You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

People aren't happy about this Michael Lowry banner erected on a 15th Century landmark

The independent TD has hit back at the criticism, saying he has permission.

MICHAEL LOWRY HAS hit back at criticism over an election banner placed on a monument in Thurles which dates back to 1450.

Historian Mary McAuliffe told TheJournal.ie,It’s defacing a national monument.

“It’s intrusive, it’s treating our built heritage as a commodity –  not as something we should value in and of itself.”

The Tipperary independent TD said he wasn’t aware of the backlash, but that it was private property “and the owner granted permission for it”.

He added, ”As long as I can remember it has always been used for advertising by different local community groups.”

However, McAuliffe said that she was “gobsmacked” when she saw the banner placed on the landmark Bridge Castle.

“I couldn’t believe it – that anybody would use our built heritage to advertise themselves.

It would be like putting ‘Vote for Michael Lowry’ across the Rock of Cashel, it’s the same thing.

“I know they are of different value for people but it’s the same thing.

“Tipperary has some of the best built heritage in the country and should be more protective.”

McAuliffe said she was surprised by the amount of attention a photo of the banner has generated online.

“It’s not just a listed building – it’s a protected structure,” she said.

The tower house was built 1450, according to the Urban Archaeological Survey for North Tipperary.

While it’s not included on the latest record of Protected Structures for North Tipperary, it is recorded on the 1998 Recorded Monuments list, Protected under Section 12 of the National Monuments (Amendment) Act, 1994.

Read: Into the storm: Scrambling for votes in one of the country’s most volatile constituencies

Read: FactCheck: Did Labour really break a pledge not to increase student fees?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

104 Comments
    Mute Mark Gormley
    Favourite Mark Gormley
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:24 PM

Don’t vote for him then!

Mute Francid Dooley
    Favourite Francid Dooley
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:09 PM

Who in thear right mind would vote for him.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:58 PM

Who in their right mind indeed, but he’ll top the poll.

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:08 PM

The people in Tipp will

Mute William T Smith
    Favourite William T Smith
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:13 PM

anthony campion, No we won’t vote for him, there’s a large part of Tipp south of Thurles that both Lowry and Kelly are about to find out exists.

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:38 PM

Unfortunately William north tipp will vote in droves for him while the south tipp will be split so he’ll top the poll

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Favourite Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Feb 6th 2016, 7:02 PM

How can this well-bribed crook run a campaign from inside a jail cell…??
    He is in jail, isn’t he…??

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Feb 6th 2016, 7:15 PM

He’ll top the poll simple as that,he looks after the roads and goes to the funerals,doesn’t matter what dodgy dealings he’s involved in he’s a ” man of the people” ” one of our own”

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Feb 6th 2016, 7:27 PM

As Lowry’s “one of our own”, that doesn’t say much for the North Tipp electorate. They must all be as (allegedly) shifty as him.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Feb 6th 2016, 7:30 PM

And ensure everyone knows he has no values.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner

He could go on a murderous spree around the town and he’d still be voted in and if it was a tipp jury he’d be found not guilty

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:26 PM

a man of the people

Mute Cormac
    Favourite Cormac
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:29 PM

Sure he fixed the roads!

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:48 PM

…. and he’ll fix the walls :p

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:00 PM

Didn’t he get the stadium for us?

And isn’t he well able to stand up to “that crowd up in Dublin”? You know, “the Dublin 4 meeja”.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:10 PM

a political powerhouse

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:22 PM

Sometimes tommy….I think you’re a double agent.

Mute Horses for courses
    Favourite Horses for courses
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:24 PM

Dane, I don’t usually comment after any of your childish multiple accounts but grow up.You might have to take down your framed picture of Kenny off the bedroom wall.The driving lessons obviously not paying enough but FG MUST be covering the rest.The people of Ireland have woke up I think it’s time you do….

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:29 PM

Real men of the people don’t rob the people.

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:39 PM

“Real representatives” I’m sure you mean there Avina?

Mute gordon larney
    Favourite gordon larney
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:43 PM

A man of the people Tommy??? The people of Esat maybe,, and some of the people of tipp as well, with the local issues he has sorted for them,, but for what he did for the rest of the people in this country,, the man should be in jail…….

Mute Dalian Martin
    Favourite Dalian Martin
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:43 PM

Michael Lowry is the visible embodiment of the Cute-Hoor Career Politicians and short-sighted parish-pump politics that have plagued this country since the counter revolution that followed the War of Independence.

Mute William T Smith
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:46 PM

a political shithouse

Mute Val Rossi
    Favourite Val Rossi
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:34 PM

That face should be behind bars.

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:25 PM

Wish it was reported on who gave him permission

Mute Pt pat
    Favourite Pt pat
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:19 PM

Jesus does he have no shame, as if the posters on the light posts weren’t enough of an eyesore.

Mute Cormac
    Favourite Cormac
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:20 PM

You should know by now he has no shame

Mute Pt pat
    Favourite Pt pat

Good point, I should of said less shame than previously thought possible.

Feb 6th 2016, 3:26 PM

He’s the Lionel Messi of brassneckery.

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:48 PM

Betcha Kelly puts one up the Flagpole……

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:19 PM

He’d plaster his face onto the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel if he could…

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:26 PM

The people that vote for him disgust me as much as he does. The same kinds vote for Jackie Healy Rae and family too.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:01 PM

Jackie Healey Rae is dead so is not standing for election, he might still vote though!

Mute William T Smith
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:35 PM

Papasmurf, nail on the head. #northtipp=northkorea

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:41 PM

@papasmurf. And the same that voted for Bertie.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:34 PM

His only excuse is that ‘they did it first!’.
    What sort of argument is that. You either see it as wrong or you don’t. Just because some arsehole tailgates or cuts you off, it doesn’t suddenly make it ok for everyone to do it.

Mute Luke Sarpish
    Favourite Luke Sarpish
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:32 PM

Just tear it down.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:02 PM

Who is worse, the idiot that stands for election or the idiot that votes for him?

Mute Ian Begley
    Favourite Ian Begley
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:44 PM

I’m sorry but the people of North Tipperary are just idiots.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Feb 6th 2016, 7:32 PM

Just like the people in certain north Dublin constituencies who voted for certain famous pocket lining individuals in the not so distant past.
    I’m afraid that North Tipperary doesn’t have the monopoly on the ‘idiots’

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:22 PM

He can do no wrong in Tipperary

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:28 PM

Not true.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:50 PM

Wouldn’t rule him out to be voted in..but with South Tipp having a say for the first time..neither himself or Kelly can be as assured as normal…

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson

Dreary looking town

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:58 PM

It’s a bit of a kip to be honest but then again the area hasn’t exactly had much of a chance with the likes of Lowery in their corner. It could quite a nice place with a bit of political will. I mean though,who in the hell thinks it’s a good idea to plaster their mug all over a historical landmark?

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:43 PM

They’d slap one on yer granny’s forehead if they could

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:16 PM

That sounds extremely dirty….

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:50 PM

This man is a bowsy and an embarrassment, which means he’ll top the poll!! Yay! Dontcha love democracy!!!

Mute Gary Andrews
    Favourite Gary Andrews
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:11 PM

Take it down. Plain and simple.

Mute Minon
    Favourite Minon
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:00 PM

Those lads removing the posters the other day should head south and remove this piece of filths poster

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:07 PM

I guarantee you that no one in thurles or even tipperary, supporters or non supporters, batted an eyelid at this non story. It’s non stories like this are what drives people to vote for him, ” oh look, someone in Dublin is having a go at our michael again “.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:42 PM

So I guess you don’t give a shitwhat he does to your heritage as long as he gets a few votes out of it.By the way defacinmg a fifteenth century building is hardly a non story.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:18 PM

Why not stick a 25ft by 25ft poster of Alan Kelly on the Rock of Cashel while you’re at it.

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:17 PM

Ah stop will ye, I doubt you even knew this building even existed!. If this is private property and he has permission to put this banner up for three weeks, then I don’t see the fuss. If it was mattie mcgrath or any other candidate in the local area, I guarantee this wouldn’t make a story!. Don’t get me wrong, I can’t stand the gangster, would love to see him in jail, but it’s the ” lets bash lowry bandwagon ” driven by these non stories are why a lot of people vote for him down here.

Mute Liam O Duill
    Favourite Liam O Duill
    Feb 6th 2016, 7:02 PM

There are a lot of honest decent Tipperary people who do care ( enough to send the story to The Journal ) and are embarrassed by Michael Lowry and the people who vote for him

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:27 PM

The people of Tipperary know which side of the bread is buttered.
    Gonna be the highest polling politician in this election.
    All politics is local.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:15 PM

I don’t think they do though.. Tipperary is a beautiful county with some of the nicest people you’ll come across but large swathes of the county have been literally abandoned when it comes to thing’s such as jobs and basic infrastructure like hospitals etc. Thurles in particular is an unemployment hotspot and is suffering it’s knock on effects such as crime and drugs. It’s not going to recover if they keep electing a man more interested in stuffing his pockets than highlighting the difficult issues hurting people on the ground.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:29 PM

Cheapest land prices in the country for years.
    Relatively underdeveloped Tipperary.
    The heart of 32 county republicanism.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:31 PM

Sorry, 26 county.

Feb 6th 2016, 4:42 PM

Wtf are you on about Oran? Republican what in Tipperary? Have you never travelled around Ireland or something?

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:32 PM

The 3rd Tipperary Brigade was probably the most active Republican unit in the war of independence.

Feb 6th 2016, 6:27 PM

95 years ago you mean? I could name you at least half a dozen of proper hotbeds of republicanism in “the 26 counties” (as you so disrespectfully refer to our country) today than feckin’ Tipperary.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:58 PM

Oran, you really have to clarify when you make statements like that in this day and age. Incidentally my grandfather knew and fought with Dan Breen. I was lucky enough to get his Black and Tan medal with the Comrac  Bar and it’s one of my families most prized possessions. Extra proud to have it given the War of Independence will probably be forgotten once the centenary of The Rising is over.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:35 PM

Lowery and abuse should always be in the same sentence. He is always abusing his position, he cheated on his taxes, he cheated on his family, he cheated on the decent people of Ireland. Will his family carry on that tradition? Are they involved in politics?

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:43 PM

He could stand for SF/IRA and people would vote for him. Some people have no morals.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:15 PM

Incorrect about Richard Rodgers.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:18 PM

I never used two names at the same time.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:38 PM

At least the banner is not crooked!

Mute ginger tomcat
    Favourite ginger tomcat
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:45 PM

Sure didn’t he fix the roads?

Mute the asian nightmare
    Favourite the asian nightmare
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:22 PM

There is at least one person unhappy about anything that happens. People behaving exactly as you’d expect isn’t news.

Feb 6th 2016, 3:27 PM

I’m unhappy with your comment. I am not news. I feel so empty now.

Mute the asian nightmare
    Favourite the asian nightmare
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:22 PM

At least we have the sweet embrace of death to look forward to. Until then we can continue commenting bitterly on journal articles, saying how much we dislike them.

Feb 6th 2016, 4:36 PM

As the sewing machine repairman said to the customer “I shall make it sew”.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:19 PM

he is some legend in fairness

Mute Minon
    Favourite Minon
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:06 PM

Hey Dane/Tommy, did you take your medication today ???? as clearly your off your game

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:07 PM

As long as corruption doesn’t bother you…

Mute The Pope
    Favourite The Pope
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:18 PM

BUT HE FIXED THE ROOOAAD!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:29 PM

Where the hell did this complete non story come from? Let me guess-twitter! Someone with nothing more to moan about than a poster that will be on a wall for the next 3 weeks takes to twitter and tweets their outrage. It’s not the only poster apparently that has been on the wall according to her tweet https://twitter.com/MaryMcAuliffe4/status/695886779598139393 But to be fair it does make one tweeter say “this makes me angrier than his actual corruption and sleaziness.” REALLY!??

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:40 PM

you want to determine whats news now?

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:46 PM

Do you get tired of making fake accounts every time you get banned from the Journal or is it just a special credit for your psych report?

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:52 PM

So, you’re allowed to be outraged, but they’re not.

Got it.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:53 PM

Brian maybe it’s because Lowery thinks it ok to damage listed therefore protected building.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Feb 6th 2016, 3:55 PM

Stephen, who says that he damaged it?

Mute tommy macdonagh

should all potential news be ran by you brian to see if you deem it worthy for us mere mortals?

Mute Minon
    Favourite Minon
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:05 PM

Hey Dane… I mean Tommy should you not be out giving driving lessons today down there in sunny wexford….Best day for a bit of business ???? or are you just cracking one out there saying SF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRASF/IRA

Mute Slafella
    Favourite Slafella
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:35 PM

The wall of that castle is used to advertise every event in Thurles -non story

Mute Martin Woods
    Favourite Martin Woods
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:19 PM

If he lived back in the 1450s he would probably he hanging from the tower for real

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:48 PM

Lowry, showing his class once again

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:03 PM

Tipp seems to be the most backward County in Ireland. Voting every year for a man who is not worth it and Alan kelly .
    When they learn to vote for some honest people we should go on a tour to .Tipp.
    But hopefully the South tipp get rid once and for all.

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Feb 6th 2016, 7:11 PM

I really hope your right Von id hate to have him as our representative

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:40 PM

What a philistine !

Mute spud
    Favourite spud
    Feb 6th 2016, 4:24 PM

He is the King of Thurles and that’s his Castle

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:38 PM

Lowly doesn’t care about history. In face his former party would be the same

Mute Stephen Boland
    Favourite Stephen Boland

Tear the stupid banner down and show the rest of the country that Tipperary people are not all sheep.

Feb 6th 2016, 4:51 PM

Is planning permission needed?

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:19 PM

Lol…

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:55 PM

YES! Any works on a protected structure require pp, you have hit the nail…change of external appearance, change of use..

Mute Keith McDonagh
    Favourite Keith McDonagh
    Feb 6th 2016, 7:30 PM

It’s just a poster. How much damage could it do? Some people love looking for an excuse to complain about something.

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Feb 6th 2016, 6:43 PM

Lowry’s phallusy!

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Feb 6th 2016, 5:18 PM

Stay classy

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt

I’m sure if I stuck a poster up on leinster house there’d be rucksions.

Mute decky smith
    Favourite decky smith

Poster my ass