You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
In a statement on social media, Ukiyo thanked all of its “amazing and loyal staff, both past and present for all they have contributed to building the legend that is Ukiyo”.
Ukiyo also thanked its DJs and suppliers who “supported and stuck by us over the last two decades”.
However, Ukiyo said its “biggest thank you is reserved to our customers who returned time after time”.
Ukiyo, on Dublin’s Exchequer Street, had been in business for around 20 years and noted that it “survived a pandemic, a stock market crash and lots of bumps along the road”.
However, it remarked that the “margins in our business are now so meagre that there is no future for us and so many more of our fellow businesses”.
Ukiyo noted that “three of our neighbours closed last week, all within fifty metres of each other”.
“All respected, long established and highly regarded on one of Dublin’s busiest thoroughfares,” said Ukiyo of these three recent and nearby closures.
“If this is not direct evidence of a systemic decline in our industry and in our immediate urban fabric then I don’t know what is,” it added.
Ukiyo also said it has “tried everything and given everything to this business but unless the government gets off its hands and helps the hospitality sector then we will certainly not be the last”.
The Restaurants Association of Ireland (RAI) recently said that an “average of two restaurants, cafés and other food-led businesses continue to close each day across the country”.
The RAI has called for the reinstatement of the 9% VAT rate on food.
In a statement to The Journal, Adrian Cummins, CEO of the Restaurants Association of Ireland, said “the consistent closure of restaurants and other food-led businesses shows the ongoing effect that Government policies are having on the hospitality sector”.
He added that the “financial model for running restaurants and making a margin is broken with VAT at 13.5%” and that the RAI’s ask for Budget 2025 is to “restore confidence in the restaurant sector by reducing VAT to 9%”.
Ukiyo today remarked that “tourism and hospitality are the lifeblood of employment” and that if the Government “acts now, maybe more of our colleagues will keep their jobs and their businesses”.
“To do nothing will mean the death of our industry and a huge blow to the céad mile fáilte that we extend to Ireland’s visitors every year,” said Ukiyo.
“We have tried everything and given everything to this business but unless the government gets off its hands and helps the hospitality sector then we will certainly not be the last.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
70 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Kevin Dreamlive: little more recent than 1913. (the Federal reserve is a private entity & the tender was up for renewal/open in June 2020.,.
More accurately the current system is a result of the Bretton Woods agreement of 1944.
This, what we are witnessing is an intentional trlargetting of small & medium sized business (mom & pop type businesses) with a view to reducing choice for people. It is all by design.
Soon, we will have 1 chain of restaurants (not fast food, regular restaurants) owned by 1 entity.
@Freda Peeple: for a city thats dying its extremely busy. Bars and restaurants open and close all the time, half the bars I used to go to 20 years ago are gone and have been replaced by something else, it’s just the way of the industry, ups and downs.
@Freda Peeple: it’s only going to get worse not only in Dublin but all over Ireland it’s been coming for a long time so called government haven’t a clue how to run Ireland
@Alan Moloney: restaurants close due to high menu prices, high costs, high rent, staff demanding higher wages cos they know they can move, bad food and / or poor service. The Govt doesn’t run restaurants ! You can also blame the consumers whom won’t support their local restaurants. Historically, and long before this Govt, most restaurants don’t last 3 years. So get out and support your local restaurant this week.
@Kevin Dreamlive: There are lots of good reasons that the gold standard was abandoned, the simplest of these being that you have almost no flexibility in relation to either fiscal or monetary policy; so during a recession a government can’t borrow to pay wages or build infrastructure. This would lead to a much more pronounced (or ‘pro-cyclical’) boom and bust cycle. The current fiat money system may certainly have a lot of flaws, but using the gold standard instead would be even worse.
Cryptos are not backed by anything at all other than ‘confidence’ and would be even worse again. Cryptos aren’t money in any case and are functionally useless as money given that they satisfy none of the three tests of what is needed for something to be used as money (unit of account, store of value and means of exchange).
@Kevin Dreamlive: While you raise some valid points, you make several unsupported leaps in logic regarding the impacts on small businesses. While the abandonment of the gold standard and shift to fiat currency had significant economic effects, these events are weakly related to small business closures, if at all.
On the contrary, the shift away from the gold standard provided central banks with more flexibility in monetary policy, which can be beneficial to small businesses, depending on economic conditions (Eichengreen, 1992). For example, during recessions, central banks can more easily expand the money supply to stimulate growth and support small businesses under a fiat system; increasing access to credit and boosting consumer demand.
Indeed, your assertion that the 2008 financial crisis bailouts and quantitative easing programs were harmful to small businesses is completely contradicted by the evidence.
While there are some valid criticisms of how these policies were implemented, they demonstrably helped prevent the closure of many small businesses, who did not have the ability to survive the recession and the banks’ reluctance and indeed inability to lend (Bernanke, 2015).
Furthermore, your claim that the 2020 COVID-19 stimulus was the “final nail in the coffin” for small businesses is completely wrong. Many economists point out that the stimulus measures prevented widespread small business failures during the unprecedented economic shock (Chetty et al., 2020). While the long-term impacts are still being studied, characterising the stimulus as harmful to small businesses is not supported by the current evidence.
Finally, your conclusion that only “debt default or hyperinflation” remain as options is also wrong. While high government debt and inflation are concerns, there are many policy options that prevent the catastrophe you appear to envisage (Blanchard, 2019) such as:
1. Gradual fiscal consolidation: Governments can implement measured spending cuts and revenue increases over time to reduce deficits without causing severe economic shocks.
2. Growth-oriented policies: Promoting economic growth through targeted investments, regulatory reform, and productivity enhancements can help countries “grow out” of debt over time.
3. Debt restructuring: Countries can negotiate with creditors to modify debt terms, potentially extending the time required to pay back loans and/or adjusting interest rates, without defaulting.
4. Monetary policy adjustments: Central banks can fine-tune interest rates and other tools to balance inflation concerns with economic growth objectives.
5. International cooperation: Coordinated efforts among countries can address global imbalances and promote stability.
7. Tax reform: Modifying tax structures can potentially increase revenues and rive down depth without stifling growth.
8. Public-private partnerships: Leveraging private sector resources for public projects can reduce government spending needs.
These options demonstrate that policymakers have a wide range of tools at their disposal to prevent defaulting and hyperinflation.
Your view seems to assume that current economic trends will continue unabated, leading inevitably to crisis. However, history shows that economies are dynamic and adaptive. Policies can be adjusted, new technologies can boost productivity, and unexpected positive developments can change economic trajectories, e.g. look at Denmark with Ozempic and Wegovy.
“Weight loss drugs like Ozempic and Wegovy are fattening up Denmark’s economy and helped it dodge a recession last year.”
It’s also worth noting that most economist believe moderate levels of inflation, when managed properly, are not necessarily a bad thing; that some inflation can be beneficial for economic growth and debt management (Krugman, 2014).
While it’s important to be aware of economic risks, characterising the situation as having only two extreme outcomes is an oversimplification, it ignores the complex realities of economic policy and the many tools availably to policymakers, that I listed. In summary, while you raise some valid historical points about changes in monetary policy, you make many unsupported claims.
References:
Bernanke, B.S. (2015). The Courage to Act: A Memoir of a Crisis and Its Aftermath. W.W. Norton & Company.
Blanchard, O. (2019). Public Debt and Low Interest Rates. American Economic Review, 109(4), 1197-1229.
Bordo, M.D. and Eichengreen, B. (1993). A Retrospective on the Bretton Woods System: Lessons for International Monetary Reform. University of Chicago Press.
Chetty, R., Friedman, J.N., Hendren, N., Stepner, M., and the Opportunity Insights Team. (2020). The Economic Impacts of COVID-19: Evidence from a New Public Database Built Using Private Sector Data. NBER Working Paper No. 27431.
Eichengreen, B. (1992). Golden Fetters: The Gold Standard and the Great Depression, 1919-1939. Oxford University Press.
Krugman, P. (2014). Inflation Targets Reconsidered. Draft paper for ECB Sintra Conference.
@Niall English: We’ve a household income of over 130K a year, no kids and no mortgage. The times I go on the lash in Dublin have been massively curtailed, partly because I’m an old codger, partly because there is less Garda/Police presence than a small market town in the South East of England on a Tuesday afternoon but the price is a massive factor. Maybe you’re more successful than me or maybe you’re locked after two pints but Dublin City is an absolute rip off.
I really don’t get the 9% versus 13% vat thing that they keep going on about. How can 4% lead to such a level of closures? Just pick an average price of say €120 for an evening meal + drinks for a couple in city centre. Why would the €5 (4%) be so so important??
@Patrice Ahern: was just about to say the same, this is just the restaurant association lobbying the government before the budget. The problem is more than likely down to high rents rather than a couple of percentage points on VAT.
@Patrice Ahern: It’s all they have to cover up their mismanagement, vat isn’t a cost to the restaurant, as it goes to the Exchequer, the 4.5% increase might deter some eating out, but as you say it’s not a lot of money.
Business isn’t easy and business owners face a lot of obstacles, but this industry seems entitled to a special tax regime, makes no sense.
@Patrice Ahern: I think you’re right, a change in the vat rate won’t work. I think it’s that people got used to drinking and eating at home during Covid and liked the amount of money it saved them. Now they’re gone all American style drinking wine at home and cooking the steaks on their new barbecues. Pubs are now open fewer hours and less days of the week and restaurants are closing; they’ll need more than a 4% vat reduction to change that.
@Patrice Ahern: I agree. Rent is usually 25% of total costs. Most restaurants pay €2,000+ per week for high street rent. I seek out unfashionable located restaurants and pay for food, not rent. “Liath” got a Michelin star from a corner spot in Blackrock Market.
@Paul O’Mahoney: Totally agree a drop in VAT may increase footfall but at the end of the day the any VAT collected goes straight to the Exchequer. The RAI would be better comparing Suppliers Prices to the Hospitality Sector which have increased by as much as 100% over the last couple of years. As well as that they need to lobby the Government to lower State imposed Costs like Rates, Water Charges etc.
@Patrice Ahern: It doesn’t. It’s just more lobbying for a return to something that was only ever temporary to try to help business through the largest economic crash in living memory which was a long time ago now. They got a taste of it and didn’t want to give it up and never stop moshing about it. The fact is that restaurants always come and go. They are trendy for a while and then people move on somewhere else much like bars and nightclubs which then get reinvented and open as something else. Hotels also did their part to send rates back to normal by gouging like there is no tomorrow. If restaurants can’t stay open at the prices they are charging then it just isn’t a viable business.
@the next small thing. Hi! If you sell €500k worth of food in a year, 4% amounts to €20kp.a. which is the difference between success & failure (profit or a loss). While margins are high on food, they have to be, because of the many costs involved in producing good food. Lots of chefs , cooking and prepping (the hours are frightful), kitchen porters, waiters etc. Then you have council rates, water charges, myriad regulatory service contracts for eg:grease traps, extraction system cleaning, emergency lighting and fire suppression, pest control to name a few; then there’s multiple breakages & upkeep/renewal of ovens, dishwashers, fridges, coffee machines, mixers, stoves, fryers, chargrills, salamanders, hot passes….Im exhausted even writing about it.
@Patrice Ahern: Accounting lesson incoming.. Let’s say your sales are €100000 for the two month VAT period. 9% VAT you pay €9000, 13.5% you pay €13500. Thats an extra €4500 or 50% differential. So in an environment where all costs have increased drastically this 50% jump in tax on your sales revenue is a killer, hence all the closures.
“Three of your neighbours closed”.. be honest , you were given a load of cash for the building which will be joined with your neighbours and redeveloped ..
I’m going to open a bacon, cabbage & spuds only dining experience …..that serves tea and bottles of porter …..along with Swiss roll for desert…I think it has great potential as an ethnic restaurant….
Pity about Ukiyo, always a nice place to go to inexpensive too. Still wonder how 4.5% difference in the rate of VAT on the bill, can cause so many closures.
I think it is less customers and maybe the effect of the likes of Deliveroo
@Peter Byrne: Maths time.. Lets just say you have €100000 sales for a given VAT period. 9% VAT you pay €9000, 13.5% you pay €13500. That €4500 or essentially a 50% jump.
The RA blaming VAT is disingenuous. If you can’t make a margin at 13% vat you won’t make a margin on 9%. The only way margin can be made is if the restaurant doesn’t drop its prices commensurately if the vat rate drops (and let’s be real here, none of those establishments did when the VAT rate was dropped last time.) The real culprit is rent/rates/utilities/insurance etc. A restaurant in West Cork wanted to charge me €40 for a sirloin steak…..turned and walked, absolutely no way that price is justifiable in any circumstance.
Restaurants open and close all the time. There are also restaurants in Dublin that are raking in big money and quite successful. Loads of these restaurants closing is due to real estate deals where the property changes hands or is re-developed for profit.
Never heard of it never been one 4 restaurants anyway like Dublin publicans they have themselves to blame with outa this world prices that the working man can’t afford restaurants and pubs are no place 4 children when they can’t learn to cook 4 themselves only the home can do it 4 children
While I’ve empathy for the staff, I’ve little sympathy for the owners blaming VAT.
It’s not that I like VAT, it came in as Luxury Tax at 3% and has ever-increasingly expanded to include almost everything I pay for, after paying income taxes,
Paying 9% VAT on my electricity charges?
It’s not the 4.5 % vat is the cause of the hospitality industries closing their doors, it’s the total rip-off prices that’s been charged, not many can afford them. € 4.50 on a bill don’t make that decision.
It’s becoming too expenses to do business in Ireland being a sole trader micro business and small business. SME you Make more money sitting on the social welfare fact Then actually making an effort The system is broken!
A mix Publican greed and government hatred of the irish pub has come together to kill the irish pub trade. Opening the door for the youth to turn to Coke and Ket…if we thought the effects of alcohol were bad we have seen nothing yet!!!!
@kevin rock: It’s on the south side Kevin thats probably why. !!!
It’s a really well known Karaoke and Japanese restaurant. You don’t get the good stuff on da North Side.
@kevin rock: Genuine question, what is the point of a comment like this? I’d say I know town fairly well but I couldn’t name every single restaurant or bar I pass on every street and just because I haven’t personally heard of one doesn’t mean it isn’t popular with others.
Tourism is finished in Ireland – half the rooms unavailable and the available rooms are all 300 plus per night. Irish travelling abroad and spending their hard earned there.
They had karaoke booths downstairs. Good craic. You could hire a booth with your mates and get copious amounts of sake and Japanese beer. Sing away to your hearts content. My song of choice was Teenage dirtbag by Weatus. Ah the memories
Defence Forces chaplain hugs and shakes hands with teen who pleaded guilty to his attempted murder
3 hrs ago
u-turn
Trump announces 90-day tariff 'pause' on countries that 'have not retaliated', ratchets up China rate to 125%
Updated
19 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say