You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dickie Rock pictures in 2014 Alamy Stock Photo

'A legend': Tributes as showband star Dickie Rock dies aged 88

Tánaiste Micheál Martin described Rock as “a gentleman loved by many”.

LAST UPDATE | 6 Dec 2024

IRISH SHOWBAND SINGER Dickie Rock has died aged 88, his family has announced.

Rock experienced much success on the Irish charts during the 1960s, coming fourth in the 1966 Eurovision with the song Come Back To Stay, which became a hit in Ireland.

His death was confirmed in a statement issued by them this evening.

luxembourg-pictured-at-the-dress-rehearsal-for-the-eurovision-song-contest-here-march-4-was-the-irish-contestant-dickie-rock-winner-of-the-contest-was-austria-with-sweden-second-and-norway-third Dickie Rock pictured at the dress rehearsal for the Eurovision Song Contest, 1966 Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

“His children, Jason, John, Richard, Sarah Jane and Peter will miss him very much,” the statement says.

“Dickie lost his beloved Judy in 2022 and they are now together again, and that is of some comfort to the family.”

Funeral arrangements will be announced in the coming days, and the family has asked for privacy.

Tánaiste Micheál Martin paid tribute to the singer, describing Rock as “a gentleman loved by many”.

Between 1963 and 1972, Rock was one of the frontmen of the Miami Showband. He had 13 top ten hits with them, including seven number ones.

Years after his departure, in 1975, three of the band members were killed in what became known as the Miami Showband massacre, in which the Ulster Volunteer Force – loyalist paramilitaries – targeted a mini bus they were travelling in.

Rock continued to tour independent of the band into his 80s, until he announced his retirement at the age of 84 in 2021.

Liveline presenter Joe Duffy took to X to remember “superstar” Rock. 

“Had the pleasure of being in his company and interviewing the legend so many times,” said Duffy.

“A true Irish superstar when we badly needed them.

“He brought colour , joy and music to a grey Ireland. From the candy store on the corner to the chapel on the hill, a legend.”

daniel-odonnell-and-dickie-rock-arrive-for-the-funeral-of-father-ted-star-brendan-grace-at-the-church-of-st-nicholas-of-myra-dublin Country singer Daniel O'Donnell (l) with Dickie Rock in 2016 Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute Ian Cunningham
    Favourite Ian Cunningham
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:12 PM

An absolute legend, whose likes we’ll never see again. RIP Dickie.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Dec 7th 2024, 7:32 AM

@Ian Cunningham: he is up there with the rat pack now

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:20 PM

Ah, the end of an era.
    As a kid I remember huge crowds quing outside the Arcadia in Cork for tickets to the Big event…… Dickie Rock & the Miami Showband….. used to sell out 3/4nights straight. A hugely charismatic & talented performer. Thanks for the music.

R.I.P. Dickie Rock

Mute Jofus Soap
    Favourite Jofus Soap
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:13 PM

Good soul. Fair play to him.
    R.I. P.

Mute John Waters
    Favourite John Waters
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:24 PM

Wonderful entainer for years always had the crowds sweating. What a icon sadly will be missed.Condolences to family and many loyal fans.

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:37 PM

Very sad news. A home grown legend of his time. R.I.P..

Mute Patrick Westman
    Favourite Patrick Westman
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:54 PM

Sad news indeed,such a wonderful talented entertainer from an era of legendary performers,and of course a true blue Dub too.

Mute Guy
    Favourite Guy
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:44 AM

@Patrick Westman: of course …. Dublin. Was that necessary?

Mute Patrick Westman
    Favourite Patrick Westman
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:50 AM

@Guy: Well Roy Orbinson was from Texas,Elvis was from Tupelo,Big Tom Oram and Dickie was from Cabra.Its just a fact, sometimes relevant and sometimes not.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Dec 7th 2024, 6:32 AM

@Guy: Yeah it was. Sometimes it’s ok to be proud of where you come from and what comes from there.

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:18 PM

When legends were legends. RIP Dickie.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:52 PM

RIP Dickie and condolences to your Family

Mute Mary Breezer
    Favourite Mary Breezer
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:25 PM

Enjoyed him in my young days

Mute Mark Crowley
    Favourite Mark Crowley
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:10 PM

Rest in peace

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Dec 6th 2024, 10:14 PM

RIP Dickie, may heaven be your bed

Mute Deirdre Moffat
    Favourite Deirdre Moffat
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:03 PM

RIP Dickie ..an absolute legend and gentleman.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:26 PM

Great entertainer, brings back many sixties memories RIP Dickie

Mute Muriel Ryan
    Favourite Muriel Ryan
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:19 PM

R.I.P Dickie . Back with your beloved wife Judy !

Mute New Boy
    Favourite New Boy
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:41 PM

@Muriel Ryan: She will probably turn in her grave

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:43 PM

@Muriel Ryan: Anyone remember Dicky in the Pavilion – Blackrock- brilliant nights. Thanks for the good times. RIP.

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Favourite Sean O'Callaghan
    Dec 7th 2024, 12:11 AM

@New Boy: Sicko

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Dec 7th 2024, 12:25 AM

@New Boy: ????

Mute Teetotal4now
    Favourite Teetotal4now
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:12 AM

@Vincent Alexander: in Dundalk? My parents and uncles certainly do and we were talking about those days only last week. Crowds of people waiting to get in.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Dec 7th 2024, 10:38 AM

@Teetotal4now: Yes – your Dad must have got the “pluck”. Asked out for lady’s choice.

Mute ann Basquille
    Favourite ann Basquille
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:50 PM

Spit on me Dickie. You need to be old enough to understand that. What a legend rip

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 7th 2024, 2:10 AM

@ann Basquille:
    LOL. I thought nobody was going to say it !

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Dec 7th 2024, 8:11 AM

@ann Basquille: I’m in the third Row .

Mute rqHSc3FP
    Favourite rqHSc3FP
    Dec 7th 2024, 11:27 AM

@ann Basquille: flapsgerbil

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:47 PM

End of an era won’t see the likes of him again unfortunately RIP Dickie a true Dub and cabra man

Mute john ryan
    Favourite john ryan
    Dec 7th 2024, 12:42 AM

@Alan Moloney:

RIP Dickie Rock.
    A Cabra West & All Cabra Legend.

Come back to stay in our memory, Every step of the way from the candy store on the corner to the chapel on the Hill.

Rest easy

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Dec 7th 2024, 12:45 AM

When I was young in courtowen my parents always went to see Dickie in the holiday inn I used to hate it but then I got a bit older and I loved seen him in the submarine bar. Rip Dickie thanks for the memories

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 7th 2024, 2:13 AM

@Nikki Swift: The submarine, that’s some memories right there .

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Dec 7th 2024, 2:59 AM

@Regular John: I was only a child when the ‘ old sub’ was there but I have memories been in it with my nanny and grandad. I drank in the new sub when it was open but they made it to big it could never last

Mute Gerry Caden
    Favourite Gerry Caden
    Dec 7th 2024, 12:25 AM

RIP

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:05 AM

One of the singers that I used to love listening to as a young lad with my father. R.I.P Dickie Rock, you will be sorely missed.

Mute Elizabeth Doyle
    Favourite Elizabeth Doyle
    Dec 7th 2024, 7:53 AM

Another one of our era stars that we danced to in our youth and innocence,I’m now 86 and still enjoying life,went to Jive classes recently.Go ndéana DÍA tróchaire ar a hanaim.!!!!!!!

Mute Des Daly
    Favourite Des Daly
    Dec 7th 2024, 12:49 AM

An amazing star and amazing man. Devastated to hear this. He and his wife are now together. RIP

Mute Padraic Horgan
    Favourite Padraic Horgan
    Dec 7th 2024, 12:28 AM

Farewell Dickie ,sorry to see you go..

Mute Jennifer Kennedy
    Favourite Jennifer Kennedy
    Dec 7th 2024, 11:24 AM

What about Stacey Kehoe? The poor woman was his child too but he ignored her for most of her life. My mam loves Dickie Rock but as soon as I found out he ignored his child, I couldn’t show any respect for him. I’m sure lots of people will miss him but he wasn’t that nice of a person in “real life”

Mute Cree Bellew
    Favourite Cree Bellew
    Dec 7th 2024, 4:16 PM

@Jennifer Kennedy: Couldn’t agree more. Shameful.

Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Dec 7th 2024, 7:19 AM

I worked in a garage many years ago, this man came in and asked “Could I get a puncture sorted ?” I told him “Yeah you’ll have to see the manager” and showed him where to go. I turned to a mate of mine exclaiming “Jasus, yer man is the spit of Dicky Rock”……”That’s because he is Dicky Rock”

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:18 PM

Journal folk showing their age

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:22 PM

@Dan The Man: and what are you showing?

Mute ann Basquille
    Favourite ann Basquille
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:48 PM

@Dan The Man: you’re showing no class

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Dec 7th 2024, 12:06 AM

@Dan The Man: I was thinking that…my mam went to see him so I reckon this lot have 20 plus year’s on me…probably why they’re all cantankerous

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Dec 7th 2024, 12:14 AM

@Clare Power: Ageist & classless. Grow up Clare

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:10 AM

@Sean O’Callaghan: How is my comment ageist? Judging from the comments I’m not in the same age bracket….a simple statement…back to the nursing home for you.

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:20 AM

@Clare Power: Hope you’re not on duty on my return. I’d say you’re some Wanderly Wagon.

Mute micheal duff
    Favourite micheal duff
    Dec 7th 2024, 3:22 AM

Great man

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:13 AM

I can vaguely remember my gran saying ‘ spit on me Dickie’ a bit weird but I still remember it

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Dec 6th 2024, 11:44 PM

Was full sure he was dead years ago

Mute Green Masquerader
    Favourite Green Masquerader
    Dec 7th 2024, 9:27 AM

Legend is a bit much to be bandied about.
    Well known figure

Tbe showbands were essentially bad cover bands
    Teemu Elvis

Mute Christian Maguire
    Favourite Christian Maguire
    Dec 7th 2024, 10:22 AM

Dickie.
    I remember dickie rock when I was growing up, he certainly made an impact on the showband era, he was dynamic a beautiful singer in a class of his own, even into his later years he was class.
    Long live the king. Your simply the best.

Mute Maura Mahony
    Favourite Maura Mahony
    Dec 7th 2024, 9:53 AM

My Mam’s favourite song ‘From the Candy store round the corner’ Watch out Dickie she will be calling for a duet.

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Dec 7th 2024, 10:55 AM

Dickie Rock was a favourite of my Mam and Dad his music filled our house.
    Dickie and a small backing group came out to sing for our soldiers when I was serving in Lebanon in 1992 he was brought out to an outpost in a village where I was posted .
    Due to the security situation at the time
    I never got to hear him sing during his trip but had a great chat with him and he was a true gentleman, great Craic, real down to earth, just like one of the lads
    R.I.P. Dickie and thanks for the great memories

Mute Joan Grennan
    Favourite Joan Grennan
    Dec 7th 2024, 2:50 PM

Truly the end of an era , am I the only one who deeply regrets that our kids and grandkids never experienced that showband era .The shiny suits ,the autographed photos ,the whole ritual of it .Then the heartbreak of the Miami Massacre ,losing Larry Cunningham ,Sean Dunphy and many others I missed . Dickie had a long life but it’s still awful sad .I still know every single word of Candy Store .

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Dec 7th 2024, 1:45 PM

Spit on me, Dickie. A true legend.

Mute rqHSc3FP
    Favourite rqHSc3FP
    Dec 7th 2024, 11:25 AM

RIP.

But who will be the first mickeywomble or weeweepuffin to try the “spit on me, dickie” for likes? Dungibbon.

Mute Hunt Ley
    Favourite Hunt Ley
    Dec 9th 2024, 5:39 PM

Come back to stay, Dickie