This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Friday 13 December, 2019

Poll: Who do you want to be the next President of Ireland?

Of the seven candidates in contention for the presidency, which would you choose if you had to cast your vote today?

Image: AP Photo/Peter Morrison/PA Images

THE CAMPAIGNS OF the seven men and women who are hoping to be the next President of Ireland continue with the election now in full swing.

The latest Ipsos/MRBI and Red C opinion polls show Labour’s Michael D Higgins remaining out in front with 23 per cent and 25 per cent respectively, while both polls registered a drop in support for Senator David Norris.

Meanwhile Sinn Féin-nominated Martin McGuinness polled third in both. The polls also suggested that independent candidate Seán Gallagher has gained ground, with the Ipsos/MRBI poll placing him second behind Higgins and ahead of McGuinness.

The Red C poll showed drops in support for each of Gay Mitchell, Dana and Mary Davis. The slightly earlier Ipsos/MRBI poll showed Mary Davis as unchanged at 12 per cent of support, while Mitchell fell from 12 to 9 per cent and Dana came seventh on 6 per cent.

With just 16 days left until polling on 27 October, we’re asking which of the candidates would have your vote, if you were to vote today?

Poll Results:

Seán Gallagher, independent (3289)
Martin McGuinness, Sinn Féin (2484)
Dana Rosemary Scallon, independent (1485)
Michael D Higgins, Labour (1452)
David Norris, independent (1198)
Gay Mitchell, Fine Gael (854)
None of the above (329)
I don't know yet (271)
Mary Davis, independent (239)

#Áras11 diary: Where the candidates will be today >

In full:’s full coverage of the Race for the Áras >

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel