You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach says expulsion of Russian diplomat from Ireland is an 'act of solidarity' with the UK

Leo Varadkar told the Dáil that when it comes to the use of chemical weapons Ireland is “not neutral one bit”.

Updated 4.30pm

PA Images PA Images

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has said “Ireland as a country has no quarrel with the Russian people” but added that the decision to expel a Russian diplomat from the country is an “act of solidarity” with the UK.

Earlier today, the government announced that Ireland is to expel one Russian diplomat.

It follows the poisoning of a former Russian agent, Sergei Skripal, and his daughter Yulia with a nerve agent in Salisbury, England on 4 March.

The decision was discussed by the government at Cabinet this morning.

In a statement, Minister for Foreign Affairs Simon Coveney said that he had met with the Russian ambassador and informed him “that the accreditation of a member of his staff with diplomatic status is to be terminated”.

“The individual in question is required to leave the jurisdiction.”

The Minister said that the decision was made following an assessment conducted by the security services and relevant government departments.

“The use of chemical weapons, including the use of any toxic chemicals, by anyone, anywhere, is particularly shocking and abhorrent,” Simon Coveney said.

“The attack in Salisbury was not just an attack against the United Kingdom, but an affront to the international rules-base system on which we all depend for our security and wellbeing.”

The British government has placed blame for the incident firmly at the feet of Russia and its leader Vladimir Putin.

Thus far, more than a dozen countries, including the US, France, Italy and Germany,  have expelled Russian diplomats in solidarity with the UK.

At a meeting of the European Council last week, EU leaders agreed with the UK government’s assessment that Russia was highly likely to have been involved in the attack and that there was “no plausible alternative explanation”, Minister Simon Coveney said.

This point was reiterated by the Taoiseach during Leaders’ Questions this afternoon.

Reaction 

Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald told the Dáil that she had no problem condemning the use of chemical agents, stating that it is “utterly unacceptable”.

However, she said the decision to expel a foreign diplomat was not evidence-based.

McDonald said relying on foreign intelligence in such an important decision is a significant departure from government policy, stating that the Dáil was essentially being told to “trust Boris Johnson”. She also criticised the Taoiseach for jeopardising Ireland’s neutrality.

“In terms of evidence, the decision was made in solidarity with the UK, but the decision on which person to ask to leave was based on intelligence and advice from Garda intelligence and Defence Forces intelligence,” said the Taoiseach.

He added:

When it comes to terrorism, assassinations, the use of chemical weapons and cyberterrorism, we are not neutral one bit.  We are joined with other neutral countries including Finland and Sweden, who have taken the same course of action as us, in expelling diplomats.

The Taoiseach told McDonald that Fianna Fáil had been briefed ahead of today’s announcement, as there is a commitment in the confidence and supply agreement to have “no surprises” on such matters. However, he said the Tánaiste Simon Coveney is also happy to brief other parties.

Solidarity-PBP Richard Boyd Barrett said the decision to expel the diplomat showed utter hypocrisy on the part of the Taoiseach.

Last week, the Dun Laoghaire TD asked the Taoiseach to call in the Russian ambassador over the use of chemical weapons in Ghouta in Syria. He said this request was ignored.

He criticised the government for now taking action when the evidence has not been independently verified. He dubbed the expulsion of the Russian diplomat as “stupid” and “dangerous”, adding that a Dáil vote on the matter should have been called.

Fine Gael MEP Brian Hayes said that the Irish government is right to act in solidarity with the UK through ousting Russian diplomats.

“Two people are continuing to fight for their lives, a police officer was injured and it is yet unknown how many innocent members of the general public have been affected.”

“The EU must stand together. It must stand against attempts to undermine western democracies.

We have seen how Russia destabilised the Ukraine with the annexation of Crimea, carried out cyber-attacks in the Baltic States, had direct interventions in elections – in particular the 2016 US election and continues to rally right-wing populist parties across Europe.

Last night, Russian ambassador to Ireland Yury Filatov told RTÉ’s Claire Byrne Live that Ireland should use ‘common sense’ when considering any move against diplomats based here.

Speaking to reporters at the annual conference of the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI), Acting Garda Commissioner Donal O Cúaláin said gardaí have built up considerable capability in the area of security over years of dealing with domestic terrorism.

He said the role of gardaí in this matter was “to assess intelligence available to us through our intelligence services and make an assessment on that”.

He said he was satisfied with the accuracy of the assessment but declined to explain who this assessment was made.

When asked about the risk of espionage, he said:

“Historically, we had our own issues in this country to deal with and we still have a focus in that area as well. In more recent times the situation has shifted to a more international setting.”

With reporting by Christine Bohan, Gráinne Ní Aodha, Christina Finn and Garreth MacNamee. 

Read: New Young Fine Gael chairman says his ‘coathanger abortion’ comment was ‘atrocious’

Read: Putin says Russia shopping centre fire that killed 41 children was ‘criminal negligence’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

349 Comments
    Mute Ger Buckley
    Favourite Ger Buckley
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:04 AM

Amazing. All the unions are out of their rabbit holes now. Ask you union rep how much of a paycut did they take over the last 8 years. You will be amused to find out their wages have increased over that time

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:12 AM

They deserve a bonus for all the sh!te they have to listen to late at night

Mute Allister
    Favourite Allister
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:14 AM

Well Ger I see plenty of mercs and bmws around the place these days… Plenty of money in this country and glad to see some pockets of workers are growing a pair and looking for better conditions… If other workers want to do nothing to improve their situation that’s there’s choice. They need to realise that an average worker who says nothing gets nothing.

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:17 AM

And those who stay in a job they think they are underpaid in should get a better job. That’s the only proof they were underpaid in the first place.

Far too much sense of entitlement these days. A job in a bar is a job in a bar. It’s simply not a complex well paid professional role like a Luas Driver.

Mute Ger Buckley
    Favourite Ger Buckley
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:18 AM

And wouldn’t it be great if their union rep was on the average industrial wage as well Allister? Not starting at north of 80k.

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:23 AM

@Allister: You see plenty of people signing-up to silly PCP deals to drive a 161! The ability to finance the depreciation on a vehicle does not = a capability to pay staff over the odds. The pub business in this country is really struggling.

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:30 AM

Well leave them alone then Alan

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:47 AM

“That fella has a merc! I should get paid more for unskilled work because … look at richie rich over there!”

FFS. I was working behind a bar at 16. It took all of 2 weeks to learn to serve most any drink and to change kegs, gas etc. Someone more senior would do the tills, cashing out etc, and got paid more than me. Supervisors and managers opened up and locked up and got paid more again.

What to people honestly expect for serving drinks? I was getting about £3.50 for suburban bar work when I started in 1998/1999, and about £4.50 in 1999/2000 for city centre nightclub work. In other words, about 1.5 times the price of a pint of Heineken. Seems about consistent with inflation.

I’d imagine every pub in the country has no shortage of people willing to work. Every day some 18/19 year old will walk in with a CV looking for work, and they only need a few weeks training. My experience was that you start on a low rate and get 50c to a euro afterwards when you’re competent.

Mute Macus Mc Mahon
    Favourite Macus Mc Mahon
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:48 AM

Like conscription, everyone in Ireland should work in a bar for a year.

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:57 AM

I wouldn’t use the term undervalued for barstaff, ever!

Mute David Cagney
    Favourite David Cagney
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:08 AM

That’s good – and funny.
    The red thumbers took their stupid pills today alright.

Mute David Cagney
    Favourite David Cagney
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:09 AM

I’m referring of course to alphanautica

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:22 AM

Ronan. People deserve not to be on zero hour contracts. Not just in the bar trade but in any trade.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:52 AM

Medal parade for Ronan!, I wonder how you would cope in a modern day Niteclub Ronan with all the different drinks and cocktails on offer?, some bar staff would not get home till around 5am by the time they clean up and then be back in the next morning to open up, go home for a few hours and then back in later on for the busy night shift, this is common practice and all for the lowest wage the employer can get away with!.
    Would you stand for that when you were working as a barman?, many just accept this through gritted teeth because they need the money most other jobs available in todays Ireland come with similar credentials.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:09 AM

@Ronan there is a difference between doing a job to earn money as a student as opposed to having it as your income to pay rent and the cost of actually living. In countries like the US a barman is considered to be a trade and remunerated accordingly – the big difference of course is that americans appreciate this and tip accordingly.

People like you seem to think because you worked a little bit in the local for a basic wage that somehow that means that everyone for ever more should as well… i don’t think employers should pay more especially if things are tight – but a cultural shift in peoples attitudes is key exemplified by your glib attitude.. tip the person who serves you pocket change to you obviously but tallied together a living wage for a barman

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:51 AM

What a load of coddswallop, there are thousands of bars around the country supported by just one elderly person. So if the bar trade is such a fantastic business then where are the younger generation to run them and let the older folks retire with some dignity. In the town where I live there are three bars closed in recent years because the owners have died and two remaining which are run by elderly widows.

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:59 AM

Maybe they don’t want to open bars in the middle of nowhere, Chris. It’s a sad reality that young people are leaving rural areas – either by emmigrating or moving to bigger towns/cities – so not enough customers to make running a business in some places viable.

Ireland always had a problem of small towns having too many pubs anyway.

Mute Oisin Gilmore
    Favourite Oisin Gilmore
    Apr 21st 2016, 11:16 AM

My brother in law works as s trade unionist. His pay, perks and pension are incredible. He still moans about his job though.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Apr 21st 2016, 11:30 AM

@William Boyd,

Like I said, I worked in a bar and I worked in what was then one of the busiest nightclubs in Cork. It was as tough then as it is now. Just as messy, just as many bottle bins to empty.

Array of cocktails? Give me a break. No different to a suburban pub on a winters night when someone orders an Irish coffee or a hot port and suddenly everyone thinks its a great idea.

If anything bar staff are far worse than they were in my day. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve seen staff in a city center bar or club take more than one order at a time. God forbid some ould lad drinking alone would give them a nod for another Guinness, they’d think he was saying hello not calling his next pint.

@Old Gabby Johnson,

If you’re trying to pay rent and live from bar work you’re on a hiding to nothing. For non supervisor/manager roles it should be a stop gap. Anyone I worked with who was not a student had a day job and did the nightclub/bar work for extra money.

I have sympathy with those on zero hour contracts and I’d like to see employees protected. I also have no issue with bar staff looking for a living wage. It’s a crappy job – but it’s never going to be more than a crappy job.

You can’t unionize and elevate all these crappy jobs to the point that everyone can afford a 3 bed semi in Dublin. The cost of those houses, rent, and other cost of living elements will increase because there will always be someone with the flexibility to spend more on renting that convenient apartment/room if the wages are higher.

Similarly, you can’t demand high wages for a job that a Spanish student can learn in 2 weeks and will provide flexibility around shifts. There’s too many people that are happy to take flexible bar work – unsociable as the hours are, they’re perfect for students, and that creates demand for those positions at any wages.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Apr 21st 2016, 11:49 AM

pay the minimum wage and they should all be dam glad to get it. fire regularly to focus the minds also

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Apr 21st 2016, 1:21 PM

Actually I know of several bars in the middle of nowhere that do quite well as bar/restaurants. There are opportunities for people who are prepared to work hard and build a reputation.

Mute Tara Ní Dochartaigh
    Favourite Tara Ní Dochartaigh
    Apr 21st 2016, 1:25 PM

Why shouldn’t they get paid a living wage and have a rota in advance so they can have a healthy work/life balance? Someone has to do this type of work, and there aren’t enough high-skill jobs for everyone. Some people will always have to do the low skilled jobs, why should they have to scrap by?

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Apr 21st 2016, 1:45 PM

So it’s perfectly OK then to exploit the bar workers.

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Apr 21st 2016, 1:49 PM

Bar work actually use to be a trade, where you’d get an apprenticeship just like you would to be an electrician or a plumber, wonder when it died off.

Mute Robbie Kelly
    Favourite Robbie Kelly
    Apr 21st 2016, 1:55 PM

Well said

Mute seamus mckenzie
    Favourite seamus mckenzie
    Apr 21st 2016, 2:54 PM

I suspect you either own a bar or are a bar manager. I smell a rat with you.

Mute seamus mckenzie
    Apr 21st 2016, 2:56 PM

I did an apprenticeship. Got ripped off. Short changed every week in my wages. Worked up to 60, to 70 hours per week and only got paid for forty.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Apr 23rd 2016, 10:44 PM

Well said Nautica

Mute Nellie Jane
    Favourite Nellie Jane
    Apr 24th 2016, 10:49 PM

Yes exactly. You not study for it. Its like a simple job everyone can start so i think its should be the minimum. As why they have otherwise a minimum. If they do well they earn tips as well. If they pay them 16 euros an hour I will go back to my waitress job too. 10 euro is very reasonable

Mute Nellie Jane
    Favourite Nellie Jane
    Apr 24th 2016, 10:52 PM

Yes exactly. Why should a 19 year old get paid 35k to work. Or an older person that didn’t study get paid that. In the office they pay more but only for skilled people. Not for the basic administrator of 19th years. They all get 9 or 10 euro an hour and no permanent contract or sick leave.

Mute Vincent McCarthy
    Favourite Vincent McCarthy
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:08 AM

And what about the positives? It provides employment to thousands of young people funding their education, who prefer casual style employment. It can be a second job for many people.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:20 AM

So that excuses slave labour then Vincent?, not all bar staff are exploited but many are!

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:28 AM

The answers is strong unions supported by all within the industry.

Entrepreneurs will always work to reduce costs and without unions employees will never be in a strong negotiating position. The decline in industry standards is due to the fact that the unions pulled out.

Many publics leveraged their good business to gamble on other industries they knew nothing about. With no unions to protect the employees a free fall took place with the main people who lost being the employees when the debts were called in.

Balance is created by the unions and the fact that their are no longer any in the hotel and bar trade has left entrepreneurs free to buy their labour at a minimum price with labour freely available thanks to the European experiment.

Mute Vincent McCarthy
    Favourite Vincent McCarthy
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:50 AM

I can’t verify if you are right or wrong on that comment. Slave labour by some union standards reckons a 54% pay raise is needed. For some people bar work is their career and for others it’s an extra but of money for study etc… There is always a flip side to any debate

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:06 AM

I was under the impressions that the 54 per cent was a figure leaked by the company to the media in the luas strikes in order to strengthen their negotiating hand.

On my understanding the real problem is the insistent by the company that a two tiered driver policy be put in place and that waves are secondary to ensuring a fair working environment is continued?

Mute Anne Gilroy
    Favourite Anne Gilroy
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:41 AM

I am a country publican in a west of Ireland holiday resort, for 19years. We charge €4 a pint. I have never had a Christmas, Easter, or Bank Holiday off with my family. We struggle to pay massive mortgage, insurance, rates, energy bills, Sky, IMRO and other over heads in the off season. Every year we sponsor local Golf Club, GAA Club, Soccer Club, Festival, Agricultural Show, Tidy Towns, Marketing Group and various other charities. We employee local, pay more than minimum wage plus a drink or two when they finish work. This is union b…. Please do not tar us all with the same brush.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:54 AM

Anne I don’t think they are tarring you all with the same brush, fine you appreciate your staff but the fact is many bar staff are been exploited so why would you have a problem that these issues are been highlighted?.

Staff often won’t speak out for fear of losing their job or becoming a target for the bosses ire for daring to speak up for themselves.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:58 AM

Sad to say Anne you’re probably the exception that proves the rule. My partner often worked in a late bar from 2pm to 2am was lucky to get a 10min break. And they charge closer to €5 a pint!

Fair play for doing right!

Mute Stephen Harkin
    Favourite Stephen Harkin
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:19 AM

Not every pub ‘makes millions’ the journal always assume every pub in Ireland is located in temple bar or harcourt street. Try check on a local pub that doesn’t charge €8 a pint and see how much they make at the end of a year, I bet 9/10 of them is a loss.
    The nurses and care workers wages should be looked after first by unions. You know what you get when you sign up to be a barman, they don’t.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:29 AM

Pull up that ladder Stephen!

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:58 AM

At the least they should be getting a break somewhere in an 8 hour shift, no? Take pay out of the equation and look to improving conditions for staff. Rosters could be sorted ahead of well ahead of time. None of this last second bullshit. This would allow for paid breaks as is everyone’s legal entitlement to a 15min break every 4.5hrs

Mute Cathal Murphy
    Favourite Cathal Murphy
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:09 AM

That’s ridiculous, any bar I go into the bar staff are run completely off their feet and in return they are getting paid a pittance. Does the government help anyone anymore other than cashed up property developers?

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:19 AM

Amazing Cathal you got so many red thumbs, seems the I’m alright Jack how are you types are out on force this morning!.

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:26 AM

You can play your part and go to the quieter bars to reduce the busy bar staff workload and share the wealth, simples.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:44 AM

Or give a tip…

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:50 AM

If everyone who went into a pub – bought the bar person one pint they’;d be a lot better off.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:20 AM

Clearly not, scambridge and low wage Ireland is what the government wants (at least the former one)

Mute Gordon McCabe
    Favourite Gordon McCabe
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:52 AM

Very few other bartenders I know are even a member of this union or know about entitlements. It’s true you work very anti social hours, rarely get more than ‘a smoke break’, and since the crash the wage has continued to drop. I was getting €12 an hour in a late night music bar in Dublin 10 years ago. Skip forward 3 and it was minimum wage and working hours were 10pm til 4am 2 to 3 nights a week. Always been like this but the bat trade is no longer a trade in most owner’s eyes and they’re not willing to pay for it. Good bar staff who pride themselves in their work get hit the most and are becoming less and less

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:11 AM

It’s an outrage that people can spend years studying hard to work in a bar and then cannot afford to buy a house.

If only there were alternative jobs out there that paid better that they were allowed to aspire to.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:43 AM

Who would serve you your smirnoff ice then if they all left>?

There are many cogs in society each one must turn for it to work from A**holes like you to the people who serve a**holes like you when you’re in the pub watching the rugby with your heino swigging chums.

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:35 AM

It is a outrage that many working class professionals can not afford the asking price of a roof over their head. It should be that if you work damn hard no matter what proffession you can aspire to purchase a property, what determines where and size is the advancement of your career.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:11 AM

Alphanautica…The irony being if everyone took your advice those well paid jobs would not longer be well paid, as companies could source employees at 10-a-penny

Not everyone has the aptitude either for some of these jobs. People here seem to forget that. IQs vary in Ireland between 90-110 on average. Doesnt mean people closer to the 90 mark are stupid, just that it will be more difficult and time consuming to learn skills. Not impossible, just more difficult.

Im blue in the face telling people about free courses on EdX and Coursera. Still though, at times it needs someone going through the material before with you before ‘you get it’.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:55 AM

Whenever I’m in a hotel now, all I see is glum looking businesslike Eastern European bar staff, I wonder what the tourists think.

Mute Kevin Geoghegan
    Favourite Kevin Geoghegan
    Apr 21st 2016, 5:33 PM

it is not just hotels. there are seven pubs in and around the Stephen’s green area were most of the staff are east European. glum show gazers.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:56 AM

It’s not just bar work that is underpaid. It’s rife in most sectors. The crash gave all employers the chance they needed to drive wages down and fall back on the excuse that they had to because they were struggling. I accept that some businesses were hit hard but some employers just took the urine with it and now 000′s of workers are getting screwed because of it

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:05 AM

A good friend of mine is a bar man and he’s always complaining about wages and conditions. Yet he does nothing about it. I would walk if I was treated like that.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:17 AM

Walk where Tom into another poor paid job?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:13 AM

Maybe try to retrain or better himself William?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly

William, get real. There are plenty of jobs out there if you have the right skills and qualifications. Maybe William you are one of those that like things handed to them but I prefer to make my own future.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:23 AM

If it was only just as simple as that Avina?.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:31 AM

And what if he cannot afford to acquire the “right skills and qualifications”? Do you still suggest he walks Tom?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:39 AM

Well William, if you’re competing for better paid jobs with those who have been motivated enough to take steps to retrain or improve their qualifications, but you’ve not bothered because you expect someone to just come along and hand you a well-paid job, only one person is going to progress. It’s a reality check and it’s a harsh reality, but that’s the world we live in. Most of us have served time flipping burgers etc. at some point, but most of us have seen it as a temporary step to get by, whilst staying on the road to something better.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:56 AM

Buts that not the point avina its about how some employers are exploiting their staff, doesn’t matter what qualifications you have your employer has a duty to at least treat you with respect, many bar staff work damn hard and often work unholy hours for poor pay/

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:06 AM

Well I’d certainly agree that all employers should treat their employees with respect at all times and give them their statutory entitlements, but any wage is based on skills, level of training/education, responsibility and experience. Like it or not, that’s the reality (as the Luas workers just found out).

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:38 AM

How could they retrain for better qualifications?

They’re being paid poorly already, so obviously can’t save up enough to take time off work to study.
    They work unsocial hours, zero-hour contracts with a lot of uncertainty week-to-week – how can they organise themselves to do this part time?

It’s tough, tiring work and deserves a decent wage. They do not deserve to be exploited.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:49 AM

Oh come off it Meatyslaps. You’re saying that because someone made a bad choice once and took a job as a barman, they’re now condemned to spend the rest of their working days in the same underpaid and overworked job with no prospect of ever ‘escaping’?? Grow up.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:53 AM

I agree they don’t deserve to be exploited, but as long as statutory obligations are being met everyone has choices.

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:55 AM

Didn’t say that, just highlighting the difficulties they might face because you made it sound so easy to just switch jobs and retrain.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Apr 21st 2016, 12:09 PM

Bettering yourself and you life isn’t east, it’s never been easy.

Anyone who believe it or it should be probably shouldn’t be left unsupervised for very long.

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Apr 21st 2016, 12:18 PM

Lines like that are all well and good, when you want to take the moral highground and ignore the real problems people face when attempting to change.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Apr 21st 2016, 12:57 PM

I never said it was easy Meatyslaps. Life isn’t easy, but everyone has to take personal responsibility for their path in life, and very often it takes tough choices and hard work.

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:34 AM

A good bar man should be earning €15 to €20 ph and if their not then move on . Underpaid my eye !

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:09 AM

Sure you have your dole as well!

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:55 AM

Bar workers are bar workers, not brain surgeons, what do people expect when working in an area that takes at the minimum a couple of weeks training?

Sure there are some chaps in fancy bars mixing cocktails who can rake it in but they’re few and far between.

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:47 AM

They expect to be paid enough to live. While it may seem easy to just pull pints, its still hard tiring work with unsocial hours.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Apr 21st 2016, 12:11 PM

“They expect to be paid enough to live”

Enough to live is relative. Being a barman isn’t a job until retirement in the same way sweeping floors at Tesco isn’t, not should it be.

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Apr 21st 2016, 12:21 PM

Says you.

Being a barman is as decent a job as any, so is sweeping the floors or stocking the shelves at Tesco. All work should pay enough to live, i.e. enough to eat, pay bills, rent etc. without stressing over it so much, if you’re working full time.

Issues with low-pay and uncertain hours make it completely impossible for anyone in these industries to plan ahead or try to “better themselves” (as you so elegantly put it).

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 21st 2016, 4:27 PM

Some snobby comments there Phil. Do you ever tire of looking down your nose?

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Apr 22nd 2016, 9:48 AM

I’m not looking down my nose. It’s just not a well paying job, never will be a well paying job and in reality shouldn’t be a well paying job.

“All work should pay enough to live, i.e. enough to eat, pay bills, rent etc. without stressing over it so much, if you’re working full time.”

Sure, but again that’s relative. If I want to live in Dublin City centre and eat out every night a job in a bar isn’t going to meet those needs. If I want to own rather than rent a bar job isn’t going to work there either.

“Issues with low-pay and uncertain hours make it completely impossible for anyone in these industries to plan ahead or try to “better themselves” (as you so elegantly put it).”

No it doesn’t. It doesn’t make it easy, for sure, but doesn’t make it impossible.

Mute Tom Curran
    Favourite Tom Curran
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:29 AM

Unfortunately this is true with some people working 55 to 60 hours for 400 or less, 10 min breaks.. Thankfully not the case with all employers but there are still a lot of them out there.

Mute Paulpablo Boland
    Favourite Paulpablo Boland
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:42 AM

Any gimp can pull a pint alright…..but try working Xmas..easter…paddy’s……..well all special occasions……when most others are living it up…that’s what makes it tuff..

Mute Donn Martin
    Favourite Donn Martin
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:54 AM

Good read but will never happen its not a trade anymore im 12 years a bartender and its worse than the article explains anyone can pull a pint but takes time to serve a customer

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:05 AM

I always tip at bars

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Apr 21st 2016, 2:07 PM

Yes, carrying trays is awkward, especially when you’ve had a few.

Mute Oisin Gilmore
    Favourite Oisin Gilmore
    Apr 21st 2016, 11:12 AM

Its a tough job working unsociable hours, on your feet all day, dealing with drunk members of the public. Its a job that doesn’t get the respect that it deserves.

Mute Stephen Mcd
    Favourite Stephen Mcd
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:53 AM

I hope there’s a few luas drivers reading this

Mute Beanstalk
    Favourite Beanstalk
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:49 AM

They should be paid extra just for the amount of drunken nonsense they have to listen to on it’s own. (I know I’ve contributed to this type of nonsense on occasion!)

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong

The pay rate is not determined by bosses or employees. it is determined by market demands. The easier the job, the cheaper the pay. Little training required, everyone can do it, you won’t expect high pay ever. Jumping out of McJob is the only way.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:32 AM

I can assure you Sean that there is an awful lot more to bar work than perfecting the skill of pulling the perfect pint of Guinness, all well and good pulling pints for a few locals during the week, but w/ends can be extremely busy remembering multiple orders, often accompanied with a cocktail or two for your female companions, any slacking and the workload keeps building up, working in busy late bars and niteclubs can be a nightmare sometimes, you would need the patience of a saint!.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:53 AM

Bill,
    I had worked in a pub for 7 years. I worked 10-12 hours a day. I had the same thought as you that I deserve decent pay as I believed I worked so hard. But I forgot one thing, I can work hard, everyone else can do the same as well because it is easy job. There is no shortage of bar man supply in market. The competition is intensive. The boss doesn’t care because he can easily find replacement on market.
    I decided to find a job more complex and not everyone can easily take. when I started my current job, I believe the bar job is far easier. Now I can negotiate the pay with my boss because I know replacing me will costs boss more than pay rise.

Mute Kers Neil
    Favourite Kers Neil
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:25 AM

No mention of tips in these figures.

Mute Anthony Ryan
    Favourite Anthony Ryan
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:50 AM

Because Irish people generally don’t tip bar tenders.

Mute Kers Neil
    Favourite Kers Neil
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:22 AM

True, but figures apply to ‘bar workers’ including table staff who do get tipped.Taking my local as an example, behind the bar is the owner and the manager who serve the drinks , then 2-3 table staff who regularly get tipped, especially when serving food.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:07 AM

It’s a desirable second job for students and young people, the conditions may be difficult but I doubt it’s hard to find people for the position.
    They don’t “deserve” anything else other than what the business chooses to pay them, bars aren’t an essential part of society.

Mute Donn Martin
    Favourite Donn Martin
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:02 AM

Ar u serious? Bartenders spend years studying drinks techniques brands etc. All jus t help you when you cant tell the difference between a woo woo and a cosmo!

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:15 AM

I’ll let Matt Walsh respond to this with a post from yesterday regarding US fast-food workers going on strike… http://themattwalshblog.com/2016/04/19/4990/

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:06 AM

@Brian Lenehan,
    He’s just a right wing stooge, trying to pretend all fast food workers are teenagers.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Apr 21st 2016, 11:50 AM

national hug a barman day. jesus wept. harsh reality is its a job for the braindead

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Apr 21st 2016, 1:09 PM

It’s one of those jobs that you have to give up if you want to get married, take out a mortgage, and don’t want to die of starvation.

Mute Gary Egan
    Favourite Gary Egan
    Apr 21st 2016, 11:22 AM

Dublin, Dublin Dublin…

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Apr 21st 2016, 11:31 AM

It’s a pity that an awful lot of bar staff don’t even know how to pull a pint ! Watch them pull a pint, in a lot of cases hands covering the top half of the glass where you will be sipping from and you wonder why you get a cold sore! Basic hygiene?

Mute Eucrid
    Favourite Eucrid
    Apr 21st 2016, 7:11 PM

Not to mention the amount of dirty glasses around. Though thats the publican or the bar manager rather than the rest of the staff.

Mute Kenneth Bailey
    Favourite Kenneth Bailey
    Apr 21st 2016, 10:45 AM

Chefs as well

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Apr 21st 2016, 9:07 AM

Why not put their hand in the till?

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:59 AM

Why don’t they start their own bars/pubs themselves

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Apr 21st 2016, 6:00 PM

At least bar staff have a union,chefs are underpaid and overworked and yet nothing is said about it cause there isn’t even a union!

Mute Keith Masterson
    Favourite Keith Masterson
    Apr 21st 2016, 4:05 PM

We drink to much as a nation, perhaps if we drank more, the bar staff could get paid more!!!!

Mute seamus mckenzie
    Apr 21st 2016, 2:52 PM

I am owed thousands in back pay from that industry. How do I claim.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Apr 21st 2016, 8:42 PM

In fairness they put up with a lot of shite

Mute Simon Quinn
    Favourite Simon Quinn
    Jun 6th 2016, 7:52 AM

Where are the unions getting this idea that workers are in some type of profit sharing scheme. Company profits go up and the workers should share in that? They do not own the company. Yes workers should be paid a fair wage, but the government have determined that the fair wage is minimum wage, rightly or wrongly as the case may be. My personal opinion is that there shouldn’t be a minimum wage, but a living wage by county council. As we all know that it costs less to live in areas outside major urban centres. Unions will bring us back to the jolly up days of the late 90′s and early to mid 2000′s…

Mute Nellie Jane
    Favourite Nellie Jane
    Apr 24th 2016, 10:46 PM

But they get tips I believe. A bar job is normally part-time and the people study and will switch when possible to something else. The time I work in a bar after some time you can tell your boss when you have other commitments and any normal boss understand you live not for him. You work the saturday and Friday but during the week you can ask off or twitxh with colleges. You talk to them and go to your boss. You ask to talk to him and explain him your situation or you leave and find a job in another bar were they reasonable as there are many bars. About your holidays. Everyone has holidays and if you work for 9 euro an hour and 2 euro tip an hour at least. That is 1800 or 2000 a month I believe if you work 8 hours. Free food included and a normal boss hive you a break as he will see the energy he get back. Otherwise you leave off course to a lower paid place on tips but reasonable boss