You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Simon Harris was criticised for his handling of the conversation about disability services.

Opinion This election exposed disability services for what they are — the scandal of our age

The senator and disability campaigner says the Irish State has consistently shown a cruel indifference towards disabled people.

NOVEMBER’S GENERAL ELECTION campaign has been described by many political correspondents and political science experts as a somewhat lacklustre affair.

In an otherwise dull affair, one moment stood out, however. On Friday the 22nd of November – with just one week to go to polling day – Taoiseach Simon Harris had a brief encounter with carer, Charlotte Fallon in Supervalu in Kanturk, Co. Cork.

Charlotte Fallon, like many thousands of professional carers across Ireland, is employed in a two-tier health service. St. Joseph’s Foundation where she works, is designated as a Section 39 workplace – carrying out vital care supports on behalf of the Irish State.

Unlike her counterparts in Section 38 workplaces, Charlotte and her colleagues are paid less and do not have the same pension entitlements. They are paid less than their HSE peers for carrying out the same vital public services for Ireland’s disabled citizens.

Like the disabled citizens they care for, Section 39 workers are treated like second-class citizens in Ireland – which by definition is an ableist state. Ireland fails on all measures and indices of inclusion for disabled citizens – with social isolation, homelessness, poverty, suboptimal medical outcomes and unemployment key features of life in Ireland for disabled citizens and carers.

When Charlotte raised this issue with the Taoiseach, along with the related problems of recruitment, retention and quality of services for the disabled, he seemed irritated. There is no doubt that Ireland’s status as one of the worst countries in the EU to have a disability is an inconvenient truth for parties like Fine Gael and their erstwhile coalition partners Fianna Fáil and the Green Party.

On a personal level, Taoiseach Harris has direct lived experience of disability and the dystopian and unique nature of Ireland’s lack of human-rights legislation when it comes to disabled citizens. Having interacted with Simon Harris on many occasions, it is my personal belief that he is genuinely and sincerely committed to supporting disabled citizens. The unpleasant interaction he had with Charlotte Fallon was in my view, out of character – and he subsequently personally apologised to her.

‘A complete failure’

However, as a state, we are completely out of step with our EU partners when it comes to disability. Ireland is the only country in the EU where disabled citizens do not have the legal right to the services, supports, therapies and surgical interventions as set out in an assessment of need.

Our disability services are in complete free-fall and are in fact – as confirmed to me by the CEO of the HSE in the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Disability Matters – in complete failure.

As a consequence, hundreds of thousands of disabled Irish citizens and their families live in consistent poverty. Hundreds of thousands of disabled children and adults – like my son Eoghan – live in constant pain without timely, therapeutic access to therapies and basic medical interventions. Hundreds of disabled children are languishing on waiting lists for spinal surgery for scoliosis. Hundreds more are not receiving appropriate surgeries on the urology waitlist. The way disabled Irish children are being mistreated here is an international scandal.

I recently hosted a visiting group of surgeons – specialising in trauma and spinal surgery – at Leinster House. From the US, they expressed candid disbelief at the condition of Irish disabled children on the scoliosis and urology wait lists at CHI. They were incredulous that any disabled child would be allowed to deteriorate to the point that disabled Irish children and teenagers experience here.

I was told that if we put our disabled children into an aircraft and flew them to any paediatric hospital in the developed world – it would create an international scandal. ‘There would be outrage’ I was told at their appalling condition – and at the manner in which Irish disabled children and teenagers are allowed to deteriorate.

This is the scandal of our age. I am the parent of, and carer to a beautiful young man who has been consistently failed by the Irish ableist state. With a rare neuromuscular disease, my son had to wait until he was 17 to receive spinal surgery for scoliosis – a delay that made his operation unnecessarily risky. This was in no way the fault of our wonderful frontline clinical staff – therapists, doctors, surgeons, nurses and health care assistants – but entirely the fault of the management of the HSE, and the Department of Health.

Unmet needs

For disabled Irish citizens – children and adults – and for carers, our life stories are ones of unmet need. For me as a father, I worry constantly for my disabled son. I – like so many carers across this ableist republic – have been traumatised by the consistent and ongoing failure of the Irish State to meet even his most basic needs and rights as a young Irish citizen. I constantly fear for the future. I am robbed of my hope for his future – for his right – to live a fully autonomous, self-actualised and happy life. I write this with my son’s consent and encouragement.
To put it simply, Ireland is an appalling vista for disabled children and adults. The systematic and systemic neglect – and harm – to Ireland’s disabled citizens is the scandal of our age.
I have had 20 years to reflect on this neglect and harm. I cannot adequately explain the Irish State’s particular cruelty towards and neglect of our disabled citizens. Part of me believes it is to do with a deep-seated ableist instrumentalism in our society and polity – a view that disabled citizens have less ‘human value’ than other citizens. I recently watched the film ‘Small Things Like These’, starring Cillian Murphy. And I was struck by the depiction of the all-of-society dynamic of cruelty and hatred towards Irish women and girls in the 1980s. In the darkness of the cinema, I was equally struck by the insight that that very dynamic remains alive and kicking in the Ireland of 2024 when it comes to disabled citizens and carers.
So, in my personal, subjective view, the Taoiseach’s encounter with carer Charlotte Fallon – which went viral – whilst not representative of Simon Harris as a human being, was emblematic of the contempt that official Ireland holds for disabled citizens and carers.
However, I also believe that the Irish public’s reaction to the encounter may represent a fundamental shift in how we see our community of over one million carers and disabled Irish citizens. I dare to hope that the narrative in Ireland about disability and caring may be changing. To illustrate this, in my own personal experience, during the financial crash, my son lost almost all of his meagre supports and therapies due to austerity measures. In 2011, I contacted the office of the Minister for Health – in extremis – seeking help and support for my son. The reaction I got from senior civil servants in the Minister’s office was one of absolute contempt. One very senior public servant put it to me ‘So, essentially, you’re a queue jumper, you want to skip to the top of the queue’.

‘Skipping the queue’

When I responded that I was simply trying to advocate for my son and that I was shocked at his response, he simply responded, ‘So, we’re best mates now are we?’ You want me to be your best friend now?’. I felt sick. I felt humiliated. I felt that there was no hope for my son in an Ireland, where the top decision makers in ‘health’ were so hostile to the concept of the basic human rights, and medical and social needs, of a disabled child.

That hostility and contempt – at an official level – was improved dramatically in 2016 with the appointment of Finian McGrath as a Minister of State with responsibility for disability. With Finian’s appointment, at the level of government at least, the contempt of officials was replaced by a listening ear – and a sincere attempt to engage. The outgoing Minister of State for Disabilities, Anne Rabbitte, appointed in 2020 made sincere and valiant attempts to improve the lives of disabled citizens and carers.

However, some of her cabinet colleagues have persisted in the patriarchal and ableist view of disabled citizens. One minister in the outgoing government sought to introduce the Green Paper on Disability ‘Reform’ in 2023. This disgraceful document set out a policy that proposed the compulsory medical examination of over 225,000 disabled citizens in order to categorise them on their ‘capacity to work’. That shameful document – based on a discredited austerity measure in the UK which led to a spike in suicides among disabled citizens in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland – was thankfully scrapped by Simon Harris on his appointment as Taoiseach earlier this year.

Other cabinet members also sought to actively undermine the basic human rights of disabled Irish citizens and carers. In the Care Referendum, all of the government parties and the entire cabinet – campaigned for a wording on care that would have given constitutional expression to the notion that family members would have primary and almost exclusive responsibility for the care of disabled citizens. The proposed wording was also designed – on legal and ministerial advice – to explicitly deny socio-economic rights to disabled citizens.

Thankfully, almost 72% of the Irish public rejected this ableist wording. Over a million Irish voters – in rejecting this wording – demonstrated very clearly that there are votes in matters relating to disabled citizens and carers. The decisive rejection of the Care Referendum in my view, informed newly appointed Taoiseach Simon Harris’ decision to scrap the notorious Green Paper on Disability ‘Reform’ and to fully ratify all of the protocols of the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD).

The UNCRPD was due to be fully ratified by Ireland on the 30 November, one day after the general election. I hope that these developments represent a fundamental shift in the Irish State’s toxic and ableist treatment of disabled citizens and carers. We need a radical campaign of emancipatory advocacy to fully liberate and empower our disabled citizens and carers. I hope that any newly formed government immediately prioritise disability and caring. As a starting point, any new government should immediately stop the means-testing of Disability Allowance and Carers Allowance. They should be universal, non-means tested payments.

I’ll also be pressing our newly formed coalition to fully support my Disability (Rights) Miscellaneous Provisions Bill of 2023 and my Disability (Personalised Budgets) Bill of 2024. If enacted by the next government, it would bring Ireland into line with the rest of the EU in relation to human-rights-based legislation on Disability and Caring. It would be a transformative moment for Ireland.

According to the WHO, all human beings become disabled – for an average of eight years of life. It is in all of our interests to end Ireland’s shameful treatment of disabled citizens and carers. Taoiseach Harris has taken some important steps in this regard. Following his sincere apology to Charlotte Fallon, I hope any new government follow his lead and transform Ireland – to make it the best country in the world for equality and accessibility. Is Féidir Linn.

Dr Tom Clonan is a retired Army Officer and former Lecturer at TU Dublin. He is an Independent Senator on the Trinity College Dublin Panel, Seanad Éireann. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 32 comments
32 Comments
    Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    May 26th 2017, 6:38 AM

Operation we should be doing this operation every day anyway

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 26th 2017, 6:59 AM

@Eugene Walsh: it should be Operation cat out of the bag , where everyone knows where they’re going to be ..

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    May 26th 2017, 8:30 AM

Operation fish in a barrel.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 26th 2017, 6:54 AM

Operation ‘top up the funds to the Temple more bank accounts.’

Mute Ashling Visser Bishop
    Favourite Ashling Visser Bishop
    May 26th 2017, 6:29 AM

Operation sunshine!

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    May 26th 2017, 8:01 AM

Why do they warn people about it

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    May 26th 2017, 8:34 AM

@Ashling Visser Bishop: one more reason to love the rain down the border they follow ya if you driving slow , seemly they just wanna know what’s in your car

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    May 26th 2017, 12:26 PM

@Ashling Visser Bishop: operation collect cash.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    May 26th 2017, 6:49 AM

The usual crap. Can’t solve real crime so pick on the motorist. Glad I ran out of that place.

Mute Brown Boots
    Favourite Brown Boots
    May 26th 2017, 7:10 AM

@Brendan Keegan: so am I Brendan, no offence, that photo of yours bud, what was you think mate!

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 26th 2017, 7:11 AM

@Brendan Keegan:

Try reading the article of critical thinking. So you think trying to prevent motorists speeding is ‘picking on the motorist’, have you looked at the death rates on the roads and how they increase at weekends and particularly when the weather is good?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    May 26th 2017, 7:40 AM

@Brendan Keegan: Do you routinely drive too fast? If not, leaving the country seems a bit drastic.

May 26th 2017, 8:36 AM

@Nick Allen: they are not in the places where people really speed they be in places where is like 30km or 50km and you get caught for doing 52

Mute Teddy
    Favourite Teddy
    May 26th 2017, 8:42 AM

@nick Allen,you’re a great man for the critical thinking Nick

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    May 26th 2017, 9:32 AM

@WilhelminaMCallaghan: limit is 9km / h as per calibration.

Minimum is therefore 59 before being stopped.

Cars odometer tend to over estimate speed so to get pulled doing 59 in a 50 your speed on the dash would be showing about 65.

Any further lies you would like to state?

Mute Cormac Wright
    Favourite Cormac Wright
    May 26th 2017, 9:36 AM

@Karl: no lies, I got done 55 in a 50 , didn’t pay said I’d go to court , while waiting to be called seen numerous people fined minimum €160 and four penalty points for exact same thing.

Mute Terry O'Callaghan
    Favourite Terry O'Callaghan
    May 26th 2017, 9:42 AM

@Nick Allen: and the majority are young…with new licences.. with cars way to big and to powerful.

Mute Alan O'Rourke
    Favourite Alan O'Rourke
    May 26th 2017, 10:29 AM

@Brown Boots: Sun’s out Guns out!!

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    May 26th 2017, 12:23 PM

@Brown Boots: So you took to trouble to see that I enjoy being out of that kip. Its called sunshine and tropical places.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    May 26th 2017, 12:38 PM

@Nick Allen: Actually Nick Irish deaths are not bad. This is a total myth used by these clowns in Road Safety crap to give them something to justify their big salaries. Cyclists are provided with cycle lanes but won’t use them and nobody fines them. Road deaths in Ireland as a per cent. are .005 of the pop. They will never be zero. Call this what it is a sham to collect easy money.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    May 26th 2017, 1:17 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: I left because of the mess its in. Combine that with the daily droning of don ‘t do this and do do this enough to get me out. There isn’t even a decent road in this wonderful republic. I need a place not run by unelected clowns in the EU and a place with growth and ambition. .Even the corruption figures in Ireland are corrupt.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    May 27th 2017, 1:23 AM

@Cormac Wright: so it was 10% over that to now admit to?

Must have been many years ago cause the machines are set to those limits. The gardai can add but not subtract to that figure. Its been documented.

Dunno why you would go to court, the judge was hardly gonna let you off

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    May 27th 2017, 1:24 AM

@Brendan Keegan: where is this mythical land?

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    May 27th 2017, 1:28 AM

@Brendan Keegan: you live in Vietnam. Vietnam!!

You are criticising the Irish police and roads and you live in Vietnam?????

Mute Damien Kirwan
    Favourite Damien Kirwan
    May 26th 2017, 7:25 AM

Probably sitting in 50km zones as usual.

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    May 26th 2017, 8:17 AM

@Damien Kirwan: 30 km In picnic spots going through villages etc

Mute Patrick Brennan
    Favourite Patrick Brennan
    May 26th 2017, 6:40 AM

According to official figures they breathalysed everyone the caught speeding.

Mute Brown Boots
    Favourite Brown Boots
    May 26th 2017, 6:48 AM

@Patrick Brennan: good effort but that’s been the obligatory joke on any story about the Garda for a while now, therefore I now charge you to go out there and come up with something original and funny.

Mute Patrick Brennan
    Favourite Patrick Brennan
    May 26th 2017, 7:01 AM

@Brown Boots: How about “Operation Show Down” where senior Garda are questioned WWE style about the blatant false figures they have published for years.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    May 26th 2017, 7:42 AM

@Brown Boots: It’s the motoring equivalent of typing “religion of peace” under every story.

Mute Brown Boots
    Favourite Brown Boots
    May 26th 2017, 7:44 AM

@Patrick Brennan: Operation Smack Down mayhaps?

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    May 26th 2017, 6:52 AM

Slush fund must be getting low folks

Mute arlene
    Favourite arlene
    May 26th 2017, 6:38 AM

Why do they let everyone know?

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 26th 2017, 7:09 AM

@arlene:

To reduce the amount of accidents. If people know / believe there is a clampdown this weekend then hopefully they will slow down. The objective is not to catch people, the objective is to stop people speeding.

Mute arlene
    Favourite arlene
    May 26th 2017, 7:29 AM

@Nick Allen: I understand that much Nick, but what about the other 364 days of the year? Everyone knows today and slows down, then goes back to speeding tomorrow!

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    May 26th 2017, 7:34 AM

@arlene:

Its not practical to have a very high level of Gardai doing speed tests everyday of the year and the Gardai need to prioritise the best time to undertake such an operation to save as many lives as possible. That said I would have thought next weekend as it is a bank holiday would have been more appropriate.

Mute arlene
    Favourite arlene
    May 26th 2017, 8:03 AM

@Nick Allen: but my point is would it not be better to not announce this,l? They would then actually catch the majority of people speeding, these are then less likely to speed again, leading to an overall reduction in accidents, rather than just for one weekend.

May 26th 2017, 8:56 AM

@Nick Allen: the objective is same as always RSA IS MADE FOR MAKING MONEY EASY MONEY .
    I do not speed , for 3reasons :
    I survived 5 car crashes as a kid with my dad who is a kamikaze driver
    I can’t afford petrol so go under rather than above
    And I quite like my car shape as it is and being alive and all . . You know
    But I have been stopped by cops a few times for say doing the actual speed limit on a 60km road when everyone else on 80
    doing 90 when the limit is 100.
    I am courteous answer their questions nothing ever comes from that . I guess is cause they training them in that particular road . Some of those interviews are strange I rang other police and the RSA and they laughed and laughed and sent me the definition for cargo which I done right but in case I got stopped again

Mute Liam Mclaughlin
    Favourite Liam Mclaughlin
    May 26th 2017, 7:18 AM

I Lost a cousin three years ago In a car accident. Stupid comments about slush funds have nothing to do with this campaign. The public need to Get behind the ordinary Gard, because I can tell you from first hand experience that they do their very best in difficult circumstances. Take your sarcasm out on the head honchos not the frontline Gard

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    May 26th 2017, 7:29 AM

@Liam Mclaughlin: it the head honchos who are using slush funds !

Mute Farty Towels
    Favourite Farty Towels
    May 26th 2017, 7:36 AM

Operation Shauny Fitz

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    May 26th 2017, 8:00 AM

The Gardaí had a check point set up in my area yesterday…allegedly they caught 2000 speeding motorists & 1000 drunk drivers in 10 minutes…well done lads…free doughnuts for all.

May 26th 2017, 9:01 AM

@Robin Basstard: omg Jesus Dude Where do you live on a junction between a Trans American highway a super pub drive tru and are them guards high ? Lol 3000 people what is it World Cup ?

Mute Brown Boots
    Favourite Brown Boots
    May 26th 2017, 6:37 AM

Operation Slow Down! They’ve cut back on the naming groups budget I reckon! Operation something eagle… Answers on a postcard please as it’s too late for me to think of anything witty… Although, I was gonna go with Operation Integrity, but…

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    May 26th 2017, 7:33 AM

People complaining this is about money haven’t had relatives killed due to speeding. What do you want, complete anarchy?

Mute Lovely weather
    Favourite Lovely weather
    May 26th 2017, 8:10 AM

Heavy rain with thundery downpours due this evening, will we see them out then…. Not a chance. A section of our society that has lost respect from the majority, and rightly so.

May 26th 2017, 9:02 AM

@Lovely weather: I looove love love the rain . That’s more reason to love the rain

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 26th 2017, 12:05 PM

@Lovely weather: would you be the first to complain if they were out in that weather pulling cars?! It’s dangerous to do checkpoints in inclement weather. Complain when it’s dry and they are out, complain when it’s wet and they aren’t…

Mute Jerry
    Favourite Jerry
    May 26th 2017, 7:45 AM

Operation Day Job!

Mute Frank Brennan
    Favourite Frank Brennan
    May 26th 2017, 8:08 AM

Operation stuff the coffers!

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    May 26th 2017, 9:30 AM

So far we have 3 comments complaining it’s sitting fish in a barrel. How its that when they announce it in advance and are wearing bright yellow jackets on a straight road will remain a mystery.

2 comments complaining that it’s announced and should be secret.

5 smart arse comments about templemore. Obviously the witty don’t actually read properly considering the money in the funds was as a result of ripping off trainee gardai, not the public.

2 comments from people who believed speeding to be such an important human right that they emigrated to some fictional country that doesn’t have traffic enforcement because gardai actually work.

To counter this we then have a complaint that it should be priority every day but that is argued against by someone complaining about two crime being ignored.

Then there’s the same person who constantly claims Ireland is the most corrupt country in the world but really it’s just admitting he has never traveled to south America or Asia or Africa or even eastern Europe.

Truly this article is proof that the gardai can never win

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    May 26th 2017, 9:35 AM

@Karl: damn autocorrect. True crime and shooting

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    May 26th 2017, 9:54 AM

@Karl: ha ha……excellent comment Karl and oh so true.

Mute PeteMcC
    Favourite PeteMcC
    May 26th 2017, 7:11 AM

Bet that there’ll be more than 927 this year…..

May 26th 2017, 9:07 AM

@PeteMcC: Pete they are not for us they are for D4 Dalkey and Castlenock and other selected areas . Ah yeah and to protect foreign dignitaries in visit in the Phoenix park . There is no place to place Gardai in the countryside the government sold all their stations . I’d be happy to keep a couple in my own house if they wanna build themselves a wee place like . Plenty room there and I appreciate the company .
    I make a great tea but sorry lads is a no go internet zone so unless youse find a way to get you Pulse going , I’m afraid it will be all manual old school

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    May 26th 2017, 7:17 AM

Operation corruption day would be more like it when both high ranking and normal garda are held accountable for their actions, some chance of that ever happening in the most corrupt fuc*ed up country in Europe

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Favourite eastsmer #IRExit
    May 26th 2017, 10:12 AM

Once again a mathematical formula (speed) is being blamed for accidents.

Mute ter
    Favourite ter
    May 26th 2017, 11:22 AM

Keeping to the speed limit is easy if we had sensible speed limits they go up and down like a yo-yo dual carriage ways 60 small country roads 80 city center 30 where a kid on a skate board can break the speed limit if they want to reduce deaths make it flow smoother less frustration with some stupid limits would mean doing there job right for a long term reduction in deaths and bad drivers targeted.

May 26th 2017, 9:16 AM

Here I have a great idea for the new Taoiseach:
    How about abolish the RSA and them household charges and them insurance levies and massive road tax nct .
    Just be real we appreciate honesty ( don’t worry you will get your money and we get a life without people harassing and making our lives hell full of deadlines we can’t meet )
    Is like this :
    Every year in January we all give the government:3000 quid
    Call it ” BECAUSE I WANT TO MONEY FOR GOVERNMENT TAX ”
    the rest of the year YOU LOT JUST LEAVE US ALL THE F***k ALONE !!!
    Still the same money without any hidden motives and hassle.
    Then the Gardai can go do what they suppose to do the people can concentrate on keeping the bankers happy co.councils can go do what ever that is they do .
    Simplify .

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    May 26th 2017, 9:29 AM

@WilhelminaMCallaghan:

A “great idea” he said.

(sigh)

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    May 26th 2017, 11:01 AM

they hope to catch 400,000 motorists in one day alone

Mute #knowingitall
    Favourite #knowingitall
    May 27th 2017, 10:38 AM

Damned if do,damned if they dont!

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    May 26th 2017, 10:51 AM

Operation SFIAB