You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Quiz: How well do you know Ireland's new Cabinet?

Ireland’s government was finally formed on Thursday.

ON THURSDAY, MICHEÁL Martin was once again appointed Taoiseach of Ireland – almost two months after the general election was held in November.

Ireland’s fifteen ministers are joined by four super-junior ministers who will also be forming part of Cabinet. 

Many of these ministers will be familiar faces, but some you may be less acquaintanced with – see how well you know the new Cabinet.

What is Peter Burke's ministry?
Public Expenditure, Infrastructure, Public Service Reform and Digitalisation
Enterprise, Tourism and Employment

Arts, Media, Communications, Culture and Sport
Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science
Simon Harris is now Tánaiste - but he is also responsible for which of these?
Alamy
Education and Youth
Health

Finance
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Defence
Jack Chambers has taken over which portfolio?
RollingNews.ie
Housing, Local Government and Heritage
Finance

Public Expenditure, Infrastructure, Public Service Reform and Digitalisation
Agriculture, Food and the Marine
Who is this newly appointed senior minister from Fine Gael?
Martin Heydon
Cathal Crowe

Niall Collins
Cormac Devlin
James Lawless has been promoted from junior minister for Transport to minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science. What constituency does he represent?
RollingNews.ie
Kildare North
Dublin Bay South

Galway East
Waterford
Patrick O'Donovan has been appointed Minister for Communications, Arts and Culture. Is he Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael?
Fianna Fáil
Fine Gael
Darragh O'Brien has moved from his previous position as Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage to which new brief?
RollingNews.ie
Children, Disability and Equality
Finance

Justice, Home Affairs and Migration
Transport and the Environment
Which TD landed the role of Minister for Justice, Home Affairs and Migration?
RollingNews.ie
Dara Calleary
RollingNews.ie
Jim O'Callaghan

RollingNews.ie
Colm Burke
RollingNews.ie
Seán Fleming
Fine Gael's Jennifer Carroll MacNeill has been given the Health brief, replacing the felled Stephen Donnelly. What constituency does she represent?
RollingNews.ie
Dublin Central
Dublin Rathdown

Dublin South-Central
Dún Laoghaire
Which of these Ministers of State will NOT be attending Cabinet?
Thomas Byrne
Noel Grealish

Hildegarde Naughton
Seán Canney
Answer all the questions to see your result!
You scored out of !
Micheál Martin
You may as well have appointed Cabinet yourself
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Simon Harris
Tánaiste and to-be Taoiseach (in a few years)
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Share your result:

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 34 comments
34 Comments
    Mute Bobby Neary
    Favourite Bobby Neary
    Oct 1st 2019, 8:38 AM

Wouldn’t be like the government if they didn’t lose money on something that should be easy to manage..

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:06 AM

@Bobby Neary: the govt have investment managers managing this. They will be restricted in what they can invest in so pretty much only govt bonds. With negative rate environment it is to expected that there will be a loss

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:09 AM

@dublindamo: so we back apple. Keep the money safe, it loses 70 million a year, they win their case, we have to pay them back what we lost. Ireland

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:14 AM

@Tommy C: no we only pay back what is left in the pot. The govt is not liable if the fund value decreases

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:26 AM

@dublindamo: I’m sure our government will find a way to pay back what was lost. They hate to see business struggle.

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:19 AM

@Bobby Neary: and the lad who doesn’t have a clue has over 100 likes!
    How would you expect that money to be managed?
    CFDs? Would you put it into futures? Maybe you’d look at shorting some companies? I am really interested to see how you would keep your money safe and generate a return in a negative interest environment? Im

Mute Bobby Neary
    Favourite Bobby Neary
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:13 PM

@joe: no need to be investing it.
    Just place it in a holding account.
    There is zero need to be taking risks with that amount of money..

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:13 PM

@Bobby Neary: That amount of money – in a savings account? With whom? What about concentration risk? Currency risk? Bankruptcy of the deposit taker? Also, you do realize that credit unions are calling deposits at €15k because the banks are charging them negative rates on their corporate deposits?

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:28 PM

@Bobby Neary: @Bobby Neary: that is in the holding account you fool! Negative interest rates! Cash and cash equivalents I.e in the bank!

Mute Simon Demery
    Favourite Simon Demery
    Oct 1st 2019, 2:24 PM

@Bobby Neary: if they stuck it in the hot press or under the mattress, they would have made more!!

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Oct 1st 2019, 8:32 AM

With interest rates at -0.5% this is actually doing well

Mute Corkonian In Dublin
    Favourite Corkonian In Dublin
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:50 AM

@dublindamo: I agree except for the €2million in operating expenses

Mute dstaffx
    Favourite dstaffx
    Oct 1st 2019, 8:50 AM

€2 million in operating expenses. Easy money if you can get it.

Mute Sequoia
    Favourite Sequoia
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:42 AM

@dstaffx:

This I don’t get. Systems are automated with buy/sell triggers at predetermined rates.

There isn’t army minding gold here. The administrative costs are minimal.

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:07 AM

@Sequoia: buying and selling bonds has a cost as do the various taxes, insurances, staff costs, reporting and software systems required to manage a bond fund of that size.

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:07 AM

Sure we don’t have a housing crisis, sure we don’t have a homeless crisis, sure our prisons are not over crowded, sure we don’t have people waiting on trollies in A&E, sure we can wait longer for the childrens hospital to be built, sure we don’t need to put money into education in this country, sure we don’t really need the 14 billion do we? Not sure we don’t . Discracefull government running this country, voted in by the people of this country to keep the poor poor and make the rich even richer!!!!

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:25 AM

@gary mullen: people need to realise if Ireland didn’t appeal this we wouldn’t have had a 14bn windfall to spend. However there would have been significant macro consequences as a result

Mute Cian
    Favourite Cian
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:41 AM

@gary mullen: This needs to be repeated over and over again. That money isnt ours no matter who wins. If we win, it goes back to apple. If we lose it goes to the countries where it should have been paid. If we do lose, the repercussions could cost our economy significantly more than 14 Bn.

Mute Jake
    Favourite Jake
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:31 AM

@Cian: what are the macro consequences – you think apple will leave cork ? where will they go? Why not try something different and see how it goes? See what Ireland stands to gain, no one knows. Tim Cook didn’t come out and say “Lads if that money is collected, we’ll leave Cork”

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Oct 1st 2019, 8:39 AM

Thats like saying €14,000 loses €70. Not exactly a hole in it.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Oct 1st 2019, 8:49 AM

@Euro McPúnty: it shouldn’t be losing any money whatsoever

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:01 AM

@Gerard Heery: how do you figure that when interest rates are negative?

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:08 AM

@Gerard Heery: It has to lose money – deposit rates are negative.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:35 AM

@dublindamo: the money should have but in short term investments and managed it could years before a ruling is made on whether we get the money or not and the legal end that’s years in Ireland ,70 m is alot of money when you ain’t got it

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Oct 1st 2019, 10:05 AM

@Gerard Heery: it’s in fixed interest instruments which is as safe as you can get. Unfortunately, the rates on them are in negative territory as the ECB continues it’s QE programme to try and get inflation up to target.

Yes, an equity based investment would be performing better at the moment but if the market were to drop by 10% overnight (as it did last December) then it would be down a significant amount more.

The money has to be kept as safe as possible and, with the current climate, that’s where it is – just happens that safe havens have a negative return.

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:55 AM

@Dara O’Brien: stop talking sense. It won’t get you likes around here

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:27 PM

@dublindamo: and yet Ireland pays a fortune in interest on its dedt Ireland definitely thrown under a bus

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Oct 1st 2019, 6:29 PM

@Gerard Heery: the ntma recently issued a 10 year bond at negative rates.

Mute Jack McInerney
    Favourite Jack McInerney
    Oct 2nd 2019, 2:42 AM

@Dara O’Brien: They should have stayed clear from Europe in the first place. US Treasury notes and Municipal bonds are still attractive and positive should have kept it in them.

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Oct 2nd 2019, 7:07 AM

@Jack McInerney: and then have additional FX risk from the fluctuations of the Dollar v Euro

Mute DarraghF
    Favourite DarraghF
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:11 AM

History would suggest that If they let our Bankers ‘look after it’, under central bank and government guidance – all 70 billion will be lost to both Apple and the country with the tax payer footing the bill….

Mute Jodi
    Favourite Jodi
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:39 AM

Ah, The Journal Comments – filled with people who know little or nothing about financial markets, but insist on commenting as if they do…

Mute Johnny Rielly
    Favourite Johnny Rielly
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:45 AM

@Jodi: thats right.. because financial people are sooo clever….. i seem to remember the big bang from the celtic tiger… that didnt make them look to clever

Mute Mike McGann
    Favourite Mike McGann
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:36 AM

Only Ireland could manage this

Mute Corkonian In Dublin
    Favourite Corkonian In Dublin
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:50 AM

2 million in operating expenses???? How???

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Oct 1st 2019, 9:58 AM

Ill mind it for free…

Mute Johnny Rielly
    Favourite Johnny Rielly
    Oct 1st 2019, 11:43 AM

Just think what benefit that money would be to the country… more Gardai, improved rural broadband…better pay for frontline staff. etc etc …. but no the Paddies dont want it… we think we are so frikking clever

Mute Paddy J
    Favourite Paddy J
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:54 PM

@Johnny Rielly: Unfortunately that is never going to happen as the money isn’t ours in the first place. It is either Apple’s or it belongs to other countries where the revenues were earned. If Apple loses the case there will be a big queue of counties with the paw out looking for their cut.

Mute Damien Hawe
    Favourite Damien Hawe
    Oct 1st 2019, 1:23 PM

@Johnny Rielly: Do you honestly believe that we would hang onto that money? Because I can pretty much guarantee you that as soon as we keep it the other countries would come looking for their slice of it.

Mute Simon Demery
    Favourite Simon Demery
    Oct 1st 2019, 5:03 PM

In the words of Father Ted.

“THAT MONEY WAS JUST RESTING IN MY ACCOUNT BEFORE I MOVED IT ON”

Mute Den Sullivan
    Favourite Den Sullivan
    Oct 1st 2019, 12:02 PM

If it costs money just to hold money in goverment bonds at negative rates .this never happend in human history . ! Upsidedown world either something is very wroung or central banks have found means turn base metals into gold

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:42 PM

@Den Sullivan: it has happened in economies like Japan in the past. The NTMA recently issued a bond with negative yield

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Oct 1st 2019, 7:34 PM

Corporations don’t pay taxes, their customers do.

Mute Lukevic101
    Favourite Lukevic101
    Oct 2nd 2019, 12:03 AM

Could they not just print a one time 14 billion euro note? And keep it someplace safe, like under a mattress or a jam jar?

Mute Jack McInerney
    Favourite Jack McInerney
    Oct 2nd 2019, 2:19 AM

@Lukevic101: Haha, Doesn’t work that way I’m afraid.

Mute Lukevic101
    Favourite Lukevic101
    Oct 2nd 2019, 10:11 AM

@Jack McInerney: sorry Jack was a poor attempt at humour. Like in the Simpsons with the Trillion Dollar Bill.