You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Chair of the OPW said he didn't believe the cost was excessive. Alamy Stock Photo

OPW reveals new government security hut cost €1.4m (the Tánaiste says 'it's ridiculous')

The chair of the OPW said there was “far more to that project than meets the eye”.

A NEW SECURITY hut at Government Buildings in Dublin cost €1.4 million in total, the Office of Public Works (OPW) has said.

The costs of the new security hut were detailed during a Finance Committee meeting where the management of the OPW were being questioned about the €336,000 bike shed at the Houses of the Oireachtas.

Commenting on the matter in New York this afternoon, Tánaiste Micheál Martin said: “I was shocked to hear that figure.”

“It’s ridiculous,” the Tánaiste said.

At the Finance Committee this afternoon, Green Party TD Steven Matthews asked Chair of the OPW John Conlon the cost of the “beautiful” new security checkpoint on Merrion Street Upper.

“The full cost of that project was €1.429 million,” Conlon said.

Conlon said he wanted to “emphasise” that the cost followed “an extensive review of security in this campus” by members of An Garda Síochána. 

“While it looks like, and is, a fairly significant cost, there were very significant mechanical, electrical and security systems costs in that. There was also a significant cost to provide a temporary structure while the building was taking place.”

Screenshot 2024-09-25 141056 Conlon said that extensive security procedures were the main reason for the costs being so high. Oireachtas.ie Oireachtas.ie

Matthews asked if Conlon thought the price was excessive. The chair of the OPW said that, given the security procedures, he didn’t believe so.

He remarked that the majority of the work, such as the routing, wiring and technological work for CCTV systems and other security features, is not seen from ground level and is mostly concealed beneath the hut.

“There’s far more to that project than meets the eye,” Conlon said.

Matthews asked the management that a breakdown of the costs by presented to the committee as a matter of priority.

Micheál Martin said of the hut this afternoon: “There’s no need for that level of expenditure.”

“I think we need a fundamental review now of what’s happening and full transparency in front of the Oireachtas.”

Additional reporting by Jane Matthews in New York

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

158 Comments
    Mute John Dennehy
    Favourite John Dennehy
    Sep 25th 2024, 4:56 PM

This government and their civil service cronies make RTE look like amateurs at wasting taxpayers’ money.

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:37 PM

@John Dennehy: now we all know why leo the leak Legged,,,

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:38 PM

@james rowan: Legged it,,,

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:18 PM

@james rowan: bit of a stretch, in fairness. He legged it because he was out of his depth and eventually realised it.

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:30 PM

@Dermot Blaine: as the leaky leader he new what was comming down the road, the bicycle shed,NCH, security bunker,what else is going to LEAK next,

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:32 PM

@John Dennehy: Is there any end to this scandalous overspend of taxpayers money. It’s beyond a joke at this stage. Someone needs to be held accountable but I won’t hold my breath.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:18 PM

@John Dennehy: nope, both pros. Let’s not diminish the disgrace that rte are. They should be cut off.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:13 PM

@james rowan: you think the TDs give a damn? No they don’t, this is all on the OPW in their eyes. They’re not even embarrassed.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:03 PM

Sweet Jesus, that Apple windfall ain’t going to last long

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:28 PM

@Buster Lawless: that’s loooooonnnnnnnggggggg gone. You just don’t know it yet.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sep 25th 2024, 4:54 PM

Sf will bankrupt the country they say.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:56 PM

@Damien Leahy: starting with casement park (from small beginnings). Still, yet another about turn on rent subsidies might save a few euros and a few votes from the burn down the hotels and f… immigrant brigade.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:13 PM

@Alan: A state shouldn’t need to subsidies rents in an economy for the majority, not the minority but hey, great of the state to pump more money into the banks to keep the sky high prices even more expensive than at the height of the Celtic Tiger but that’s great governance

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:01 PM

@Alan: you think it will cost more than the children’s hospital do ya? Wouldn’t even get 300 huts from this government for that the same money

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:16 PM

Don’t you love the way Martin acts as if it is absolutely nothing to do with him .

Mute Declan Gowran
    Favourite Declan Gowran
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:55 PM

@sean weir:

Tánaiste Micheál Martin said: “I was shoked to hear that figure.”

“It’s ridiclous,” the Tánaiste said.

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:03 PM

As I’ve said before, the bike shed is only the tip of the ice berg, it’s easy to blame contractors but it’s the govts fault and those they oversee. It’s either catosrophic incompetence on an ongoing basis or it’s payoffs to friends. Either way who only the Irish electorate are happy to be governed by this level of incompetence.

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:10 PM

@Eddie Garvey: I agree, do we have alternatives though?

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:31 PM

@If you’re: funny, taxation without representation still rings through to this day, just sayin

Mute John Dennehy
    Favourite John Dennehy
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:34 PM

@Eddie Garvey: The Gucci government that has very fine tastes when the taxpayer is paying for it.

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:07 PM

@If you’re: of course we do, it’s ridiculous to say we have to vote for them no matter what. maybe voting differently will make things better, maybe it won’t but you absolutely have to give incompetent representatives(or those who are laughing at us) a major kick in the arse. How else will they learn that they are privileged to represent us, not the other way around

Mute Gareth Dolan
    Favourite Gareth Dolan
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:11 PM

@Eddie Garvey: it’s not just the Irish government, I have contracts for different municipal, state, provincial, federal and national governments, and they are all the same. Tearing down office walls, to rebuild a new wall in the exact same spot, with the same characteristics, for a cost of $60k. It’s the cost of government work.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:25 PM

@Eddie Garvey: I never heard you say that before.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:28 PM

@Eddie Garvey:
    What do you expect.
    The OPW is full of Irish.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:49 PM

@H Woo: Racist

Mute Nathalie Bellamy
    Favourite Nathalie Bellamy
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:26 PM

@Eddie Garvey: same circus, same clowns.
    They get voted to run the country.
    But lessons will be learned and transparency is in the agenda (not)

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 4:58 PM

The magic money tree

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:31 PM

@Michale Kane: magic money tree,we’re going to need a magic money Forrest at this rate.

Mute Scimon Harris
    Favourite Scimon Harris
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:10 PM

We could have had 4 bike sheds for that kind of money

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Sep 25th 2024, 4:59 PM

Here we go again. A bloody Porto cabin would do the job. Or somebody sitting on a chair. More to it that meets the eye, which eye are they looking out of?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo

@David O Brien:
    Don’t be silly.
    A chair?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:53 PM

@David O Brien: A sniper up a tree. Special branch

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:26 PM

@David O Brien: that would be a nod and a wink. The 1.4 million cake was carved up nicely, Fuc! The Tax Payer’s.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:45 PM

@Larry Betts: an umbrella. Undercover agent

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:53 PM

@Alan: On the look out for a miniature fortune teller who broke out from Mountjoy. “Small medium at large”

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:42 PM

@Larry Betts: Ha ha love it

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:44 PM

@H Woo: Probably cost 500 grand

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:14 PM

Did Pascals mate build this too ?

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:13 PM

@Michale Kane: Most likely, as they are the OPW nominated contractor.
    As for our vaunted media ,
    rte – the dog that didn’t bark, lest it upsets its paymaster. Too busy in North Dublin council areas helping the Gardai crack down on anti-immigrant groups.

Mute John Dennehy
    Favourite John Dennehy
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:07 PM

It’s terrifying to think how this shower of wasters will waste the 13 billion of taxpayers’ money reluctantly recouped by the government.

Mute Lubosmagicdust
    Favourite Lubosmagicdust
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:22 PM

You get what you vote for folks… FG/FF have been at this craic for decades.

Mute Maire Hicks
    Favourite Maire Hicks
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:01 PM

Let’s have another inquiry blah blah accountability blah blah (Rob our pockets), and what will we do??? NOTHING but complain and tut.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:17 PM

The cost of NCH will double after it gets it security huts and bike sheds.

Mute Matt D
    Favourite Matt D
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:13 PM

@Michale Kane: yiu might be right, the plans have very limited car park spaces.

Mute Alan Dunne
    Favourite Alan Dunne
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:09 PM

Do these people in The OPW believe everything a contractor tells them about the costs involved in these projects?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:57 PM

@Alan Dunne:
    Guy on the radio a few years back, who was putting a tender to trim back hedgerows for a semi state company was told to attend a meeting with all the other guys who were also about to tender for the work.
    He and others were warned not to bid under a certain amount.
    As they all had a living to make.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:14 PM

@H Woo: And ? …. I’m still on edge of me seat !!!

Mute James Brennan
    Favourite James Brennan
    Sep 26th 2024, 9:01 AM

@Alan Dunne: once your a nominated contactor, you get the nod vor the works, come back with a desgin if one is already in place, and the OPW sets a buget amount aside for the project. If you a look at the OPW tenders awarded you will see one company get most of the sureying work,

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:05 PM

Well they are going to need a lot of security now with the baying crowd wanting their heads on a pike, they are the worst government this country ever had, and as for LV he should go before a tribunal, he scapered.

Mute common sense
    Favourite common sense
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:12 PM

This will give the government another 2% in the polls, the Irish love this sort of thing

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:51 PM

What a workplace, they get travel allowances to get to work & expenses fo over nighting, full restaurant & bar facilities, security, plus an additional €5K for personal security, free parking for life, a Taj Mahal Bike Shelter & Security Hut, new Fitness Instructor for the state of the art Gym, support staff, topped off with six figure salaries & gold plated pensions, Largesse at its finest, just like it’s PR arm RTE. Then all we hear from a man 17 years in power, is the word ridiculous, truly a failed Nation run by Corrupt Despots.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:02 PM

@John Mc Dermott:
    While shin Fein were telling porkies about only drawing the average industrial wage, Until the bold Dessie spilled the beans on the top boy and girls in the organisation.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:08 PM

@H Woo: yeah SF approved and signed the contracts for the NCH, security hut, bike shed..
    SF resigned the NCH contract while hiding the huge rise in costs…. and all the rest of the icebergs. …

Oh wait now it was FG and Simon..

Who signs a contract for anything, let alone a hospital, let alone largest capital project in the state, let alone it be for children’s health without any idea of what the final cost will be, or when the job will be finished?

The answer to that question is Simon Harris.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:16 PM

@John Mc Dermott:
    Ireland in the top fifteen LEAST corrupt countries in the world.
    Stop being over dramatic.

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:20 PM

@H Woo: wtf has this to do with SF? They are not in charge and have no say over govt spending. If you cannot grasp that simple fact you really should not be commenting. Its embarrassing

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:50 PM

@Michale Kane: Your obsession with Simon is disturbing, seek help.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:55 PM

@Fintan Pox: now Stephen, take a min and look up irony

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:49 PM

@H Woo: blessus if you believe that you’ll believe anything

Mute J O c
    Favourite J O c
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:26 PM

Is there more coming. It feels like we’re being drip fed

Mute barry fay
    Favourite barry fay
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:08 PM

These civil service cu^ts couldnt run a bath… they speak like its nothing and with an arrogance that is hard to take, its like how dare we be questioned..

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:07 PM

Back in day I was asked to give a price on one of the OFW responsibility, I didn’t get the job and that’d fine but to see a company that was out of business ,bankrupt getting the job is , what you voted for

Mute John Dennehy
    Favourite John Dennehy
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:25 PM

FF/FG should rebrand and call themselves the Gucci government.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:53 PM

@John Dennehy: Gucci Gang (OCG) would be more accurate

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir

It’s no surprise that the minister for the OPW at the time was none other than Patrick O’Donovan,thats right the same TD who blamed the Dublin/ Monaghan bombings on the IRA and has been moved to HIGHER EDUCATION since April,a pure genius

Mute dev vrox
    Favourite dev vrox

Jesus H

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:17 PM

An increase in the carbon tax will cover that. There’s nothing to worry about.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:59 PM

MM is shocked. Isn’t that some laugh

Mute Richard Cullen
    Favourite Richard Cullen
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:45 PM

This is the tip of the iceberg I reckon, really sad state of affairs

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts

@Richard Cullen: It’s a very large lettuce…….

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:04 PM

Ffs….. c’mon people! This government are mis-spending tax-payers money hand over fist on over the top spends while local community groups etc…… are cash strapped and looking for much needed funds to keep going! This government needs to go now!

Mute Orla Cosgrave
    Favourite Orla Cosgrave
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:52 PM

It’s amazing how they can spend outrageous amount of money when it isn’t coming out of their pockets. Did they follow procurement procedures when commissioning these jobs. These figures are eye watering. Surely, the Comptroller and Auditor General needs to step in and that all projects need to be signed off by this office going forward.

Mute Niall Bourke
    Favourite Niall Bourke
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:38 PM

Money Well spent . It needs to be robust. It might have to withstand a cyclist careering into it on their way to the bike stand

Mute Julio's Evil Twin
    Favourite Julio's Evil Twin
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:04 PM

…& wait until the unemployed folk get wind that there’s no increase for them in the upcoming budget.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:11 PM

@Julio’s Evil Twin: don’t think that’s going to happen it’s earmarked.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:13 PM

@Julio’s Evil Twin: Typical lame deflection from Gov incompetence

Mute Julio's Evil Twin
    Favourite Julio's Evil Twin
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:22 PM

@Phillip Smyth: .

Ms Humphreys previously hinted there would be no increases to the jobseeker’s allowance in Budget 2025, saying there should be a focus on those who cannot work such as those who are disabled, pensioners and carers.
    She said she didn’t see “a strong policy rationale” for increasing welfare payments for the long-term unemployed.
    _____
    . Only the greens it would seem are pushing for an increase..

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:48 PM

@Julio’s Evil Twin:
    No hand outs for able body under twenty fives.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:23 PM

@Julio’s Evil Twin: and she was spot on

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:38 PM

@Pat Hazzard: Stephen ya forgot to change accounts, ya were H WOO !

Mute u6ZzANzx
    Favourite u6ZzANzx

Some craic

Mute S Os
    Favourite S Os

I’m no fan of the government but this seems to be a problem within the OPW which wont change no matter whos in power as there is no one held accountsble for excessive spending and wasting money.As usual, it’s seems to be a case of handing out whatever is asked for with no accountability. I would be very interested to see the breakdown of costs as there seems to be an awful lot of waffle around where the money went. I would suspect if you had a close look at the contracts and who was given them there might also be a few eyebrows raised maybe?

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:39 PM

“There’s far more to that project than meets the eye,” Conlon said Of course Mr John Conlon of course!
    Always interesting how “prepared” they are to explain these costs in such a flippant manner Any private business the likes of Conlon would be gone through that very security hut with his bicycle from “that shed” to follow via courier!

Mute Suzanne Phelan
    Favourite Suzanne Phelan

I am sorry but the spending by civil and public servants has gone beyond ridiculous. The world’s most expensive hospital before it is finished and probably the most expensive bike she’d and security hut. I am raging.

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:48 PM

@Suzanne Phelan: Remember the printer from a few years ago?

Mute Peter Donnelly
    Favourite Peter Donnelly
    Sep 25th 2024, 10:42 PM

@Tom L: what about the flosey in the jacuzzi, the time in the slime, or even the spike/nail etc….

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:50 PM

Remember when the shinners did this when they were in power……oh wait sorry they weren’t but the FFG mob and their support have a crystal ball to tell us they would make it worse sure

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:09 PM

@Tom Newell:
    Shinners to busy making a mess up north with the hard earned London taxpayers money

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:12 PM

@H Woo: Omg are you replying to every comment about factual Gov incompetence with something about SF now..

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:23 PM

@Michale Kane: hes obsessed but I suppose SF are living rent free in his head

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:54 PM

@H Woo: ffg are too busy spending yours.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:15 PM

Ah! Here now-give me a break!

Mute Susan Cody
    Favourite Susan Cody
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:37 PM

@Willie Marty: Sorry, but that will cost you 2.9 million Euro.

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:47 PM

@Susan Cody: thanks Susan .You just made my headache worse.

Mute Kevin O'Connell
    Favourite Kevin O'Connell
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:58 PM

Somebody must be after getting a major renovation at home

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:46 PM

How can I get a slice of this cake.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:03 PM

@087 bed: put up posters for pascal the rascal ?

Mute Atlas Collapsed
    Favourite Atlas Collapsed
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:31 PM

@087 bed: get on the approved council list for pensioner bathroom upgrades

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:57 PM

Between RTE, the OPW, and the fat cats in Government collectively, plus the unknowns of waist we don’t know about, how are the people of Ireland standing for this

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:07 PM

@N D K:
    I have never heard shin Fein complain about big pay offs at Bord Gas to certain ex employees of theirs.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:11 PM

@H Woo: Typical FG response to their failures.., but but SF. .., give it a rest

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:48 PM

@H Woo:
    Would you ever shut up about Sinn Fein. They are not in power and never will be. Nobody cares what the political wing of the RA think anyway.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sep 26th 2024, 12:02 AM

@H Woo: when we’re sf in power? Remind me who was in power for those pay offs? Typical ffg supporter all mouth and no brain

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:25 PM

I thought they were congratulating conlon the opw boss on his upcoming retirement not appointment in April. Nice uplift appointment for his retirement with an increase in pension and lump sum.trying to justify some of the cost by saying the garda had to be consulted a bit rich who would they consult the kgb mi5 well maybe they outsource every thing else.the wiring is under the hut pathetic lame excuses

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:37 PM

@Stephen Byrne:
    Let me guess
    You are an in anti terrorest securerty expert.
    Or fart alot on bar stools

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:19 PM

@H Woo: Oh the irony… let me quess your a bad actor for Gov .. your comments are less mature and less intelligent that the usual FG lot, so I’d guess your one of Stephen Kearons multiple personalities.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Sep 25th 2024, 4:55 PM

Every activity in the country shops, businesses, sports Clubs, entertainment premises and government facilities and even children’s playgrounds are forced to over spend on security and any social wrongdoing.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 4:59 PM

@thomas molloy: lol

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:41 PM

@Michale Kane: Recently provided entire playgrounds are having to be rebuilt in fire proof materials thanks to destructive minded youths. Another lol opportunity for you perhaps. ?

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:02 PM

@thomas molloy: Great deflection from Government incompetence and corruption…. I’d build a fortress with almost impenetrable defences for 1.4 million…. And a moat

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:16 PM

@Michale Kane: no bailey? or would that be extra mill or two?

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:22 PM

@barry williams: well I could actually build a castle, but that would be impossible for them to believe, built a nice gaff for a quarter mill ..

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:39 PM

@thomas molloy: Security is NEVER an overspending specially for playgrounds.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead

And still FFGG riding high in the polls? Are people blind and daft? We get what we elect. Vote Sinn Fein and give them a chance. FFG have been in power in one shape or another for the last 100 years.

Mute Atlas Collapsed

Gravy train. Happening every day of the week all over the country. Many pensioners are entitled to a ‘free’ basic bathroom upgrade, for mobility or other reasons. This free bathroom costs the Irish taxpayer about 30k. Would be 15% of this price normally. 80% extra markup seems common enough practice.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:35 PM

And the best Martin can come up with is a full review

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:49 PM

To be fair probably has a burko for instant hot water for tea or coffee, a good heater, a phone to call whoever doesn’t matter won’t be paying for it,TV and a microwave for grub.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:20 PM

@Paddy C:
    More then likely the building will be using the latest high tech security equipment,
    Which is not cheap.

Mute Atlas Collapsed
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:33 PM

@H Woo: someone needs to take your batteries out

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:16 PM

@H Woo: In fairness those thousand euro flashlights are top of the range..

I have a Prince looking for investment, you should hook up.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:09 PM

This is a joke, every planned government contract that hasn’t got contracts signed needs to be paused immediately

Mute john murray
    Favourite john murray
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:20 PM

I’m now wordering how much the new fence at Stephen Donnellys gaff cost the taxpayer. Wasn’t that one led by a security review also?

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:35 PM

You know the way a thief, a hacker etc are rehabbed and hired by the government to teach them how its done? Well, Mick Wallace is already on the government payroll. Appoint him to a post where he can show us how thievery in the construction business works. He over qualified……..

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:43 PM

@Oh Mammy:
    Did he ever get around to paying in his ex workers pension contrabutions
    Or hand over the Vat to the revenue he charged young couples buying his properties.
    Socialism is only for the little people.

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:14 PM

@H Woo: poor attempt at deflection. Gov bots must try better!

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:52 PM

@H Woo: socialism is why the Scandinavian countries are the best in the world. Name one capitalist country that doesn’t have people dying in hospital waiting rooms or a massive homeless situation? How secure are jobs in capitalist countries vs socialist? You seem to talk a lot of rubbish. Go back to reading your FG and FF books “voting for
    Dum dums” lol.

Mute David Dawson
    Favourite David Dawson
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:18 PM

The brown envelopes are getting bigger

Mute Helen O'Connor
    Favourite Helen O'Connor
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:41 PM

Where are their auditors

Mute McMurphy
    Favourite McMurphy
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:05 PM

… and the peasantry can go eat cake…

Mute Gerald O'Reilly
    Favourite Gerald O'Reilly
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:00 PM

Being excessively generous here, shall we say .5 million was the cost of this fancy hut. So where would you guess the other nearly 1 million went ???

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:12 PM

@Gerald O’Reilly: Possibly Pascal the rascals mate, albeit they said he put up pascals election posters out of civic duty, expecting absolutely nothing in return of course !

Mute Brian Hackett
    Favourite Brian Hackett
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:19 PM

I hope lessons are being learned by all the anti SF’s and their infamous magic money tree rhetorics
    Easy to squander money when it’s the tax payers footing the bill

Mute Maurice Riordan
    Favourite Maurice Riordan
    Sep 25th 2024, 10:49 PM

June 10th 2024. Local elections 39% turnout. 61% chose to stay at home i​nstead of using their vote to bring down this disgraceful government. 
    If you don’t vote you have no right to complain about the government, the lack of services, immigration or the myriad of other issues that this and previous governments have overseen.

We need to know that our vote is the most important thing we possess and failing to use it is why we have such failures running the country.
    Until the people of this country realise that real change is required and that we have the power to affect this change at the polling booths we will just have more of the same

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.
    Please try something new and VOTE

Mute Derick R M
    Favourite Derick R M
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:01 PM

The civil service clearly have too much time and cash. Any Party trying to justify even more taxation at the next election has lost the plot. It’s time for tax cuts at long last.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:24 PM

If there was no security?…… This ‘hut’ has to be connected to all security systems, internal and external. While it was being constructed it’s temporary replacement had to be connected also. While €1.4 million sounds like a lot, there is more involved than just a portacabin, or, god help us, a ‘man on a chair’ as somebody suggested.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: haha you’re right, could just as easily be a woman on a chair

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:21 PM

@Kevin Kerr: :)

Mute richard mccarthy
    Favourite richard mccarthy
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:34 PM

Jeez wept at the rate taxpayers money is being spent we are going to need every cent of that €14 billion Apple money

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:28 PM

And this wasn’t about helping, jobs and more like the ,why we Nedd to change

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:09 PM

TDs complained about security. So, when the OPW provide that security, in this case for where they sit, the TDs com0lain. Conlon should say that, in future, for security he would be happy to switch off the CCTV and other security apparatus. Of course, if anything happens, he will not be taking the blame.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sep 25th 2024, 8:52 PM

@AnthonyK: security was already there how is a hut worth 1.4 million made it more secure?

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Sep 25th 2024, 6:08 PM

BAM was surely the money sucker being both of those.

Mute ahhhhh Ted...... Tubridys going into comedy
    Favourite ahhhhh Ted...... Tubridys going into comedy
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:59 PM

In a country that is racing at break neck speed to the bottom it makes sense; those who have access to these gigs are laughing all the way to the bank. In 2010 students entered the Dept of finance through the side entrance for staff, media outlets were informed and laughed at us…..ahhh Ted

Mute R. Gantly
    Favourite R. Gantly
    Sep 25th 2024, 9:11 PM

The hut in the rut.

Mute Roman Walczak Sadlowski
    Favourite Roman Walczak Sadlowski
    Sep 25th 2024, 7:49 PM

These absolute F4ck3r5, what is wrong with buying a Steel tech shed or a Wooden one? How are these things even brought over the threshold or being submitted??? This should be put to a vote to be fair.. at this point anything the OPW does should be voted for by all taxpayers on an online portal.. it’s not that hard to create a portal for that.. there’s one where they easily take our taxes sure, we could use that.. my god..

Mute Benny Colreavy
    Favourite Benny Colreavy
    Sep 25th 2024, 10:18 PM

“More than meets the eye”? What, it’s a Transformer?
    It would have to be a Decepticon then, can’t imagine any Autobots wanting to help protect a cesspit populated entirely by crooks.

Mute Hunt Ley
    Favourite Hunt Ley
    Sep 25th 2024, 11:15 PM

Our public servants in the upper echelons of the service are at best mediocre. No initiative and little life experience. Cocooned in their protected world, they could teach turds tricks on how to float.
    As for Mr.Conlon…..is he the best this country has to offer?

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 26th 2024, 7:17 AM

Micheal Martin is like somebody watching from the sidelines commenting as a Bystander, when in fact he is the man most culpable after 17 years at Cabinet level & being Tanaiste & Taoiseach, he has brought us to this point & enabled this largesse at all levels, RTE, the Civil Service, Banking, Insurance, you name it. A failed Politician overseeing a failed Nation. White Collar crime & corruption is & has always thrived in Ireland, enabled by our Politicians.

Mute airedezamba
    Favourite airedezamba
    Sep 26th 2024, 8:08 AM

I did some research and was able to find out the name of the politician who heads up the OPW. His name has never come up in the media. He has never been interviewed about his decision making. No one is asking him questions. But here’s a clue, think FG/Limerick….

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:16 PM

I welcome this development.

Mute Ol Dirty Bstard
    Favourite Ol Dirty Bstard
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:40 PM

I’m coming over there to beat y’all

Mute higgy636
    Favourite higgy636
    Sep 26th 2024, 7:01 AM

And on it goes, up yours taxpayer !!!

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Sep 25th 2024, 10:18 PM

Sweat jesus

Mute Timo
    Favourite Timo
    Sep 26th 2024, 12:59 AM

Government spending your money. Absolute complete wasters
    How many houses can you build for that?
    F mew ow

Mute David McGoldrick
    Favourite David McGoldrick
    Sep 26th 2024, 8:12 AM

You have no idea. This is happening in all goverment run bodies. For example, private sector costs 3 to 4k goverment run bodies cost 53k it’s a joke.

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Sep 26th 2024, 12:26 AM

Shambles

Mute DAN TEDSON
    Favourite DAN TEDSON
    Sep 26th 2024, 8:08 AM

Starting to think maybe BAM aren’t to blame after all for the 3 billion euro hospital.

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Sep 25th 2024, 5:32 PM

Fewer jihadis, the better.