You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ireland players celebrate Jack Crowley's try. Ben Brady/INPHO

Ireland defeat Argentina to pick up first win of Autumn Nations Series

Ireland held on for victory at the Aviva Stadium.

The 42 is the home of quality journalism for passionate Irish sports fans, bringing you closer to the stories that matter through insightful analysis and sharp sportswriting.

Ireland 22

Argentina 19

IRELAND HAVE DEFEATED Argentina to earn their first win of the Autumn Nations Series.

Tries from Jack Crowley, Mack Hansen and Joe McCarthy helped Ireland build a solid platform for victory in the first half, while Crowley also slotted a dropgoal to put them 22-9 ahead at half-time. Although they failed to score again in the second half, they held on for a win to recover from their defeat to the All Blacks last week.

The 42′s award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye.

View 43 comments
43 Comments
    Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:26 PM

Prendergast looks the business, give him a start in the next game and see how he gets on

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:36 PM

@Mark Dunne: Great potential And outstanding skill he has. Will need a few dinners before he’s a regular. Only 21, a great future prospect for this country in 2-3 years.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:08 PM

@Mark Dunne: will you get a life himself and Osbourne threw the ball like an u12 game

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:15 PM

@Mark Dunne: Are you bananas? He was turned over on their 5m line. He kicked aimlessly into their 22 which was an easy mark and was bolted over in two tackles. One which wasn’t even completed. Two weeks in a row Crowley taken off and a Leinster player blows it. (Nearly today).

Mute Alison O'donovan
    Favourite Alison O'donovan
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:17 PM

@Cole Palmer: Crowley is only 24 by the way. Let’s not forget

Mute Alison O'donovan
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:31 PM

@Cole Palmer: 2-3 years. I think you’re all forgetting Crowley is only starting less than a year. It’s like people just want to destroy him. It’s shocking

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:53 PM

@Alison O’donovan: Crowley is a good player, Prendergast when he gets some size and experience will without a doubt be the better player.

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:57 PM

@Michael Looney: What you mean blew it? Cut the kid some slack. He’s 21 and this is great experience for him. He’s nowhere near starting for Ireland. The diet coach needs to pull his socks up and put a few kg on him.

Mute Alison O'donovan
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:12 AM

@Cole Palmer: based on what. Let’s see. Needs to learn how to tackle first

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:24 AM

@Cole Palmer: Just let the Munster lads have their whine

Mute Alison O'donovan
    Nov 16th 2024, 7:30 AM

@Cole Palmer: if he’s that good why is he not starting for Leinster

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Nov 16th 2024, 8:37 AM

@James Carolan: says the blue goggled monster.

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 16th 2024, 10:59 AM

@Alison O’donovan: I said 20 times, he needs to put on some size first. He’s better on the ball than Crowley and a better kicker. His tackling is off the mark because he’s 21 and weighs 80kg. Give him 2 years and he will be the starter.

Mute Michael Carty
    Favourite Michael Carty
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:31 PM

Why didn’t we take the 3 points with 7 minutes to go?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 16th 2024, 9:53 AM

@Michael Carty: End of the first half too. Little naive from Doris.

Mute 58liamo
    Favourite 58liamo
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:09 PM

@Michael Carty: waste of time. Would still be a 1 try game.

Mute Cpchurch87
    Favourite Cpchurch87
    Nov 16th 2024, 5:08 PM

@58liamo: other than the breakaway piece of skill by Malia, they hadn’t actually looked too threatening and were living off 3 pointers. Our defence was holding them out well. Kicking the penalty would have removed a draw, meaning we could defend a little harder. As it happens, looks like they were going for the win anyway, but a 6 point game leaves you with a lot more options in defence than a 3 point game

Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:25 PM

Ryan needs to be completely dropped , anonymous tonight again

Mute Mark De Brún
    Favourite Mark De Brún
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:53 AM

@Mark Dunne: don’t get the agenda with Ryan, what are you looking for in a second row? He was hammering lads back all night and is by far our most effective player at one man clear outs.

Mute Tom tom
    Favourite Tom tom
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:37 PM

Lucky ducks in the second half

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:45 PM

@Tom tom: last 5 minutes with a man up we were haunted, can’t take anything away from Argentina performance tonight, solid defending, fair play to them, we’ve a lot of work to do to get back to the high standards rightly expected from this team

Mute Oscar Easy English
    Favourite Oscar Easy English
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:27 PM

Hard to understand the subs today once again. Farrell is very poor If/when to bring on players… players once again looked good in flashes but look tired as well… clearly have had the legs run off them in Portugal before the autumn series, because far too often we were second best in contact.
    Ps congrats to crowley for answering his critics
    Pps will we see changes for next week me thinks we won’t…

Mute Gerry Keogh
    Favourite Gerry Keogh
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:49 PM

@Oscar Easy English: Subs were very good!!!!… Prendergast, Osbourne and Clarkson were flawless and did really well against a tough team….Crowley had a good game bar a few mad minutes!!! Difficult to blood new players and win as well.. But saying that, interesting to see what team he puts out next week.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:11 PM

@Gerry Keogh: Flawless Good man they directly contributed to be isolated in two forward positions

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:41 PM

@Oscar Easy English: yeah, there will be changes next week, no crowley on the team, prendergast to start, frawley his replacement!!! Enjoy munster phuckers!!!!!!

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:44 PM

@den sad fact Leinster players are the problem arrogant overrated bottlers

Mute Gerry Keogh
    Favourite Gerry Keogh
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:45 PM

@Tim Brennan: Yeah, maybe flawless is a bit much!!! but all played a major positive role in, keeping us on the front foot, seeing out the game and keeping Argentina scoreless in the final minutes

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:14 AM

@Gerry Keogh: we were scoreless for 40 minutes

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:51 AM

@Oscar Easy English: yawn

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Nov 16th 2024, 8:44 AM

@den: the blue goggled monster strikes again, pitiful load of nonsence.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:10 PM

An Irish backboned by Leinster players who are arrogant and when pressure comes in they wilt like Flowers in frost

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:19 PM

@Tim Brennan: it’s mental to watch. On here saying how Prendegast was good and nearly cost is the game. Ryan was the worst player on the pitch two weeks in a row and no mention of him in any media. Nuts.

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:37 PM

If Ireland had a chariot it wouldn’t be so much swinging as dangling.

Ireland are utterly bereft of ideas in attack, and their discipline has gone out the window.

There aren’t enough players to freshen things up there, so change has to come from elsewhere. Farrell’s absence for the six nations may yet to prove to be a blessing in disguise.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:45 PM

@lesidees: Argentina had been more explosive in their previous games. Ireland seem to have lost their sparkle up front. Missing Catt for sure and new fitness man in as well. A few too many changes perhaps in the backroom and with Farrell going to the Lions…….could be a bleak 6 nations or as you point out a blessing. Time will tell.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:55 PM

What a shocking drop-off from Ireland in the second half. I was hoping that we had put the rustiness against the All Blacks to bed with a good first half performance but that was clearly not the case. Thank you Argentina for an excellent match, Gonzalez was pure class and Garcia had them fizzing when he came on. Worrying signs for Ireland. They’re definitely not going to beat Fiji or Australia if they perform like they did in the second half.

Mute Owen Taaffe
    Favourite Owen Taaffe
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:27 PM

I think we may be in for a few fallow years.

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:42 AM

@Owen Taaffe: I think we may need you to calm down with your doomsday prediction.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:43 PM

Crowley is carrying an injury and is been managed. Much better tonight. Prendergast is one for the next World Cup for sure and was assured. Osborne did very well too. Has a very fast first 5 metres and has great feet. Got isolated twice but no fault of his. Argentina were the form team so a win is a win.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:29 PM

The Irish election is so boring and yet such a laugh. It’s a very Irish talent.
    I didn’t know there was a rugby match on.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:47 PM

@offside again: & yet here you are commenting on an actual article about the game, the mind boggles

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Nov 16th 2024, 7:19 AM

@Kevvy kerrr: I was bored and drunk.
    Your mind is easily boggled.
    I don’t care about you.

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 16th 2024, 8:52 AM

@offside again: apology accepted!!!! perhaps alcohol & trolling aren’t good ‘bedfellows’….. I care about you & everyone on this planet, there IS help out there

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:41 AM

Ireland lucky against Finland
    Ireland lucky against Argentina
    Ireland lucky against England ???