You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Quiz: Which actor is playing the role of Santa here?

Many actors have donned the big red suit, but how well do you remember them?

WELL, WE ALL have a favourite Christmas movie, and with the exception of just a few, most festive films feature the main man himself – Santa. 

With that in mind, we thought we’d take a look back at some classic Christmas films. 

How well do you remember the actors?

Let’s find out…

Who voices Santa in the Polar Express?
YouTube
Tim Allen
Robert Downey Jr

Tom Hanks
Hugh Jackman
It's 1947's Miracle on 34th Street - who plays the role of Santa?
Movieclips/YouTube
Edmund Gwenn
Humphrey Bogart

Gregory Peck
John Payne
And this is the 1994 version - who plays Santa here?
TheTrailersPark/YouTube
Sam Neill
Richard Attenborough

Ian McKellen
Robert Duvall
Who plays this smiley Santa?
Netflix/YouTube
Daniel Day-Lewis
Gary Oldman

Kurt Russell
Bill Murray
Which actor played Santa in Elf?
Alec Baldwin
James Caan

Bryan Cranston
Ed Asner
Who voices Santa in Arthur Christmas?
Sony/YouTube
Robert De Niro
Jim Broadbent

Jude Law
Harrison Ford
Who plays this Santa?
Movieclips/YouTube
Paul Giamatti
Russell Crowe

Jeff Bridges
Tim Allen
And who plays this one?
Movieclips Classic Trailers/YouTube
John Goodman
Hugh Laurie

Liam Neeson
Leslie Nielsen
It was a Nightmare Before Christmas for this Santa, but who was it?
Ed Ivory
Isaac Hayes

John Travolta
James Earl Jones
Who is this famous face?
Tom Hanks
Tim Allen
Answer all the questions to see your result!
You scored out of !
Top Dog
Pawsitively perfect
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Clever Cat!
Almost purrfect
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Fintastic
Flippin good
Share your result:
You scored out of !
What are ewe doing?!
Baaaaaaad.
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Turtley Awful!
Shell of a bad effort.
Share your result:

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

18 Comments
    Mute John Hally
    Favourite John Hally
    May 10th 2024, 5:02 PM

Of course it’s a election stunt, What else is it

Mute philip kelly
    Favourite philip kelly
    May 10th 2024, 5:18 PM

That’s just about right he and fgff had years to put the problem of limerick hospital back on its feet by reopening the hospital in Nenagh and Ennnis back

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    May 10th 2024, 5:36 PM

Once re elected I will instruct the department to look into setting up a body to review and overhaul the departments, putting forward recommendations for consideration and tender costings by the department in early 2029. The End.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    May 10th 2024, 5:37 PM

How can anyone believe anything that comes out of a ffg politicians mouth . The problems with the A&E of limerick regional ,have been making national news for years ,

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    May 10th 2024, 9:05 PM

@Robert Halvey: Thanks to FF don’t forget the tipperary step dancer was a member of
    FF when they closed the A&E at nenagh & ennis.

Mute Grainne Kelly
    Favourite Grainne Kelly
    May 10th 2024, 4:53 PM

Useless Ineffective Donnelly…bye bye in next General Election

Mute Alexa Reborn
    Favourite Alexa Reborn
    May 10th 2024, 6:03 PM

Please give the voting public a chance to review your performance by calling an election.

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    May 10th 2024, 4:59 PM

I tell ye he needs to make sweeping changes. He is not capable though.

Mute well done to all the rescue teams
    Favourite well done to all the rescue teams
    May 10th 2024, 5:57 PM

I have said this numerous times – UHL A and E Dept continues to be a fire hazard as the corridors remain blocked with Trollies with incapicated people on them…where is the fire inspectors?
    is there something fire certificate?
    who passed this as a safe area?

Mute Tom D
    Favourite Tom D
    May 10th 2024, 6:09 PM

@well done to all the rescue teams: if a private hospital or any private business were run like the HSE, it would have been closed down years ago. The public sector, though, is exempt from their own rules. The public sector unions and the PS top brass are the real power in this country, not the politicians.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    May 11th 2024, 11:20 AM

@well done to all the rescue teams: Not even a safe working environment for staff, somebody is turning a blind eye

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    May 10th 2024, 5:33 PM

Another load of waffle from the most inept Health minister in history…..the lad whos only ever gonna be remembered for jumping ship to FF and having an unhealthy fetish about banning trampolines

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    May 10th 2024, 5:53 PM

@Tom Newell: That would have been Harney. She centralised everything like a manufacturing organisation, and he we are.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    May 10th 2024, 5:58 PM

@did you every wonder: Forgot about her, an evik piece of work she was as minister

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    May 10th 2024, 6:01 PM

@did you every wonder: Don’t forget to mention Michael Martin inthis matter.

Mute Tom D
    Favourite Tom D
    May 10th 2024, 6:03 PM

@did you every wonder: that’s what people actually wanted. The complaint was that the old health boards were a “post code lottery” and corrupt and inefficient. The bit they missed was that the ineffiency and waste was caused by the public sector unions and they only gained more power when the HSE was set up. Same is happening now with the slaintecare fiasco that all parties have supported.

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    May 10th 2024, 6:00 PM

For years things are going wrong in some hospitals around Ireland and now he is saying that his interfering it is not an election stunt?
    Hard to believe. I suppose that just before the next elections all the lowering of taxes and announcements of more housing etc are not election stunts either.

Mute Michael Cummins
    Favourite Michael Cummins
    May 10th 2024, 6:36 PM

He pops his head up to make his monthly statement . He’s not worth the ink on the ballot paper.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    May 10th 2024, 7:38 PM

“He said that he has asked HIQA to carry out a review of emergency care capacity in the Midwest of the country to see whether a second ED is needed alongside the one in UHL, but when pressed by the media on what the timeline for this review will be, he couldn’t give any firm answers.

The Minister said he is awaiting the findings of Chief Justice Frank Clarke, who is investigating why a plan to alleviate pressure on the UHL emergency department was never activated…

After he receives this report, the terms of reference for HIQA’s review will be finalised.”

These are two entirely different things.

HIQA need to carry out its review as a matter of urgency, before someone else dies.

That UCL did not carry out its plans also needs investigation, but this is a separate matter, and one that should be investigated by the Guards as well, as it has led to death.

Unless and until HSE management are held accountable for the performance of that organisation the shambles of a health service will continue.

Mute Goo Eyes Delaney
    Favourite Goo Eyes Delaney
    May 10th 2024, 7:20 PM

He should borrow some of Norma Foley’s fringe

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    May 10th 2024, 9:08 PM

@Goo Eyes Delaney: Mac Smile comes to mind.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    May 10th 2024, 6:29 PM

I hate to say it, but more pressure is needed, is a strike needed to wake up this government

Mute mark sheehan
    Favourite mark sheehan
    May 10th 2024, 5:51 PM

No review needed, it’s an immediate plan of action that is required. A fool could tell you that .

Mute Dublin Doll
    Favourite Dublin Doll
    May 10th 2024, 9:49 PM

Forget the election. This young woman died apparently due to serious failures in managing her case. Surely a review would be compulsory after such an incident? And given the number of other serious incidents that have occurred, the general dissatisfaction with the services and the calls from many many people including opposition politicians for a general review why call it an election stunt? Its the right thing to do. End of.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    May 10th 2024, 7:18 PM

Looks like a bleedin alien.

Mute William O leary
    Favourite William O leary
    May 10th 2024, 11:09 PM

yet another incompetent minister that’s costing lives ..pandering to unions and incapable of making a decision ..nothing new about that

Mute Goo Eyes Delaney
    Favourite Goo Eyes Delaney
    May 10th 2024, 4:54 PM

He’s doing his best

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    May 10th 2024, 5:09 PM

@Goo Eyes Delaney: …impersonation of a Minister of Health.
    Out, out, out!

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    May 10th 2024, 5:34 PM

@Goo Eyes Delaney: no hes really not

Mute Marie Power
    Favourite Marie Power
    May 11th 2024, 2:30 AM

‘Minister’ you say. Interesting.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    May 10th 2024, 7:53 PM

Disgusting how the opposition are using the death of a young lady to further their anti Govt propaganda

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    May 10th 2024, 8:14 PM

@Pat Hazzard: What’s disgusting is the death of that young lady.

Which cannot be laid at the door of the opposition.

But which can be laid at the door of FFGG

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    May 11th 2024, 11:18 AM

An Election stunt, Donnelly, Watt & Gloster are dome of the highest paid in our Civil Service with the largest health budget in Europe per capital & they are running an absolute shootshow, in the private world they would be fired, in Ireland they are rewarded & the press lap up everything they say. Donnelly is an incompetent Minister of epic proportions

Mute Pat Clancy
    Favourite Pat Clancy
    May 11th 2024, 12:30 PM

How many elderly men and women have died in UL Limerick in the last 10 years and nothing done about it . It took a 16 year old to die to highlight the problems in that Hospital. It’s always a war zone in there

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Favourite gordon o loughlin
    May 11th 2024, 7:37 PM

Fianna fail closed ennis Generals A and E. It’s been 15 years of horror stories since.
    In the wake of aoife Johnsons death which is only one story, everyone has ran for the hills.
    These same fianna fail politicians are now playing the chief mourners calling for a reversing of their actions. It’s like a burglar asking for alarms to be installed after they robbed the house.
    It’s discusting and they should be ashamed to canvas at any door in the Midwest. Discusting