You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Matt Crossick/EMPICS Entertainment

Late shoppers may be penalised as stores run low on toys and tablets

This is not a drill. Furbys are heading towards extinction and iPad Minis are all sold out.

RETAIL EXCELLENCE IRELAND has warned that Christmas shoppers should not leave all of their purchases until the last minute as retailers are concerned about stock shortages leading into the final festive weekend.

Stores are worried that they will run out of certain “hot” products before Christmas.

There has been a surge in sales of consumer electronics such as e-Readers with some retailers reporting a 1000 per cent increase in demand for tablets. iPad Minis have already run out and mid-range smart phones from €99 to €150 are in short supply.

Popular toys that are flying off the shelves include:

• Password Journal
  • Furby
  • Monster High
  • Master Moves Mickey
  • Ninja Turtles
  • Orbeez Foot Spa

Console games such as Call of Duty and the new Wii U console are also in high demand and short supply.

Downton Abbey and Love/Hate fans might want to get moving as retailers say box sets may prove difficult to buy approaching the final weekend before Christmas.

Do you have any suggestions for stores which still stock the most coveted items right up until Christmas? Let us know in the comments section below.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

55 Comments
    Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:18 PM

Her private jet? So she speaks about climate change and the need to protect the climate and she’s flying around in a private jet. Do as I say not as I do

Mute Anthony Burke
    Favourite Anthony Burke
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:55 PM

@Ger Whelan: YAWN

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 28th 2024, 3:15 PM

@Anthony Burke: You tired Anthony?

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jun 28th 2024, 12:57 PM

More populist SH 1 T coming from this man.
    You’d think as a Leader of this country he’d have better things to be at,another Varadkar

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:13 PM

@Stephen Brennan: Does your Mammy let you have a phone?

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:14 PM

@martin lawlor:
    Another one desperately trying to turn every topic no matter how harmless into an anti government rant.
    Give up.
    As the recent election shows you are more likely to harm the opposition with your pettyness than the government.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:20 PM

@P. J.: Pettiness???You’re obviously living in a bubble.I see by You’re comment you’ve assumed I’m anti government,Would I be far right???
    Another woke clown

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:25 PM

@martin lawlor: I think you need a day off from the moaning

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:30 PM

@martin lawlor: There is no government politician can match SF for populism.

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:35 PM

@martin lawlor: probably took him about 60 seconds to say all that. I suppose you can burn down a good few asylum seeker houses in 60 seconds.

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:36 PM

@Mick Duvanny: Far from moaning just sick of listening to SH 1 T

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:40 PM

@M To The B: Ah here,I give up.
    Another one who’s making assumptions of anyone who criticises the Leader of the country as far right,racist, lay about etc.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:41 PM

@martin lawlor: Get a life. It’s nice to see a bit of humour. Nothing like Leo the Leak

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:42 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: Gob SH 1T

Mute bfin
    Favourite bfin
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:46 PM

@martin lawlor: What have you ever done except leave snarky and depressing messages online. Take your useless hate elsewhere.

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:07 PM

@martin lawlor: your* for the second you’re.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:38 PM

@martin lawlor: stop listening to yourself so

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Jun 28th 2024, 5:42 PM

@martin lawlor: God you’re boring the $h.1.te outta me!

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Favourite Sean O'Callaghan
    Jun 29th 2024, 2:21 AM

@Mick Duvanny: Don’t waste your breath or your typing fingers. Once a Moaner, always a Moaner. Sadly, there’s more than one in every paridh

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jun 29th 2024, 4:01 AM

She is a 4 at best, a stag night girl. Pump and dump

Mute Don Johnson
    Favourite Don Johnson
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:06 PM

Stop pretending to have a personality, Simon.

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:22 PM

This is a real case of The Harris spin doctors seeing how they can make him appeal and look like he has something in common with the electorate . However there is a PR company and spin doctors who are being paid handsomely with our tax to publicise this spin.
    Unfortunately people fall for this .
    The opposition will be caugh napping if the don’t do likewise

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:46 PM

@BL Music: no shortage of them in Spin Fein

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:46 PM

@BL Music: The electorate? I’d say most Swifties are too young to vote

Mute mark sheehan
    Favourite mark sheehan
    Jun 28th 2024, 4:01 PM

@BL Music: christ, the electorate has had to listen to Mary Lou for the past 7 or 8 years spouting populist garbage. Have you been asleep?

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Jun 28th 2024, 10:22 PM

@BL Music: of course it is, did you come down in the last shower? That’s what half of being a politician is, trying to get into every darn photo op or publicity stunt going to keep the face in the sights of the voters. The opposition and independents do this too. Those that don’t get sort of forgotten about…. They wouldn’t do spin if it didn’t yield results.

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Favourite Spartacus Ireland
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:01 PM

“my pebble”…ok you’re the Taoiseach atm but you don’t actually ‘own’ the country…

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:45 PM

More importantly, those with serious convictions should not only be banned from the Defence Forces but from the Dail too.

Mute larry smith
    Favourite larry smith
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:07 PM

I once met a shy pebble,she wished she was a little boulder.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:20 PM

What an absolute a hole of a taoiseach, trying to be hip and cool.
    Unbelievable bollix

Mute Anthony Burke
    Favourite Anthony Burke
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:56 PM

@den: YAWN

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Jun 28th 2024, 3:10 PM

@Anthony Burke: you defo need some sleep there young man, you probably stayed up too late last night being offended by everything

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Jun 28th 2024, 11:48 PM

@orb7eckn: It doesn’t seem like he’s offended at all.

Mute daragh harmon
    Favourite daragh harmon
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:14 PM

She took a pebble and you gave away the country.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jun 28th 2024, 2:58 PM

Wonder what her carbon footprint is? Who needs a private jet ffs.

Mute James Hanley
    Favourite James Hanley
    Jun 28th 2024, 3:53 PM

Emissions from private jets in terms of CO2 and NOx are multiple times that of commercial aircraft, not that a moneymaking machine like Taylor Swift would care one whit. As for her musical ( if that’s not a misnomer!) output, it is woefully bland, banal, shallow, and formulaic. It sounds AI- generated. But I suppose if it keeps the gullible masses happy, so be it. Panem et circenses ( bread and circuses), as the Romans only knew too well, appeases the plebeians!!!

Mute Padraic O' Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O' Sullivan
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:00 PM

I doubt she reads to journal.
    Think this message would have been better sent through twitter if she doesnt have him blocked.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:38 PM

@Padraic O’ Sullivan: I don’t think this is a Journal exclusive

Mute bruce banner
    Favourite bruce banner
    Jun 28th 2024, 9:08 PM

U2s hometown is Amsterdam i thought?

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Jun 29th 2024, 2:29 AM

@bruce banner: Anywhere they can dodge the Revenue Commissioners will do.

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jun 28th 2024, 12:55 PM

Well said him! (before the knockers arrive).

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jun 28th 2024, 12:58 PM

@Hotirish: You can’t call her that.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:50 PM

@Hotirish: is that what our Irish minority group is called in D4? ;

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:59 PM

@Jack Hayes: Because Dolly Parton already took that name!

Mute Ricky
    Favourite Ricky
    Jun 28th 2024, 5:16 PM

Something a little different from the other comments ,not a fan myself ,but if you are going have a fantastic time .Now..see, not a mention of any TDs etc…can be done .

Mute Benny Colreavy
    Favourite Benny Colreavy
    Jun 28th 2024, 7:51 PM

It’d be gas if someone gave Enoch Burke a spare ticket for the show now that he’s out.

Mute 6gRrQtLn
    Favourite 6gRrQtLn
    Jun 28th 2024, 9:05 PM

@Benny Colreavy: out in out or out in gay out??

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jun 28th 2024, 1:55 PM

Does his wife know that he wants to pick his bone with TayTay?

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Jun 29th 2024, 1:56 AM

Home town !!! When it suits them.

Mute Robert is Your Fathers Brother
    Favourite Robert is Your Fathers Brother
    Jun 28th 2024, 9:56 PM

Jesus I had a ticket in the glove box and I forgot all about it……

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Jun 28th 2024, 6:23 PM

Who cares. Talentless

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Jun 29th 2024, 12:10 AM

can nobody in this country have a little bit light harted fun without being criticized anymore, I’m no fan of this government but give him a break. all he was doing was having a joke about the biggest pop star in the world who by the way is creating a lot custom for the small business around dublin, i know the hotels are robbing people this weekend but the likes of the small shops and pubs will do well so grow up ya clowns who criticize everyone

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 28th 2024, 5:44 PM

€1400 a second she’ll make…handy bobs if you can get them

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Jun 28th 2024, 3:10 PM

Spit on me Taylor…

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Jun 29th 2024, 2:27 AM

@James Carolan: Where’s your Taylor? Doesn’t quite have the same ring as “spit on me Dickie”

Mute Johnno Reilly
    Favourite Johnno Reilly
    Jun 28th 2024, 11:13 PM

Bring back the days of Sean Lemass! A proper leader

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Jun 29th 2024, 2:23 AM

@Johnno Reilly: Yeah, and Elvis too.

Mute Patrick Presley
    Favourite Patrick Presley
    Jun 28th 2024, 6:06 PM

Dear Swifties,
    As a Non-Touring Independent Artist, it’s difficult to grow a fan base.
    If you would like to help, please use
    the link below and click the FOLLOW BUTTON and then click the follow button on my Spotify page.
    Very much appreciated,
    Thank you
    Patrick

https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/patrickwestman/all-my-colours-fade-to-blue

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Jun 28th 2024, 8:08 PM

@Patrick Presley: any relation to a man called Elvis ?

Mute Patrick Presley
    Favourite Patrick Presley
    Jun 28th 2024, 8:57 PM

@Jb Walshe: Some people have Suspicious Minds

Mute Pink Freud
    Favourite Pink Freud
    Jun 28th 2024, 6:31 PM

I couldn’t give a fiddler’s fart about Swift, or Harris.
    But I do give a toss about the Environment.
    And, in fairness, the Gards and the loss of bodies to rural Ireland (if a fraction of rural and/or non-Dublin-based Gards have been peeled-off of Rural Ireland to serve in Dublin this weekend).

Just like the anti-immigration “protests” criminal mis-direct, the condensing of Gards into 1 area/withdrawal of Gards from another area, will be yet another generous gift to the various street-level operations for OCGs.

As for the “Private Plane” emissions complaint that both fans, and non-fans alike, seem to have against Swift’s use of a Private Plane vs Chartered – where is the evidence? I would just love to see proof that 2 Boeing aircrafts, of the exact same model, somehow have drastically different carbon emissions.
    How so?
    Please, do explain people.
    Because I suspect the intention is to moan about the *individual human being’s* carbon footprint.
    Rather than actually doing extensive research and maths on comparative luggage requirements, any potential incorporation of performance-related equipment into her aircraft’s cargo hold, and any possibility or potential that some headcount of staff might actually be boarded on her “private” plane.

That probably, her cargo hold carries the entire logistical and engineering makeup of her performance.

Because, let’s face it, no performer, doing such a number of gigs, at such frequency, across so many locations, could be reasonably expected to trust a *series of* Chartered Flights with public aircrafts and airlines who routinely lose and/or have delayed delivery of everything from tiny generic luggage to entire lumps of furniture and giant pieces of art/sculpture.

Why, on earth, would anyone expect any such performer to not simplify and streamline their logistics by configuring their entire show into their *own* aircraft!?

That said.
    They could have logistically planned to book-out a Ferry to move the show from Britain to Ireland.
    Then Ferry back to Britain, transfer across to mainland Europe and switch to a series of *train carriages* (or a whole train) for the European leg of the tour.
    Then do similar on each Continent.
    Once the Private Aircraft lands on each continent – switch to a Private Train (with the goal being: Trains are already partly powered by Renewables….and will, hopefully, soon be fully powered by Renewable Energy).

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Jun 28th 2024, 6:45 PM

@Pink Freud: Who Cares Jeronimo.

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Jun 29th 2024, 2:25 AM

@Pink Freud: Take your meds. Did you miss a dose today?

Mute Nathalie Bellamy
    Favourite Nathalie Bellamy
    Jun 29th 2024, 3:10 AM

She is a young beautiful talented woman. Like her or not, she brings on a show !

Mute peter white
    Favourite peter white
    Jun 29th 2024, 3:31 PM

@Nathalie Bellamy: she’s 34 which ain’t that young, she’s very average looking. How ever she’s very talented……at making money.ill give you that.

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Jun 28th 2024, 11:39 PM

What a load of tripe sitting here watching the amazing Dua Lipa in Glastonbury now that’s talent and hard work .

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Jun 29th 2024, 1:27 AM

@Karen Marten: watched it myself and to be honest i didn’t think she was that good, to much miming and not enough live singing

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Jun 29th 2024, 1:43 AM

@Nikki Swift: you think plastic swift mimes much ???

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Jun 29th 2024, 2:11 AM

@Karen Marten: I’d say she does but thats not my point, if i was paying alot of money to go to a gig I’d like the artist to sing live

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Jun 29th 2024, 1:18 PM

@Nikki Swift: how many artists do you know that actually sing. EVERY SONG LIVE for a 2hr gig . Hmm I was watching Glastonbury last night I saw her sing and the lines she didn’t sing her backing vocals did . She has more talent than that fake cupcake

Mute kevin rock
    Favourite kevin rock
    Jun 29th 2024, 4:08 AM

Whats it the equivalent off ?

Cause I just can’t get my head round all the hype.

And don’t say Beatle Mania !

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jun 28th 2024, 11:20 PM

The people getting triggered by Simon Harris are delicate snowflakes with very little control over their emotions.

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Jun 28th 2024, 8:47 PM

Jumpin Jesopath, nipple blockers.

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Jun 29th 2024, 3:24 PM

She should burn anything to do with that BoBo fella who has gone to ground over his Gaza carry on..

Mute Vincent Hickey
    Favourite Vincent Hickey
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:38 PM

Meanwhile SHEEP the government just undemocraticly pushed through the migration pact. WAKE THE F@CK UP