You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Micheál Martin (left) and Simon Harris Alamy

Martin offers Trump 'warmest' congratulations as Simon Harris hopes for another Irish visit

Harris also praised Trump’s “magnificent golf links in Doonbeg”.

INCOMING TAOISEACH MICHEÁL Martin has offered his “warmest congratulations” to newly sworn in US President Donald Trump. 

“Ireland’s close ties with the United States are built on generations of shared history and a rich tapestry of connections between our peoples,” Martin said.

“On this historic day, the American people can be assured that Ireland will always remain a constant and reliable partner and friend.”

Martin described the Ireland-US relationship as “a rich, dynamic and mutually beneficial political and economic partnership”. 

“Our task is to further strengthen this partnership, and to create sustainable jobs and prosperity on both sides of the Atlantic,” he said.

Martin added that international cooperation “is the only way we can address and resolve our common challenges, as well as our differences”.

Outgoing Taoiseach Simon Harris has also offered his congratulations to President Trump, saying that he hopes Ireland will have the chance to welcome him again.

Harris “warmly” congratulated Trump in a statement following his inauguration in Washington D.C. today. 

Harris also praised Trump’s “magnificent golf links in Doonbeg” and said the Republican had “invested in this country and its people”.

“This is a very important moment for President Trump personally and for the United States,” Harris said.

“As the torch of democracy passes peacefully from one leader to the next, I send him, and the people of the United States, my very best wishes,” the Fine Gael leader said. 

Echoing Martin’s comments, Harris said the Irish government “very much looks forward to cooperating with President Trump and his administration in the months and years ahead”.

He said the government would be “building on the strong, enduring, and dynamic relationship between our two countries,” which he said “draws strength from our deep, historical people-to-people connections”.

Harris pointed to “the support of the US with peace on this island, as well as our growing and mutually beneficial economic relationship”, something Martin also mentioned in his statement. 

Harris also said the US has an essential leadership role in meeting challenges including  “conflict, climate change, threats to democracy, and the need to secure economic growth and stability”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:17 PM

Trump not going to have any respect for these two half-leaders.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:21 PM

@Louis Jacob: It’ll be sufficient if Trump thinks they respect him. He’s brittle like that.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Jan 20th 2025, 7:23 PM

@Louis Jacob: nobody respects these 2, only the ones that voted for them

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:04 PM

The ar se kissing is disgusting

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:14 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: The fact there’s even some slobbering over a stupid golf course of his is truly puke inducing.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:27 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: It’s necessary, unfortunately. Trump has paperthin skin and is on a mission ordained by God – if we’re to believe his earlier speech. If he follows through on his promise to repatriate billions to the US, our economy could be in serious trouble.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:45 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: so u would prefer they didn’t congratulate him , grow up

Mute DJ D
    Favourite DJ D
    Jan 20th 2025, 8:58 PM

@honey badger: It works both ways. There are many Irish businesses who are in the US who could pull the plug on American jobs

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:12 PM

I hope Trump sent a two finger reply to the two dopes.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:18 PM

@087 bed: in due course he will tear Ireland a new one for tax regime ,and Israel.

Mute Andrew Martin
    Favourite Andrew Martin
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:22 PM

Trump won’t invite Martin to the whitehouse for Paddy’s day.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:19 PM

Ye two-faced boys are going to feel the pain of Donald Trumps boot

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:04 PM

Martin doesn’t mind Trump is a criminal. Sure, doesn’t he have Lowry in government.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:39 PM

@AnthonyK: Lowry isn’t a Minister nor Minister of State

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:57 AM

@Johnny Wilson: Lowry tells FFG what to do and when to do it, DOB’s facilitator is the Don of FFG. Lorry isn’t part of the government he is one of the puppeteer’s who pull their strings and organises their shady strokes.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Jan 20th 2025, 7:22 PM

You can’t take these 2 seriously.

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:28 PM

Two Beta males.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Jan 20th 2025, 8:06 PM

Say what you like about Trump, those two aren’t fit to tie his shoe laces

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Jan 20th 2025, 7:21 PM

Those who usually on here telling us how pharma and tech, is the only business in town and how we need fgff to keep jobs in Ireland.
    I wish you well on the dole queues.
    In the coming years, about to see how the other half live on all that free money they are suppose to get off the state.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:13 PM

In fact Martin & Harris reaction reminds me of Trump congratulating Putin on his re-election during a phone call in his first term…..after his senior administration staff had told Trump NOT to congratulate Putin on his re-election.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:09 PM

There’s no reason why Martin & Harris couldn’t have been more reserved, while still being polite. And absolutely no reason why an invitation needed to be extended for a formal visit. You can avoid insulting Trump (in his own perspective) without having to ‘fall in line’.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:46 PM

@Numinous20111: cop on

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 21st 2025, 11:24 AM

@Sheila McNulty: Ah, yes, the transparent attempt to frame criticism of Trump as being irrational, or ignorant. Yet no verifiable argument is ever advanced, only a knee-jerk stock phrase employed. And you wonder why Trump supporters have a reputation for emotion and not reason.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Jan 20th 2025, 8:39 PM

Didn’t slimey Simon slag Trump off? Trump doesn’t let things like that slide.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Jan 20th 2025, 9:31 PM

Tut Tut Tut! Not a good look Mr. Martin.

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:18 PM

Anything to distract from their own ineptitude and corruption.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:41 PM

@Dere: Ireland is one of the least corrupt countries in the world, time you crawled out of your rabbit hole.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Jan 20th 2025, 7:24 PM

@Johnny Wilson: least you didn’t say Ireland is not corrupt.
    Haughty, bestie, flynn, lawlor, lorry, half the fg pary.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:18 AM

@Johnny Wilson: but the children’s hospital costs considerably more than the Burj Khalifa? Please explain.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:28 AM

@Colette Byrne:
    We are in the top twenty LEAST corrupt countries in the world.
    Calm down and get a job.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:25 AM

@H Woo: Did the Mafia organise that “survey” of yours or are you going to produce a link, one of the funniest daftest posts I’ve ever read from you and that’s saying a lot !!!

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:14 PM

@Mr Inbetween:
    Google is your friend

Mute daz Carroll
    Favourite daz Carroll
    Jan 20th 2025, 7:42 PM

Hopes for another free visit on taxpayers money to fund his trip at least you we know where your priorities lie ya little pine marten

Mute Anthony Ross
    Favourite Anthony Ross
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:00 PM

Do we not care he is a criminal

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:10 PM

@Anthony Ross: he’s not.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:13 PM

@Anthony Ross: Yup, time to start preparing for a mass protest over this guy arriving on our shores. Just because others are bending the knee doesn’t mean we have to. If he is coming we can at least let the world know how many are against it and reject everything about him, his behaviour and his policies. We’ll have some of our own eejits to deal with, but what’s new.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:17 PM

@SerotoninWars: What’s wrong with his policies?

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Jan 20th 2025, 7:08 PM

@SerotoninWars: Get a grip ffs, have a look back at the previous 4 years. The west is in decline and we need strong leaders to get it back on track, Meloni, Trump, Milei, Orban etc are patriotic and don’t bend the knee to the the crazy minority few, who themselves are almost facist like and deluded pushing their selfish ideology down our throats. Say that as a gay man btw. The world is gone bonkers, and us soft, white westerners have a target on our backs and need to toughen up.

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jan 20th 2025, 7:44 PM

@Joe Willis: Easier for you to tell us what’s right!!!

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 21st 2025, 10:29 AM

@Anthony Ross: Ray Burke, Liam Lawlor, Ivor Callely, Bertie Ahern, Padraig Flynn, Chas Haughey and Micheal Martin are all torn from the same cloth.

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:03 PM

two lick-arses

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:21 PM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: I hope they feel Donald’s boot they are both two-faced

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Jan 20th 2025, 10:21 PM

Slurp, slurp

Mute Ed Hughes
    Favourite Ed Hughes
    Jan 20th 2025, 9:42 PM

Lickspittles….ugh!!

Mute Oliver Cleary
    Favourite Oliver Cleary
    Jan 20th 2025, 8:07 PM

Snivelling & snivellous. Crumbs from the table. How embarrassing.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:24 PM

They know that we need to have good diplomatic relations with the US government, as they are allowing huge Multinationals to pay corporation tax in our country that amounts to billions. If Trump decides to stop this, if he truly is as nationalist as he says, we’re in big trouble.

Mute Maire Hicks
    Favourite Maire Hicks
    Jan 20th 2025, 9:34 PM

Two two faced flookers

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Jan 20th 2025, 7:15 PM

All shi££ing themselves now.

Mute Andrew Harrington
    Favourite Andrew Harrington
    Jan 20th 2025, 7:52 PM

He is su ch a sha me less, 2 face hy po crit e! I hope Trump tells him to jog on.

Mute Vincent Ward
    Favourite Vincent Ward
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:05 AM

In the words of one of the Greatest Philosophers of our times, (Spike Milligan), “He’s a groveling crawling Bast@rd”!

Mute Anthony Ross
    Favourite Anthony Ross
    Jan 20th 2025, 5:59 PM

Do we not care Trump is a convicted sex offender

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:07 PM

@Anthony Ross: Regrettably Trump is not a convicted felon solely on the basis that he was not sentenced in front of a judge. This is (in the circumstances of Trump becoming president again) a legal technicality due to the broad immunity ruling of the SCOTUS.

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:09 AM

@Anthony Ross: The delusion on the left is actually quite scary at times.

Mute John Aherne
    Favourite John Aherne
    Jan 20th 2025, 8:05 PM

Me thinks someone should wet their lips, plunger like, obtain a bus from the Irish Wheelchair Association, and stick them onto a window, either side of the bus. Rent an Airbus, flight departure number to be withheld due to GDPR guidelines. Destination: Americano and slap it on the runway. Good riddin’s thereafter and leave us the fook alone with their bull-crap. The older I get, the les proud I am to be Irish.

Mute Pete Mahon
    Favourite Pete Mahon
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:19 PM

Hypocrisy. In the National Interest

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:20 PM

Hardly going to Tell him to FO though are they ?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:11 PM

Necessary but unsightly grovelling. Trump presents a clear threat to our economy.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:36 AM

Will Mickily D O Lepracan be sending a letter of congratulations to Mr Trump like he did with the new despot in Iran.

Mute michael brady
    Favourite michael brady
    Jan 20th 2025, 8:23 PM

Don’t let trump into Ireland . you can’t trust him