You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Poll: Have you signed up to Threads?

Threads is a spin-off of the Instagram photo app and is intended to be a rival to X, formerly known as Twitter.

THREADS, THE TEXT-based social media app launched in July by Facebook owner Meta, has been available in Ireland since mid-December

Threads is a spin-off of the Instagram photo app and is intended to be a rival to X, formerly known as Twitter.

The app launched in July and had 10 million sign-ups in the first few hours, mostly due to its close proximity to Instagram.

This offered the new app a built-in audience of more than two billion users, thereby sparing the new platform the challenge of starting from scratch.

However, its release in Europe was delayed over data privacy concerns.

So, today we want to know… Have you signed up to Threads?

Poll Results:

No and I don't plan to (6417)
No, but I will at some stage (899)
Yes (712)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

36 Comments
    Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 25th 2016, 10:53 PM

Who would do this to an elderly man? What kind of man would have so little regard for authority that he would usurp said authority? And believe there would be no consequences?

Mar 25th 2016, 11:01 PM

A toe rag without a conscience !

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:22 PM

Alright sis?

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:27 PM

All good , bro . You ?

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:32 PM

Yeah fantastic! Remember our “chat” about swimming? My 9 year old is now no. 1 national….guess who is the proudest old man in ireland?

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:35 PM
    Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:40 PM

Bigus….hilarious!!!!

Mar 25th 2016, 11:41 PM

Wow I bet you are , that’s fantastic news . a great achievement for your child . onwards and upwards !

Mar 25th 2016, 11:46 PM

So funny !

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:50 PM

Very good Bigus!

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:57 PM

Sis..i just bask in the reflected..or vicarious..glow….all ireland at 9…

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:06 AM

God that’s so creepy.

Mar 26th 2016, 12:08 AM

This is weird. A lot of messing goes on here.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:11 AM

Richard…1st time ever u are hilarious!

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:12 AM

It’s the same account Jamie,there are a small number of far-right white supremacists operating multiple Twitter & Facebook accounts to give the impression there’s a consensus to their sad little views,it’s sociopathic behaviour,very odd.

Mar 26th 2016, 12:18 AM

Bask away , you’ve every right to . I hope you 9 year old is getting spoilt …deserves it !

Mar 26th 2016, 12:21 AM

Lots of odd balls frequent this place. It is what it is I suppose.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:22 AM

Jamie…read back….its not all about getting at you…sometimes..it is what it seems – innocent and harmless.

Mar 26th 2016, 12:26 AM

Richard, I can assure it’s not the same account .

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:30 AM

That’s that settled then! Lol

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:37 AM

Suzie…oh i bask! Shes lethal! And yes…i spoil her….love her..but her ma does the driving cos i gotta work…

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:41 AM

Richard…your stock response doesnt cover up your accusations…i gave you an out…

Mar 26th 2016, 12:48 AM

Peter , fair play from the sounds of it you’re going to have many more proud moments like this .

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:56 AM

Sis…if pm is possible/advisable whatever…jeez the crew here are hard core ….

Mar 26th 2016, 1:25 AM

Bro , I agree I agree with you on that one if it’s possible . Too many paranoid heads !

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:42 AM

Ill find a way to give you her name….this is more important than you or i….shes only a baby at 9 ffs…once you google her youll understand….soon sis…night.x.

Mar 26th 2016, 1:58 AM

Bro , I think I already do understand but I will watch out for her .. Regardless of the crap on here , thanks for sharing your little one’s great achievement ..

Mute Barbara Kelly
    Favourite Barbara Kelly
    Mar 26th 2016, 4:43 AM

Not a dating site , totally irrelevant thread between u and suzie

Mute jfm
    Favourite jfm
    Mar 26th 2016, 7:12 AM

It wasn’t me ‘boss’

Mute Joe Byrne
    Favourite Joe Byrne
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:57 PM

What the hell are ye all talking about. This is a story about a car jacking and an old man being robed. Not a personal chat site

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:09 AM

At the local Identity Crisis Ireland Cumann no doubt!

Mar 26th 2016, 12:10 AM

Maybe yisser the same person?

Mar 26th 2016, 12:11 AM

And this an article about impersonation and all. Gas.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:14 AM

Jamie..its ok..you are funny.normal combat and hostility will resume as soon as possible…

Mar 26th 2016, 12:17 AM

If you have something to say, why not use your real name? What are you afraid of?

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:28 AM

I’d say the pair of them have certain legislation in mind which requires their anonymity.

Mar 26th 2016, 12:29 AM

That was in response to Peter .

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:43 AM

Yes jamie..my name is suzie…you hangin with richard again?

Mar 26th 2016, 12:55 AM

There’s a few others on here that Richard likes to hang out with too ..

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:53 AM

Congratulations to Gardai for fast action & hope elderly man is recovering from his ordeal.

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:40 AM

Journal here has descended into low grade farce

Mute Susan O Connell
    Favourite Susan O Connell
    Mar 26th 2016, 2:49 AM

Sweet mother of god- is anyone awake in the Journal.ie towers? Seriously need to cop on and have someone on alert for the gob****s that impersonate posters on here, should make it a rule that only verified accounts can post comments. Don’t give me bull about privacy etc, stand over your comments or don’t bother posting them!

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Mar 26th 2016, 2:05 AM

Hope they catch him. Impersonating a law enforcement officer is a very serious crime in any country . There will be no suspended sentence after doing that

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Mar 25th 2016, 10:47 PM

So how do you impersonate a garda..dress up in appropriate attire.and ask is this your vehicle.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:00 PM

Just use words like VEEEHICLE, GOWS, SCROTS etc eec

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:41 PM

Bigus….more hilarious!!!

Mar 26th 2016, 12:14 AM

It’s actually quite a serious offence.

Mar 26th 2016, 2:07 AM

Ah you’re just an anonymous empty vessel making too much noise. Larissa called you out weeks ago.

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Mar 26th 2016, 7:35 PM

You don’t have to do anything special to impersonate a Gard. Was walking home from a house party with some mates one night years ago, stopped as we passed through a car park to admire some really well done graffiti. Car pulls up, two lads get out, come over and ask us for ID. Never even identified themselves as Gards. We were all complying, til one of my mates asked to see THEIR ID.

We’re not educated enough in this country about what rights we have with regards interactions with the Gards. The mentality of “Yes Gard, no Gard, three bags full Gard” means this poor lad just did what we’ve been conditioned to do.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:21 AM

Commas rarely, make stuff unfunny.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Mar 25th 2016, 11:38 PM

This wouldn’t have happened if the pubs were open today. Fact.

Mute Kev Barnes
    Favourite Kev Barnes
    Mar 25th 2016, 10:55 PM

Now here’s a guy that’s going places

Mute Jaune Fujisawa
    Favourite Jaune Fujisawa
    Mar 26th 2016, 7:36 AM

I got our potatoes sown before the bad weather arrived. Care to way in….

Mute Paul McCabe
    Favourite Paul McCabe
    Mar 26th 2016, 4:49 PM

It is very serious to impersonate a Guard, the judge should throw the book at these low life’s. I expect nothing less than 10 years, lets see how it plays out….

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:53 AM

Jeez lads…such hostility and suspicion toward a good news story about a child between two upstanding regular posters….you should all be ashamed…read back if in doubt that im correct…

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:13 AM

Ah sis that was unbelievable….is there any secure way i can enable you to google her?the posters here are monsters despite being invited to re read our innocent posts…

Mar 26th 2016, 1:38 AM

Do you remember that other chap that we used to talk to on here ? I think he’s on Facebook ….

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:44 AM

Who?

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:45 AM

Im not on facebook…

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Mar 26th 2016, 8:52 AM

Is the surname F…t.r innocently constructed?

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Mar 26th 2016, 2:05 PM

This happened a woman in Wexford too you don’t know if they are genuine guards or not