You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

McDonald said whoever is the next President is "going to have big shoes to fill". RollingNews.ie

It would 'make sense' if left-wing parties worked together in Presidential election - McDonald

Mary Lou McDonald also said she hopes the incoming opposition can continue to work together in this next Dáil term.

SINN FÉIN LEADER Mary Lou McDonald has said it would “make sense” if left-wing parties in the Dáil opposition to work together and support one candidate during the Presidential election in October.

Though she admitted that her party has not had much debate on the upcoming poll, the Sinn Féin leader did not shoot down the suggestion which was first proposed by Labour last week, according to the Sunday Independent.

Ivana Bacik, Labour leader, wrote to the Social Democrats and the Green Party last week and floated the idea that the centre-left parties would support one candidate on a common platform, the newspaper reported.

Speaking in Dublin today, McDonald said that the idea would first need to be supported internally in Sinn Féin and then from other parties on the left. She added that there has been very few discussion as to who would be her party’s candidate.

“Whoever gets elected is going to have big shoes to fill,” she told a press conference this afternoon. “Certainly, Michael D [Higgins], by any stretch, has been an incredible President.”

Given that position, McDonald said that she would like to see the next “in the throne” to have the same cultural intelligence and depth as the incumbent and also be someone who is “committed to Irish unity and to a vision of the future of our country”.

In a rare sight of unity last week, the opposition gathered under one banner to oppose a decision that allowed four TDs who negotiated the programme for government to sit in opposition benches. 

The opposition parties’ protests to the decision, which would mean other opposition TDs get less speaking time, eventually led to the Dáil being adjourned overnight – subsequently postponing the nomination of a Taoiseach.

Asked by The Journal if the same level of unity in the opposition will be seen throughout the remainder of the Dáil term, McDonald said she hopes the parties can continue to work together “on the big issues of the day”.

“It makes sense for us to work together and I think that we can. I think working together, we can actually be quite a powerful force in the Dáil.

“The government, by definition, has the numbers – but that does not mean that we can shape influence policy and outcomes for people.”

McDonald was speaking to media at the Alex Hotel in Dublin after announcing a soft reshuffle of Sinn Féin’s front bench today.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

119 Comments
    Mute ballbreaker
    Favourite ballbreaker
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:19 PM

Simon is deeply worried
    Simon is deeply concerned
    What politician is going to be deeply what . next ?

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:30 PM

@ballbreaker: Minister for Truly, Madly.

Mute Brown Boots
    Favourite Brown Boots
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:31 PM

@ballbreaker: too much listening to savage garden I think… Fly him to the moon someone!

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:08 PM

@Brown Boots: I was humming to Right Said Fred’s deeply dippy

Mute John O Connor
    Favourite John O Connor
    Aug 30th 2017, 12:31 AM

Simon should just grow a pair and stop watching the media

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Aug 30th 2017, 5:10 AM

@ballbreaker: will North Korea target the People’s Republic of Cork?

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:24 PM

Minister Coveney stated that we should “Deploy the fleet” before being hurriedly ushered off stage.

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:27 PM

@Tom: lol

Mute Alt Left
    Favourite Alt Left
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:50 PM

@Tom: our only military ship is busy working as a taxi for migrants

Mute Elizabeth Gregory
    Favourite Elizabeth Gregory
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:25 PM

@Tom: I feel such a huge sense of relief hearing that Mr Coveney is so outraged!

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:34 PM

@Alt Left: we do have more than one ship you know.

Mute Shane o rourke
    Favourite Shane o rourke
    Aug 29th 2017, 7:27 PM

@Piarais Mac Maoláin: brilliant

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Aug 29th 2017, 7:38 PM

@Tom: Comment of the day!

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Aug 29th 2017, 8:03 PM

@Piarais Mac Maoláin: N1

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:32 PM

Coveney’s on fire.
    North Korea’s missile defence system is terrified.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Aug 29th 2017, 9:56 PM

@Keelan O’neill: when will the the ANTI WAR movements start organising protests against north Korean regime. .!!

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Aug 29th 2017, 11:36 PM

@Bobby wilson: They are saving theirs angst for whoever dares confront Commie Kims.

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:30 PM

Simon Coveney was an utterly dismal failure as Minister for Housing.

Why is he still a minister?

(Actually why is he even a TD? He didn’t earn hhis seat. He just inherited his Dad’s)

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:32 PM

a bit like kim jong un…..

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Aug 29th 2017, 7:23 PM

@Colin Morris: True, he just about scraped enough preferences to be elected. He looks the part but lacks the qualities to be a minister although in fairness he is brilliant at telling lies.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 29th 2017, 9:31 PM

@Colin Morris: he did nothing for the badgers either when he was Minister for people with tractors. Oh, dem culls are terrible and not very scientific but sure we’ll keep going with them anyway. Lot of outrage. Little in the way of doing.

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:28 PM

In other news, Khaltmaagiin Battulga the president of Mongolia has expressed deep concern at the increase in homelessness in the Republic of Ireland.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:38 PM

Sinister Coveney during an interview on Morning Ireland made an impassioned plea that, “Measures are in place” for the island of Ireland should the world fall prey to a nuclear holocaust and that these measures would be fully implemented by July 31st 2018.

Mute Liam P Lally
    Favourite Liam P Lally
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:36 PM

@Frank Cauldhame:
    Will Iodine tablets be sent to all households again, I still have mine.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Aug 29th 2017, 7:04 PM

@Liam P Lally: “I would ask that anyone applying for iodine tablets would first be sure to visit our website, http://www.iodine-innit.ie, to find out which variant of iodine to use and the turnaround times for receiving same.”

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Aug 29th 2017, 8:49 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: do you need a PSC ?

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Aug 29th 2017, 9:14 PM

@lavbeer: Erm, its not compulsory but…..

Mute Brianán McBride
    Favourite Brianán McBride
    Aug 30th 2017, 10:34 AM

@Liam P Lally: they have long passed their expiry date, another incredible waste of money by our government, I think FF were in power when they were sent to every house.

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:21 PM

Maybe Team America was right and he’s just ronery and he’s crying out for attention.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:26 PM

@Barry O’Brien: he used to be bellicose you know. But that was 2016

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:45 PM

Thank God we have a top of the range a missile deflector system in place.Those two army Cessna planes are on standby.Oh,and we have a few lads with rifles too.Ah sure we’re grand.

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:44 PM

@gerry fallon: The problem is, Gerry, you would need pilots to fly those two planes.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:44 PM

Here’s an idea simon, how about worrying about the homeless, suicide, and hospital waiting lists in Ireland you muppet.
    North Korea can wait.

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:47 PM

@Trevor Hayden: but he sorted that by July didn’t he..

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:20 PM

Most worthless and useless headline and statement that was ever written right there!!

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:50 PM

@Nigel O’Neill: ___Why? It’s not unusual for politicians to make pronouncements about other countries’ actions. It provides a mechanism for a country to engage in discussing its national response and indeed, in some cases, actions. Or, perhaps you feel Ireland should not have that right?

Mute Tommy Duke
    Favourite Tommy Duke
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:42 PM

In this same statement he also went full North Korea by encouraging the British government to discard the democratic decisions of the British people to leave the EU.

Mute Roger Clarke
    Favourite Roger Clarke
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:55 PM

The poor thing. He must be very stressed. How about worrying about the lack of housing or something meaning to the country?

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:40 PM

Eh, get your geography right, Journal.ie. The missile crossed Hokkaido and landed in the Pacific Ocean. The Sea of Japan lies between Japan and Korea, or, in other words, off the west coast of Hokkaido. The missile landed off the east coast of Hokkaido, the Pacific Ocean.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 29th 2017, 9:33 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: Jesus who cares? Somewhere near Japan was good enough for me. I never heard of that Ireland sized country before Hokithido before.

Mute TheoWolfe
    Favourite TheoWolfe
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:04 PM

Kim Jong-un must be beside himself knowing Coveney is ‘deeply worried’. Stop the lights!

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Aug 29th 2017, 8:14 PM

@TheoWolfe: There is no room beside him.

Mute Vlad the Impaler
    Favourite Vlad the Impaler
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:31 PM

He was t deeply worried about the housing crisis when absconded over to foreign affairs.

Mute Pól Ling
    Favourite Pól Ling
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:19 PM

I’m sure he’s cacking his jocks whilst mincing about on his holidays…….

Mute Liam P Lally
    Favourite Liam P Lally
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:33 PM

Thank you for the comments, they have given me a great laugh.

Mute John Belton
    Favourite John Belton
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:38 PM

Kim Jong Un should be fearful. The Skibbereen Eagle is watching.

Mute Dave Hogan
    Favourite Dave Hogan
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:29 PM

He must have drawn the short straw when it came to the number of spaces available in the governments nuclear bunker.

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:50 PM

deeply worried = must act and look worried..
    deeply concerned = i’m in for some browny points….

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Aug 29th 2017, 8:06 PM

We’re worried about what Coveney is up to every day, never mind North Korea every few weeks!

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:33 PM

About time that they strap Kim Jong-un to a missile and launch him over the Sea of Japan.

Recklessly dangerous buffoon.

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix
    Aug 29th 2017, 8:58 PM

Does our wonderful government currently have the ability to reach out to the nation via txt message in the event of a national emergency or will the just rely on RTE and dobson ??

Mute Marco Pollo
    Favourite Marco Pollo
    Aug 29th 2017, 5:49 PM

Joe 90 and the sound bites almost as bad as the strutting peacock with children’s socks.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian

Because Kim could give a flying F word about how Coveney feels…….

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk
    Aug 29th 2017, 6:49 PM

Good to see the minister talking a hard line

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Aug 29th 2017, 8:18 PM

KIM WEE SON has not slept all night after he heard minister coffee is deeply concerned .

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Aug 29th 2017, 7:19 PM

Im sure the little fat guy will go straight to the talks table when he reads how worried simple Simon is.

Mute Barry morcom
    Favourite Barry morcom
    Aug 29th 2017, 7:19 PM

What a total total plum!!!

Mute Liam P Lally
    Favourite Liam P Lally

I am sure North Korea is upset. Simon, don’t be so silly.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Aug 29th 2017, 8:17 PM

What’s he deeply worried about. Not being leader of FG might be justified but North Korea

Aug 29th 2017, 6:41 PM

Idiot coveney. He’ll probably start blaming it for the Irish housing crisis next!

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 29th 2017, 8:23 PM

Why would Coveney be worried?. He will hardly have to fire any of his missiles at Kim Jon.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Aug 29th 2017, 9:02 PM

The Guy is a embarrassment a complete and utter tool .

Mute Wes O'Toole
    Favourite Wes O'Toole
    Aug 29th 2017, 7:36 PM

LOL..As if Kim Jong Ding Dong would listen to this Clown.Coveney Get back to making a balls of your lame job at home..You fool..!

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    Aug 30th 2017, 12:12 AM

Updated with a completely different story lol!

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Aug 30th 2017, 1:44 AM

OK so. there is only emergency alert written in English and the rest is Japanese! I admire Japan slot but this is a fail! I think 90% of the safe people are going to be Japanese and I can see why!

Mute Cram Wood
    Favourite Cram Wood
    Aug 30th 2017, 7:06 AM

Simon friken Coveny.
    Who the flip is he to skutter on?
    North Korea must be shaking in their boots now that Coveny had said it’s unacceptable.
    Our idiot politicians need to keep the gob shut.