You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mick Wallace addresses the Consultative Forum on International Security Policy. Eamonn Farrell

Mick Wallace is running in the general election in bid for Dáil return

Wallace lost his seat in the European Parliament in June.

FORMER WEXFORD TD and Ireland South MEP Mick Wallace has announced that he will be contesting the upcoming general election. 

Wallace made the announcement through local radio station South East Radio, which posted online about his candidacy this morning. 

The former property developer topped the poll when he was first elected to the Dáil in 2011 and was re-elected in 2016 before he left his seat to be elected to the European Parliament in 2019. 

Wallace lost his seat in Brussels in the European Parliament elections held in June of this year. 

During his period in the Dáil, Wallace was a consistent critic of the governance of Nama, the so-called ‘bad bank’ set up after the banking collapse and was also a critic of the management of An Garda Síochána, having acted as a go-between with whistleblower Maurice McCabe.

Wallace also delivered an apology in the Dáil for the under-declaration of VAT paid by his construction company

As an MEP, Wallace often cut a controversial figure as he spoke out against the EU providing military assistance to Ukraine in defence of its invasion by Russia. 

Wallace has been a member of the Independents4Change political party since his time in the Dáil and his colleague Clare Daly, who also lost her seat in the European Parliament, is too seeking a return to the Dáil in Dublin Central

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

73 Comments
    Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Feb 25th 2014, 7:38 PM

This can’t be much comfort to affected mortgage holders.

Remember being told bankers salaries in state owned banks would be capped.. Then finding out this was not being enforced.

Then that waster Noonan comes out and does nothing more than ask politely for caps to be adhered to…

Mute Mike Murphy
    Favourite Mike Murphy
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:08 PM

Let them cop on a small bit and pay back their mortgages. Too much “can’t afford it” but out socialising at the weekend, still driving big cars and no respect for the common folk that have to bail them out.

Pay up or get out

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:13 PM

Mike Murphy, I like your pose. You look just like you are about to have a massive bowel movement with excitement.

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:15 PM

Ah ,Peter , be nice to him , he’s just set up a face book account ,so that he can troll ..That’s probably a flattering photo of him ..

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:18 PM

Thomas, true. A sad case.

Mute Mike Murphy
    Favourite Mike Murphy
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:20 PM

Thomas and Peter – 2 more Burdens to society that spent more than ye can afford and don’t like having to drop the high life and pay it back.

Feel free to mock me and my weight and health issues but I’m not ROBBING anyone..

Mute CMac59
    Favourite CMac59
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:20 PM

The banks and bondholders were bailed out. The Euro 6 billion paid to the banks to sort the mortgage debt problem was used to boost the banks balance sheet.

It is important to know who was bailed out and who was not.

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:32 PM

Not mocking you at all ,Mike (ahem)

I have a fantastic job in the public health services , job for life , and very soon I’ll be getting a lump sum = 1 1/2 times my final salary and will cash in my two pensions .. So I’m not robbing anyone ..life is great !

Mute Mike Murphy
    Favourite Mike Murphy
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:42 PM

Cash in your two pensions… You sound like you need that alright – Whole other discussion but I’d be careful when I say “not robbing anyone”…

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:06 PM

I’m wondering what the love child of Michael Noonan and Margaret Thatcher might look and sound like.

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:14 PM

I’ve no need to be careful !

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:22 PM

I’s am a proud freeloader ..lol I’s will milk those cows for all it’s worth..lol Mr Bank manager ,how’s are youse today ..lol I’s have € 100 for mortgage this month , youse are lucky ..lol let’s sit down and play a game of poker ..lol we’ll play with real money ..lol youse heard of securitisation ..lol it’s Ponzi with a triple a+ ..lol

Mute Dexter Ferguson
    Favourite Dexter Ferguson
    Feb 25th 2014, 7:59 PM

Anyone that tries to take my cosy home will get the business end of Bertha. Everyone suffers but the people who caused it still roll in the big bucks. You couldn’t write this crap. Sorry, that Shatter chapie could.

Mute Mike Murphy
    Favourite Mike Murphy
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:14 PM

I’m probably paying for it…

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:16 PM

Good!

Mute CMac59
    Favourite CMac59
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:22 PM

Your money goes along way so.

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:39 PM
    Mute Jeremy Rammer
    Favourite Jeremy Rammer
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:26 PM

What a joke if a tenant doesn’t pay their rent they’re evicted and rightly so.

So why does it make a diiference if you have a mortgage,you don’t own the property until the mortgage is paid off.

Roll on the repossesions

Mute Mike Murphy
    Favourite Mike Murphy
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:29 PM

Well Said!! Roll on!

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:39 PM

Roll on deals!

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:40 PM

Some balls on you to call on ‘roll on repositions’ like that.You really need to get your head out of your ass,snort out the shite and go back to junior infants..

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:45 PM

Thanks Enda ..lol

Mute Declan Flanagan
    Favourite Declan Flanagan
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:10 PM

Well said Jeremy I hate mortgage holders who don’t pay their mortgages and ones who cant they’re sc#@of the earth,god bless all the renters who work hard pay PAYE pay rent to landlords every month and have to listen to this crap,mainland Europe sort out the Irish pleaseeeeeeeee

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:18 PM

I’s thought that I’s spoke poorly , lol I’s cannot understand yours, Declan ..lol I hates I hates can’y mortgage holders ..lol

Mute Dexter Ferguson
    Favourite Dexter Ferguson
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:25 PM

Mike and Jeremy, I have a barrel for each of you. Feel free to invade my property and attempt to tuft me out. Bertha shall let blaze with both barrels. I applaud anyone who opposes these parasitic bankers.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:42 PM

There was a time when Irish tenant farmers fought for their farms and ultimately won.

One should feel solidarity with our fellow citizens and no respect for foreign vultures.

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:46 PM

Peter ,Peter ,,lols ..youse are playing with fire ..lol youse would take these boys down with your knowledge of the system ..lol youse took out the loan youse must pay it back ..lol blah blah blah ..Oggie doesn’t care about the banks ,or the trolls ,or the ones that aren’t ..lol I’s have paid my dues ..lol I’s am logging off now, ‘cos my fingers are tired and my brain needs to slow down ..lol wife no1 will help me now ..lol

Mute Declan Flanagan
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:51 PM

Ahhhhhhh now I understand peter Michael davitt and the land wars

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:32 PM

The Land League which led to reforming legislation, starting with Gladstone in the 19th Century. .

Some have values and interests which coincide with those of the Bankers and speculators. My identification is with unfortunate persons on reduced incomes who can no longer afford to repay exorbitant mortgages on previously priced homes. Where will all of these dispossessed people go?

I have 2 years to go on an affordable mortgage on an affordable home but my heart and support goes out to those who through no fault of their own were ripped off to enrich greedy bankers and reckless developers.

Mute DaveMac
    Favourite DaveMac
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:36 PM

Too right Jeremy, I note that the trollers with serious debts are in the ‘denial’ phase and are getting more vocal and more desperate on here!!

The more repossessed houses the better, man things are getting better, more repossessed houses on the market than ever before. Plus I just got promoted with 10% payrise and more stocks, to add to my 6 figure deposit. I might even buy Dexters house and pinch his bum on his way out!

Mute Declan Flanagan
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:09 PM

Ahhhhhh Gladstone and the 19th century,welcome to the 21st peter,your trolling,where should the dispossessed go ehhhhhhh TO HELL OR TO CONNAUGHT :))))))

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:51 PM

Declan, the use of odd emphasis refelects your cognitive deficit and your inability to thing about the true cause of the mortgage impairment in crisis. You will observe how I managed to convey my view without use of parenthesis and letter repetition.

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 26th 2014, 10:48 AM

You must have got prescribed less ..

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 26th 2014, 10:49 AM

The likes of Dave end up in Connaught , as they couldn’t afford to buy in Dublin ..

Mute DaveMac
    Favourite DaveMac
    Feb 26th 2014, 2:53 PM

Hey Thomas, I can buy up to e350k, and if I get my partner involved, I can go up to about e500k. I can easily afford in Dublin. It’s overpriced though because of the freeloaders not paying mortgages.

You wouldn’t understand, you live in the sticks, and are a bit stupid. haha

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 7:33 PM

Youse should have given the mortgage holders a chance to bid on their loan ..lol but this is not the way to do business ..lol here youse go buyers , youse can have my mortgage for 40c in the pound ..lol but we all happy now , lol sold down the swanny ..lol

Mute CMac59
    Favourite CMac59
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:17 PM

Those in Nama will and have bought back their loans at a greatly discounted rate. And they can claim loses to offset their tax bill.

With FG/Labour the little man get nothing. That is an immutable law.

You have sized Ireland up very well Oggie3rd.

Mute GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Favourite GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:56 PM

There you have it
    The “Special” Liquidators solemn word.
    “What more do you want guys??”
    “A man’s word is his bond”

The “Special” Liquidator AKA the one and only KPMG
    The same KPMG that gave Irish Nationwide (now part of IBRC) a clean bill of health when it was bust.

Would you not say that there was just a tad bit of a conflict of interest here??

I wonder how much KPMG are getting paid to administer this travesty???
    “Champers tonight boys” Ehh??
    “Scoff”
    “Scoff”
    “Oink”
    “Oink”

Feb 26th 2014, 2:17 AM
    Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:09 PM

Nonnan said they are protected, they might as well move now because once you here that you know you truly truly fcuked

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:24 PM

Lm
    Free Education meant you had all the opportunity in the world to stare out the window all day…….every day!

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:38 PM

Hows the form,Dave ?

Mute Mike Murphy
    Favourite Mike Murphy
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:43 PM

Space after the ,

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:55 PM

Not in Cork,boi !

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:56 PM

Good to see you back Ritchie, what can you say about them lying lowlifes in FG, they are lower than a snakes belly, and you look up to them, it shows how low you are,
    PS I did not avail of the free education, I went private unlike you,

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:02 PM

Dane, Richie, how many stitches did you get the last time you got personal with people

Mute DaveMac
    Favourite DaveMac
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:45 PM

Ahh Thomas, the twit from the west! He thinks I’m everywhere. I’m only in D4, the richest and best part of Ireland.

Mute DaveMac
    Favourite DaveMac
    Feb 26th 2014, 2:49 PM

Lol Thomas I crack up every time I see your lame angry comments. You are such a bogger.

I rent yes, you truly are inferior if you think less of people who rent. What a feeble little man out there in your field, all alone.

Come to Dublin, I’ll pay for your dinner in Fire, get you some nice wine. It’s all good over here.

Mute CMac59
    Favourite CMac59
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:14 PM

It only means “regulated by the Central Bank”. I think we all know what a “regulation” is worth and it can be redefined at a whim of the ECB board member who runs the Central Bank but has his duty is first to Frankfurt.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:16 PM

Sad but true.

Mute Banking Bad
    Favourite Banking Bad
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:47 PM

Well if you dont like Regulation there’s always Bitcoin…

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:10 PM

If foreign vultures acquire Irish mortgages secured on the homes of Irish citizens, I know what side I am.

We don’t have to be overly scrupulous about the legal methods deployed to resist vultures who have bought the mortgagee’s interests with their eyes fully open.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 7:46 PM

Yeah, right. They will be fully protected!

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:09 PM

This should indeed be very good news for all Irish Nationwide Building Society Family Home mortgage holders , as the purchasing Groups will most probably be purchasing the mortgages concerned at about a third of the pre- bust values.
    This should afford those – especially outside of the immediate Dublin area , an opportunity to refinance the “purchase” of their mortgages back at huge discounts .

The Government , in the meantime , must now ensure availability of “new” mortgages being made available to the existing Family Home Owners !

Mute Jeremy Rammer
    Favourite Jeremy Rammer
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:40 PM

Why?

So they can mess up again and not pay back what they borrowed?

Wise up Ciarraioch

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:07 PM

Jeremy – presumably you have been out of the Country for the past six years while the worse recession in the history of the State has been underway – while almost a half million people have been out of work and while a quarter of a million of our people have emigrated ??
    You should wise up and show some respect for people less lucky in life obviously, then you !

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:26 PM

Jeremy is an Ironman ..lol

Mute Declan Flanagan
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:26 PM

@ciarraioch all the mortgage holders in arrears with plasma TVs sky digital,car in the driveway holidays abroad,lots of kids etc etc dont worry I’ll work extra hours while being taxed up to fu@#in bollix to pay for it,cut out the luxury pay your mortgages and shut up ireland

Mute Jeremy Rammer
    Favourite Jeremy Rammer
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:30 PM

Well said Declan

No one put a gun to their heads and marched them into the bank to take out a mortgage they couldn’t afford,every decision you make comes with a conseqeunce.

You took out more than you can pay back,tough luck give it back it’s not yours you simply borrowed it.When will these greedy idiots learn its unacceptable to borrow without paying back.

Roll on the Repos i for one will be celebrating i hope you will be too Declan

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:33 PM

I’s will never pay back full debt ..lol no way Jose ..lol thanks Jeremy ..lol

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:43 PM

I’s have a 42″ plasma , I’s have a car in the driveway , I’s go on a holiday , and I’s have a very nice bank manager , he’s lovely ..lol

Mute Jeremy Rammer
    Favourite Jeremy Rammer
    Feb 25th 2014, 9:52 PM

I can’t stop laughing @ Ciarraiochs comment

” while the worse recession in the history of the State has been underway ”

Oh yeah,you know it’s hell on earth when someone refuses to pay their mortgage and can still afford holidays,nice cars,fancy tv’s,modest luxuires of the modern world etc.

Oh it’s really bad my heart goes out to them

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:02 PM

Youse are learning so much stuff on the Internet ..lol It’s great to see , how youse just learnt this knowledge from Declan ..lol youse really are a quick learner ..lol I’s believe that in a recession , youse must do what youse has to do ..lol I’s tell peoples , don’t be afraid ..lol Jeremy will pay for it ..lol

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:25 PM

Banks inveigled people into paying unaffordable prices for sub standard homes fuelled by excessively plentiful credit, promoted by the criminally irresponsible Central Bank of Ireland and the complicit IFSRA.

Look at the causes first.

Feb 26th 2014, 12:17 AM

@ Jeremy.

All the mortgages that the jokebanks sold between the early noughties and the point where they (all bar none) corruptly/criminally bust themselves, were basically of a subprime, built to fail standard.
    The culprits not only were allowed to walk freely away from their responsibilities but were handsomely rewarded with money that was basically stolen from their victim’s pockets.

The Irish Bernie Madoffs get kept in clover on their victim’s money, instead of the 150 years in jail that they deserve.
    The country has been sentenced to eternal debt slavery by corrupt/criminal elitist sycophants who laugh at you from their perches above the law.
    Who really gives a fcuk if anyone pays their mortgage to these toxic jokebanks at this stage?
    The veil has been lifted mate.

Mute David Hall
    Favourite David Hall
    Feb 26th 2014, 12:30 AM

This is inaccurate. , it’s a Vokubtary agreement to adhere to the code of conduct . This gives no protection . The vulture fund could change their mind. This is a last minute sinister move. Too little too late. Protest tomorrow at. 1pm outside Leinster house

Mute DaveMac
    Favourite DaveMac
    Feb 26th 2014, 2:47 PM

Repossessions need to happen, people not paying their mortgages need to be removed from their proprieties asap, I can’t buy a house because of these boom-time freeloaders.

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 25th 2014, 8:45 PM

I’s am going to have great fun ..lol I’s am a freeloader and proud of it ..lol Thank youse for helping me in all the subsidies that I be getting ..lol Mike , youse will be proud of what I get off the system and I’s also do odd jobs at weekends ..lol

Mute DaveMac
    Favourite DaveMac
    Feb 25th 2014, 10:39 PM

Protected but not for long. All those freeloaders will get kicked out of their houses and the likes of me will come in like a vulture and get me some nice property. I will be laughing all the way watching the poor souls having to move to Letrim (or worse, to where Tommy lives) with tears in their eyes. Happy days.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Feb 25th 2014, 11:53 PM

DaveMac, I hope that you are using a touch screen instead of a hard keyboard in view of your splashing.

Feb 26th 2014, 12:59 AM

Here’s some porn for you to jerk off to
    DaveMac(s),
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXep2SsJlHw

And here’s a guy who will do a nice refurb on your new repo for you DaveyBoy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dqb6ZIXoX2w

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    Feb 26th 2014, 10:46 AM

Is there a lot of houses in D4 that are about to be repossessed ? Gee, I was informed by a troll , that all the rich people reside there ?!

Poor old ,Dave , and his pretend money , so sad, missed out in the boom , in the bust , and now the boom , again !!

Great times are here again ..10% in Dublin , so that would probably be another 15-20% in D4 , hahahaha , missed out again ..

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2014/0226/business/dublin-house-prices-likely-to-rise-10-260099.html

Mute DaveMac
    Favourite DaveMac
    Feb 26th 2014, 2:57 PM

Aww little Thomas is getting frustrated at my superiority! Little man.

Of course I missed out in the boom, stupid. Because of that I have 6 figure savings.

I am in the process of looking for a house, price rises are good in my view! are you really that stupid? haha, what a weirdo you are!