You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jon Kenny pictured in 2019. Eamonn Farrell

Pat Shortt pays tribute to comedy partner Jon Kenny, who passed away aged 66

Kenny’s wife confirmed that he passed away at Galway Clinic yesterday evening.

LAST UPDATE | 16 Nov 2024

JON KENNY, THE much-loved comedian and actor who starred in D’Unbelievables, has died.

According to Limerick Live, Jon Kenny’s wife confirmed that he passed away at Galway Clinic yesterday evening.

Jon Kenny, who was originally from Hospital in Co Limerick, had previously suffered from non-Hodgkin lymphoma but made a recovery. Speaking earlier this year on RTÉ Radio One, he said his cancer had returned in recent years.

Jon Kenny had a long and varied career as an actor, comedian, singer and performer. He gained widespread national fame with Pat Shortt as part of the comedy duo D’Unbelievables.

The pair formed in the late 1980s, creating sketches based on common Irish characters spotted around the country. They toured extensively for years, and released numerous VHS videos of their performances, to great popularity. 

In a statement released this evening, Shortt paid tribute to Jon Kenny, saying: “We are all devastated with the news of Jon Passing and our thoughts are with Margy, Aaron, and Leah. I was lucky to spend so many years touring with Jon and learning from him.

“Creating some great shows and videos. Hilarious hours in the rehearsal room and playing great tunes. But sitting in the kitchen with Margy and Caroline just having the craic in Lough Gur will never be forgotten. Thanks, Jon.”

Continued career

D’Unbelievables stopped touring as a result of Jon Kenny’s health issues, but his career was far from over.

He went on to feature in numerous films and on television, and wrote and performed in a number of one-man comedy shows.

Jon Kenny appeared in episodes of Father Ted, and in such films as Mrs Brown’s Boys D’movie, Angela’s Ashes, and most recently the Banshees of Inisherin.

However, he was best known for his stage presence and comedic acting. He played a starring role on multiple occasions in John B Keane’s classic play The Matchmaker, most recently earlier this year.

Speaking to RTÉ Radio’s Oliver Callan at the time, Jon Kenny opened up about his battle with cancer and his health struggles, as well as his long career in entertainment.

“I don’t know how in the name of God I’m even here. I mean, since I’ve been bluffing all my life,” he said.

Tis true, like. Tis hard to believe I’ve been at this craic since I was about 16, and all I’ve ever done is kind of bluff my way through it, like, one form or another.

In relation to his health, he said at the time:

“My cancer came back — I had it there, it came back about three or four years ago.

“So I had some operation to remove some of my left lung and that was good, good luck to that — but didn’t the fecker come back again on my left lung again

“I’ve been lucky now because my chemo is working. But just in the middle of it all, just at the crack of it, you know when you’re getting on with things and all, I had heart failure. Just throw that in the mix! Nice little cocktail of things to be getting on with.”

Jon Kenny said it was important for him to keep performing:

“Maybe in my ignorance, I just chose to put the blinkers on and keep going… what else can you do?” He said.

“I’m very lucky. My heart function is back up again, so there’ll be no possibility of me keeling over at my next three outings.”

He was also was lauded for his performance in 2014 as Bull McCabe in Keane’s other well known play, The Field. He also starred in the dark comedy Crowman, during which he played 10 characters.

Jon Kenny was also an accomplished singer, and had performed with Sharon Shannon. He had recently started writing poetry and had performed his poems in a number of venues.

Tributes

Tributes have been paid to Jon Kenny, who was well-known and loved in his native Limerick. He led last year’s St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Limerick City as Grand Marshal.

Taoiseach Simon Harris said in a statement that he learned of Jon Kenny’s death “with the utmost sadness”.

“Jon had the ability, that very few people possess, to make his audiences crack up laughing with a glance or a single word,” Harris said.

“Behind that seemingly effortless talent to joke, there was a gifted performer and an extremely deep thinker.

Jon was an interesting and thoughtful person, he had some stunning dramatic performances on stage and on screen and the country is still in stitches from the magic that was D’Unbelievables.

Jon Kenny is survived by his wife Margy and daughter and son Leah and Aaron.

With reporting from Eoghan Dalton and Emma Hickey

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

82 Comments
    Mute nollaig o cellaigh
    Favourite nollaig o cellaigh
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:25 AM

Terrible news

RIP Jon

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Nov 16th 2024, 1:15 PM

@nollaig o cellaigh: Indeed. This still cracks me up. Just brilliant! RIP :(

https://youtu.be/NVLBx1i_-WY?si=ovGEYvNxMnpxxAuC

Mute Ooooooooooo
    Favourite Ooooooooooo
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:27 AM

A lovely genuine man and made me laugh a lot back in the day. Rest in peace John. You truly were unbelievable.

Mute Brian M
    Favourite Brian M
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:28 AM

Lovely man, made alot of people smile and always had time for people. He will be missed.

Mute common sense
    Favourite common sense
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:27 AM

RIP. A great comedian

Mute anthony lambe
    Favourite anthony lambe
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:06 AM

@common sense: he wasn’t a great comedian he was a D’unbelievable comedian.

Mute Patrick Connaughton
    Favourite Patrick Connaughton
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:35 AM

He was legend who gave me lots of laughs. R.I.P Jon
    “Put down that hand now, fairly lively”
    “Ye can’t be doing that lads”

Mute Derek O’Sullivan
    Favourite Derek O’Sullivan
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:35 AM

Legend. Rest in peace. Condolences to his family and friends.

Mute Audrey Maguire
    Favourite Audrey Maguire
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:32 AM

Rest in peace

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:36 AM

The sketch where he is at a wake in his sisters house,and he is leaning against the fireplace telling the story is still brilliant. RIP Jon

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:10 PM

@Michael o connor: bridies christening is the name of the sketch on YouTube, well worth a watch for the day that’s in it.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Nov 16th 2024, 1:17 PM

@Michael o connor:
    https://youtu.be/A1u3eRDUYbM?si=WPtOm9vQkDEwviHw

Very sad news today. Such a funny man. Even his small role in “The Van” was hilarious. RIP.

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Nov 16th 2024, 9:51 PM

@Michael o connor: My favourite one also. Rest well John.

Mute The Gate Florist
    Favourite The Gate Florist
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:41 AM

Shocking sad news , john Kenny was such a funny man, my thoughts are with his family and friends today R.I.p jonh and many thanks for all the belly laughs you gave me over the years.

Mute Narl O Keill
    Favourite Narl O Keill
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:47 AM

Rest in peace Jon. A great comedian and actor. Thank you for the laughs and endless catchphrases .

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:37 AM

Ah, that is sad news, I liked him. RIP Jon.

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:38 AM

Great man. Excellent comedian. RIP

Mute Bert Carolan
    Favourite Bert Carolan
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:05 PM

RIP to an absolute legend.
    I still crack up at the unbelievables (good man PJ) and his Fred Rickwood was possibly the funniest character in Father Ted which is saying something.
    Came across as a lovely man as well.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:52 PM

Awfully sad news he was a comic genius and D’unbelievibles were Irish comedy at its best. My late father was at something in Dublin 30years ago and Jon was part of the entertainment so Dad went to the bar and Jon was standing at it, Jon started talking in one of his many accents , to my Dad’s delight, Dad told him that he had a showband in the 50s and 60s , Jon asked if he knew Jimmy Barry Murphy who was at the event, Dad said he was at his table.

Jon asked if he could be introduced, so Dad brought him over and during his set called my Dad up to play/sing a song, Dad did and of course Jon roasted my Dad to great joy.

Jon wherever you are now keep those around laughing.

Mute its so unfair
    Favourite its so unfair
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:47 AM

Very sad day

Mute Col
    Favourite Col
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:42 AM

So sad condolences to his family

Mute tony hilton
    Favourite tony hilton
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:37 AM

One bullet , bang bang. Rip Jon

Mute alan chapman
    Favourite alan chapman
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:45 AM

@tony hilton: That was a Pat Short sketch. R.I.P. Jon

Mute alan chapman
    Favourite alan chapman
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:48 AM

@alan chapman: apologies, just realised Jon played the barman and it was so funny watching him hold back the laughter.

Mute tony hilton
    Favourite tony hilton
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:59 AM

@alan chapman: sorry , I should have said that but that’s what I meant. The holding in the laugher

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:52 AM

Rest in peace funny man

Mute Declan O'Brien
    Favourite Declan O'Brien
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:56 AM

A comedy genius. RIP

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:59 AM

66 is nothing these days, RIP Jon

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:01 PM

Legend

Mute Eddienowy Byrne
    Favourite Eddienowy Byrne
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:08 PM

Great comedian and gentleman RIP Jon

Mute Liam Lehane
    Favourite Liam Lehane
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:38 PM

RIP . Condolences to all his family. A true irish comedian who everybody could relate to. Also a great supporter of munster rugby . He’ll be sadly missed

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:19 PM

So sad…RIP

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:55 PM

The Sweetshop Sketch “How much for two of dem, and tree of dose” great comic, popped up in all the Irish comic classics. Sad day.

Mute Tom O' Donnell
    Favourite Tom O' Donnell
    Nov 16th 2024, 8:02 PM

@Marcus Maher – Triskellion Films: How much for the teeth?

Mute well done to all the rescue teams
    Favourite well done to all the rescue teams
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:30 PM

The sketch with him and Pat Shortt in the nursing home –
    Nurse Maloney and the black doctor…. the best ever…
    sleep well Jon.

Mute Tom O' Donnell
    Favourite Tom O' Donnell
    Nov 16th 2024, 8:01 PM

@well done to all the rescue teams: Away in a Home. Even had a great title.

Mute well done to all the rescue teams
    Favourite well done to all the rescue teams
    Nov 17th 2024, 7:54 AM

@Tom O’ Donnell: thanks Tom ..I couldn’t remember the name..priceless comedy…

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:09 PM

R. I.P man happy trip god speed.

Mute Roz
    Favourite Roz
    Nov 16th 2024, 2:49 PM

I hope they show some of the old shows on RTÉ so we can enjoy them again. The best live shows I was ever at. Afraid to move in your seat in case either Jon or Pat noticed you

Mute Conor Noonan
    Favourite Conor Noonan
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:00 PM

RIP Jon, always remember him for playing Fred Rickwood in Fr Ted. ….Giddy up and shave a bullock !!!

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:42 AM

The sketch with Joe Dolan was very funny

Mute Arne Slot
    Favourite Arne Slot
    Nov 16th 2024, 11:53 AM

Dan tell me when to wo.Wo says Dan.

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Nov 16th 2024, 1:16 PM

Very sad news. Condolences to all his family friends and relatives.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:12 PM

Saw him a few times live. Mad as a bag of frogs and all the better for it. RIP.

Mute Paddy Short
    Favourite Paddy Short
    Nov 16th 2024, 2:38 PM

Ah no, Godspeed Jon, thanks for the laughs and memories, legendary status achieved.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Nov 16th 2024, 1:33 PM

Thank you for the entertainment Jon. May you Rest in peace.

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:44 PM

That’s awful news. Goodnight sir.

Mute giles wolohan
    Favourite giles wolohan
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:50 PM

Rip

Mute Mick Scanlan
    Favourite Mick Scanlan
    Nov 16th 2024, 3:09 PM

A multi talented man who spent his time making us laugh. A gentle soul that we need more of

Mute Francisco O brien
    Favourite Francisco O brien
    Nov 16th 2024, 1:34 PM

Great man great laugh

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 16th 2024, 6:26 PM

I worked with Jon many years ago and he was a genius. He could do it all, sing, dance, play numerous instruments, act and write both serious and comedy work.
    Spending time around Join was when he was at his best, a natural comic an mimic and he had that beautiful way of turning things into hilarious that should not be. Nobody ever say how well he could dance, which is a shame. His wife, and his children were everything to him. Muti talented in a way that is rarely seen and yet a total sweetheart to work with.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 16th 2024, 4:05 PM

Really sad, the d’unbelievables vhs’s/dvd’s were always a staple of the christmas back in the day. RIP Jon.

Mute r k
    Favourite r k
    Nov 16th 2024, 1:10 PM

Rip Jon

Mute Wood Jackson
    Favourite Wood Jackson
    Nov 16th 2024, 2:07 PM

A great human being. And so funny! Rip John.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 16th 2024, 1:01 PM

Chicken box sketch in cop
    Shop a howl.

Mute Chris O'Connor
    Favourite Chris O'Connor
    Nov 16th 2024, 2:34 PM

So fortunate to have caught you John at the Seanti a few weeks ago and really enjoyed our chat in that classy little pub in Cardiff after Munster beat Biarritz in the European Cup. Rest in peace

Mute Paul H
    Favourite Paul H
    Nov 16th 2024, 1:40 PM

God love him and his family

Mute Anthony Murphy
    Favourite Anthony Murphy
    Nov 16th 2024, 3:04 PM

RIP John, thanks for laughs

Mute Tezmond McVicar
    Favourite Tezmond McVicar
    Nov 16th 2024, 2:20 PM

Very sad news.
    “In and outta doors and giddy up!”
    R.I.P. Jon.

Mute thanks for the beautiful music christy rest in pea
    Favourite thanks for the beautiful music christy rest in pea
    Nov 16th 2024, 5:07 PM

Rip john gave me great laughs and entertainment in the past .

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Nov 16th 2024, 4:40 PM

A right funny man. RIP Jon and thanks for all the laughs over the years.
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JCdjucZzreY#bottom-sheet

Mute Jimbo
    Favourite Jimbo
    Nov 16th 2024, 5:39 PM

Sad news rip

Mute Kathleen Peters
    Favourite Kathleen Peters
    Nov 16th 2024, 7:34 PM

So sad to hear this,he was in a band must be at least 40 years ago,it was called Gimmick,I live in the Glen of Aherlow,the band would play at weddings,and pubs,he was a great singer and he used to play often on a Saturday night in a pub in Galbally called Barry’s pub,they had a lounge,God help u if u hadn’t been in the pub before he came on stage,he would commentate on every 1 coming in,and it’s a village so u can just imagine the mocking and the craic,The Dunbelievables were watched all over the world,in so many Irish pubs in the US,on a Monday night that was the night for the Dunbelievables video,and a friend of mine living there said,the same people would be on the Monday night,and it was such craic it was like the customers were watching it for the 1st time week after week.

Mute Brendan Wallace
    Favourite Brendan Wallace
    Nov 16th 2024, 6:09 PM

A comic genius and a lovely man. Sympathies to his family

Mute Fintan Neelan
    Favourite Fintan Neelan
    Nov 16th 2024, 6:34 PM

Met Jon on Inish Bofin years ago. What a nice guy. He explained what he was going thru. Had watched him in the Olympia years previous with Pat. Dunbelievables. Was in stitches. Great guy. RIP Jon

Mute Jim Ryan
    Favourite Jim Ryan
    Nov 16th 2024, 6:56 PM

Rest In Peace Jon Kenny

Mute Vincent Hickey
    Favourite Vincent Hickey
    Nov 16th 2024, 6:47 PM

Rip

Mute Brian Lavelle
    Favourite Brian Lavelle
    Nov 16th 2024, 7:34 PM

Legendary Comedian. RIP, I must have worn the tape out watching the D,unbelievables

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Nov 16th 2024, 9:22 PM

A million thanks for all the fun. Rest in peace Jon.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 16th 2024, 8:10 PM

‘sauce on the burger’ RIP

Mute Eoghan
    Favourite Eoghan
    Nov 16th 2024, 6:55 PM

The pops are 5 pence.

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Nov 16th 2024, 6:59 PM

@Eoghan: There was two of dem and he was one of dem..

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Nov 16th 2024, 7:41 PM

RIP Jon.

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Nov 16th 2024, 9:55 PM

Sad loss. A genuine Irish comedic legend. Provided many happy times.

Mute Sean Griffin
    Favourite Sean Griffin
    Nov 16th 2024, 8:41 PM

So saddened to hear this news. A genuine comedy original – back in the day, I loved bringing unsuspecting cousins from abroad to D’unbelievable’s shows! Great memories. RIP Jon.

Mute Martin Ridge
    Favourite Martin Ridge
    Nov 16th 2024, 8:13 PM

So sad what a lovely man was lucky to meet him a few times in Mayo RIP john

Mute pat mcgovern
    Favourite pat mcgovern
    Nov 17th 2024, 2:07 AM

A genius comedian. Rest in peace and a heartfelt thank you for the laughs

Mute West Man
    Favourite West Man
    Nov 17th 2024, 6:58 AM

Lovely guy

Mute Gerard Tyrrell
    Favourite Gerard Tyrrell
    Nov 17th 2024, 1:03 AM

Rest in Peace Jon. Seen the unbelievables in the Tivoli 30 odd years ago and then again in the national stadium a few years later. Hands down 2 of the best comedy shows I have had the pleasure of ever being to

Mute Mies Valkenburg
    Favourite Mies Valkenburg
    Nov 17th 2024, 4:26 AM

Sleep gently, sweet man.

Mute Green Masquerader
    Favourite Green Masquerader
    Nov 16th 2024, 8:57 PM

Ah shite

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Nov 17th 2024, 1:17 PM

So sad rip great comedian.