You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Finance Minister Michael McGrath Alamy Stock Photo

Finance Minister Michael McGrath set to become Ireland's new EU Commissioner

The three coalition leaders met this evening to discuss the matter.

MICHAEL MCGRATH IS to be appointed Ireland’s new EU Commissioner. 

The three coalition leaders met this evening to discuss the matter.

Tánaiste Micheál Martin will now bring the nomination to Cabinet for approval on Tuesday with the resignation of the minister to follow shortly after. 

It is understood the name of the new finance minister could be known by the end of day tomorrow.

Finance Minister McGrath has represented Ireland on the Economic and Financial Affairs Council (ECOFIN) and has held governor roles in many international bodies, such as the European Investment Bank.

Speaking reporters ahead of a meeting with the European Foreign affairs council in Luxembourg this morning, Martin confirmed that the next commissioner would need to be a “high-calibre candidate”.

Upon the formation of this government, it was decided that Fianna Fáil would appoint the next commissioner to replace Fine Gael’s Mairead McGuinness. 

There had been widespread reports that Finance Minister Michael McGrath was set to be named as Ireland’s commissioner.

Commissioners are regarded as the highest-ranking diplomats in the EU and are the people who are put in charge of drafting and amending various types of new European policy.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:41 PM

He is a very capable Man & Best wishes to him & a hard Person to replace as Finance Minister

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:48 PM

@Sheila McNulty: Won’t happen until November so he’ll get his 2 years , Pascal will run both depts until GE , of course there’s mounting speculation that GE might be on 15th of November.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:09 PM

@Sheila McNulty: fluck sake Sheila ye have me in tears here..

Mute Niall Moore
    Favourite Niall Moore
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:21 PM

@Sheila McNulty: dirty creep of man should have been bet out of the country years ago

Mute max power
    Favourite max power
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:25 PM

@Sheila McNulty: You said the same about Barry Cowen..

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:37 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: did you put a bet on that date,,asking for a friend in goverment.

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:28 AM

@Sheila McNulty: it’s all the haters I am most happy for :) if they have issues may I suggest a hunger strike as the best form of protest lol

Mute James Moylan
    Favourite James Moylan
    Jun 25th 2024, 7:27 AM

@Sheila McNulty: Sheila, you have hit the booze again I see

Mute pat d
    Favourite pat d
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:11 PM

Irish people are so petty and bitter about other people’s successes in their respective fields it’s sad. Whether you like Michael McGrath or not, he was elected by the people to serve in Dail Eireann, and now he’s been selected by our other elected representatives to serve and represent Ireland in a very important role. Personally he seems like a genuine man and I wish him the best of luck for, for Irelands sake.

Mute Niall Moore
    Favourite Niall Moore
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:59 PM

@pat d: yeah go kiss his hairy arze then,

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:01 AM

@pat d: well said he was always respectful and never engaged in the nasty vitrol opposition politicians seen to live. Ordinary guy who studied and worked hard to succeed and enabled others to do so.His vote says everything. Best wishes and he will do a great job for Ireland

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:14 AM

@pat d: Agree. All the name calling, false news and hyped up comments on problems in the public services did little for the opposition cheerleaders in the local and European elections. A lot of the comments here are childish.

Mute Sat Nav Maps
    Favourite Sat Nav Maps
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:42 PM

Jobs for the boys !!

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:24 PM

” hi- calibre spoofer ” congratulations indeed.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:31 PM

@Paul Gorry: well, more brains than the average SF politician. Found ‘behind SF office ‘. High calibre indeed lol

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:37 PM

@Alan: Alan, go lick a ff politican they love it. ” lol ” jaysus.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jun 24th 2024, 11:41 PM

@Paul Gorry: obviously your not very good at spotting talent

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:10 AM

@Tim Brennan: spoofers are what i watch out for tim. That would be ff,fg,labour, pds, and the outrageous greens. Have you seen the state of the country at the moment tru your ” spotting talent glasses ” or what?

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:27 AM

@Paul Gorry: looking forward to seeing you on the ballot at the next election PG. That’ll show your minerals

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:45 AM

@Ian McDonald: That’s a very hardcore comment ian, although not funny.

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jun 25th 2024, 3:08 AM

@Paul Gorry: country is booming, but I must say I am enjoying your tears lol

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Jun 25th 2024, 5:38 AM

@Paul Gorry: Ah you mean all the TDs and Councillors that most of the sensible grown ups in the electorate voted for?? I assume you didnt like the results??

Mute Gareth Parkgate
    Favourite Gareth Parkgate
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:54 PM

An extremely high calibre to waffle and lull the masses.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:25 PM

Another self-serving career politician!

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:03 AM

@Brian Hunt: Far from it a decent honourable man

Mute Fintan Neelan
    Favourite Fintan Neelan
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:05 AM

@Tim Brennan: Agreed Tim. Very genuine guy

Mute William O leary
    Favourite William O leary
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:33 PM

another nose in the bigger trough …

Mute Jimmy The Mink
    Favourite Jimmy The Mink
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:04 PM

He’ll do a fine job but i would have thought Paschal would have been even better, and he is very well respected in Europe. Am sure he has something else in mind if he is tiring of TD life.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Jun 24th 2024, 11:04 PM

@Jimmy The Mink: certainly by his former advisor running one of the largest reit divisions in Europe for a swiss bank and one of the largest foreign institutional investors in Irish housing market.

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:25 PM

So does he have 2 jobs now i dont no,answers on a post card,TIA

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:35 PM

@james rowan: Many jobs

Mute mcleixlip
    Favourite mcleixlip
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:37 PM

@james rowan: no. He will be giving up his Dáil seat

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:45 PM

@james rowan: He will resign once ratified by EU parliament, which should be after Budget, so November time, roughly, they probably won’t be a by-election as GE will be around the corner.

His brother is a shoe in for his seat , got over 5000 first preferences in local elections.

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:48 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: so one more budget from him thnx,,,his brother, typo im guessing

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 24th 2024, 9:57 PM

@james rowan: no his brother will probably run in GE as he got over 5000 first preference votes in Local elections, I might be wrong but getting that in a GE would get him elected. If he runs ….

Mute leo oleary
    Favourite leo oleary
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:11 PM

He never did xxxk all for Cork

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jun 24th 2024, 11:15 PM

@leo oleary: Like his boss so.

Mute Darragh Mcnamara
    Favourite Darragh Mcnamara
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:03 PM

Well done another rat leaving the ship

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:33 PM

Hard to replace the invisible man, yes man!

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jun 24th 2024, 11:51 PM

Can they now see the elephant in the room up there in the dail,it now says on the news that aging population will cost 50 billion more by 2050. Surprise,surprise tends to happen when you open the floodgates without any regard for current population. We now will have a huge portion of people looking to claim old age pension by then and a fair amount of young people emigrated due to no livable future here. Basically same thing which is happening in Japan,Italy and other countries. There boiling everything up to melting point and when the lid lifts it’ll be unreal. Unsustainable housing which there already is. Unsustainable health system,same. Lower birth rate like countries mentioned,an absolute disaster coming head on and being ignored to the last.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:27 AM

@Paddy C: If a recession hits which seems possible now,we’re in big trouble the homeless problem will get worse people are struggling week to week. Yes there’s an argument a certain amount of people are earning good money but it’s a certain amount not the vast majority despite the bullcrap. My heart goes out to those who are barely meeting mortgage and rent payments and those who are aging paying huge rent terrified of what they will do when they hit pension age they have been betrayed by a shower of gluttons with careless self thinking.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jun 24th 2024, 11:14 PM

This boring tool would put a corpse to sleep. When people in the chat are calling him smart and capable then why have none of the Irish people seen it?.

Mute Richie Whelan
    Favourite Richie Whelan
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:29 PM

Another rat feathering his pillow

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:07 AM

@Richie Whelan: He will never be able to do as well the rats from Belfast seeking to corrupt the Irish electorate with promises and policies that must first be passed by the Belfast army council

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:09 AM

@Richie Whelan: and so fluffy and comfortable it is,bunch of gluttons.

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Jun 24th 2024, 10:40 PM

It must be eating all you Shinners from the inside out and I’m lovin’ it!

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jun 24th 2024, 11:58 PM

He was going to have a tough time being re-elected. It’s a wise move for him at this point

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:01 AM

@Darth O’Leary: your some joker

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Jun 25th 2024, 2:49 AM

@Tim Brennan: Won the last seat and only just in his 4 seat constituency after the 8 count in the last general election.

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jun 25th 2024, 4:56 AM

@Leonard Barry: isnt that the same constituency as Micheal Martin?

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    Jun 24th 2024, 11:21 PM

Our loss is their gain – top man. Who now for FF leadership after MM??

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:04 AM

@Ben dover: He will be back in time for to be election after November

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Jun 25th 2024, 12:29 AM

@Tim Brennan: for to be, or not for to be, that is the question

Mute Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Jun 25th 2024, 2:42 AM

Will he rectify the Bonkers Pension System that he condoned on his watch. Discriminates on over 100k Irish Pensioners when a pension increase is not paid in full across the board. Shameful Skin Flint Government Tactics

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jun 25th 2024, 8:43 AM

One of the rare capable FF gone for EU. Or maybe looked capable because he made no wave and high enough in the ranks. Last time there was a Irish EU commissioner, we saw how entitled he was during COVID.
    Hopefully this one will have more decency.

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jun 25th 2024, 4:54 AM

Bye Election?

Mute The Lite Bite Lunch
    Favourite The Lite Bite Lunch
    Jun 25th 2024, 9:16 AM

@John Nolan: Our prediction at the Lite Bite Lunch is that by elections will be called for December (6 months after Euro Seat winners take their seats), but will then be overturned by Article 40 for a general election on November 15.

The only one who knows for sure is Simon Harris, but you can be sure that MM is already getting an election plan in place.

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jun 25th 2024, 5:23 AM

Would ya go a chicken supper bobby sands lol