You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Marie Sherlock beat Gerry Hutch for the final seat in Dublin Central. Alamy Stock Photo

Gerry Hutch fails in election bid as Labour's Marie Sherlock wins nail-biting race in Dublin Central

The contest between the two had come down to the wire.

LABOUR’S MARIE SHERLOCK has beaten Gerry Hutch to take the final seat in Dublin Central in one of the biggest nail-biters of this general election. 

The race between the two had come down to the wire: Hutch had been in fourth place in the four-seater constituency throughout the count. 

It was only in the final counts when Sherlock began to close the gap after gaining from the surplus of Gary Gannon of the Social Democrats and Fine Gael’s Paschal Donohoe, coupled with the distribution of the votes of Fianna Fáil’s Mary Fitzpatrick who was eliminated. 

Going into the final count, Gerry Hutch was 24 votes ahead of Sherlock. 

She received 1,032 votes from the distribution of Paschal Donohoe’s surplus, while Hutch received just 127. 

Sherlock was deemed elected on the eleventh and final count with 6,102 votes, while Hutch finished on 5,321 votes. 

Hutch had entered the race at the last minute and his candidacy – and its coverage in the media – had been strongly criticised by Gannon, who also comes from the north inner city, where Hutch is originally from. 

A notorious gangland figure believed by gardaí to be the leader of the Hutch organised crime group, the 61-year-old known as ‘The Monk’  was arrested and charged in Lanzarote by Spanish police investigating alleged organised crime activity last month. 

The Journal / YouTube

He was subsequently released on €100,000 bail and registered his candidacy, giving his profession as “consultant”.

Sherlock, a Labour Party Senator, previously worked as an economist for trade union Siptu.  

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute Don Knox
    Favourite Don Knox
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:43 PM

Electing criminals , like in the US , is I hope, unlikely to catch on here

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:50 PM

@Don Knox: Depends on our definition of ‘criminal’, or what extent of criminality. No barrier to many serially elected politicians here.

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:01 PM

@Don Knox: bertie ahern, Michael lowry….we have a history in fairness.

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:37 PM

@Don Knox:fianna failers are the biggest criminals in world politics, make the mafia look like choirboys

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:46 PM

@Don Knox: Many people elected have gone on to use the position to carry out criminality. Of the white collar variety. Brown envelopes, planning and zoning corruption and mobile phone licenses to name a few. Tribunals all over the place. That said Gerry Hutch becoming an elected TD would have been a joke and a circus but it does show the levels of dissatisfaction in the area that he comes from and how they have been left behind.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:20 PM

@Don Knox: what are you talking about ?! His name is Michael lowry

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Dec 1st 2024, 7:29 PM

@John Moore: exactly John . People on here disparaging the people who voted for him shows their intelligence and lack of knowledge around the issues in these communities

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:34 PM

The monk is sunk.

Mute Ash Pleed
    Favourite Ash Pleed
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:40 PM

He wasn’t even at the count. Shows how much he cares.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:42 PM

@Ash Pleed: The only reason he ran was to get out of jail in Spain, €100.000 bail, who paid that?

Mute Trevor McCormack
    Favourite Trevor McCormack
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:45 PM

@John Doe: Correct. He was always using it as his excuse, never had any intention of succeeding.

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:59 PM

@Ash Pleed: he was at the count. Pictures of him on here and elsewhere walking into the RDS this morning

Mute Frank Kenny
    Favourite Frank Kenny
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:36 PM

The Monk was Robbed.

Mute p gert
    Favourite p gert
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:02 PM

@Frank Kenny: Criminal.

Mute David Fox
    Favourite David Fox
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:43 PM

Hahahahahahahahahahaha hahaha superb. Delighted. Mr scoombag criminal didn’t get in. Boo hoo.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:22 PM

@David Fox: no they elected one in Tipp instead

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 2nd 2024, 8:47 AM

@S Suilleabhain: not forgetting Dessie Ellis

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 8th 2024, 11:57 PM

@Dermot Blaine: you’re so edgy and not at all blinkered. Call the guards so and btw I’m not a SF member. But I did proudly vote for them in my area and she topped the poll again.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:44 PM

He walked in one door and out the other, that girl Sherlock will be a huge asset for the people of Dublin Central.

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:57 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: I doubt it. The last time labour were in power they targeted the most vulnerable in society the elderly, the disabled etc. that’s why they were then almost wiped out. People have short memories

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:07 PM

@barry williams: You clearly don’t know this lady and what she worked at. There aren’t any Democratic Left in Labour now and at last they are getting back to where they should be a Left centre part, the one that I have voted for since I first voted way back in 1985 …..we’ve had a good election and hopefully we can get to a place where solutions are found.

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:41 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: I don’t know her I’m sure she has good intentions but labour lied through their teeth last time to get in then targeted the most vulnerable in society. Sure you lie during elections isn’t that what pat rabbitte said? I have given labour a vote in the past but never after what they done when last in power. It was despicable. If they go into power again to prop up the other two their voters will be really angry. They could see themselves wiped out again. Just like the greens this time

Mute HoneyN Mustard
    Favourite HoneyN Mustard
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:35 PM

One criminal out another one takes his place

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill

@HoneyN Mustard: nonsense.

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:37 PM

@HoneyN Mustard: marie sherlock has a criminal record? Explain please?

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:28 PM

@Ben dover: Does the Monk have one

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy

No room in the House of Gangters for the Monk!

Mute Brian k.
    Favourite Brian k.
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:01 PM

Sure isn’t the whole Government criminals!? They’re just legalized!!

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:10 PM

@Brian k.: Who legalised them?

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:09 PM

Sanity prevailed. What the he’ll were people thinking, voting for him?

Mute mcleixlip
    Favourite mcleixlip
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:23 PM

@Jeanette McDonald: probably “aaah, mad one..deadly buzz, wotz de stordey. Got any gear?”

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:47 PM

@Jeanette McDonald: you will never know Jeanette because people like yourself live in a cosy little bubble detached from reality. There’s a major socio- economic reason the people of that area wanted him in and that’s what people should be looking at instead of questioning peoples democratic right to exercise their vote

Mute Tony Martin
    Favourite Tony Martin
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:00 PM

Grate result for the decent people of Dublin

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 8th 2024, 11:59 PM

@Tony Martin: many people voted in that area who backed FF, not so much FG who did poorly nationwide all round. I think that because they voted for Fg or ff that they are not all decent, THOSE people aren’t good they are out for number 1

Mute Conor Mack
    Favourite Conor Mack
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:39 PM

Common sense prevails. I think he just did it for the craic and people voted for him as a protest vote. This could lead to a lot more chancers in future elections

Mute barry williams
    Favourite barry williams
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:52 PM

@Conor Mack: they’ve all been chancers, they all lie to us, promise everything then do F all. If you think those in power do anything for ordinary people your delusional

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:33 PM

Thank god!

Mute Dale Voinz
    Favourite Dale Voinz
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:33 PM

Noooooooooooo

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:13 PM

Sanity has prevailed.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:45 PM

I can’t say that I really care, but I probably would have preferred to have Gerry Hutch in the Dáil than another left-wing Labour TD. I rather have an honest crook in there than another dishonest crook. At least gangs have honour codes, no such thing exists in the Dáil. Labour will probably join the Social Democrats in coalition with FG/FF and they’ll see their popularity drop sharply once again like it did in 2016 and Hutch will run again and probably win.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:54 PM

@Frank O’Hara: you’re somewhat out of touch with present say criminality if you think there’s an honour code, there’s none.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:18 PM

@Frank O’Hara: ‘honour codes’? What on earth are you talking about. Like the ‘honour codes’ operated by the Kinahins…is that what you mean?

Mute Siobhán Kennedy
    Favourite Siobhán Kennedy
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:12 PM

Thanks be to F

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:36 PM

You can’t be a criminal and coach an under 10s soccer team but it’s ok to be a member of the oireachtas

Mute tom larkin
    Favourite tom larkin
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:04 PM

How about the criminals dressed in suits who got elected again…who ever voted for them should be ashamed of themselves

Mute Marjory
    Favourite Marjory
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:10 PM

It’s a shame what he did to Malachy Steenson’s campaign in the space of a month.
    There’s space there in that constituency for an anti-establishment vote.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:20 PM

Tipps crook re elected … Shame on them all

Mute K H
    Favourite K H
    Dec 2nd 2024, 9:57 AM

Gerry needs to sort out the Barnet first

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:21 PM

@K H: Edgy