You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
MARC MACSHARRY LOOKS set to rejoin the Fianna Fáil parliamentary party, after there were calls to readmit the TD last week.
The parliamentary party heard that Taoiseach Micheál Martin spoke with MacSharry, with the process to readmit the TD set to begin next week, it is understood.
The controversy, which stemmed from the appointment of Zappone as a UN Special Envoy, lead to a vote of no-confidence in the Foreign Affairs Minister.
MacSharry had raised concerns about Fianna Fáil’s decision to enforce a whipped vote on the no confidence motion and opted to resign from the parliamentary party as a result.
TDs, Senators and MEPs have been told that chief whip Jack Chambers will table a motion next week to propose that MacSharry be readmitted to the parliamentary party, in line with party rules.
It comes after a proposal was brought last week by TD Barry Cowen to have MacSharry reinstated in the party and was seconded by Senator Diarmuid Wilson.
MacSharry had attended the Fianna Fáil Ard Fhéis in late September and had spoken about returning to the party as soon as possible.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
31 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Regardless of Israeli army actions please explain exactly how it’s acceptable that the general public of any city deserve acts of terror against them because of their governments choices???
Razed to the ground because of something Hamas was supposed to have been responsible for. Hundreds slaughtered. Kids, elderly, babies. Any wonder lads get angry? Let’s be real.
@Jamie. Hamas was responsible for building the terror tunnels in which over 200 kids were smothered to death in Hamas’s fanatical, Mohammed inspired lust, to kill Jews. And they admit it. And who cries for them? So please read the Hamas Charter to find out the nature of evil. http://avalon.law.yale.edu/20th_century/hamas.asp
“But who built those tunnels? The answer is Hamas, of course—using some of the same children who are now trapped under fire in Gaza.
The Institute for Palestine Studies published a detailed report on Gaza’s Tunnel Phenomenon in the summer of 2012. It reported that tunnel construction in Gaza has resulted in a large number of child deaths.
“At least 160 children have been killed in the tunnels, according to Hamas officials”
–to 2010. To 2014 another estimated 40+ teens smothered to death.
They are repressed because the extremists have drive the situation to that end, Israel has and always will have the right to defend itself from these murderous thugs.
This kind of attack would be far far more common only for the fact that Israel controls its boarders tightly.
Too true Gavin if Israel dropped their guard and allowed the Palestinians unrestricted access to Israel these loonies would leave Israel literally swimming in innocent blood.
If the Palestinians really wanted peace they could have had it 10 times over by now but they much prefer to play the victim card for their many useful idiots in the west.
Israel the cruel heartless monster, the Palestinians the poor starving destitute innocents who would think twice about standing on an ant so passive are they.
Mike’s point stands,Israel undermines whatever rights it has when it knowingly slaughters hundreds of innocent children & civilians without restraint,it was only a few months ago they massacred almost 2,000 civilians,or have you forgotten already? What would you do Gavin?
Charles / William,leave a slightly longer gap between comments and don’t finish your three comments with ‘Well said (insert account name here)’ it’s a bit too obvious you’re the same person
Here is a useless statistic;
40% of Stalin’s NKVD secret police who were charged with pogroms and ethnic cleansing, (forerunners of the KGB), were Jewish..
‘Loonies would leave Israel literally swimming in blood’ Again the only loonies who have unfettered access and leave innocent people swimming in blood are the psychopathic Israeli Army & Government. Please look up Ariel Sharon genocide and then get back with your sanctimonious shite
Dungeon, Sharon withdrew and removed all settlements from Gaza giving autonomy to the Palestinians a huge concession to the Palestinians in any un-blinkered view point and what did he get for his troubles?, a hard line Islamic terrorist organisation voted into power and the attacks on Israel continued unabated.
Give the Palestinians a mile and they want the whole damn world, nothing Israel does ever satisfies them, but its always Israels fault?.
Jihadi Charles. Really?? Enjoying the fox news bandwagon I see. I thought you would maximise for your own utter idiotic and never ending defence of Israel.
Jihadi kills in the name of religious extremism internationally.
This man wounded Israeli’s in an act of crime.
@Charles rex et al -And why wouldn’t they! They’re the Prime Mover behind all the terrorism against Israel. They make no secret of this fact. See Hamas Charter page 1 and Art 7.
Hamas Covenant 1988
In The Name Of The Most Merciful Allah
“Israel will exist and will continue to exist until Islam will obliterate it, just as it obliterated others before it” (The Martyr, Imam Hassan al-Banna, of blessed memory) 7
—And Art 7+8
“The Day of Judgement will not come about until Moslems fight the Jews (killing the Jews), when the Jew will hide behind stones and trees. The stones and trees will say O Moslems, O Abdulla, there is a Jew behind me, come and kill him. Only the Gharkad tree, (evidently a certain kind of tree) would not do that because it is one of the trees of the Jews.” (related by al-Bukhari and Moslem).
The Slogan of the Islamic Resistance Movement:
Article Eight:
“Allah is its target, the Prophet is its model, the Koran its constitution: Jihad is its path and death for the sake of Allah is the loftiest of its wishes.”
Unfortunately the Israeli/Jew bashers are blind to the facts. They prefer to align with the evil expressed above without understanding that they are in part responsible for the very same evil.
Joe, when you’ve finished spluttering into your coco pops you’ll be directed to the comment I made and asked to reconsider it. Hamas are the jihadists. I was referring to their comment on the attack. Wipe your chin and try again.
I apologise Charles. Hamas cannot be defended. Neither can the IDF and israeli government.
Both are hell bent on the death and destruction of the other.
I would really love to see the UN introduce a force to ease tensions between both and look after innocent Israeli and palestinian people. But America will never let that happen. Pity really. I think with a UN force introduced a lot of lives would be saved.
The status quo isn’t working and the sooner everyone accepts that the quicker tensions can be eased.
Tommy, theres not such group as ISIS. There are groups, many groups of people who hate the west for killing their relations amd robbing their country, but no actual group that has a brand, a calling card, a phone nu.ber, a business address, a website, a flag etc etc called/names ISIS.
ISIS is the new enemy to continue the 100 year war.
Jason what would you like to call them . They have to be identified by some name . We all know there a bunch of savages but they have to identified with a name . The media calls them Isis and that’s the name they are known by across the world .
From the Philippines to Nigeria the Islamic terror machine is ethnically cleansing the lands of Christians, Jews, Buddhists and even other Moslem’s and by the cruellest of methods, slaughtering them like animals as a final insult and all the armchair Irish Jihadis have to offer is to cry for the destruction of Israel ? Shame on you for your stupidity in the face of the greatest threat to ALL religions posed by Islamofascists be it under the name of IS, Hamas or whatever.
Israel is not defending anything , it is maintaining an occupation and a siege. Israel is not defending its borders as it has never declared them, probably because it has not finished stealing land.
@william @charles get a room! You do know the place is called palistine not Israel? That’s like me running into your town with an army killing loads of people and calling it shanes town, then move you and all your family out and my boys get your house and everything you own. I wonder what you would do about that????
@Dungeon. You need an update on psychopathology; so I recommend the following from The Hamas Charter-
Preamble/Page 1:
“Israel will exist and will continue to exist until Islam will obliterate it, just as it obliterated others before it.”
And Article 7:
“The Prophet, Allah bless him and grant him salvation, has said: ‘The Day of Judgement will not come about until Moslems fight the Jews (killing the Jews), when the Jew will hide behind stones and trees. The stones and trees will say O Moslems, O Abdulla, there is a Jew behind me, come and kill him.’”
—– And take your time there’s full 32 pages of this madness.
@gavin spot on bud they also believe Syria and bits of Iraq and Egypt belongs to them, given to them by god who will wipe out all gentiles ( everyone that’s not Jewish) bit by bit. Check it out it’s in their tanakh the wiping out the gentiles part! Sounds a bit like religious extremism to me???
‘Give the Palestinians a mile and they want the whole world, nothing Israel does ever satisfies them’ , as all Israel ever does is steal land and murder torture and jail civilians , it is no wonder they are not satisfied. Far from being autonomous Gaza is under a vicious military siege with its citizens on an Israeli imposed ‘diet’ as part of their collective punishment for daring to elect a government of their choice, a government ,Hamas, funded for years by the Israelis. The people of Palestine have suffered long enough and have given more than enough to accommodate the state of Israel and its endless demands for land and ‘security’.
@Gavan, what a pile of shite. LOL Khaled Meshaal loves you brother and has promised you 72 virgins if you keep up the propaganda and the useless marches in Dublin. He wont however share any of the $2.6 billion he stole from the supposedly starving people of Gaza.
I don’t condone any violence but was there any mention in the Western Mainstream Media about the 2 Palestinians that were shot dead along with 11 injured in the last two weeks.
Were those that carried out this act also of a warped mind set?
Here’s one from last week that went unnoticed
” The body of French mountaineer Hervé Gourdel was recovered by Algerian troops Thursday 15 January, four months after he was abducted and beheaded by jihadists”
Speaking of Harretz, They are probably more liberal on controversial issues than most Western media. One of their Journalists got badly beaten for reporting on Illegal settlements in the West Bank last year.
Easy for you all to say it’s all Israels fault etc… I wonder how all you far lefts would feel if someone you loved more than anything in the world was killed on that bus??
I suppose you’d justify the murder of your husband /wife/family member because Israel have done much worse??
I suppose it was alright that the ira knee capped the odd random young lad back in the day, sure an eye for an eye….
Yeah
I wonder how all you far rights would feel if your entire family,neighbours and village was wiped out in a matter of seconds and no one was held to account,the perpetrator here will be punished and rightly so,unlike the IDF and war criminals in The Knesset.
Why do you presume that everyone who supports Israel comes from a far right view point Dungeon?, I would class myself as extremely liberal but a liberal without a guilty conscience and not ashamed of our western values unlike some of the Che Guevera T/shirts.
Israel is a mostly liberal secular society their core values have more in common with the liberal in me than the Palestinians who will only use the Che Guevera t/shirts for propaganda purposes, in other words “useful idiots”.
An eye for an eye is an Old Testament belief , something the Israelis practice in spades. Killings are horrible be they in Tel Aviv or Belfast. Israel has done so much worse to the Palestinians and the ICC will uncover all that.
William Boyd, what does “western values” even mean? Do you think Israel and Ireland have common “western values” for example? Or are you just regurgitating soundbites you heard on Fox News?
Israel is a mostly liberal society if you happen to be Jewish, if on the other hand you are Palestinian Muslim or Christian you are a second class citizen in your own country, also ‘ the only democracy in the Middle East ‘ has been holding a civilian population under military occupation for nearly fifty years while it transfers its own population into the confiscated lands, a war crime according to the Geneva convention.
Horrible attack on people on bus. Why is the attacker called a terrorist. Could he not be someone with mental issues. Or something else. Or are all Palestine people labelled a terrorist.
I was just going to comment the same thing. The man acted on his own, if this was an Israeli killing Palestinians who would be called a ‘crazed attacker’. If it happened on a bus in Dublin would he be called a terrorist? I abhor violence and my thoughts are with those poor 9 people who were stabbed, I hope they will be ok, but lets not connect the entire Palestinian population to this attack. Tulkarem has a bloody history at the hands of the Israelis, worth doing a bit of research into it.
Isreal.
Look at how to treat the people of Palestine.
A man becomes radicalised and then the world calls him a terrorist.
Isreal as a “state” has commited war crimes this is the natural reaction to oppression
Because it’s easier than coming up with a coherent argument. Apparently I work in the Israeli embassy/ mossad/ somewhere in tel aviv… to me it merely confirms that they’ve driven up an intellectual cul de sac
What’s the name of his country? Pick up a feckin bible and see how many times the word “Israel” is mentioned ye heathen. No mention of a country named “Palestine” ever, anywhere, not even in the Qur’an. Did you pass history at school?
Who cares? What about the civillians he tried to murder?
Wouldn’t it be newsworthy to report that the PA and Mahmood Abbas praised the terrorist? Of course Abbas is no stranger to terrorism himself, he funded the terrorist attack at the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich.
How about doing a story on Khaled Meshaal the leader (coward) of Hamas who hides in Qatar and lives in a luxury hotel surrounded by bodyguards as he orders his henchmen to keep people in their homes when Israel has given warning their homes will be bombed. Meshaal stole $2.6 BILLION from the people of Gaza, Yasser Arafat only stole $43 Million and Abbas is a multimillionaire also.
Abu Daoud, the mastermind behind the 1972 Munich attack, was the one who named Abbas as the person who provided funds, but he also said that Abbas didn’t know that those funds would be used for that
No, another fictional story. Of course if the coward had any cohones he would go to Gaza. Egypt offered to open the Rafah border especially to allow him safe passage into Gaza.
He provides money for terrorists who are going to do what with it?
So no argument that Meshaal stole $2.6 BILLION from your beloved of Gaza?
Or that Yasser Arafat stole $43 Million?
Khaled Meshaal thanks you from the bottom of his heart for marching in the streets of Dublin and urges you to keep it up. Maybe even use your children as human shields.
You can speculate all you want, but you have no hard evidence that Abbas had prior knowledge of the massacre. Black September had, before Munich, targeted what could be considered legitimate military, political, or strategic targets, so it’s not entirely unlikely that Abbas had not known that civilians would be targeted, or he could easily have just assumed that it would be a similar target are previous attacks. But again, there’s no hard evidence either way
I don’t support Hamas, terrorism or corrupt politicians who steal money from the people. So no, I’m not going to say anything else on that issue because we don’t disagree on that.
I have never attended one of those protests. And if I ever do I certainly don’t want Khaled Meshaal thanking me for it as I’m not doing it for him or for Hamas.
He used a kitchen knife. Hardly bears resemblance to organised terrorism. More likely to be someone who’s mentally ill as a result of spending so long in a repressive society in constant conflict.
What a pathetic comment, doesn’t make any difference whether he used a Stanley Knife or a Swiss Army Knife, he stabbed people. Then you try to excuse away his behaviour.
He was in Israel, not WB or Gaza. Israel is not a “repressive society”, ask the 20% of Muslims, Arabs and Druze who proudly call themselves Israelis. You are a sick human being, I hope you are not carrying any weapons.
The difference is that the label “terrorist” implies that there is some organisation behind the attacker. My reaction was to the commentary on the incident which, I believe, adds to the climate of fear in an already unstable area. I clearly wasn’t attempting to excuse what happened.
An open prison with luxury hotels and crawling with millionaires and billionaires ?
“Today, Abu Marzouk is one of the major billionaires in Hamas. “Arab estimates peg his fortune at 2-3 billion dollars,” Elad says. Another senior-official-turned-terror-tycoon is Khaled Mashaal, head of Hamas’s political wing. “Global estimates say Mashaal is worth $2.6 billion,” but Arab commentators, with other sources, say he is worth between 2 and 5 billion, “invested in Egyptian banks and Gulf countries, some in real estate projects.”
Next on the list is Ismail Haniyeh, who until the recent signing of a unity deal between Hamas and Fatah was the Prime Minister of Gaza. “His fortune is estimated at 4 million dollars, and most of his assets in the Strip are registered in the name of his son in law Nabil, and a dozen children of his and other less known Hamas officials,” “
Where are all the jewish billionaires that back the murder of thousands of innocent women and children? Any chance of those stats? What about all the news companies they own that make out thry were defending themselves by bombing schools and hospitals and call them hamas strong holds?
According to our Islamofascist apparatchiks only persons wearing a large beard and carrying a Kalashnikov and/or a suicide vest can be classed as terrorists. Kitchen knives and other hacking implements and the use of motor vehicles to cause mass death and injury are not to be called terrorists even if they do shout Allah Hackbar while cutting children’s throats .
@unclemort your definitely @scipio exactly the same posts everything written the same an all, get a life dude you incite hate and I can’t help but wonder why but I won’t ask you again in case you know what!
@Sarah, which of the 3 or 4 “Palestines” are you referring to as an “open prison”? WB, Gaza, Jordan, Lebanon?
I presume you mean Gaza which has a 13Km border with Egypt at Rafah Crossing. How can a prison have a 13Km opening with fellow Muslims in Egypt? Turns out the Egyptians hate Hamas and Gaza even more than the Israelis and closed the border, even to humanitarian aid. The Israelis sent in 160 trucks of humanitarian aid, Hamas killed 160 children building their terror and smuggling tunnels into Egypt and Israel. I think you need to read a map sometime and not that ridiculous Hamas map that seems to forget that Israel gave up the Sinai, an area twice teh size of Israel in the hope of peace.
@joe you know that the first twelve books of the old testament is from the tanakh? The reason it’s called Israel in our bible is because it was written by jew turned Christian get it? And can you tell me what it was called before 1948 and who lived their?
Stephen, that general area has been known as Palestine since the Romans ruled in that region. Even the 1922 League of Nations Mandate refers to it as Palestine: “the establishment in Palestine of a national home for the Jewish people, it being clearly understood that nothing should be done which might prejudice the civil and religious rights of existing non-Jewish communities in Palestine”
At the time of this Mandate the Muslim and Arab population was seven times the size of the Jewish, mostly non-native, population. Even in 1947 the Muslim and Arab population was twice the size of the Jewish population. The point is that land belonging to indigenous Arabs and Muslims was set aside for the establishment of a Jewish homeland on the basis of the belief that their god granted it to them. Not only that, but the conditions laid out in the 1922 Mandate that a Jewish homeland be established and supported so long as “the civil and religious rights of existing non-Jewish communities in Palestine” not be prejudiced has clearly not been honoured.
@Joe Burns et al. Can anyone imagine the world-wide furor if this teen had been shot by the Israelis.
The Israeli-bashers would be up all night banging away at their keyboards.
REUTERS – Egyptian border troops shot dead a Palestinian youth as he tried to cross illegally from the Gaza Strip on Friday, Palestinian and Egyptian sources said. Jan. 3/2015
Interesting restraint. First warning shots in the air, then shots to the legs.
In other jurisdiction, as explained with immense relish by the many Irish gun experts, you cannot ever shoot at the legs. You must shot to kill. Are Israeli policemen more accurate at shopping.
Interesting observation. I’m sure the Hamas propagandists here in Ireland will come up with a reason. :)
It was actually prison officers as I understand it. Training in Israel is second to none and of course everyone, man or woman, straight or gay has to serve in the IDF. In weapons training you are taught shoot to kill but an experienced firearms expert would rather not kill unless absolutely necessary.
When your country is surrounded by neighbours who want to kill you, there tends to be a high level of expertise. Possible they missed the chest in the panic. Chances are the attacker wasn’t so brave when confronted. He will get well treated in Israel and face the rest of his miserable life in jail. I don’t think he will get his 72 virgins though.
It’s a wonder how more incidences like this don’t occur given the level of oppression suffered by Palestinians on a daily basis at the hands of apartheid israel.
Man in his 20s dies after getting into difficulty in River Flesk in Kerry
4 hrs ago
Negotiations
Zelenskyy to speak with Trump in Berlin-led talks ahead of Putin summit in Alaska
Updated
1 hr ago
Shooting Stars
Meteor shower and rare 'double planet' to light up Irish skies tonight - here's how to spot them
Updated
19 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 220 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 154 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 201 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 163 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 124 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 52 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 49 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 79 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 113 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 52 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 128 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 120 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 108 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say