You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE VOX POP on the news the other night had the price of groceries, fuel and housing as the election issues occupying most people’s minds, a single older man mentioned the health service.
Reading some recent headlines in our national papers about the ‘grey’ vote and the importance of the pension issue, it does seem it will ‘be the economy stupid’ here in this constituency too, as it was and always will be seemingly in the US. I’d love to think that for our 2024 election, it might be ‘’it’s the hospital’s stupid’ that might be the defining issue of our election. In many respects, it would be a better consideration for the investment of older people and all of us who hope to live any length of time.
One in four of us will have a stroke, one in 10 will break a hip and over half of us will die in a hospital setting. It might be important then to consider what care you might get and what that care will look like. Currently, our public university teaching hospitals are struggling and for many, it will be a traumatic experience, not just because of the illness, but the environment and mechanics of our creaking public teaching hospital system. From my many visits and chats with staff in our hospitals, I see the challenges of our health estates across the country’s teaching hospital system.
The Sláintecare question
The political solution to our health service is Sláintecare, the somewhat hypocritical illusion of a single-tier health service. Cross-party consensus and all that seems grand, until you ask a politician if they will be using their local public teaching hospital for their own healthcare needs, and then the consensus conviction of a single health service for all, begins to look a little shaky and one gets an awkward mumble or averted gaze.
Health for the political classes is conceptualised as a comfortable private tower, far from the madding crowd.
Sláintecare is about hospitals for ‘other people’ or even worse no hospital, as the system leans and lurches on a gamble on what is termed a ‘leftward’ shift (not a political term I hasten to add) into more community-based treatments. This is good and I’m an ardent fan as a geriatrician of people receiving care nearer home or at home, or receiving care in “the right place at the right time” in Sláintecare speak, except the notion that the hospitals are holding inpatients unnecessarily or that we can treat much more of our emergency admissions at home is a fallacy.
To some extent, the recent unprecedented population spurt has exposed our inability to plan and revealed the inadequacy of our hospital system and the dangers of sole reliance on a community care investment strategy. Our acute hospitals have been left by the wayside as if denizons of healthcare, no longer needed in the smart world of ‘left-shift’ community services, innovation funding and AI.
Yes, we need all those facets but we also need an increase in hospital capacity. Stroke, cancer, trauma, cardiac care and pandemics cannot be managed by ‘integrated this’ and ‘enhanced that’ in the community. The current HSE multi-million euro investment in community models without proper structure, leadership or any auditable meaningful outcome measures, other than the often duplicated and at times, even unnecessary, activity, is hardly an alternative compensation for a functioning hospital system.
A model that works?
Our Government has latterly acknowledged our error in not increasing our adult bed capacity which it has been letting wither for the last two decades, despite the repeated warnings from the Irish Medical Organisation, amongst others. At the time of the pandemic, we had over 2,000 fewer beds than we had in the early 90s. The catch-up will take time and likely be a pocketed approach, but let us a least start to acknowledge the precise nature of our healthcare estate problems.
Hospitals, in case anyone had any doubts, are expensive to design, build and maintain. Heath inflation exists in an ‘upward only’ economic environment as technology and public expectation are unidirectional influences on health spending. Rebuilding a functioning public university teaching hospital system will be expensive and will need continuous fiscal nurturing. The Sláintecare ideology of discouraging a ‘public’ hospital from being able to attract a patient’s insurance income, will not only serve to impoverish that system further from the much-needed investment in infrastructure and technology but also embeds the concept that health insurance is not about social solidarity but rather a privilege.
God forbid a person might decide ‘I have health insurance and want to go to a public teaching hospital where I heard the care is excellent and I like the concept of my insurance money going to a “not for profit hospital” to contribute to the care of everyone’. Heaven shirk at any attempt at a competitive well-funded appealing ‘not for profit’ universal health service. We have an excellent and needed private health service, but it should not be better than our public teaching hospital system, where we train our healthcare staff, which it currently is fast becoming if it’s not already there.
Unworkable conditions
At a meeting recently a colleague described his father’s distress in hospital when hearing someone die next to him on a six-bed ward, an experience healthcare staff struggle with every day in our hospital system. Doctors and nurses spend hours worrying about how someone who is dying can be moved to one of the few side rooms they may have at their disposal. A move that should be routine, but complicated by unavailability, to give patients and their families that dignity without frightening the patient with the move into a ‘special’ room, and to afford other patients the solace of not witnessing death live.
I worry about the psychological trauma of the hospital environment on patients, playing bed moves over in my head so we might be able to make an attempt at some individualisation of care and help people feel safe and secure, within the limitations of space and appropriate beds.
It is a sapping emotion for healthcare staff to be ashamed of the environment where they are trying to ‘heal’ people. A patient’s frustration, sleeplessness, fear and anger are often manifest in our hospitals and impede their recovery or worse.
And the HIQA model of oversight is not a system I would be altogether impressed by. A classic example of ‘regulation makes the compliant more compliant’, HIQA seems more often concerned with the banal than the important. When I asked a HIQA inspector once if he had noticed the lack of space to nurse or toilet people on our six-bedded bays with dignity or prevent infection, he commented ‘That’s not on our list’.
But poor hospital environment has broader effects. Time and again we read troubling stories of the fate of patients because of hospital overcrowding, bringing that issue into sharp focus. As a result of continued exposure to such conditions, staff may suffer from a lack of medical rigour or frank disinterest. They are human.
Imagine day after day leaving work with the moral injury of ‘I couldn’t do my best or help that patient get comfortable, feel better, feel safe’ or ‘that was a really de-humanising experience for that poor patient being incontinent, vomiting, acutely confused or dying in full view of everyone’.
The mounting build-up of this psychological injury is the real cause of the phenomenon of ‘burnout’ in healthcare staff and a major reason why so many of our doctors, nurses, and therapists are abroad in Australia and other countries, so much so that we can’t even provide a minimum of cultural context to the care of older people on our wards. The healthcare staff here are excellent from all corners of the world, and we are fortunate to have them, but it’s also rare to see Irish-trained nurses on our wards since it is so difficult to work within the system where they were trained.
Inclusive healthcare
‘A design for older people will include and enable everyone’ to paraphrase the great geriatrician, Bernard Isaacs’ was a call for a non-ageist inclusivity in healthcare and must most critically apply to hospitals. Our public teaching hospitals are old, undersized, poorly designed and not fit for modern healthcare and all that it entails. Our recent experiences with Covid cruelly exposed this.
Our hospitals are not designed for those who most need them, our older age groups, and those most likely to have serious illnesses.
Related Reads
At a glance: Crunch time for candidates as campaign enters final week
FG conceding FF likely to take more seats leaving Martin in position to become next Taoiseach
'Our people are suffering': Kanturk has shown the challenges faced by the disability sector
Instead, our hospitals do not hasten recovery but rather decondition older people with trolleys, endless noisy days under glaring lights, immobilised and made incontinent, ‘sit down’, ‘just go in your pad’. We lose their hearing aids, dentures and phones, disabling people and removing their means of communication. We provide wards without privacy or spaces to discuss the most intimate of things, or to be assessed with dignity. Places without TVs, radios, or any form of aesthetic with no room to mobilise or even toilet to get sick in, in private.
These are not the places of care or sanctuary they should be and we wonder why people get confused, depressed, decline cognitively or physically, fall or get infections and end up needing long-term care. Our hospitals have become a Keatsian place ‘where palsy shakes a few sad last grey hairs, amongst the groan and fret’.
Let’s change this. Let’s have a new social contract for our nation’s healthcare. Let’s state that our University and Teaching Hospital system will:
Have all the necessary modern technology and capacity to treat illness to the best medical standards and have a strategic plan with appropriate professional advisory mechanisms to keep abreast of health technology.
Seek to foster social solidarity, and use and expand the health insurance system we have to invest in a ‘not for profit’ health system for all that choose to use it, rather than having complete reliance on outsourcing to the private system.
Be designed to ensure people have privacy, dignity and access to amenity to create a sense of safety, comfort and security, providing single rooms where desired, as a right.
Be designed and gerontologically attuned to meet the needs of an ageing population, protective and restorative of their function and property from the moment of admission.
Be a modern place of work where people can realise the full potential of their training in healthcare for the treatment of others. A place they are not ashamed of.
All generations should be invested in this so when it is our turn to need hospital care, irrespective of our income or background, we can have faith in our public university teaching hospital system, which trains our healthcare professionals, to have the best of technology, personnel, design and can meet all our needs, so even our leaders would be happy to be treated there.
If the economy and housing are the issues coming to the fore in this election, then healthcare must be at the top of the list with them. If any of our public teaching hospitals are not as good or comfortable as our private institutions, then they are not good enough.
That must be our standard.
That must be our Sláintecare.
Professor Rónán Collins MD FRCP (Lond) FRCPI FESO is a Consultant Physician in Geriatric and Stroke Medicine at Tallaght Hospital. Follow him @ronancollins7.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
51 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
It’s a sad state of affairs when you see Regina doherty doing well with her track record. Just goes to show how stupid we are as a nation, we deserve this atrocious so called government of ours. It will be the same when the general election comes, everyone will forget how we are working long hours to make ends meet. Not having money to save for a rainy day, just living from week to week and nothing on the horizon looking like it’s going to get any better. Squeezed middle as usual.
I’d say this comment will get a reply from Sean o’dhubhghaill with his usual condescending fine gael answer about how we should unskill or leave the country if you’re not happy!!!!
@den: What a ridiculous post. You might as well write “my life is not where I want to be so I’m blaming everyone else for my woes”. I agree Regina D is an idiot but when the “alternative” are deemed worse then I don’t blame people for voting safe. Not risking a punt on some independent nut.
@den: Now, where did I mention we should ‘unskill’? Could you remind me, please? And the only time I suggest to people that they consider leaving is when they call this country a ‘joke’.
I overheard a young lady complaining that there were no “FFG” candidates on her ballot as she exited the polling station in a strop. Very amusing to those of us in her vicinity.
@den: majority own their homes, land and have jobs and health insurance. You got to understand that right? Check out the CSO for majority stats, therein you’ll see what you can’t understand.
Where is this “MASS ANGER” on the street against FFG? They’re topping polls. Apparently we were told to “go talk to people on the streets, they’re SO ANGRY at the govt”. If they called an election they would get another 5 years in power. There’s only been a small bunch of loud agro heads shouting on social media, as there has been NO CHANGE.
@David Corrigan: Maybe, or maybe the anger has been over estimated. Surely if you’re genuinely angry, you would avail of your one means of actually doing something about it? Or maybe, like 2019, these local election results won’t be replicated in the general election
@SYaxJ2Ts: I think the anger is there alright but people just couldnt be bothered anymore. The “Shur it won’t make a difference anyway” attitude. The anger will probably be unleashed the wrong way in time though. Protest rather than vote.
We will see. I personally think no matter who you put into the top office, nothing will change.
@9QRixo8H: For some I am sure you are right but there’s a lot of folk working week to week and they can’t be happy. Like I said, I don’t think anything would change for the better no matter who gets in. We just have to get used to the fact that housing and the health service etc will never be fixed.
@9QRixo8H: Not depressing at all. It’s just a fact. When those in charge are not interested in fixing things like housing and health, then there really isn’t much point in putting too much thought into it is there?
@David Corrigan: True, the Health System has been in freefall for decades, housing shambles is getting worse by the year and it gets to the stage where those who have failed us try to make out that this is normal.
““Independent Ireland candidate Ken O’Flynn is, if tallies are to be believed, taking an extraordinary lead in the polls. It is expected he will get 22.57% in first preferences.”
Dangerous times ahead folks as we watch the rise of fascism in Ireland. Anyone for a slice of 1930s Germany??
@SYaxJ2Ts: Did you vote for the party you used to pretend you liked when you first started posting here (PBP) or your latest favourite party, FF?
I hope you don’t think I’m being nosey.
@SYaxJ2Ts: Reasonable in your head Kevin what with the stimulants you must be using to be ever present on this site, try stopping and your anger will go away, your very obviously not a people person.
@9QRixo8H:
Money buys you big social media campaigns where you complain about everything and anything.
Truth is, if you own your own chimney pot things aren’t that bad. Yes, inflation but that was a global thing.
Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
Jun 8th 2024, 10:20 PM
@9QRixo8H: Sure the “mass anger” is just an excuse for the toe rags to light the place up, throw a rock at a gard and rob a new pair of dunks. Record it, get a few likes on SM and be a ledge with the crew….. 16 years later the austerity mentality STILL enforced from the govt has allowed society to slide into a sess pool of disrespect and has become full of degenerates that have no fear of any “repercussions”. Gardai, Nurses, first responder, reserve firefighters…. Etc all struggling with retention because FF/FG and DPER have ruined T&C’s and think they can run the place on a show string. Take a bow lads. GDP is great but the country is a kip to live in day to day!….. “Dublin is safe” my b0!!ox. Now let’s live feed the Sh.te.show to NYC!!!! *Clap clap*!
Nice to see the lefties happy, enjoy your new neighbours while you sons and daughters leave Ireland because there are no houses, healthcare and no future, on a cheery note at least Healy Rae’s and milking it in
@Brendan O’Brien: You sir! talk lefty speak but I won’t call you Far left, and I don’t vote FF,FG Lab,SF and many individuals, so I guess you are a FfG kind guy with you stuck up rhetoric
@Terry Molloy: you know Ireland has never had anything resembling a left wing goverment yeah? FF and FG are both centre right parties. The anti everything brigade played right into their hands demonising sinn fein at every turn.
Lots of plastic Paytriots realising today that twitter likes from right-wing yanks don’t actually translate into votes at the local ballot box. Who knew?!
@Jason Memail: There was a wad of them on your voting slip too! Ireland or Irish followed by some variation of the usual far right buzzwords. Hopefully this will prove how many of these comments , profiles and accounts that appear to be popular, are not being upticked or supported by the Irish electorate.
There are some absolute doses among us but it’s a tiny minority who actually support this kind of hatred and violence. Burning buildings to the ground is dumb regressive stuff imported from elsewhere and not wanted by the vast majority of us. Equally delighted that the Greens look like having a great result overall.
@Jimmy Wallace: Oh but of course it is! The standard response for absolutely everything within a certain cohort. Things don’t go your way = conspiracy! It’s so childish. Some of the comments under the article about the Russian hack are bonkers too. We’ve officially reached the religious-like faith stage with this stuff. If something doesn’t fit the facts and evidence, make up something else. it doesn’t matter how bonkers it is. Just never ever admit when reality is banging on the door!
@John D Doe: constantly pushing yourself forward and littering the public with massive ADS as well as those eyesore posters (yes everyone who does it) that despite their size tell you absolutely nothing useful isnt hard work. FG are not hard workers in government. They are also not democrats after pushing SF out of even government formation talks.
The far right have driven votes back to FF/FG that I’d suggest they would have lost to SF..who in turn don’t know if they are coming or going and have paid the price in certain areas.
I cannot believe the greens have polled well in places!
@Martin Finnerty: certainly questions need to be asked again about the folks who see these people plastered everywhere, the likes of Mcentee and Heather Humphreys spring to mind first who either have an extremely poor to terrible track record including ignoring all constituents who call them out in a most basic manner but who get re appointed in our selections by the mé féin brigade and a lot of very lost souls out there/ FG made their usual load of cock and bull false promises and of course offered up a few bribes to the sheeple last winter.
Why can’t a sovereign small nation of people(good people)govern themselves to the benifit of themselves at that particular time in history. It baffles me, Why throw of subjugation by the British (English) and hand your backside to Brussles?!?!
@david mcentee: The greatest ever voluntary union of nations … we are lucky to the part of it. Average life expectancy in Ireland now is 11 years more than when we joined. We are so much more prosperous that it’s like living on a different planet.
A voluntary pooling of sovereignty and an imperial/colonial arrangement are two very different things.
Nasty people do well when propaganda & distraction & fibbing win out for those who watch these cowards on their self promotion for our selections. Doherty should be polling near the bottom but appears to be performing fine like Frances Fitzgerald did after she helped smear Maurice McCabe & john Wilson. The story isn’t SF not competing, the story should be about Fine Gael being as harmful for Ireland as Fianna fail have been and not given a firm NO from the electorate.
@Sean oSuilleabhain: no its thay they under performed, although Im assuming now because I dont want to keep up as its done me enough harm knowing Doherty is back on the gravy train and has been accepted for Brussels. Since you think she is suitable, we’ll leave it there PSC card/exploitation/cervical check anyone
@P. J.: oh that may be the case however there are a number of people running for office and they deserve the same coverage as all the others in Dublin and bigger cities. As usual people “down the country ” get ignored. Just like all the services and money is also spent in Dublin and the rest of the country get f all. So no, I won’t get used to it.
Of course people voted for the government party their handing out money left right and centre to everyone bar the people that work . We are a welfare state and that won’t change . You’re rewarded for contributing nothing to society , now we’ve bus loads of more people looking for payments and they’ll get it not a bother . People will only realise in 5 years when corporation tax is gone and your taxes have risen see them will people be so cavalier with their votes. Weak opposition doesn’t help Mary Lou’s job is on the line now open goal and still can’t get votes . Pointless moaning on social media for change then don’t bother voting
SF won’t get to decide what pot holes get filled in around the country for the next few years in each county lol oh well. Focus on the main election..that’s all that matters and if they fail in that, well all young people in this country old enough to vote and who don’t bother doing it and have no house or future prospect of having one should genuinely be laughed at. FF and FG followers flock to the polling stations like a clockwork zombie apocalypse, always have and always will.
@Terry interesting contribution. As in replace completely out of touch for interesting. It is the Tories in fine Gael FF whove divided the country harshly over immigration, cost of living and totally alienated younger voters across decades of ineptitude. I’m amazed people like you can type this crap with a straight face anymore.
Down the Country FF,FG getting so many votes I’d not be suprised it’s from a lot of farmers,the Greens are doing very bad,the farmer could be to do with that,FF,FG always made sure the farmers were looked after for years,but it’s the EU giving the orders now,hopefully the other EU Counties have voted against their EU puppets.coz if the EU that’s been in power for the last few years,have laid down to the US,and destroyed all our lives,the 1 in a few weeks it will be giving out again about the migrants,housing,health,and they probably didn’t vote r if they did,they didn’t vote properly,if FF,FG get loads of votes,they will destroy the Country,because they know the can do what they like.u had buses and taxi’s put on for free to bring the migrants to vote,is it legal that these can vote.
@Kathleen Peters: All citizens can vite in European elections. All residents can vote on local election. In both cases their names must be on the electoral register.
Simon Coveney slams Trump’s ‘ridiculous’ tariffs and says State support for businesses needed
23 mins ago
Waterville
'King of the Kingdom': Mick O'Dwyer remembered as sporting giant during funeral in Co Kerry
Updated
54 mins ago
trade war
China slaps extra 34% tariffs on US imports as Trump vows his 'policies will never change'
Updated
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say