You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'I intend to say well done to our social media team and give them a raise' - Michael O'Leary

The Ryanair CEO was in flying form this morning at the launch of the airline’s winter schedule for 2017.

4339 Ryanair Michael O'Leary Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

RYANAIR CHIEF EXECUTIVE Michael O’Leary has brushed off criticism of his airline’s social media policy in the wake of mocking tweets being posted yesterday relating to employees of rival Aer Lingus being arrested in connection to a people smuggling scam at Dublin Airport.

Speaking at the launch of Ryanair’s winter schedule for 2017 this morning in Dublin, O’Leary said that it was clearly a sign that the low-fares carrier’s social media strategy was working, and dismissed the media’s coverage of it as “scurrilous” and “utter, complete rubbish”.

“When I saw the tweets last night I didn’t find them particularly funny,” he said.

But now I would say I am highly enthused by the reaction that they got. If we have managed to offend that many ‘snowflakes’ then we must be doing something right. I intend to give a well done note to our social media team and give them a pay raise for generating a large amount of free publicity for Ryanair.

He added that he would be instructing his social media team to “have a look at” doing similar campaigns in future, “given it is obviously so effective”.

Ryanair sent two tweets yesterday evening in the wake of the arrest of three people at the airport in connection with a people-smuggling ring (which involved the use of Aer Lingus branded catering trucks) which is alleged to have brought 600 illegal immigrants to these shores in the last six years.

O’Leary today dismissed the whole story as an example of “a slow news day” and “a storm in a teacup”.

He described the immigration facilities at the airport as “second to none” and said that he could apportion no blame to Aer Lingus regarding the situation.

What we are talking about here is the collusion of a small group of people. There is no security system in the world that can deal with issues of collusion.

He further asserted that he is “absolutely certain” that a similar scam could not be perpetrated via Ryanair planes.

“We have hardly any catering for starters,” was his tongue-in-cheek take on that inquiry.

Regarding his own airline’s fortunes, he held back his most scornful statements for the DAA (previously Dublin Airport Authority), comparing it to “North Korea in that they think they can charge whatever they want”.

Costs at the airport are clearly a bugbear of the CEO given, as the company said in its release, that other EU airports are cutting costs.

A spokesperson for the DAA refuted O’Leary’s claims, saying:

There has been no increase in charges in 2017. Our charges our flat.

In recent years, Ryanair has availed of Dublin Airport’s Growth Incentive Scheme, which offers airlines a rebate on fees in return for delivering increased passenger numbers. The scheme continues to operate at the airport.

O’Leary said his airline had delivered “70% of Dublin’s growth over the last two or three years”, but because the incentives lasted only 12 months its fees were now set to rise.

Ryanair’s new business would go to other European airports that had committed to cutting airport charges, rather than Dublin, he said.

The building of a new runway at the airport was similarly dismissed.

“This new runway will be half a kilometre longer than it should be. It should cost €200 million and it’s being budgeted at €350 million,” O’Leary said.

Why they decided to raise the budgeted cost and then go out to tender I don’t know. It should be the other way around.

(The DAA has said previously the correct estimated cost is actually €320 million, and not €350 million as claimed by O’Leary).

Aside from the social media storm and the trouble with DAA, O’Leary held court on the two main issues of the day – namely Brexit and Donald Trump.

“Brexit will be the single biggest challenge we face, given it should lead to a drop in Sterling, and consequently a drop in visitor numbers from the UK. There is no upside to it. The UK Government clearly doesn’t have a bull’s notion what it’s doing,” he said.

Don’t be surprised if in two years’ time the UK votes again when they realise the deal they’ve gotten is awful. And it will be awful. That’s what we did in Ireland, when we didn’t get the right result in a referendum we voted again until we did get the right result, twice.

Of the inauguration of Donald Trump, O’Leary said he admired the US President’s ability to “offend the middle class, liberal media”.

“They should be offended on a daily basis,” he said.

Of Trump’s ‘America First’ policy, he said: “It doesn’t work, it’s pure populism.”

If it did work North Korea would be a world economic powerhouse.
However, Trump can’t be any worse than Obama. Obama is much loved, and he did squat in eight years.

With reporting by Killian Woods and Fora

Read: Councillors across the country are getting a pay rise (except for ones in Dublin, Cork and Galway)

Read: ‘There will never be a good enough reason why he did this’ – Mother of boys murdered by father

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Dave Slater
    Favourite Dave Slater
    Sep 10th 2018, 6:57 PM

She seems a charmer. Goes to Clare County Council, looking for their support, and when questioned threatens to sue people. How to win friends and influence people.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Favourite We Love Katamari
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:39 PM

@Dave Slater: ….when libeled threatens to sue people.

fixed that for you there

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:43 PM

@Dave Slater: I don’t hear jimmy criticizing the FF bagman to the media.

Mute Dermo Adams
    Favourite Dermo Adams
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:45 PM

@We Love Katamari: shes being purposely ignored by the media, save for negative articles like this one.

hopefully she gets the support of 20 TDs as a public interest candidate, social media is on fire with people willing to vote for her.

Mute Mick Barnier
    Favourite Mick Barnier
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:10 PM

@Dermo Adams: she’ll struggle to get them, I emailed my Independent TD to ask him to support her nomination, he took the well worn path of the Irish politician, Silence.
    He fears he’ll lose a vote if he was truthful and a man.
    Those at the Trough don’t want anybody rocking it.

Mute Only here for the comments
    Favourite Only here for the comments
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:53 PM

@Sean Conway: so unless he does, his comments somehow don’t matter?

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:55 PM

@Dermo Adams:

How can you say she’s being ignored by the media?

You are literally commenting publically on her on one of Ireland’s largest media platforms.

There have been dozens of articles and reports on her over the last three weeks here on Journal, Irish Examiner, Irish Times, Irish Independent, Sunday Business Post, and all radio and TV shows.

That she cannot get a single Council to back her speaks volumes.

I guess people just plain don’t like her views.

Mute Bernie Roche
    Favourite Bernie Roche
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:17 PM

@Brinster:
    A bit like the people who spoke out against the Church in the bad old days?
    A lot of people didn’t like hearing the truth then either

Sep 10th 2018, 9:22 PM

@Bernie Roche: so you think Jimmy Guerin shouldn’t be allowed to ask that rumour and hearsay about his sister’s death be thrown about with no evidence (or seemingly no plan to ever show evidence) because of another, unrelated situation?
    Doesn’t seem fair to Jimmy if you ask me.

Mute Bernie Roche
    Favourite Bernie Roche
    Sep 10th 2018, 10:43 PM

@Only here for the comments: I never said anything about Jimmy Guerin.
    I was replying to brinster who said
    ‘That she cannot get a single Council to back her speaks volumes.
    I guess people just plain don’t like her views.’
    That sort of attitude is why corruption is rife in this country

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 11:39 PM

@Bernie Roche:

People don’t like her views, Bernie, because she is a conspiracy theorist anti vaxxer who exploits misery, fear and ignorance all for the purposes of self promotion.

Then threatens to sue anyone who dares to question her on her own un-evidenced pronouncements.

She appeared in front of Clare CoCo to ask for their votes – as soon as they questioned her she threatened to sue them.

So I don’t think it is anything to do with corruption.

It is to do with her being the Worst Candidate I Have Seen in My Lifetime.

Mute Bernie Roche
    Favourite Bernie Roche
    Sep 11th 2018, 7:28 AM

@Brinster: You forgot toxic. The people who don’t like her views are people who don’t like having the mainstream narrative questioned.
    By the way conspiracies happen all the time, the banking and insurance cartels are 2 glaring examples.
    Another one coming down the line is going to be gardai in cahoots with drug dealers.
    You will have a great time with that one.
    I do agree she is a poor candidate for the presidency

Mute Jason Reynolds
    Favourite Jason Reynolds
    Sep 11th 2018, 8:59 AM

@Brinster: Speaking of evidence, you can produce yours of where she says she’s antivax? No? Didn’t think so, cause she’s not and you’ve just swallowed the narrative that MSM wants you to.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Sep 11th 2018, 1:26 PM

@Bernie Roche: you claim what she said is true, how could you possibly know that? She has provided no actual evidence.

Mute Chemical Brothers
    Favourite Chemical Brothers
    Sep 10th 2018, 6:54 PM

Same tack used to silence Garreth O’Callaghan on the Philip Cairns issue.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Sep 10th 2018, 6:59 PM

@Chemical Brothers: Give it a rest with the conspiracy theories

Mute Paddy Downey
    Favourite Paddy Downey
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:03 PM

@Chemical Brothers: completely different case, circumstance, evidence, arrests, convictions, but hey, it’s all a connected conspiracy man ….

Mute We Love Katamari
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:40 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: Like her callanan penalty points conspiracy theory? like her missing 12 foot bood stained fence theory? like her mary boyle theory.?

gemma has form getting things right

Mute Kinsaleable
    Favourite Kinsaleable
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:58 PM

@Chemical Brothers: Philip cairns family wanted him to stop with his behaviour

Sep 10th 2018, 8:54 PM

@We Love Katamari: and so is incapable of being wrong?

Mute James Kiernan
    Favourite James Kiernan
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:38 PM

@We Love Katamari: even a stopped clock is right twice a day.

Mute Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Sep 10th 2018, 10:12 PM

@James Kiernan: she has a shniff for a story and she bases it off evidence. She doesn’t tend to flippantly remark on any rumour for no good reason. She built her career on building relationships with informants and people who know what’s happening on the ground whatever ground that may be. It might be unpleasant for her brother as he doesn’t want to reopen old wounds as do many victims families of falsely accused murderers.

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:10 PM

Gemma was warned by another Guerin family member about possible involvement by the state in Veronicas murder. Gemma reported on it a good few years back. I don’t see what the problem is here.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:24 PM

@Bobby Moore: Let her name all these people so.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

@Brinster: ‘a toxic conspiracy theorist anti vaxxer’

They paying you per insult now?

Sep 10th 2018, 9:26 PM

@The Risen: but anti vaxxer and conspiracy theorist are positions she demonstrates. Toxic would be a cheap enough one….if you were paying, like.

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:40 PM

@Brinster: She reported on it. It’s what journalists do. She didn’t do it as a publicity stunt as you state. But then again that’s all you FG shills do is try and muddy the waters and try smear any sort of opposition.
    She has stated quiet clearly that she is not an anti vaxer either. But you still spread that lie about her. Won’t you.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Sep 10th 2018, 10:01 PM

@Brinster:
    Nothing but an overreaction from Jimmy Guerin that’s been manipulated and fuelled on by desperate state corruption apologists folks like you flapping all around threads like this.
    You should be ashamed of yourself but you’re obviously not.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Sep 10th 2018, 10:59 PM

@Bobby Moore: it’s not reporting if there’s no evidence.

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Sep 10th 2018, 11:11 PM

@Tweed Cap: Your being misled by a tinfoilt hat, sensenaist fake

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Sep 11th 2018, 12:48 AM
    Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:10 PM

I don’t see what Mr Guerin is getting so upset about. Nothing O’Doherty has claimed is an insult to Veroica or her memory. To say it is an insult is just obviously politically motivated hyperbole. I’ve no great opinion about Gemma O’D one way or another, by the way

Mute Mick Barnier
    Favourite Mick Barnier
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:12 PM

@Paul Devlin: it gets too close to the newspaper group who pushed an employee hard, then harder, until

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:22 PM

@Paul Devlin: She’s claiming that the person convicted of the murder was not responsible.

That robs the family of justice. Of closure.

Maybe you could come back to us when a conspiracy theorist starts making up lies about a murdered member of your family before proclaiming that Jimmy Guerin isn’t entitled to feel sickened by this.

Mute sixmile
    Favourite sixmile
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:55 PM

@Brinster:

State fanboy

Sep 10th 2018, 8:58 PM

@Mick Barnier: adding Insult to injury there. suggesting that Veronica guerin wasn’t doing things of her own accord but instead was being pushed in some way? Typical of O’Doherty cheerleaders, there’s always someone behind the curtain isn’t there?

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:05 PM

@sixmile:

Darn right I’m a State fanboy.

I love my country.

I’m actally proud to be Irish.

Unlike a lot of the “patriots” on here.

Mute Bernie Roche
    Favourite Bernie Roche
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:20 PM

@Brinster: The state is not the country

Mute sixmile
    Favourite sixmile
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:28 PM

@Bernie Roche:

fg thinks the state is everything, hence the fg fanboys reply.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:49 PM

@Brinster: You’re working very hard tonight on behalf of FG.

Mute @at
    Favourite @at
    Sep 10th 2018, 10:01 PM

@Brinster: you are a complete contradiction. Veronica’s brother claims it was John Gilligan that had her murdered, however gilligan was never found guilty of her murder, so therefore the family is robbed of closure already. Just goes to show what a clown you are. You FG shill

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Sep 10th 2018, 11:15 PM

@Dave Doyle: Gema o@Dorhethy is a f\
    ake

Your working hard for the gangsters that killed Veronica Guerin

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Sep 10th 2018, 11:21 PM

@@at: Ah yes the Shinners worked well with the Dealers

Mute Paddy Downey
    Favourite Paddy Downey
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:03 PM

Let her run and let the people decide her fate.

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:13 PM

@Paddy Downey: grand. But if she spouts nonsense should we not point it out? Or should she get a free pass because she’s running for office? That isn’t how it works for anyone else.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:33 PM

@Paddy Downey:

Worst.
    Candidate.
    Ever.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 10th 2018, 11:43 PM

@Paddy Downey: I agree. I’m not sure how I feel about her but I’d definitely like to see her given a platform to speak and be challenged through a campaign. It wouldn’t be a good look for the political establishment if she wasn’t given the opportunity.

Mute Alonso
    Favourite Alonso
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:00 PM

Gemma needs to lay off the hooch, a) for this ridiculous theory and b) for genuinely thinking she has a hope of becoming president. The new Jim Corr

Mute Tara
    Favourite Tara
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:05 PM

@Alonso:

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:56 PM

@Alonso: at least you give a good description of the cross they are nailing her to.

Mute ciaran kehoe
    Favourite ciaran kehoe
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:49 PM

The last candidate I would vote for.

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:04 PM

The woman is an embarrassment to genuine journalists. She should forget about the presidency and concentrate on her works of fiction for the tin foil hat folk.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:48 PM

@Willie: Oh, please name all of these ‘genuine journalists’ for us please? The ones afraid to step out of line for fear of being blackballed by INM, or the ones who report whatever the government and Garda press office hand to them?

Mute Kinsaleable
    Favourite Kinsaleable
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:00 PM

@The Risen: you know most of the time there really isn’t a conspiracy but one needs evidence to back up ludicrous claims

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:11 PM

@The Risen:
    Better still let’s see Gemma produce one single piece of evidence aside from rumour and speculation.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:24 PM

@The Risen: Honestly you’ve embarrassed yourself beyond belief backing this anti vaxxer conspiracy theorist.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:49 PM

@Brinster: you seem to be obsessed with gemma running, or is it just fg letting their little attack pup out of the broom cupboard

Mute Dermo Adams
    Favourite Dermo Adams
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:52 PM

@Brinster: Whats embarrassing is seeing you completely lose your shit and carpetbomb every presidency article with your anti-gemma o doherty infantile rants.

Grow up

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:54 PM

@Dermo Adams: Now now Dermo, if the FG shills want to addfuel to the accusations that there’s a concerted effort to scupper the womans candidacy, we should just let brinster and his ilk keep doing what they’re doing.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:01 PM

@Dermo Adams:

Hilarious!

I barely post anymore.

I make an exception for anti vaxxers as I think they are the lowest of the low.

Dangerous people who feed on ignorance and misery.

And yet the people who are paid to post here every day lose the plot when I make a rare appearance.

Absolutely hilarious!

Dermo my good man – i will continue to expose anti vaxxers for as long as I want to. Annoying you and the other shinner bots here is merely the icing on the cake.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:03 PM

@The Risen:

Shill?

More nonsense from the account that posts here 24/7.

One of us is paid to be here, frequently-banned-The-Risen, and it isn’t me.

Mute Dermo Adams
    Favourite Dermo Adams
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:20 PM

@Brinster: you were banned as well, genius.

Pot meet kettle.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:24 PM

@Dermo Adams: ‘ you were banned as well, genius.’

hahahaha

what a clown you are brinster

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Sep 11th 2018, 9:28 PM

@The Risen: please, oh wise and well informed one, share with us poor ignorant citizens what’s really going on in our country. Or is it really our country? I hear the Illuminati have taken over.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:01 PM

Never believed Gilligan was behind it and still don’t . Reckon him and his gang were just patsies for others .

Mute sixmile
    Favourite sixmile
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:21 PM

@Seosamh Snr Nolan:

The shooters didn’t know who they were working for! The same people who killed martin cahill killed veronica guerin.

Mute Kinsaleable
    Favourite Kinsaleable
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:57 PM

Listen to her ted talk. Flinging accusations against everyone with zero evidence to back it up. The conspiracy theorists love it.

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:16 PM

A few weeks ago The Journal was full of O Doherty well wishers. People were going to vote for her in their droves. Not many people coming forward to support her. Classic Irish style drop the dead donkey.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:25 PM

@John Nolan: The Gemma “well wishers” usually crowd any article that mentions any of the other potential nominees. Strangely, they are mostly absent this evening when Gemma is front and center.

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:29 PM

@John Nolan:
    Maybe people are begining to realise that she’s a fruit and but bar.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:37 PM

@Michael Allen: You should focus on getting her a nomination first son.

Mute We Love Katamari
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:41 PM

the hatchet job continues. the other candidates being fawned over on the other atricles on this site. shameful

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway

Gemma must have known she was to face being attacked by people like jimmy guerin. great timing jimmy.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:36 PM

@Sean Conway: She was the one who brought up the murder of Councillor Guerin’s sister just two weeks ago.

Unprompted.

Since then she had refused to clarify comments she made at a public meeting that are on tape.

Them she pulled out of an appearance in front of Fingal CC and Councillor Guerin at the last minute today.

No one to blame but herself

Mute sixmile
    Favourite sixmile
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:59 PM

@Brinster:

you’re a bitter twisted fg/state fanboy.

Sep 10th 2018, 9:00 PM

@sixmile: playing the man as usual? Why not refute the facts? Oh, forgot, you can’t.

Sep 10th 2018, 9:04 PM

@sixmile: playing the man? Easiest way when you can’t dispute the facts I suppose….

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:09 PM

@sixmile:

Right on cue, there’s my stalker.

You’re developing a weird little obsession with me, sixmile.

Maybe you should take a break from the bitter abuse and go for a nice walk.

Mute sixmile
    Favourite sixmile
    Sep 10th 2018, 9:32 PM

@Brinster:

lmao, “bitter abuse” says the king of bile ha ha ha

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:01 PM

Jimmy Guerin must have taken a vaccine as a child

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty

@Big Red: because he doesn’t believe in the daft idea of government collusion ?who would ?
    Veronica Guerin uncovered a hornets nest of gangsters unbeknown to herself who like Cahill in his Mickey Mouse jocks, continued his criminal life with impunity .
    The laugh of this notion is that CAB evolved from her death and if there was any iota of evidence of this nonsense claim it would have come out in the wash when millions of euro were being confiscated over the past 20 years . Heads rolled .Someone in the gang would have blabbed .
    Guerin did not know what she was dealing with at the time and the thugs did not get into bed with anyone or were guided by anyone only by their greed

Mute Moss Cotter
    Favourite Moss Cotter
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:59 PM

Did she explicitly say there was state involvement in the killing or are political and media opponents twisting what she said to throw a banana skin under her campaign

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:26 PM

@Moss Cotter: She explicitly said it. There is a video.

Would take you about 6 seconds to find it on Google.

Mute Moss Cotter
    Favourite Moss Cotter
    Sep 10th 2018, 10:48 PM

@Brinster: you seem to be a very bitter individual..you exhibit a hatred of Gemma o Doherty not based on political differences but something more twisted

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 11:53 PM

@Moss Cotter:

Yes Moss – i’m bitter against anti-vaxxers and for good reason.

People die because of their dangerous nonsense.

Mute Brian Horton
    Favourite Brian Horton

Has she exposed this story if full,? is she afraid of getting bumped off , if she does? or is she just talking shite to get a load of press?

Mute ruth mc cann
    Favourite ruth mc cann
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:54 PM

won’t be voting for that crackpot… Micky D all the way

Mute Mick Barnier
    Favourite Mick Barnier
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:14 PM

@ruth mc cann: mickey d is a confused old man, he promised one term but he seems to have forgotten

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 10th 2018, 10:08 PM

@ruth mc cann: Labour Party, it’s rid of their ilk we need. Micky D got a taste for the champagne in the Aras and quickly forgot his one term pledge.
    Typical Labour party member.

Mute BarronVonVaderHam
    Favourite BarronVonVaderHam
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:06 PM

If only Gemma had a bigger spoon to stir the sh%t with, then she’d be, like, famous!

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 10th 2018, 11:01 PM

I would like it investigated if it was my sister,this journalist is hated by the establishment for exposing corruption etc in the country.recent revalations about gda in false murder fogures,false charges,false breath tests,false bank accounts.missing phones laptops belonging to 2 x commissioners.smoke is rising and the fire is burning.

Mute Brian Horton
    Favourite Brian Horton
    Sep 10th 2018, 7:06 PM

Has she exposed this story if full,? is she afraid of getting bumped off , if she does? or is she just talking bs to get a load of press?

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Sep 10th 2018, 6:57 PM

I’d say every one should call it a day now, what’s past is past.

Sep 10th 2018, 7:43 PM

She’s a very suitable candidate in the current political climate, she just needs to get rid of the conspiracy stuff.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:29 PM

@Adrian: Beyond the conspiracy stuff – what is there?

No record of public service.
    Never stood for election for any other office.
    No history of charitable or philanthropic work.

A toxic rumour monger keen to exploit other’s misery to raise her profile with the most ignorant Irish society has to offer.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 10th 2018, 10:04 PM

@Brinster: That’s some slur on people, vile, full of bile, and totally unnecessary.
    With such comments coming from you, who would normally be reasonable, but pointed, it makes me think that there is some real palpable fear from the political establishment in the country.
    This woman exposes the naked corruption surrounding the top echelons of Irish society. Pushed to the fringes of journalism by DOB, she does valuable work in reminding people of who actually rules, not governs as best she can.
    The other plastic paddies offering themselves have nothing but their own gain as the main goal. Gemma O Doherty offers a real alternative, an alternative to the yes men who won’t rock the boat on the wholesale corruption pervading Irish society.
    She must be doing something right.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 10th 2018, 11:51 PM

@Dave Doyle:

Dave – we often differ but on this topic I can’t be civil. I’ve replied elsewhere on this thread why you’re absolutely right – I 100% fear her.

I’m part of no establishment though – political or otherwise.

There is an awful lot of bile in my comments and I believe it is fully deserved.

Anti-vaxxers exploit fears and cost lives.

Damn right I fear them and I will absolutely continue to challenge them and point this out.

300 Irish women die from cervical cancer each year. We don’t have a cure – we have something better – a vaccine!

We can stop 70% of this type of cancer from ever happening.

She is threatening that without evidence.

That deserves every bit of my bile – I won’t apologise for that.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 11th 2018, 8:45 AM

@Brinster: Sorry Brinster i don’t buy that at all. What she said was taken out of context. It doesn’t justify the total hysteria surrounding her attempt to get a nomination.
    I’m not ignorant of the office of President, but i don’t know everything that surrounds it, what her powers are and aren’t.
    But just wondering would her or anyone else being President give them access to documentation not available to ordinary people?? Would she have access to documents surrounding issues she has worked on, that would not be available to her under present circumstances??
    She could cause serious trouble for a lot of people if that were the case.
    I know my thinking is off on a tangent here. But the hysteria isn’t justified, it’s frantic in the extreme.
    Here’s the anti vaxx link.
    https://www.facebook.com/RevolutionIreland/posts/2054268731292112

Mute sixmile
    Favourite sixmile
    Sep 10th 2018, 8:25 PM

The shooters didn’t know who they were working for! The same people who killed martin cahill killed veronica guerin

Mute Gasher
    Favourite Gasher
    Sep 11th 2018, 6:20 AM

I’m not having a go at gamma (can’t afford the legal bills) but can somebody explain to me how she is going to tackle corruption from the aras? This is a serious question. I always believed the president was a ceremonial figure head whose main task was to sign bills as he was instructed and greet foreign diplomats and heads of state. Basically the Irish host.
    I genuinely don’t understand how she can fight and expose corruption as president, would she not be more constructive in the dail or highlighting this from another platform.
    Is she hoping that she will be exempt from the usual libel laws etc?
    Can someone please explain this to me.

Mute Gasher
    Favourite Gasher
    Sep 11th 2018, 8:31 AM

@Gasher: *Gemma

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Sep 11th 2018, 12:35 AM

The Journal rehashing this story. Just like bores.ie the journal is on its way out.

Mute John O'Hara
    Favourite John O'Hara
    Sep 11th 2018, 1:05 PM

Just because Jimmy Guerin had a brilliant sister, does not make him a shining star. His opinion is no better and probably worse that the average ‘Joe’, because he is emotionally invested and maybe doesn’t want his ‘acceptance’ of events disturbed. No one can blame him for that, but one can blame him for not keeping an open mind and by his actions, seeking to keep an excellent anti-corruption candidate out of the election. Gemma Doherty is a shining light, similar to Veronica, shining a light into the dark and shady corners that few others have the guts to do. There are also those who like to think there are no dark and shady corners because it suits their ideal. But in the real world there are people and government who are willing to go to great lengths, including murder, to achieve their own agendas. Gemma Doherty seeks to ‘out’ these people, surely that’s a good thing and something we should help, not hinder. I believe Jimmy Guerin’s speech was unwise and possibly politically motivated. To try and hinder a person that is genuinely trying to fight corruption even ‘if’ they make small mistakes along the way, is just plain wrong. Corruption comes in many shapes and areas’ and it is this corruption that is responsible for the homeless, health, education, tax, infrastructure, services etc…. crises. Corruption, and incompetence. How will it be changed if people don’t play their part and support people like Gemma when they come along. Don’t just complain about corruption and then do nothing about it when you get the chance. The presidents office has the power of PR and little else, that may be enough to shine a light.

Mute Brendan Crowe
    Favourite Brendan Crowe
    Sep 11th 2018, 1:48 PM

The independent in the UK hardly thinks its a conspiracy https://www.independent.co.uk/news/police-may-have-tipped-off-guerin-hitman-1360117.html

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    Sep 10th 2018, 11:25 PM

The burden of proof lies with the person making the extraordinary claims. Time to put up or shut up if she is not just a vile attention seeker using a viscous murder to spread lies and appeal to half witted conspiracy junkies.

Mute Bart
    Favourite Bart
    Sep 11th 2018, 9:58 AM

Jimmy is a langer

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected