You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

FILE: Russian fighter jet MIG-35

Russian fighter jets intercepted by US near Alaska

The warplanes intercepted the jets on Wednesday.

TWO RUSSIAN MIG 35 fighter jets entered a US “air defence identification zone” on Wednesday and were intercepted by American warplanes near Alaska, two US defence officials said.

Although Russian aircraft have entered the zone previously it was “the first time in a long time” that fighter jets passed through the area, a defence official, who spoke on condition of anonymity, told AFP.

The Russian planes, which also included two refueling tankers and two long-range bombers, left the area without incident, he said.

- © AFP, 2014

Read: Russia is not only supplying weapons to rebels but is also firing on Ukraine – US>

View 64 comments
64 Comments
    Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:26 AM

Sarah Palin must’ve had a great view of that

Mute Dec smith
    Favourite Dec smith
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:31 AM

Easy mistake flying upside down

Mute Robin Hilliard
    Favourite Robin Hilliard
    Sep 20th 2014, 9:05 AM

The Russian’s airforce must have the same geography teacher as their army’s Amnesia Brigade.

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Sep 20th 2014, 9:27 AM

It’s another non event. The big powers are always doing this. As long as you are in international waters you have done nothing that the US etc don’t regularly do. Now that the Cold War is restarting every non event has to be hammed up to gee up the masses and get them on board.

Mute Svyat Zn
    Favourite Svyat Zn
    Sep 20th 2014, 11:58 PM

Robin, please take note at how fact-less this news is. Not a single piece of evidence is presented to confirm that this event ever happened. If this group of planes was detected by radar, surely a satellite could’ve taken a photo to confirm the incident, but as you see it wasn’t. Perhaps because it never happened… besides it wasn’t an illegal act even if it occurred, since it was still international territory.

Mute paul mc namara
    Favourite paul mc namara
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:24 AM

Where is tom cruise when u need him

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:31 AM

Maverick and Goose to the rescue

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Sep 20th 2014, 8:39 AM

Dying repeatedly in Edge Of Tomorrow.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Sep 20th 2014, 9:05 AM

If only Alan…

Mute SinAssist
    Favourite SinAssist
    Sep 20th 2014, 9:38 AM

Still in the closet, fumbling for the eject button!!

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Sep 20th 2014, 10:19 AM

Mission impossible

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:36 AM

Russians getting a bit too cocky me reckons. Even though George W bush was a dick and Obama is a grave disappointment and Hollywood movies are going down the pan, Russia still doesn’t come within reach of a very low bar.

Mute Mick Roach
    Favourite Mick Roach
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:41 AM

Do not underestimate the Russians. Largest country on Earth, won the Cold War and Space Race. Not to mention the sh!tload of nukes they have.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:52 AM

Won the Cold War? Is that why Poland Romania, the Baltic States and others are all in the EU and not Warsaw Pact anymore? Is winning the Cold War what Putin called the greatest Geo political folly of the 20th century? What happened to the USSR again?

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:52 AM

Russia won the cold war! No shit, (all sane journal readers on caniptions of laughter on the floor) get back on the meds bud, boom boom!

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Sep 20th 2014, 1:00 AM

Depends on how you define winning the space race as well!

Mute Sean J. Troy
    Favourite Sean J. Troy
    Sep 20th 2014, 1:11 AM

Total economic collapse and the overnight demolition of the evil empire, sounds like a resounding success!
    They won the sprint but not the marathon in the space race.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Sep 20th 2014, 2:30 AM

Mick, what are you smoking?

Mute mjhint
    Favourite mjhint
    Sep 20th 2014, 4:35 AM

Mick has never been to Russia apparently or the former warsaw pack countries before the wall came down. They couldnt even feed their army or pay them whatever about getting them to fight. Im lucky Mick I got to see it & even now im not afraid of Russia. While its easy to fight small armies in Ukraine & Georgia the Russians haven’t been put to the test since WW2. How many Russian cars or trucks do you see on the road in Europe or the US. Its still a backward nation & according to the experts these are the last cries of a dying bear which is only dying faster because of camp insecure Russian leader.

Mute The Galloping Major
    Favourite The Galloping Major
    Sep 20th 2014, 7:41 AM

The scary part is that nearly 40 morons liked his comment!

Mute Maurice Rodgers
    Favourite Maurice Rodgers
    Sep 20th 2014, 3:28 PM

Justin. ..questions for you. …have you ever been to Russia or discussed any issues of concern you have with a Russian person. ….. I predict no to both……. another question justin…..where do you get your information and facts that base your opinions on Russia and that country’s position and actions on the many international issues? I predict again sky news . .bbc and cnn..fox etc

Actually justin I believe you know nothing whatsoever about Russia and all your opinions are completely way off a reasonable balanced informed person views. …………

Don’t bother to respond because I am not really interested…

Mute Sean J. Troy
    Favourite Sean J. Troy
    Sep 20th 2014, 4:33 PM

Maurice,
    In the list of countries with free media and full public disclosure, Russia is sitting somewhere between North Korea and China.
    The media is completely controlled by either the state or by Putin’s oligarch mates. There is no free press in Russia. American news outlets are often biased. But most European news agencies are fairly objective, the BBC is arguably the most informative news agencies in the world.
    Russia is not always the bad guy and there are some cases where they are treated unfairly by western media. But you only need to look at stations like RT to realise how blatant the propaganda from the Kremlin is, it’s outrageously blatant.
    I would get most of my information on Russia from books, it has a very complicated political and ethnic history and you really need to understand that before you can even approach modern day Russia with an informed opinion.
    Having said all of that, Russia is a proud country with a rich history and a resourceful people. Nobody in the West hates the Russian people. We merely detest the anti democratic, bigoted and fascist views of Vladamir Putin. He’s leading Russia down economic ruin and is trying to point fingers at everyone with his state media arm. This is why he started his homophobic campaign and trying to stoke up people’s nationalism. So that the Russian people don’t realise that he’s fleecing them behind his back and siphoning billions in public funds towards his bestos. Sochi was a joke for corruption, I’ve never seen anything like it. If Russia are lucky enough to keep their World Cup bid, it’ll probably be even worse.
    Kick Putin out of office and try to modernise with social and democratic values in line with the rest of the free world and the Russian Federation would be welcomed with open arms by the people Putin paints as enemies.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Sep 20th 2014, 6:08 PM

Maurice, I’m sure you comment on lots of places you’ve never been to. What’s your obsession with were I get info, never watched fox in my life (don’t know many normal Irish people who even have it on their radar), sky is tripe so no don’t watch that either (sorry to disappoint you maurice), BBC occasionally but not the organization of the past so don’t really watch. Channel 4 news I find quiet good and I source a lot online as you obviously do. I can tell you are very familiar with Russia Maurice as you seem to think people should not be allowed to express a free opinion unless it supports your own view. Yes that’s clear evidence there of intense russification. I know your not going to bother reading this, my heart bleeds, but you do come across as an intolerant pompous ass. I’m glad I could clear up your predictions on what media I read, as you can see like a lot of what you say it was wrong and here’s a few……………………….’s for ya, you do seem to love en! Tootle pip

Mute Maurice Rodgers
    Favourite Maurice Rodgers
    Sep 21st 2014, 3:40 AM

Sean……you are a complete donkey ………..eu and us dont allow any cars or others products into the trade arena unless its to benefit eu or us ………… you have never been to Russia. ..so your info is based on nothing other than skynews etc……….its not backwards your completely wrong actually. ………… you are embarrassing yourself sean…….

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Sep 21st 2014, 7:46 AM

Not as many dots in that post Maurice are you waiting for resupply from the Kremlin? Again you think his opinion should be controlled. Do you believe in freedom? Are you so blind to think that ordinary Russians enjoy anything like our level of freedom? Do you really believe that you must have been there to have an opinion? Lots of people on here have strong opinions on Israel and Gaza and I’d hazzard a guess very few have been. Should they all keep quiet? Why would you get so emotional and upset when people criticize Russia? Just seems wreird, are they paying you?

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Favourite Jonathan Bambury
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:25 AM

Wow they could intercept them on the outer edges of alaskan air space but not the 747s that were flying around new York for about a hour ……

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:32 AM

You idiot, the world was a different place then. They couldn’t have imagined the outcome or propose if them flying towards New York

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:38 AM

747′s? Intelligent comment of the year.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:51 AM

There’s always one

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Sep 20th 2014, 2:32 AM

Jonathon, not true!

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Sep 20th 2014, 2:33 AM

And by that I mean there’s no comparison.

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Sep 20th 2014, 5:42 AM

Really … The world was a different place? And they did imagine and even had planned for exactly what happened long before it did.

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Sep 20th 2014, 5:43 AM

How do you think there is no comparison?

Mute Jonathan Sadlier
    Favourite Jonathan Sadlier
    Sep 20th 2014, 7:16 AM

Your the idiot wake up

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Sep 20th 2014, 7:24 AM

Jonathan look up, most major cities with airports have flight traffic over them, before they realised what exactly was going on it was too late and em 9/11 only had one significant 747 and that was Air Force one which was in Florida at the time

Mute The Galloping Major
    Favourite The Galloping Major
    Sep 20th 2014, 7:40 AM

And I suppose if two F-16′s had blown one of the planes out of the sky you would have been happy?

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Sep 20th 2014, 11:37 AM

That’s just pure bullshit

Mute Ronan Clarke
    Favourite Ronan Clarke
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:27 AM

Revvin’ up your engine
    Listen to her howlin’ roar
    Metal under tension
    Beggin’ you to touch and go

Highway to the Danger Zone…..

Mute Silver Planet
    Favourite Silver Planet
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:32 AM

Plaaaaaayin’

Playin with tha boys

Mute Pádraíg O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraíg O'hEidhin
    Sep 20th 2014, 3:59 AM

Sure they were back on the Thursday and the Canadians had to scramble two jets.

Mute Pádraíg O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraíg O'hEidhin
    Sep 20th 2014, 4:00 AM
    Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Sep 20th 2014, 2:42 AM

Just in case Horgay and his fellow sheep deny this

http://rt.com/usa/178820-russia-military-flights-us-airspace/

And as you can see it’s from RT. So they can’t accuse the western media of propaganda.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Sep 20th 2014, 8:56 AM

Must try harder Declan, must try harder.

Mute Robin Hilliard
    Favourite Robin Hilliard
    Sep 20th 2014, 9:01 AM

That’s Kremlin-controlled propaganda, so it’s ok.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Sep 20th 2014, 9:15 AM

Robin, you know the Kremlin doesn’t do lies or propaganda – its the only go-to place to get the real truth of what’s happening….
    ;-)

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:49 AM

Two long range Bombers…

No Doubt the Tu-95 Bear Bomber.

A very dated looking aircraft nevertheless perhaps one of the fastest prop plane of its size and would not be too far behind a B42.

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee2/froglevelzcool/russian-TU-95h-bear-bomber-along-united-states-coast-attack_zps38ee14c3.jpg

Mute Sean J. Troy
    Favourite Sean J. Troy
    Sep 20th 2014, 1:53 AM
    Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Sep 20th 2014, 2:31 AM

Frank, you just love this don’t you. Will this be one of those false flag operations you like to talk about?

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Sep 20th 2014, 2:43 AM

Frank, I see your hero Putin is testing the waters
    http://rt.com/usa/178820-russia-military-flights-us-airspace/

Mute Chris Devitt
    Favourite Chris Devitt
    Sep 20th 2014, 1:46 PM

@ . Declan Noonan . Why not ? NATO is busy testing the waters all over the ME and Ukraine too.

Mute AssadSmoocher
    Favourite AssadSmoocher
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:49 AM

They’re p***sed with the Americans

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Sep 20th 2014, 4:20 PM

Drunk?

Mute Kevin Martin
    Favourite Kevin Martin
    Sep 20th 2014, 10:13 AM

Russia is a major military power in the world. It can only become more powerful economically and militarily with the huge resources it has at its disposal. Putin wants this and so do the russian people.

The Eu will probably need to develop militarily to act as a counter balance. Its unlikely the Us will continue in its role singlehandedly as the World policeman much longer.

Of course the Eu will inevitable be German led so in about 25 years around 2040 it will be Usa, Russia, a German led Eu and China instead of Japan.

Its just a matter of time…

K

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:54 AM

What the help is a B-42 you fool

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:55 AM

*hell*

Mute James Conway
    Favourite James Conway
    Sep 20th 2014, 1:45 AM

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_XB-42_Mixmaster
    Perhaps you should do some research before calling someone a fool, and if the hat fits wear it!

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Sep 20th 2014, 6:49 AM

James, an odd and somewhat irrelevant comparison. The “Bear” has been operational for years, the XB-42 never was, having been cancelled in 1948.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Sep 20th 2014, 8:25 AM

Hi James, read it again XB-42 the X meaning experimental and hence never a production or service model, frank is talking through his hole as usual and backing him here makes you look a little silly too. We can all read Wikipedia put there is zero relevance in dragging up a plane that never got produced and never called the B-42. Good day.

Mute Joe Corleone
    Favourite Joe Corleone
    Sep 20th 2014, 8:35 AM

Congrats Justin you’re fast becoming the new Deco Noonan of this forum.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Sep 20th 2014, 10:14 AM

I know Joe you and the “lads” hate been made to look stupid, but Ye do put in the effort so fair play.

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell

Shoots even.

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell

Maverick and Ghost Rider ready on shouts 1&2.

Mute Paul Roberts
    Favourite Paul Roberts
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:13 PM

World war 3 Is on it’s way

Mute John Heffernan
    Favourite John Heffernan
    Sep 20th 2014, 12:12 PM

It would make a great episode of Jerry Springer!!!!!!!!!!!