeting his head!!! This was not an assault it was attempted murder. no doubt we will be reading about this guy again in 3 months when he “escapes” from a holiday camp or open prison as they call it. This man clearly has the potential to kill and I doubt a holiday in mountjoy will make him see the errors of his ways.

Mute Seth Mcguinness
    Favourite Seth Mcguinness
    Oct 28th 2015, 10:16 PM

He puts the gurr in gurrier.

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Oct 29th 2015, 12:03 AM

64 previous convictions….it beggars belief. Reminds me of that Traveller gang who were sent down after the robbing spree in Tipperary. One of the gang was just 22 yet he had 120 prior convictions. 120! The entire gang of 7 had 305 previous convictions….one of them had been banned from every pub in Dublin and had bitten a Garda. Yet they were only given on average 5 years each. And this followed the leader of the gang who had previously been paroled and who went on a crime spree that involved the shooting of three people.

The judiciary are a JOKE. We have a revolving door where these thugs have no fear whatsoever of the law. They get a rap on the knuckles and are then sent home. Only when they’re up over 50-60 convictions it seems, will a judge finally cop on and impose a sentence.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 29th 2015, 12:13 AM

Robert..the penile(sic)reform trust think the system is still too punitive…that prison breaches their human rights…instead,we should expend more “resources” on their rehabilitation..

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Oct 28th 2015, 11:05 PM

The justice system in the dock again. 64 previous convictions and he’s walking the streets.

Mute Sean O Cadhain
    Favourite Sean O Cadhain

This is the worstly writed article I ever readed

Mute Keith Faherty
    Favourite Keith Faherty
    Oct 29th 2015, 12:02 AM

No apology really evident. Sad.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Oct 29th 2015, 9:50 AM

Gurr meaning gurrier how these guys with 64 convictions surely after 20 it’s time to throw away the key .He will serve a short while the injured party will be a nervous wreck for the rest of his life and will have to spend a fortune on therapy our system sucks .Now can you blame any person for shying away from helping someone in need we live in a sad world .

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Oct 28th 2015, 10:12 PM

Was it ever proven that the guy was actually about to rob the woman?
    Was she even aware what transpired?
    Sounds like the victim was holding up well in the fight and in my opinion he should have got a few digs in when he had the upper hand.
    Anyway. Could have been a lot worse.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Oct 28th 2015, 10:19 PM

Tommy…good point..he may not have been going to rob that woman but I’d say the 64 previous convictions mitigates against that notion…and I think his entitlement of a presumption of innocence terminates on/with the verdict of GUILTY.and yes,it could have been worse…he could have got away.

Mute TradingDuck
    Favourite TradingDuck
    Oct 29th 2015, 10:19 AM

@TommyRyder – you’re an idiot !

Mute Ronán Donnelly
    Favourite Ronán Donnelly
    Oct 29th 2015, 12:19 PM

Google the defense lawyer she has a long history of defending the indefeasible

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll
    Oct 29th 2015, 3:34 PM

i was about to say “wow! 3 years for that one attack. now that’s more like it!”
    but then…….i realised he had about 60 other convictions. so now i think 3 years is not enough at all