You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Does this government have a problem with women? 'Of course it doesn't' says Martin's spokesperson

There are fewer women in ministerial positions in this government than the last.

THE GOVERNMENT HAS been heavily criticised over the low number of women appointed to ministerial positions in government. 

Last week, just three women were among the 15 senior ministers announced. Today, just six were included among the 23 junior ministries. 

In total, just 24% of the 38 positions are held by women – down from 29% in the outgoing government which had 10 women in ministerial positions. 

After today’s announcement, a spokesperson for the Taoiseach was asked by reporters if the government has a problem with women? 

“Of course it doesn’t,” he replied.

He went to say that every effort was made to set gender balance, stating that of the seven Fianna Fáil women elected as TDs,  four are now ministers.

“It’s more than just about gender, you have to look at the workload involved and the suitability for the role,” he said. 

Factors such as geography, experience, suitability are taken into account, he added, who also stated that incumbency is an issue to be considered.

He stated that there is a strong possibility if there were more female TDs elected, there would be more women in Cabinet. 

Women for Election said this evening that the Government has failed its second test on gender equality by not increasing the number of women appointed as ministers of state. 

“The Government took these decisions despite the widespread negative reaction to and concern about the reduction of women ministers in Cabinet announced last week,” Aldagh McDonogh, chair of Women for Election said.

McDonogh said there are “serious questions” to ask of this Government which is “continuing to exclude women’s voices, expertise and lived experience from Government decision-making levels.”

“It is vital for the health of our society, our economy and our democracy that women’s voices, expertise and lived experience are included at the tables where decisions are made that affect every person in Ireland.

“As women, we shouldn’t have to keep asking for a place at the table. We expect better from our political leaders,” McDonogh added.

A spokesperson for the Tánaiste said today that Fine Gael has been at the forefront of “driving equality”, but said Harris acknowledges that “more needs to be done” to reach gender equality. 

He stated that Fine Gael has 10 female TDs elected out of 48 and 40% are ministers (four), pointing out that Emer Currie is in a position as assistant government chief whip. 

Reacting to the appointments on RTÉ’s Drivetime, Labour TD for Louth Ged Nash asked: “What has this Government got against women? It is 2025 not 1955.”

With reporting by Christina Finn

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Aug 25th 2016, 8:51 AM

Imagine how much it would hurt these gangs if you were to legalise cannabis?

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:06 AM

Imagine how you would hurt these gangs if you were to put them into prison!
    This is window dressing and smells like a PR stunt. Why target soft drugs when the country is over run with much more soul destroying drugs.
    Petty hash dealers are not problem.

Mute gus sheridan
    Favourite gus sheridan
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:13 AM

Hope the keep the pressure up on these vile s(umbags, make it impossible to operate.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:24 AM

30kgs of cannabis would hardly be handled by petty hash dealers.

The big dangerous gangs are dealing with these volumes of cannabis. I completely agree that legalising it is the only way to really hurt these people

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Aug 25th 2016, 11:31 AM

Tweety it could be 300 tons of a drug that does very little harm verse drugs that destroys people, families, children born addicted and creating generations of zombies.
    Let’s tackle the drugs that do damage first.

Mute Pete Watters
    Favourite Pete Watters
    Aug 25th 2016, 11:49 AM

I think the point is that removing this as a revenue source or an entry into illegal drugs would have a knock-on effect negating the harder drugs.

If you could grow it legally / buy it at the chemist you won’t end up in debt to some gangster and forced to get into crime / become tempted to try other things

Mute Ray Breen
    Favourite Ray Breen
    Aug 25th 2016, 12:07 PM

Not sure just legalisation would do the job, still would require Garda resources . Where it is legal there are still huge criminal profits from selling it underground. Sure don’t we have gangs making a mint from illegal cigarettes and taking up Garda resources; and they are legal.

Mute Sean McCann
    Favourite Sean McCann
    Aug 25th 2016, 8:49 AM

While it’s great to see the Gardai making these seizures and hurt organised crime, it would be far more effective to legalize cannabis.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:15 AM

Sean of course it would look at the resources it would release from the guards, reduce the criminal element, reduce gang land murder, increase tax revenue, help regulate the drug, having cannabis that is not laced with dangerous products when sold trough proper channels, we could go on.
    It is so wildly used I smell it in the streets in a very casual way, so saying legalisation cause an huge increase in use, we are beyond that point

Mute Sideshow Brendan
    Favourite Sideshow Brendan
    Aug 25th 2016, 8:44 AM

They are doing alot of big busts lately. Keep up the good work

Mute Alex Brennan
    Favourite Alex Brennan
    Aug 25th 2016, 8:41 AM

Aww man. That’s a lot of people’s weekends ruined!! Legalise.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:11 AM

Hardly ruined. Might just have to use a different dealer further away. More like slightly inconvenienced.

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    Aug 25th 2016, 10:03 AM

Just legalise it already… The country who started the war on drugs “The US of A” has at least 12 states where it’s legal now. Billions raised in taxes which funds health care.

Mute FastBuck
    Favourite FastBuck
    Aug 25th 2016, 8:41 AM

Waste.

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Aug 25th 2016, 8:43 AM

I’m sure the Gardai will dispose of the haul in the appropriate manner

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Aug 25th 2016, 8:57 AM

There hoes any hope of twinning with north korea. Reputation ruined. No one likes a drugs scandal.

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:08 AM

Cigarettes are legal and that’s a huge black market huge for certain criminals. Not that simple I think.

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:31 AM

Only because of the severe tax on them.
    The point is that it’s a huge source of income for the criminals.
    If it was legal, the margins wouldn’t be anywhere near what they are now.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Aug 25th 2016, 11:48 AM

License & regulate it’s sale.

Punish those caught selling without a license severely.

Or, continue to not regulate it or (really) punish anyone caught selling it.

Market is worth around half a BILLION, someone is always going to fill a demand that size. We will never stop it, and efforts put in to seize the minuscule amount they do could be put to better use elsewhere.

It is a complete no brainer.

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:12 AM

Good work Gardaí. I hope we can one day rid our country of the terrible scourge of cannabis.

#drugsareformugs

#smokersarejokers

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:32 AM

I take it that you’re joking.

Mute Zoltar
    Favourite Zoltar
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:32 AM

“Drug seizures play a key role in targeting the livelihoods of criminals and disrupting their networks, as well as protecting communities.”

Actually drug seizures increase risks and as a consequence hugely increase profits for criminal elements that will always be willing to engage in horrendous acts for money. We won’t ever control the huge demand there is for mind altering substances, we have to regulate the supply instead.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 25th 2016, 10:13 AM

Definitly agree, at the end of the day the high up crim who brought this into the country will already have gotten or will still get his money from this drug runner or distributer. Legalise canabis,tackle the harder drugs. Gards might have to actually work a bit a harder then! Any joe so can find canabis walking around dublin, easy to follow someone after thats not police work

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Aug 25th 2016, 11:39 AM

The market for cannabis in Ireland is worth upwards of €500m a year.

So yeah, I’m sure €200k is going to put a great big dent in that.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Aug 25th 2016, 8:48 AM

That’s the same stash they found last week in limerick but it makes them look good eh…

Mute Stephen Mason
    Favourite Stephen Mason
    Aug 25th 2016, 10:24 AM

Still to be analysed? You mean roll a few spliffs and see how good it was

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:20 AM

Some load of camel shit there.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 25th 2016, 9:47 AM

Camel shit.
    Old rubber.
    Engine oil.
    Glass.
    Stoners will smoke any old shit.