You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Aleksandar Karanov

Covid-19: Pubs permitted to impose one-metre distance in some cases, new guidance says

Fáilte Ireland has this evening published guidelines for the reopening of pubs.

LAST UPDATE | 17 Jun 2020

PUBS MAY BE permitted to impose one-metre social distancing in some cases if a two-metre distance is not possible, new guidance says.

As pubs prepare to reopen on 29 June, a final report by Fáilte Ireland has confirmed that where two-metre physical distancing is not possible, businesses will be permitted to implement one-metre distancing in controlled environments provided other risk mitigation requirements have been met and pre-booked time slots are in place.

“Customers must be advised to stand at least two metres away from other groups of people who are not from the same household, at all times,” the guidelines say. 

“In a controlled environment, such as pubs, bars, gastropubs, restaurants and cafes, physical distancing of at least two metres is required, unless the requirements outlined [in the document] have been met, in which case a minimum of one-metre is sufficient.”

It also outlines that as far as reasonably possible, a distance of two metres and a minimum of one metre should be maintained between employees. Where two metres is not possible, all other measures to protect employees should be in place. 

Tables, seating and couches in public areas and other physical layouts must be rearranged to ensure appropriate distancing. 

Businesses will be required to use floor markings inside the premises to facilitate compliance with the physical distancing advice of two metres, particularly in the most crowded areas. 

A designated employee should be stationed at front of house to control physical distancing measures, the guidelines say. 

“It is the responsibility of supervisors and managers to ensure that customers do not congregate in groups. Customers should be seated at a table except when using the toilet, paying and departing.”

The guidelines also confirm that pubs will be expected to serve “substantial meals” that cost at least €9.

This €9 requirement will only be in place for three weeks until 20 July, when pubs that don’t serve food are allowed reopen. 

The tourism body made it clear today the €9 spending guideline is based on the 1962 Intoxicating Liquor, that states a “substantial” plate of food is one which you’d expect to be served as a main midday or evening meal. 

Fáilte Ireland based the measures on draft guidance from the Health Protection Surveillance Centre (HPSC) to safely reopen the sector. 

Other guidelines

Fáilte Ireland said that over the past 24 hours it has engaged in intensive discussions with officials from the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport following guidance from the HPSC to ensure some of its concerns, and that of the industry, were addressed. 

The tourism advocated on behalf of the industry for the following changes, which have now been accepted by the HPSC:

• Seating time has changed from 90 minutes to 105 minutes with an additional 15 minutes between bookings (2 hours in total). The 15 minutes has been added to allow for adequate cleaning and to ensure customers leave and enter without mixing.
  • Businesses will now be required to collect the contact information of just the party lead. Previously, the original HPSC guidance stated that this should be collected for the full group. Details must be securely retained for one month.

It is outlined that the frequency of cleaning and disinfection of public spaces and communal areas must be increased to at least twice daily. 

Particular attention must be paid to frequently touched surfaces, which must be visibly clean at all times. These include counters, door handles, public bathrooms, stair handrails, dining surfaces and seating areas. 

The back of house must also be cleaned and disinfected at least twice daily. 

The guidelines outline that self-service carvery/buffets must only be provided where physical distancing and other public health advice can be followed. 

A document containing further information and the full guidelines can be found here

The guidelines, which will be circulated to publicans, give clarity on how pubs can reopen at the end of this month.  

With reporting by Christina Finn

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

101 Comments
    Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:05 PM

I give up

Mute JMcK
    Favourite JMcK
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:15 PM

@Maurice O Neill: good!

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:22 PM

@JMcK: change your name to behind the cushions.

Mute Robaird O Raighne
    Favourite Robaird O Raighne
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:38 PM

@Maurice O Neill: this is what happens when you let academics make rules along with public health doctors who are inherently anti alcohol. It is completely ridiculous. 105 minutes with a starter in pub A, then onto pub b for a mains and another 105 minutes. Then pub c for the dessert amd another 105 minutes. Can some sense please be restored in this country. .

Mute Yurt
    Favourite Yurt
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:01 AM

@Robaird O Raighne: anti alcohol???

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Jun 18th 2020, 1:42 AM

@Robaird O Raighne: sounds like a plan

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:06 PM

It’s gone beyond a joke now. 2 meters or not if you can’t do it. €9 food. A time limit for drunk people of 90 minutes. The shots being called by Failte Ireland. It’s all over the place.

Mute Goldie Locks
    Favourite Goldie Locks
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:11 PM

@Patrick Agnew: the reality of actually making people move on after 90mins… ‘sorry, I’m not moving I’ve just bought a pint/glass of wine’. Unworkable, imo.

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:12 PM

@Patrick Agnew: the shots, that cracked me up.

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:13 PM

@Goldie Locks: it’ll work fine in most places – you’ll be told when you book that the table will be needed again 90 mins later – just as busy places that do 2-3 sittings already do – it’s nothing new.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew

@Goldie Locks: exactly. To say nothing of a publican ordering his loyal customers who he depends on for a living out of the premises.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew

@Pius Flynn: never twigged that pious :-D

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:17 PM

@Goldie Locks: It works in restaurants . And it’s only for 3 weeks.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:19 PM

@Goldie Locks: It works fine in restaurants and it’s only for 3 weeks. Hardly unworkable. Might be unviable for some pubs. For 3 weeks.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:55 PM

@Patrick Agnew: Since When did Failte Ireland get to decide such important issues impacting the country ? At best they are a marketing agency – They have no mandate ( or clue ) about taking important decisions on issues like this – looks like they are making it up as they go along – how about they lobby the Govt to slash VAT Excise and Taxes on alcohol and food so Irish people can enjoy socialising this summer after the past few months of sacrifices #allinthistogether ????

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:27 PM

@Patrick Agnew: The 90 minute rule is ridiculous as according to the experts you can catch Corona Virus if you spent 15 minutes near someone who has it ! I don’t understand the reasoning behind it

Mute Brian Kenny
    Favourite Brian Kenny
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:33 AM

@Patrick Agnew: The idea of these pubs to be let open 3 weeks earlier than the rest was for food purposes.

Mute mickfish
    Favourite mickfish
    Jun 18th 2020, 1:19 AM

@Dave Hammond: in other news– turkeys to advise government on sustainable eating habits over the festive season

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Eileen O'Sullivan
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:42 AM

@Dara O’Brien: and time to clean betweem sittings.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Jun 18th 2020, 8:41 AM

@Mary Mc Carthy: The 15 mins is as made up as the 90 mins. If there are viral particles in the air you would contract it within the time taken for a few breaths. Its about risk management.

Mute Hundredth Idiot
    Favourite Hundredth Idiot
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:07 PM

Meanwhile, NZ is beating itself up over letting two unknowingly infected Brits out of quarantine on compassionate grounds. Countdown to second wave….

Mute Geraldine Altamirano
    Favourite Geraldine Altamirano

If I could give you 1,000 thumbs up I would

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien

@Hundredth Idiot: second part of your name is apt. Change the first part to panicky and you’ve nailed it.

Mute JMcK
    Favourite JMcK
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:16 PM

@Hundredth Idiot: sounds like you will be disappointed if it doesn’t happen

Mute Marie Tully
    Favourite Marie Tully
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:59 AM

@Hundredth Idiot: actually they were two New Zealand citizens returning to see a dying relative

Mute Matthew Delaney
    Favourite Matthew Delaney
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:10 PM

But you MUST spend €9 because if you only spend €8.99, you will 100% catch the corona. If you spend 9, you’ll definitely be okay.

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly

@Matthew Delaney: have to apply a start point somewhere. If you stand 1.99 metres apart, you won’t definitely catch the virus either but here we are.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:05 PM

I don’t see pubs going through the expense and red tape of opening for food, unless they intend to make it a long term venture. Social distancing in pubs is going to be a big ask, in terms of compliance and enforcement.

Mute r-k
    Favourite r-k
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:09 PM

@Logan Shepherd: I agree. Pubs are open fully or not. I don’t know how they can make money with those ridiculous rules

Mute JDel
    Favourite JDel

@Logan Shepherd: what expense and red tape? They already have all the facilities and red tape sorted, as they would have been set-up prior to covid19.
    If not, they’ll just open in July like all the other pubs.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:14 PM

Exactly what I said. Thanks for the confirmation.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:21 PM

@r-k: the publicans have been moaning for donkeys years, never happy. What about all the years they’ve made massive profits.

Mute Andrew Behan
    Favourite Andrew Behan

I think they just realised that there is a 15 min break at half time. 90 mins would mean they would miss the end of the match. Will they have an allowance for penalties?

Mute Alex Flynn
    Favourite Alex Flynn
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:27 PM

@Andrew Behan: Better hope there is no injury time

Mute Declan Leonard
    Favourite Declan Leonard
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:33 PM

@Andrew Behan: there’s no penalties after extra time in hurling. Ah feck,thats cancelled too

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:35 PM

@Andrew Behan: good point

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:50 PM

@Andrew Behan: what about Extra time and PKs

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:44 PM

@Andrew Behan: ah ya can imagine a bunch of bureaucrats sitting in meeting rooms clueless about sport – clueless about business – graduated in ‘international marketing’ arguing about how best to implement reopening Irelands economy – I despair sometimes – how is places like Italy had 800 people dying a day and have managed to reopen without drama and we are increasingly looking like a cross between the Nazi Party and a Nanny State on steroids – this is complete horseshite. #allinthistogether – well that didn’t last long.

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:45 AM

@Dave Hammond: the virus will flare up in pubs and it’s mighty infectious. it’s about who you might pass it on to.

Mute Lochlainn Marcus
    Favourite Lochlainn Marcus

Making it up as they go along!!

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly

@Lochlainn Marcus: literally every single rule has been made up as we went along. That’s what you do with rules.

Mute vanc
    Favourite vanc
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:24 PM

@Fergal Kelly: usually there is a foundation of logic to a rule. Seems that was left at home that day. 9 e is not going to prevent you for covid lol.

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:28 PM

@vanc: €9 is what the current legislation says. It may have been ‘made up’ but if it was, it was made up by the legislature in 1962.

Mute Ciarān
    Favourite Ciarān
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:44 PM

@vanc: Nobody ever said a 9 euro meal would prevent a person from getting Covid. The logic is that pubs that wish to open as restaurants must be ones where people will go in and sit for a proper meal. Rather than the local boozer selling toastees where everyone is just there to go on the lash and therefore social distancing will be harder

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:47 AM

@Ciarān: hear hear.

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn

Tis like an episode of Father Ted. It’s been hard to take em serious for a while but it’s surely become a joke now.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:20 PM

@James Quinn: Why?

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell

What kind of grade a muppets have allowed dictate these measures and come up with these ideas…….seems like no matter what circus we have the clowns all act the same in this country

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:20 PM

@Michael Patrick Newell: What’s your suggestion?

Mute Yurt
    Favourite Yurt
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:06 AM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: doesn’t have one.

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:00 AM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: How about looking at it logically instead of coming up with ideas that look great on paper, but if you actually put them in practice will be completely unworkable……..doesn’t take an overpaid genius to think imposing x and y amount of times allowed in pubs and restaurants will work…….

Mute Jim O Brien Tech
    Favourite Jim O Brien Tech

The left-hand doesn’t know what then right is doing. Simple as

Mute Paul Howlin
    Favourite Paul Howlin

Booking a time slot in the pub hahaha ffs

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:27 PM

This makes a mockery of everyone else who adheres to social distancing. Pure paddy whackery for pubs of all things to get the exception.

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:40 AM

@Rochelle: after thousands ignored social distancing to attend an unnecessary protest all solidarity was lost with those that were making sacrifices for the greater good. There is no putting the genie back in the bottle now, the anarchist left made the bed now the country has to sleep in it

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:25 AM

@Dino: And we’re all dying now from that second wave caused by the protest aren’t we? ….

Mute John kavanagh
    Favourite John kavanagh

Who would have though that in 1962 they foresaw this coming

Mute Richard Griffin
    Favourite Richard Griffin

If i book a time slot, someone else in the group books a slot and then another, do we have to go outside for 15 mins each time out 105mins are up?

Mute Chris Kiely
    Favourite Chris Kiely
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:18 PM

How many TD’ own are publicans again? We started off so well. Now we are leaving down the people who have made real sacrifices to protect the public and follow the government’s guidelines . Lets face it 1mtr social distancing in a pub = ” sure don’t worry about social distancing it will be grand”

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:43 AM

@Chris Kiely: the solidarity of the people was lost when they saw all those protesters do whatever they wanted a couple of weeks ago. If they can do whatever they want with no reproach or repercussions then why should everyone else be allowed do what they want? The vulnerable in society will just have to self isolate due to the selfishness of the protesters.

Mute vanc
    Favourite vanc
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:19 PM

Absolute joke… all bets are off folks. I give up on mixed messaging and differing rules for different industries.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:39 PM

No odds to me. Will be staying out of them.

Mute David Smith
    Favourite David Smith
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:36 PM

God bless the people who came up with that one. Please just go 1 meter and be done with it. Business are dying. And economy disintegrating open up everything and people will be careful they are aware now.

Mute Gareth Keenan
    Favourite Gareth Keenan

Just call it all off

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:46 AM

@Gareth Keenan: you sign a waiver as you do on the web.

Mute Paul Horgan
    Favourite Paul Horgan

Data protection anyone ?

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell

@Paul Horgan: no thanks. I’ve just had one.

Mute Lisa Hayes
    Favourite Lisa Hayes
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:11 PM

@Brian Farrell: ha ha feckin brilliant, comments like that are the reason I come here

Mute Michael harte
    Favourite Michael harte
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:37 PM

I said it only the other day. It will be lock ins by the end of the month

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:44 AM

@Michael harte: hopefully

Mute The Red Devil
    Favourite The Red Devil
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:38 PM

None of this is enforceable

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:45 PM

Wont work.. should all wait till July 20th

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:55 PM

@Paul Somers: and most will. Not all publicans are Muppets and they do care about their staff’s health and their reputations. Grogans for example have already said see you on the 20th July.. the moron brigade on here don’t represent the sane intelligent people of ireland

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:44 PM

@David Clements: Totaĺy Agreemy local arenotonly thinking of the safety aspect of their staff ” but also their patrons.. people need to feel safe whilst having a drink or meal and not be looking at their Watch
    .its totally Ludicrous… Blind leading the Blind.

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack

What’s the situation with Coppers?

Mute Ciarān
    Favourite Ciarān
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:47 PM

@Caddyshack: Yoi have to book your slot but you’re only allowed in for 90 minutes and you have to stand in the one spot. No shiftin either

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:52 PM

@Caddyshack: a 90 minute shift in coppers is about 85 minutes too long

Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:58 PM

@Caddyshack: they get as long as they want and get the odd free pint once they turn a blind eye to the ashtrays…..at least that’s the way it always was round these parts with them

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:21 PM

@David Clements: yes always best to make the move with 5 minutes to go

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:51 PM

It’s being rushed because alot of pubs are back operating delivery/pickup and selling drink. With a full staff making cocktails/cooking/delivering/admin, all while they’re claiming the covid relief money.

The pubs are taking it in with free labour

Mute Rebecca O'Farrell
    Favourite Rebecca O'Farrell

What a joke. Is it one meter for every thing now. I think the hotel federation should of stuck to the 2 meter rule.

Mute Paul Byrne
    Favourite Paul Byrne

It shows we bring by muppet

Mute Geraldine Altamirano
    Favourite Geraldine Altamirano
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:18 PM

They better put the music/tv down or there will be a torrent of laryngitis

Mute Paul Ruschitzko
    Favourite Paul Ruschitzko
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:24 PM

What a load of bollox

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:51 PM

It’s being rushed because alot of pubs are back operating delivery/pickup and selling drink. With a full staff making cocktails/cooking/delivering/admin, all while they’re claiming the covid relief money.

The pubs are taking it in with free labour.

Mute Joe Price
    Favourite Joe Price
    Jun 17th 2020, 10:56 PM

Oh I can see it happening already.
    On entering the pub …
    Put me down for the house special in an hour,no rush but pour me a pint or 2 or 3.
    After an hour I’m full and regretfully tell the bar person I’m not able for any grub.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:49 PM

@Joe Price: they are askin for a whole bunch of challenges. – so much of this is completely unnecessary – look at how Germany / Italy. etc are managing – Its embarassing how Father Ted the whole mis management of this ‘crisis’ has become.

Mute Danny O' Mahony
    Favourite Danny O' Mahony
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:40 PM

A ‘controlled’ environment such as a pub
    Have these lads ever gone for a pint in North Kerry?

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Jun 18th 2020, 1:50 AM

@Danny O’ Mahony: these lads obviously didn’t. The last lads did though, and haven’t been seen since.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh

The kite flew. She shiite flew. The rules flew. The UN believable reach of FG

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 17th 2020, 11:10 PM

Load of nonsense, plus you can only stay in pub 205 minutes, what about the staff. And they want children to go in for 7 hrs a day in a packed classroom.

Mute Majella Moloney Ahern
    Favourite Majella Moloney Ahern

So 90 minutes eat drink and get
    Iut… smh

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:31 AM

Love a pint and miss the pub. In saying that the restrictions that will be in place are unworkable. My local is a bit bigger than a sardine can, probably will never open again. Not a fan of drinking at home, but price wise no contest. Having a meal and a few pints ..90 minutes…I love a pint , but not that much. No matter what restrictions are in place it will be a personal choice, but this virus will not just disappear.

Mute Brian Kenny
    Favourite Brian Kenny
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:35 AM

@Donal Desmond: Donal these guidelines are for food pubs only,this will change for phase 4 july 20th.
    Remember originally it was August 10th for Bars.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jun 18th 2020, 12:47 AM

@Brian Kenny: That’s my point.. Personally wouldn’t go for a meal just to get a pint, It’s the situation in local pubs when they reopen. Thing are certainly going to change, local bars have been dying for the last few years, This will be the death knell for a lot of them.

Mute Ger Murray
    Favourite Ger Murray

This will no doubt be “used” to sell plenty alcohol, group lead only contactable trace,does that mean they buy the €9 “Substantial” meal !

Mute Susan O'flaherty
    Favourite Susan O'flaherty
    Jun 18th 2020, 7:46 AM

So we can only go to a pub for a meal with family. so still can’t need friends in a pub. is this the same in a restaurant.

Mute DukeZacharyV
    Favourite DukeZacharyV
    Jun 18th 2020, 1:13 PM

This is one of those articles that will not age well.

Mute Jerry Siakasiya
    Favourite Jerry Siakasiya
    Jun 18th 2020, 2:12 PM

Making it up as we go along. #flattenthecurve is gone, more to do to maintain the semblance of a pandemic this SUMMER time till autumn/winter comes around.
    Will it be in anyones interest if this one dissipates as did sars/h1n1/mers?

Mute Sara Davis
    Favourite Sara Davis
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:39 AM

Are they going to call this new nonsensical regulation “The Roadmap for a Pub Crawl”? After their 105 minutes is up they can just move on to the next pub. And if 1m is fine in a pub for 105 minutes then will they be changing the definition of a close contact which is still being within 2m for 15 minutes?

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Jun 18th 2020, 7:03 AM

Imagine the barge pub Dublin, the crowds who sit along the banks drinking, that’s gonna be a tough call