You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore tries to get first past the post(er). Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Referendum roundup: 16 days to go

Austerity treaty, stability treaty or somewhere in between? TheJournal.ie keeps you up to date with our evening Fiscal Compact referendum bulletin.

EVERY EVENING, THEJOURNAL.IE brings you the latest news and campaign moves, squabbles and – hopefully – useful tidbits of information as we face into the 31 May Fiscal Compact referendum.

(If you just want to make up your mind by yourself, you can read TheJournal.ie‘s layman’s guide to the treaty).

WHAT’S NEW?

• It looks like TV3 won’t be hosting the big boys in a live referendum debate after Taoiseach Enda Kenny confirmed this afternoon that he won’t participate in any debate on the station with Gerry Adams. Kenny had initially said he just “does not do the Vincent Browne programme”. When TV3 offered to replace Browne with political editor Ursula Halligan, Kenny put that under “consideration”. Now though, it’s a no go altogether, which TV3 called “regrettable”.
  • A debate that IS going ahead is The Last Word Europe Debate, moderated by Matt Cooper, to be broadcast live on his Today FM show this Thursday, 4.30-7pm. TheJournal.ie will be liveblogging the debate from the Irish Life building in Dublin. The line-up? On the ‘No’ side: UKIP leader and MEP Nigel Farage; Sinn Féin deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald; John Douglas of Mandate trade union. On the ‘Yes’ side: Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin; Nicola Byrne, chief executive of 11890; a yet unconfirmed Labour Party minister.
  • We learned this week that Declan Ganley, who campaigned for a ‘No’ vote in the Lisbon referendum, is joining the fray on the ‘No’ side of things again this time. He wrote about his reasons for joining the campaign on TheJournal.ie this morning.
  • Bad news for Shane Ross and others who had called for a delay – the Referendum Commission has officially stated that the vote cannot be postponed.
  • The deputy director of the Labour Party’s ‘Yes’ campaign, Dominic Hannigan, made a niche callout this morning: he said farmers will benefit from a ‘Yes’ vote if it leads to agricultural exports growing. (The IFA endorsed this earlier in the month, as did Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin yesterday at a cattle mart in Bandon, Co Cork.)

LAUNCH INVITE OF THE DAY:

The Communications Department of the Europe of Freedom and Democracy Group sent a press invite round to the launch of their leaflet supporting a ‘No’ vote, which they say will be delivered to every household in the country. They gave us this advice in a note at the end:

4 or 5 MEPs from EFD Group shall be there. Should be good for photo op with good looking Danish mep and female assistant.

Labour MEP for Munster, Phil Prendergast, said today that the leaflet is a “piece of propaganda”.

UNCOMFORTABLE ON-CAMERA CAMPAIGN MOMENT:

If you haven’t seen this video already, Enda Kenny will probably be relieved. (Video: Seansbarathlone/Youtube)

And if you haven’t heard this bit of audio, captured by the Westmeath Independent, he will probably be even more relieved.

BIBLICAL REFERENCE OF THE DAY:

Justice Minister Alan Shatter backed previous Government comments today to say that delaying the referendum would not be in the interests of the country. He ended with this:

To those opposed to the treaty or uncertain of whether to support this international insurance policy to protect our future, I say it is important to remember that it wasn’t raining when Noah built the Ark.

Tomorrow: Jonah and the Whale.

TODAY’S PICTORIAL FACE-OFF:

In the ‘No’ corner - Joe Higgins TD, Cllr Melissa Halpin and Paul Murphy MEP of the United Left Alliance:

In the ‘Yes corner - Ciara Conway TD, Aodhan O Riordain TD, Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore and Dominic Hannigan TD:

Photos by Sam Boal and Sasko Lazarov of Photocall Ireland.

Read in full: The Fiscal Compact treaty in layman’s terms (PDF)

In full: TheJournal.ie‘s coverage of the Fiscal Compact referendum >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 31 comments
31 Comments
    Mute Alan Dempsey
    Favourite Alan Dempsey
    May 15th 2012, 9:14 PM

NO!!!

Mute Nucky Thompson
    Favourite Nucky Thompson
    May 15th 2012, 9:24 PM

Means YES!

Mute Alan Dempsey
    Favourite Alan Dempsey
    May 15th 2012, 9:32 PM

I’m voting No. I voted No to the Lisbon Treaty twice.

Mute Nucky Thompson
    Favourite Nucky Thompson
    May 15th 2012, 9:50 PM

Did they give you a badge?

Mute UnderTheRadar
    Favourite UnderTheRadar
    May 15th 2012, 10:34 PM

NO means NO Nucky.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    May 16th 2012, 12:07 AM

UnderTheRadar – You should have worded that differently – lol ;-)

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    May 16th 2012, 12:27 AM

The ‘Nama Wine Lake’ blog has been one of the most factual, informative & highly respected blogs on the Irish Financial Crisis.

Nama Wine Lake launches his ‘NO’ poster, together with one of the best articles explaining why.

This is a must read, very well considered.

http://namawinelake.wordpress.com/2012/05/13/the-fiscal-compact-referendum-launch-of-no-on-line-poster/

Mute UnderTheRadar
    Favourite UnderTheRadar
    May 16th 2012, 2:11 AM

Well spotted Ann. I’ll rephrase.

Nucky. No means NO! ;)

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    May 15th 2012, 9:19 PM

Love the Flood scare tactics of Shatter… really , the public love being frightened into voting Yes. As someone else commented earlier, Noah apparently had a pretty good insight into the flood that was coming. Does Shatter suggest that he has Gods ear, or does he think Merkel is the Messiah?
    Surely God could give Enda Kenny a set of balls to go on and debate the treaty with Adams?

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    May 15th 2012, 10:55 PM

Kenny proved himself to be an incapable inept fool yesterday. He was totally unable to respond with any empathy when confronted by a member of the public. “The people” whose mandate he thinks he posesses are nothing more than an inconvenience to him in his quest to get an A+ from his puppet masters. The man should not be in politics never mind hold office of an Taoiseach. He is not able to speak off script and his advisors know that were he to debate with Adams (or anyone else for that matter) he would probably push the undecideds into the NO camp.

Mute On the Dole
    Favourite On the Dole
    May 15th 2012, 9:27 PM

All i have to say is Remember Lisbon !!! Lies,lies,and more lies………… VOTE NO….

Mute Ryan oneill
    Favourite Ryan oneill
    May 15th 2012, 9:25 PM

Edna and his smug glee like hand rubbing make me sick! Can’t answer a member of the public and it’s not as if the guy was rude, loud or angry. A total lack of respect for the very people that voted him in. Feck off with your troubles little man your holding up the party! Utter disgrace! There’s the proof that kenny couldn’t give a shite about the average joe and Jane Ireland!! I am ashamed for voting him! Vote no!

Mute JOSEPHINE GILL
    Favourite JOSEPHINE GILL
    May 15th 2012, 10:29 PM

ENDA KENNY IS AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE.

Mute Dec Kavanagh
    Favourite Dec Kavanagh
    May 15th 2012, 10:23 PM

I hope everyone proves that we aren’t gullible idiots anymore and votes NO.
    As they say……. “Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me”
    Don’t be fooled or threatened into voting yes this time – vote NO.

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    May 15th 2012, 9:34 PM

Just watching a German match for a play off to the Bundesliga between Dusseldorf v Hertha Berlin.
    The crowd trouble is akin to the English game in the 1980′s. Unfair perhaps to judge on one game, but my guess is that, like England in the 1980′s, there is an underbelly of working class aggression in Germany.
    Just an observation.

Mute Frank Faldo
    Favourite Frank Faldo
    May 15th 2012, 9:44 PM

Stephen Ye are no saints in Sligo either. Remember the Glentoran bus.But back to the point.NO.

Mute Alex Pigot
    Favourite Alex Pigot
    May 15th 2012, 10:48 PM

The single currency will keep Europe at peace, A breakup will lead to Europe at war again. So vote yes for peace or vote no for war. And real austerity, it can be found in Africa or India. What Ireland is experiencing right now is just a downward adjustment in how rich it is.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    May 16th 2012, 12:02 AM

LOLing thats the best one yet. You want to send that one on to Kenny & Co so they can use it to try and brow beat us. More lies and more scaremongering. Good to know that you are all good at something – Bullshit!!

Mute Danny Grey
    Favourite Danny Grey
    May 16th 2012, 1:26 AM

Yeah, like Europe was at war when every country had its own currency?

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    May 16th 2012, 2:01 AM

Alex: “What Ireland is experiencing right now is just a downward adjustment in how rich it is.”

Yeah alex, just like dying and being buried underground is a ‘downward’ adjustment in how alive you are.

Mute Irish Patriot
    Favourite Irish Patriot
    May 15th 2012, 9:40 PM

Will Nigel Farage ever mind his own business. Class 1 muppet!!!

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Favourite Turlough O' Connor
    May 15th 2012, 11:27 PM

Whether you agree with him or not , Farage can hold his own with anyone…

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    May 16th 2012, 2:03 AM

Even though I disagree with him on this Treaty (on a lot of stuff actually), I will that he is a fine debater. His speech in the EU Parliament where he calls Von Rompuy was mean, but hilariously funny!

That being said, not sure how he feels about being in bed with Sinn Féin on this. Farage’s own personal politics would suggest he has no time for them.

(Also enjoy the irony of him telling us not listen to foreign MEPs!)

Mute Scrap Croke Park
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park
    May 16th 2012, 12:45 AM

The wording of the proposed amendment is in itself violating article 15.4.1 which says the Govt will not pass legislation which is repugnant to the constitution or any provision thereof

The proposed amendment will allow a committee of 3 Germans decide our corporation tax, the number of TDs we can have, how we are governed. This is not scare mongering or exaggeration. It’s as plain as day. Read the amendment.

Here it is:

“The State may ratify the Treaty on Stability, Co-ordination and Governance in the Economic and Monetary Union done at Brussels on the 2nd day of March 2012. No provision of this Constitution invalidates laws enacted, acts done or measures adopted by the State that are necessitated by the obligations of the State under that Treaty or prevents laws enacted, acts done or measures adopted by bodies competent under that Treaty from having the force of law in the State.”

Mute Scrap Croke Park
    May 16th 2012, 12:48 AM

Somebody tell me. Who are these “bodies competent under that Treaty” and why are they so clearly identified as not being the “State”

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    May 16th 2012, 2:10 AM

Would suggest you go & read the Treaty itself, it’s only 12 pages long or so.
    Here’s a copy in case you don’t have one.
    (http://www.irishtimes.com/focus/2012/fiscal-compact/index.pdf?via=rel?via=rel)

Nowhere in the proposed Treaty is there any mention of a Committee of 3 Germans; the bodies refer to the usual European institutions (specifically, in this case, the President of the Commission & the Euro Summit Title IV, Article 12, section 4).

I’ll take you at your word that you weren’t intending any “scaremongering or exaggeration”.

Mute Scrap Croke Park
    May 16th 2012, 8:18 AM

I’ve read the Treaty thank you. Nowhere in the Treaty does it mention the words “bodies” or “competent”. Hence the question about who they are.

Mute Nicky DeBurca
    Favourite Nicky DeBurca
    May 16th 2012, 8:27 AM

The ‘Bodies’ are probably the untouchables with no accountability that will oversee the ESM when it is set up…our Gov. are saying this treaty has nothing to do with the ESM treaty…yet their party line is ‘ Vote Yes or we cant access the ESM’…..so I read the ESM Treaty….. and that is not something I wish to be party to…Austerity forever….I reacon they are the ‘Bodies’ they refer to!

Mute Jeffery Potbelly
    Favourite Jeffery Potbelly
    May 16th 2012, 12:50 AM

Enda Kenny so aptly demonstrates why he is unable to take on a live debate.
    Hilarious if it wasn’t so scary that this is the man who is in charge of our lives right now.

@ Alex Pigot.
    Did you eat all the posters that were taken down after the Lisbon Treaty? Oh dear, what are you suggesting there.. vote No and the Germans will attack? haha…
    What planet did you come from ‘Letthemeatcake?’

Mute Ed Redbird
    Favourite Ed Redbird
    May 16th 2012, 8:18 AM

Someone in the metro herald noticed the referendum once again falls on a Thursday…. Making it hard or near impossible for long distance commuters and students to vote…..
    I smell a rat

Mute Grainne Fay
    Favourite Grainne Fay
    May 16th 2012, 12:52 PM

No!! No!! No!!