You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Kellie Harrington takes gold after Olympic final victory

The win makes her the first Irish boxer to defend an Olympic title. The defeat

KELLIE HARRINGTON SUCCESSFULLY defended her Olympic lightweight (60kg) title tonight, beating China’s Yang Wenlu at the Stade Roland Garros in Paris.

Harrington won all of her fights on the way to the final against Yang, defeating her Tokyo 2020 final opponent, Brazil’s Beatriz Ferreira, in the semi-final.

She won her title bout on split decision

The win makes Harrington the first Irish woman, and first Irish boxer, to defend an Olympic title.

In a statement, Taoiseach Simon Harris congratulated Harrington, saying she has “inspired us all, young and old”.

“We are not only proud of you for becoming a double Olympic champion, but for how you carry yourself as a person and represent our country with distinction.”

A live screening of the fight was held at Diamond Park in Dublin’s North Inner City, hosted by North East Inner City Initiative and Dublin City Council.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 98 comments
98 Comments
    Mute Gemma Sexton
    Favourite Gemma Sexton
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:41 PM

Well done. . .did Ireland proud.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:00 PM

@Gemma Sexton: we were proud whether she won or lost..

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:02 PM

@Sean: Woooosh….

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:08 PM

@Sean: But we’re proud of her achievement in winning gold!

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:17 PM

@Sean: Silly comment, Sean. Don’t criticize a benevolent comment.

Mute Square
    Favourite Square
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:20 PM

@John P Doe: sad little man

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:00 AM

@John P Doe: Yet she reached the pinnacle of her sport, some bitter little people here

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:07 AM

@John P Doe: what a sad and bigoted comment.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 7th 2024, 2:35 AM

@John P Doe: With a 25 mm mickey .

Mute 6gRrQtLn
    Favourite 6gRrQtLn
    Aug 7th 2024, 6:34 AM

@John P Doe: so you like giving 12inces to men now but you don’t like women boxing!!

Mute tom o reilly
    Favourite tom o reilly
    Aug 7th 2024, 7:07 AM

@John P Doe: you are delusional just like Walter Mitty ….. or is it William slevin, or Fintan pox or ulysses, or exhausted jim. Pathetic.

Mute Paul A Kane
    Favourite Paul A Kane

Brilliant well-done my beauty, Ireland is proud

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:43 PM

She done her LGBT people proud I think you meant

Mute Patrick K
    Favourite Patrick K
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:55 PM

@D. Peado:

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Aug 7th 2024, 2:11 AM

@John P Doe: Back to sleep lad.

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Aug 7th 2024, 2:24 AM

@9QRixo8H: You are an awful gob .$hite

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:42 PM

The Dublin inner city girl making, the whole of Ireland proud again. Class act .

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:04 PM

@Paul Gorry: and now for the fight to fill Croke park, northside Vs southside, Kellie Vs Katie

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:06 PM

@P. V. Aglue: Katie is from Bray

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:10 PM

@orb7eckn: Bray is south of the Liffey :-D A bit of license I know!

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:11 PM

@orb7eckn: it’s still south side of Dublin

Mute Greagoir O Duinn
    Favourite Greagoir O Duinn
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:14 PM

@P. V. Aglue: ph dear jeebus

Mute Fiona Wyse
    Favourite Fiona Wyse
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:16 PM

@orb7eckn: More than likely born in Holles St so technically she is a Southsider. I was born in Loughlinstown, reared in Bray but my passport says Dublin. Let the fight commence!

Mute ciaran o dowd
    Favourite ciaran o dowd
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:24 PM

@Fiona Wyse: my son was born there, he definitely isn’t a southsider.

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:58 PM

@P. V. Aglue: But the Northside of Bray.

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:04 AM

@Fiona Wyse: Not going to happen, everyone turns into a boxing affecianado after watching one fight.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John

Brilliant performance, delighted for her !

Mute Michael Gilmore
    Favourite Michael Gilmore

She’s a legend!!! So happy to see her do this!!!!

Mute Gina Long
    Favourite Gina Long

Amazing

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming

Fantastic achievement

Mute Ronan McGrath
    Favourite Ronan McGrath

All of our medals were special but Kellie’s performance and celebrations were the highlight of the Games for me. Absolutely outstanding, she totally dismantled that Chinese girl, in an Olympic final

Mute You're Not Serious
    Favourite You're Not Serious
    Aug 7th 2024, 6:54 AM

@Ronan McGrath: was it a girl even?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:44 PM

Brilliant celebration afterwards shows how much it means to her. Well done,first Irish sole Olympic athlete to win back to back gold medals

Mute Eoghan Ryan
    Favourite Eoghan Ryan
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:48 PM

@Larry Betts: not true, Pat O’Callaghan won Gold in 1928 and 1932

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:52 PM

@Larry Betts:
    We had someone with 3 golds and a bronze, well for a short while anyway…

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:56 PM

@Regular John: Still has them bud ,but didn’t do it twice ,stay with us…

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:03 PM

@Eoghan Ryan: Apologies Eoghan. That’s what I thought the commentators said,maybe they said the first woman.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:09 PM

@Gerry Campbell:
    Won them by cheating, banned from competing for 4 years and nobody said she won them back to back …

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:08 AM

@Larry Betts: Paul Donovan

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:28 AM

@Regular John: She did not win them by cheating John, was never proven, medals were never stripped. The American swimmer who accused her of cheating was actually proven to be doping however.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:43 AM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: it wasn’t just the American swimmer who called her out. Many people, including other swimmers did. There were few who didn’t believe she had cheated and when she was banned two years later for adulterated samples their suspicions were confirmed.

Mute Fionn Bohane
    Favourite Fionn Bohane
    Aug 7th 2024, 2:54 AM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: her dutch husband was banned for doping too, personally I don’t count them but you’re right too.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Aug 7th 2024, 5:07 PM

@Gerry Campbell: one other athlete has done it twice though. That doesn’t diminish Kellie’s achievement though. Stay with us Gerry.

Mute Marie Flaherty
    Favourite Marie Flaherty
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:45 PM

Congratulations, Kellie, a brilliant victory. Back to back gold medalist!

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:43 PM

JOY, Kellie you are magnificent.

Mute Rebecca Owens
    Favourite Rebecca Owens
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:47 PM

Leaving amateur boxing on a high note. Congrats Kellie, Ireland is so proud of you. Well deserved. You fought for this! #irishlegend

Mute Ger Murray
    Favourite Ger Murray

Brilliant – what a way to retire,well done Kelly

Mute Rory Murphy
    Favourite Rory Murphy

Never in doubt! … Legend

Mute Damien O'Sullivan
    Favourite Damien O'Sullivan

Never a doubt she’d retain it.
    Kellie you’re a hero, congratulations

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:48 PM

What a warrior

Mute Pat Winders
    Favourite Pat Winders
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:50 PM

No words..absolutely brilliant

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:18 PM

@Pat Winders: Bob’s your uncle, Fanny’s your aunt!

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Aug 7th 2024, 6:45 AM

@Alan Kennedy: and Goodnight, Irene!

Mute andy byrne
    Favourite andy byrne
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:54 PM

Amazing, great stuff Kellie!!
    Incredible athlete and a credit to Ireland.

Mute Square
    Favourite Square
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:51 PM

History maker what an olympics for us

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:46 PM

@Square:

History is for those who are willing to take the blows, not those who jèer and mock.

Achievement is all walks of life reminds us of what it takes the individual to get there with talent and effort. The reward is the privilege to exercise that talent.

Being a mob cheerleader doesn’t count.

Mute Square
    Favourite Square
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:31 AM

@Gerald Kelleher: nice hair

Mute Joseph Cunningham
    Favourite Joseph Cunningham
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:53 PM

Well done kelly we are so proud of you

Mute noel donohue
    Favourite noel donohue

A living legend brilliant Kellie

Mute Unknown Unknown
    Favourite Unknown Unknown
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:54 PM

Well done, Kellie.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:46 PM

Away ye go kellie

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:16 PM

Her joy was beautiful to see, she was literally deliriously happy!

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:43 PM

Brilliant. Like boxing, hate violence.

Mute Means Of Escape
    Favourite Means Of Escape

@Gerald Kelleher: boxing is controlled and measured violence

Mute Square
    Favourite Square

@Gerald Kelleher: lovely hair

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:12 PM

@Means Of Escape:

Many commenters love violence and can’t distinguish it from technical competition. I know this from sparring.

Violence is aggression for the sake of tribal dominance and a self-inflicted curse on humanity.

” In 500 years how the Anglo-saxon race will have spread & exterminated whole nations; & in consequence how much the Human race, viewed as a unit, will have risen in rank.” Darwin

I am competitive in a comment section full of spectators

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:36 PM

@Square:

The only thing that is worthwhile is a generous heart, tenacity, and effort to demonstrate what is the best in humanity.

Olympic competitors, win or lose, show what is best in humanity, many commenters do not.

Something to judge yourselves with.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry

@Gerald Kelleher: What’s that got to do with your lovely hair, gerald?

Mute Patrick K
    Favourite Patrick K
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:58 PM

@Paul Slorry: Ha ha ha ha such a funny guy Paul it must be so much fun being you

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:08 AM

Yer deffo not right in the head Patrick. Cemere seek, help ASAP.

Mute Patrick K
    Favourite Patrick K
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:20 AM

@Paul Gorry: haha your a weirdo

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 7th 2024, 12:31 AM

@Patrick K: You not handling the truth doesn’t make me a weirdo, Patrick. Very strange comment indeed..

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk

Double Olympic champion!

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:04 PM

Kellie well done well deserved

Mute Eddie
    Favourite Eddie
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:56 PM

Well done

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell

Congratulations, but boxing is red rotten ,split decision ,my heart ,but just turns out the Korean puppet just did what he/she was told ,red rotten but Kelly was sooooo good she beat the cheats …

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs

@Gerry Campbell: after reading that my head feels like it went a round with Kellie.

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:13 PM

A fantastic result for Kellie and Boxing Ireland. Let’s hope this starts proper funding and facilities for our athletes across the board and will see the benefits on the world stage.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:21 PM

@Spanner: Well after what happened last week, boxing will be dropped for the next Olympics!

Mute Máire K
    Favourite Máire K
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:22 PM

She is amazing and has done her country and her community proud. There will be one hell of a celebration in the Liberties tonight and when she gets back home, wish I could be there.

Mute Oretani Wildlife
    Favourite Oretani Wildlife
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:52 PM

@Máire K: certainly they’re partying in Summerhill tonight. The Liberties too, maybe. Brilliant win for her. I cried.

Mute Wood Jackson
    Favourite Wood Jackson

Great young Irish woman!

Mute anne leyden
    Favourite anne leyden
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:59 PM

Congr.atulations kellie, what a credit you are to your sport and ireland. I hope you become am ambassador for the sport and a role model for younger people in ireland to take up sports.

Mute James Ryan
    Favourite James Ryan
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:30 PM

Outstanding

Mute John Herbert
    Favourite John Herbert
    Aug 7th 2024, 1:16 AM

Absolutely tremendous achievement, fair play Kelly, proud to be Irish, you are truly amazing, next stop for you is the Aras,
    If the world was full of Kelly Harringtons what a wonderful world it would be.
    Thanks

Mute Peter Connaughton
    Favourite Peter Connaughton
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:55 PM

Mao Zedong, Xi Jinping, Jack Ma, Deng Xiaoping – your girl took one hell of a beating.

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Aug 7th 2024, 1:13 AM

12th on the medals table, incredible stuff!

Mute Allo Allo
    Favourite Allo Allo
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:14 PM

Fantastic, another foreigner gets battered by a Dublin North inner-city head, but in a good way this time we’ll done Kelly

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Favourite North Phone Bowe
    Aug 6th 2024, 11:52 PM

@Allo Allo: stupid attempt to link a national hero to your narrow minded minority opinion

Mute Siobhan Dunne
    Favourite Siobhan Dunne
    Aug 7th 2024, 1:22 AM

Class athlete. So proud of you Kellie

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren

Another disaster for Ray Ridge. Sickening result

Mute Patricia Dorney
    Favourite Patricia Dorney

@anthony davoren: what?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Aug 6th 2024, 10:50 PM

@Patricia Dorney: Ray is the resident gambler here in the journal comments that never gets it right. Methinks

Mute Square
    Favourite Square

@anthony davoren: they dont know him on here thank god

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Aug 7th 2024, 7:42 AM

Paul O’Donovan’s victory marks a historic achievement as he becomes the first Irish athlete ever to medal at three different Olympic Games. His accomplishments in Rio, Tokyo, and now Paris, set a new benchmark in Irish sporting history.
    Nobody talking about this lad……. Maybe it’s because he’s not from Doubblin!

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Aug 7th 2024, 5:09 PM

@Lulu: No, I seen plenty of articles, maybe you have a chip on your shoulder about Dublin

Mute giles wolohan
    Favourite giles wolohan
    Aug 7th 2024, 9:15 AM

Brilliant well done kellie.

Mute Hector turtlehead
    Favourite Hector turtlehead
    Aug 7th 2024, 6:29 AM

Bobs yer fanny