You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Man rescued from his 6ft rubber dinghy was severely sunburnt. File photo/Shutterstock

Man attempts to sail from Dorset to Ireland in an inflatable dinghy...

… gets severely sunburnt and has to be rescued. Was it ever going to end well?

A MAN WHO was attempting to make his way to Ireland on a 6 foot beach blow up dinghy has been rescued by a passing dive vessel.

Yesterday, passing boats raised concerns with the coastguard after seeing a man in a dinghy with two paddles approximately 2.7 nautical miles south of Durdle Door, Dorset.

Plastic sheet as a sail

The coastguard state that he was using one paddle “as a mast accompanied by a plastic sheet as a sail, and the other used as a rudder to steer”. They also said that he had a limited amount of food and drink aboard.

A dive vessel, transiting the area at the time, approached the dinghy to assess the situation. Portland Coastguard was informed that the occupant of the dinghy did not require any assistance, but after finishing their diving operations, the dive vessel returned to the scene and was able to recover the man from the sea.

At 8.30pm, the coastguard rescue team, police and ambulance were awaiting his arrival on shore and it’s reported he had to be treated for a high degree of sunburn. It later transpired that the man had began his journey at 9am that morning.

John Braisher, Watch Officer at Portland Coastguard said:

This man was extremely lucky to be found when he was. With no suitable communications equipment, limited life saving equipment and inadequate food and drink resources for his passage to Ireland, the outcome could have been very different.

If you’re planning to head out to sea, the key is to be well prepared. Inflatable dinghies, such as this, are unsuitable and not recommended for coastal passages of this nature.

VIDEO: Family rescues 30 sharks from death on beach>

15 members of Irish Coast Guard rescue 16-year-old boy from cliff edge>

Video: Dramatic rescue after woman’s car swallowed by sinkhole>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

59 Comments
    Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Jul 18th 2013, 3:55 PM

Could we not have let natural selection do its thing here…

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:45 PM

Yeh, he’s just a selfish tool though.

‘I’m just gonna go and follow my dreams! Make a sail from a plastic bag and just friggin DO IT!

CARPE DIEM!

what a clown…

Mute Florence M. Walker
    Favourite Florence M. Walker
    Jul 19th 2013, 2:29 AM

my best friend’s aunt makes $71/hr on the internet. She has been out of work for nine months but last month her pay was $17386 just working on the internet for a few hours. Here’s the site to read more… http://www.Can99.com

Mute Robin Matthews
    Favourite Robin Matthews
    Jul 19th 2013, 7:46 AM

Dirt merchant…

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 19th 2013, 8:16 AM

Florence your a plonker

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Jul 18th 2013, 3:48 PM

Obviously didn’t know about Stena’s rail/sail deals.

Mute Ballocks2dis
    Favourite Ballocks2dis
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:23 PM

He is the RYANAIR version of ferries

M
    Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jul 18th 2013, 3:53 PM

Should have told him he was going the wrong way, everyone else is trying to get out!

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Jul 18th 2013, 3:59 PM

Ah shut the f@)k up moaning its sunny have a good time and stop moaning everyone is sick of hearing it

Mute Steve Monk
    Favourite Steve Monk
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:15 PM

Stop moaning about people moaning. Oh sh*t now I’m moaning about you moaning about people moaning,!

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    Jul 18th 2013, 7:06 PM

Ah Paul, not all of us are sick of it! I quite enjoy seeing the moaners moaning and the counter moaners counter moaning back at them!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jul 18th 2013, 8:18 PM

Good moaning to be had on the Journal. Can’t beat a good oul’ moan!

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse

You couldn’t make it up,one paddle and a plastic sheet for a sail.wahahaha

Mute Brighid Sheridan
    Favourite Brighid Sheridan
    Jul 18th 2013, 10:26 PM

That’s what I said to my hubby lol

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse
    Jul 19th 2013, 1:59 AM

Haha,

Mute Paul carew
    Favourite Paul carew
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:55 PM

Lidl’s fault selling shit like that to nutters

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521

Will he be arrested for stupidity?

Mute Dave Cullinane
    Favourite Dave Cullinane
    Jul 18th 2013, 3:52 PM

If he was out there for much longer he might have been up for a Darwin Award.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:18 PM

What a Cock

Mute phil byrne
    Favourite phil byrne
    Jul 18th 2013, 3:58 PM

Silly bhoy!

Mute phil byrne
    Favourite phil byrne
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:06 PM

Buoy, my bad

Mute Patrice Auborn
    Favourite Patrice Auborn
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:15 PM

Your bad what? Bad English? Bad spelling? Or bad typing?

Mute Vinny Healy
    Favourite Vinny Healy
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:37 PM

^You’re

Mute phil byrne
    Favourite phil byrne
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:37 PM

My spelling and typing! Thanks for the confidence boost!

Mute Ruairí Galavan
    Favourite Ruairí Galavan
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:50 PM

^Nice

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jul 18th 2013, 6:32 PM

Vinny, “Your” in this case. In answer to “my bad”. Acknowledging ownership of tthe mistake! :)

Roz
    Mute Roz
    Favourite Roz
    Jul 18th 2013, 7:46 PM

Vinny gets more likes for confusing your and you’re. Where are all the grammar nazis;)

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jul 18th 2013, 7:59 PM

Their (!) having a siesta or have sunstroke. I was only pointing out that Vinny’s correction is wrong.
    My bad = my mistake
    Therefore
    your bad? = your mistake?

Roz
    Mute Roz
    Favourite Roz
    Jul 18th 2013, 8:06 PM

*they’re ;) I was agreeing you up until that:P

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jul 18th 2013, 8:16 PM

It was meant to be irony, Roz, hence the (!). It obviously backfired. Anyway the rest of the comment stands.

Mute phil byrne
    Favourite phil byrne
    Jul 18th 2013, 9:24 PM

Thank you Mary (-:

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jul 18th 2013, 10:30 PM

Welcome, I’m sure, Phil. :)

Mute Rack O'Reilly
    Favourite Rack O'Reilly
    Jul 18th 2013, 3:51 PM

What a farking muppet……………………

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:54 PM

He was up sheet creek with two paddles…

Mute Eamonn Hammond
    Favourite Eamonn Hammond
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:13 PM

Moron! … Seriously, what possesses some people?!

Mute Keith Brady
    Favourite Keith Brady

What a clown !

Mute Jack Daniels
    Favourite Jack Daniels
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:21 PM

4.6 million people attempt to sail from Ireland to Dorset in an inflatable dinghy .

Mute fizi_water
    Favourite fizi_water
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:22 PM

What a tool, he would be unlikely to make it to Cherbourg, France, he wanted go couple times farther…to Ireland. Did he even check google maps lol some nutter.

Mute ivy mike
    Favourite ivy mike
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:07 PM

Thats the cost of travel for ya

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary

Where is health and safety and when he is in trouble us mugs the tax payers will pay to fish him out.

Mute Henry Shields
    Favourite Henry Shields
    Jul 18th 2013, 4:34 PM

Didn’t happen here so no we won’t have to pay. If you would read the full story you would see that.

Mute Risteard MacAindreas
    Favourite Risteard MacAindreas
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:00 PM

Actually the lifeboat would have responded to the call and their an independent charity, no govt funding

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:20 PM

It was the Coastguard, and that’s a government service.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:45 PM

The dive vessel brought him ashore. Coastguard issued the statement, as it’s their jurisdiction, and the land-based emergency services took over from there. No cost to the Irish taxpayer.

On a related topic, I always find it amazing that RNLI are entirely charity funded when you consider some of the organisations that get public funding.

However, I understand that RNLI prefer it this way as it ensures no government interference or”service improvements”, I.e. more execs and fewer lifeboats. Brilliant group of people; support them if you are able.

Mute gareth kavanagh
    Favourite gareth kavanagh
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:04 PM

The bleedin’ mad thing!

Mute Elaine O'Callaghan
    Favourite Elaine O'Callaghan
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:38 PM

Feckin eejit!!

Mute Graham Hurley
    Favourite Graham Hurley
    Jul 18th 2013, 10:14 PM

AA Route Planner says it can be done in 8 hours 48 minutes but it doesn’t suggest you take the HMS Idiot with captain moron and plastic sail and no wind. Love this story!

Mute Seamus Leonard
    Favourite Seamus Leonard
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:34 PM

There’s no cure for stupidity unfortunately

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Jul 18th 2013, 5:44 PM

Irelands sw has alot to answer for

Mute Dave Patrick
    Favourite Dave Patrick
    Jul 18th 2013, 8:15 PM

Maybe he was a sea scout looking to pitch his tent?!

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Jul 19th 2013, 8:23 AM

I remember reading an article in the Wexford People about three lads doing this in the seventies. They took a two man canoe (took turns sitting on the bow) a radio and a packet of biscuits and made it across to Wales.

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Jul 18th 2013, 8:57 PM

Can I have his dinghy ?

Mute Mark Hosford
    Favourite Mark Hosford
    Jul 18th 2013, 10:23 PM

Do ye reckon he had his “bus” fair home or was planning to do the return leg in his dingy

Mute Niall Ó Dochartaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Dochartaigh
    Jul 19th 2013, 7:51 AM

This takes “get the boat” to a new level!

Mute Mark Hosford
    Favourite Mark Hosford
    Jul 18th 2013, 10:18 PM

Dope

Mute Marie Louise Ni Riain
    Favourite Marie Louise Ni Riain
    Jul 19th 2013, 6:44 PM

Laughed out of the country

Mute Paul Brophy
    Favourite Paul Brophy
    Jul 18th 2013, 9:02 PM

Lad

Mute Marc Esteve
    Favourite Marc Esteve
    Jul 18th 2013, 10:55 PM

Apparently there was a guy who reached the Eastlink Bridge with a smaller dingy which had a duck shape
    https://twitter.com/barratemple/status/357223754692177923/photo/1