You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Irish stock market falls 5.5% as European and Asian markets in freefall amid looming Trump tariffs
Francis-Charles meeting off the cards in historic Italy visit following health scares
Man arrested in connection with 'deliberate ignition' of major fire in Mourne Mountains
Grieving relatives of people killed in the plane crash in South Korea visited the site to pay respects to their loved ones on New Year’s Day Kim Sun-woong/Newsis/AP/PA
Fatal Crash
South Korea to adapt airport concrete barriers after plane crash
South Korean and US investigators are still probing the cause of the crash.
SOUTH KOREAN AUTHORITIES have said they will change the concrete barriers used for navigation at airports around the country after the Jeju Air crash that killed 179 people.
The Boeing 737-800 was flying from Thailand to Muan, South Korea on 29 December carrying 181 passengers and crew when it belly-landed at Muan airport and exploded in a fireball after slamming into a concrete barrier.
It was the worst-ever aviation disaster on South Korean soil.
“Improvement was deemed necessary including the localiser and its foundations for a total of nine facilities across seven airports, including Muan airport,” the land ministry said in a statement.
The changes would also apply to international airports in the cities of Jeju and Gimhae.
South Korean and US investigators are still probing the cause of the crash, which prompted a national outpouring of mourning with memorials set up across the country.
Attention has focused on several possible causes but questions have been raised about why the concrete barricade, known as a localiser and used to help planes navigate their landings, was at the end of the runway.
The barrier at Muan airport was blamed for exacerbating the crash’s severity.
The ministry said it would finalise plans to adapt the localisers by the end of January, with the aim of “completing upgrades within this year”.
The investigation was further clouded on Saturday when the transport ministry said the black boxes holding the flight data and cockpit voice recorders for the crashed flight stopped recording four minutes before the disaster.
Authorities have raided offices at Muan airport, a regional aviation office in the southwestern county, and Jeju Air’s office in the capital Seoul as the probe continues.
The land ministry added that Muan airport’s closure period had been extended until 19 January.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
23 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
No hope of a vote now from me as this shows how childish you take your campaign. You should have spent your time promoting yourself and not playing stupid games. This has backfired badly.
One of the golden rule of selling. Don’t concentrate on the other guys product to sell your own, you give him a platform for consideration where before he had none and it leaves the impression that your own product wasn’t good enough to sell on its own. So now Im thinking what’s wrong with her that she needs to attack another candidate to sell herself. Is she that insecure? Can’t be voting for someone like that.
Its backfired on here perhaps were Ming has alot of support – its humourous – sin é – and the comments highlighted on here were all negative – were there no positive ones at all?
How is you calling Labour Party members ‘idiots’ any better than her calling Ming a turkey? What if Ming called her a turkey? Would you be on here attacking him?
People call politicians of all different party names far worse than turkeys on thejournal.ie every single day, yet feign outrage when a politician does the same to another?
Hypocrisy much??
Ignore I’m already me so how would a prerequisite to be me apply? Think about it ,that really was a stupid reply.
Btw for a guy who has claimed not to be a Labour member on countless occasions you certainly go above and beyond to defend their actions, just saying.
You didn’t upset me at all, Norman! I stand by my original comment that it’s hypocritical to attack politician X (any politician from any party) for insulting politician Y by you yourself insulting politician X.
You can try and dance around it all you want by saying you didn’t call her an idiot but the fact is you inferred it by stating that “Is being an idiot a prerequisite for joining Labour?” By your logic, because she didn’t actually call Ming a turkey but instead used a simile then she’s not actually calling anybody a turkey. And maybe the Dustin face is just a complex metaphor… but that would be a ridiculous assertion to make.
Finally, look at some of the comments of people on this page alone: clowns, idiots, tramps: no hypocrisy there??
@Ignoreland, you deliberately miss the point. Of course it’s okay for commenters on thejournal.ie article comments to call politicians idiots; they usually are idiots.
The issue is that to mock or deride another election candidate is a dishonourable and underhanded way for a politician to conduct his or her own campaign, suggesting weakness, spite, pettiness and immaturity which most would find undesirable in a senator and potential elected representative in Europe.
But then, you knew that…
I disagree, Daffy. Why should you hold politicians up to a higher standard than yourself? When people post comments on pages like these they’re expressing opinions. And the reason you express an opinion is to convince others that you are right. As these opinions are public, then you too should conduct yourself in the manner you would hope your public representatives would act too. It’s the same as condemning a politician for smoking weed while lighting up a joint yourself; hypocritical.
Ignore what we call people is one thing but someone who is supposed to be running for election stooping this low isn’t very professional she might be entitled to her opinion but should not say it in public, but we as the voters can call labour idiots simply because they are
Idiots are idiots because they’re idiots. Very intelligent comment there, Tom. Great reasoning.
You must therefore also think that it’s perfectly acceptable for a person to castigate Ming for smoking weed while puffing a joint themselves. Hypocrisy clearly doesn’t bother you.
Ming Flanagan has done more for this country than FG and Labour have put together.
I fully respect him because he knows what’s right admits when he’s wrong. Luke is not in it for the money either, he donates half of his salary to his constituency unlike other politicians.
Flanagan will do more for us in Europe than any of the other clowns running.
Loving the aversion to the very legitimate point I’ve raised about the hypocrisy of commentators on this story. Sure don’t people get annoyed at politicians for doing that too: not answering the question/ deflecting the issue raised. The same commentators calling for a ‘new politics’ and ‘revolution’ and ‘sure aren’t they all the same’ are acting like the very people they are criticising. We really do get the politicians we deserve.
Wrong. You should say the hypocrisy of SOME commentators.
But hey, don’t let facts get in the way of your labour defending antics.
And ps, since people on here are not looking to get elected it doesn’t really matter what they say. The fact she did what did and couldn’t foresee the public reaction is a stupid thing to do and to me says she couldn’t be trusted to do the job she is trying to get.
Sorry, Doctor but did I say “ALL” commentators? No, I did not.
And secondly, if you read my comments I did not once defend her actions: I merely pointed out the hypocrisy of some people criticising her for lowering herself to the same standard that they themselves demonstrate on this site; on this very story.
But isn’t that what Enda Kenny does all the time in Dail Eireann? He is constantly denigrating FF and SF instead of getting on with his job of running the country.
Ha ha, almost feel sorry for her, almost. She probably did all the “right” things, student politics etc to set her up for a nice career leeching off the rest of us but now poor diddums is being usurped by what she and her ilk would see as a “pot smoking waster”. Clocked her as one of those types as soon as I saw the poster
Keep it up Ming, though I cant help but feel a lot in the Dail will be relieved to see him head off to europe
The rules of “selling ” never change.
You NEVER criticise an opponents product . Have enough confidence in your own and make sure the customer returns . Would definitely not vote for this lady . Immature and shallow
That would only make me want to vote for “Ming”, if the shoe were on the other foot and he did something like this against her the sisterhood would be out in force to condemn the male chauvinist git but when it’s like this it’ll just be a joke.
Very immature indeed Senator Higgins, your obviously not the caliber of person we need in government!! I think your the turkey and you’ve just voted for Christmas.
That is the type of stuff that you learn in FF
Just shows that Chris was paying attention in junior FF classes
They brought him in so they could learn from the masters
I know what you mean. But why give her the chance to muddy the waters? Labour are in a hole of their own making. I wouldn’t be giving her or Costello (whose comments on RTE and Adams are desperation writ large) the least opportunity to get more publicity. Leave them to their digging and get on with your own work
If I were him I would go after her, because clearly she has the capacity to make an idiot out of herself and she should be attacked for that childish stunt.
I’d take Dustin as a candidate for Europe over any Labour candidate every time. Labour are a joke of a party, filled with clowns but lacking a punch line.
The tramps are t,he ones going around dressed like millionaires and lying to the people, at least Ming is a voice that can be trusted and a fighter for the people who are being forgotten by the very stylishly dressed politicians
Not a fan of all his policies, but I worked in the Oireachtas for a time and found him to be one of the most in touch, humble and personable of all the TD’s I dealt with.
Even our heros who established our nation could wear a suit: they were proud of what they achieved and wanted to treat the House with respect, and in turn the electorate and sacrifice they represented.
The current generation should not forget that.
Just because they wear “charvet shirts” they can do what they like???? Gangsters, robbers and liars….. In white collars!!!! Not much respect there!!!! No comparison to the old brigade!!!!
You are just stereotyping. I often think you Ciarroch and Werejammin are the same person too; you have the same shouty style with no substance. But I have the mental capacity to envisage there are indeed 3 of you, sad as that may be.
It’s called whataboutery. A very popular approach you often use yourself; similar to your preference for ad hominem attacks rather than civilised discussion.
“our hero’s” were a bunch of hypocritical church controlled fools who settled for buttons and watched idle as Europe collapsed under the effects of war. The true patriots unfortunately died fighting for an Ireland they believed could stand shoulder to shoulder with our neighbours , not the cowardly lot left to run our new state , hiding on the sidelines waiting to support the winning side. Our heroes me arse
“Our Heros”? Thankfully the older, more backward thinking generation of this country, much like yourself john, as a becoming an extinct species. Heros my arse
Bertie had a beautifully canary yellow two piece ensemble, linen I believe and that crook didn’t even have a bank account, he got his payouts in cashhhhhhh.
What’s this obsession with wearing a suit.I think they look totally boring and all the same.people wearing them trying to convay the impression that their on “business” absolute joke.
Even the defendant can wear a suit, what the hell does what someone is wearing have to do with their competence?
If people are voting on the basis of a nice suit then that might explain the mess that this country is in.
You’re supposed to vote for people in terms of their ability. And Ming has delivered more than most people expected of him (not all popular moves, but at least he’s doing something)
I hope Ming can use this to his advantage and this senator eventually loses her seat because of this stunt! I didn’t know who she was before this and to be honest I’ve forgotten her name again, perhaps a cheap attempt at getting her name on the national agenda!
Has Labour lost complete control of its candidates? First that eejit in Westmeath reports a woman for tearing up his leaflets and has the Litter Warden fine her €150 and now this juvenile tweet. Grow up, Labour!
No wonder this country if fecked when the likes of johngahan has a vote. Luke has done a massive amount for an independent td. Shows up the other clowns for what they are. Sponges and spineless.
First they ignore you, then laugh at you, then attack you, then you win. Keep up the good work Ming, a voice of the people unfettered by the dogmatic restraints of yesteryears…
Lorraine Higgins is normally too busy sending press releases to the local media about the opening of a packet of crisps to try and make herself relevant. The local papers must be getting tired of her now so she has to resort to this ridiculing of a decent candidate
Higgins is clearly desperate – and as for comments on Ming’s sartorial efforts, I think Ming’s been a better representative than a load of the expensively, smartly-dressed liggers and freeloaders that mostly ride the Dail gravy train.
She decided to use his image in a derogatory way, but the second he makes a comment about her image – they call it sexism and look for an apology.
Total horseshit.
In fact Mary Lou is right now calling Quinn sexist in the Dail because he used the term ‘thank you for your motherly concern for labour’ in some spat they were having. The IT are running with it.
I think more of this is needed
Liven the whole shitty mess up
Personal insults..doctored pics..
Flaming bags of shite flung from
Moving election vehicles now
Thats entertainment
Lorraine Higgins is a failure. She failed to get elected to both the Dail and the Seanad and only has her job because it was handed to her on a plate as one of the Taoiseach’s eleven.
That she has to resort to such childish means to make an impact shows what an irrelevance and a failure she is.
I’m sure “failed to get elected to the European Parliament in 2014″ will soon be added to her Wikipedia profile.
When she fails to get elected as a mep she will crawl back to the Seanad and her big expenses. I wonder does she claim her election canvassing as Fg expenses…..
I’m a big fan of Ming. I’ve followed his career since he first got elected to the RCC. I don’t agree with all his policies, but there are many of his causes I am totally behind.
Honestly? I laughed at this.
And I’d say he had a laugh at it too when he seen it first.
It’ll do him no harm anyway. All publicity is good publicity.
I’d say Dustin’s creator could sue for breach of intellectual property rights.
And Ming could sue for defamation, although being compared to our Dustin is surely an accolade rather than an insult.
Theirs only one turkey i see and that’s the Labour Party . Fine Gael pluck them and roast them every budget imagine what the Eurocrats would do to Lorraine. Sit down there now and shut up like a good Lil Labour Lightweight she’s be told.
And seeing as 27 have favourited the tweet and 51 retweeted it which is far more than those who tweeted against the picture, it would seem that it’s been more favourably received than the story suggests.
Does anybody know anyone who is going to vote for this lady? Live in mayo, work in roscommon with lads from as far away as Cavan, Donegal and south Galway and I am yet to meet anyone who knows (a) who she is and (b) what her policies are apart from the obvious Labour ideology of kowtowing to Berlin and exporting our educated kids.
You’ve only got more support for him fair play and u made a complete spa out of yourself in the process and cheers for for the roach paper from your campaign leaflets ya clem
Labour women have some cheek to be calling on Ming to retract his comment or apologise. Lorraine Higgins made a huge mistake in posting that and will no doubt lose an immense amount of votes.
Reminds me a bit of the Conservatives’ ‘New Labour, New Danger’ poster in the UK (late 90s). There was a big sh1tstorm over that; this is lighthearted in comparison.
This was all done for attention and a few articles online with the hope of getting more press coverage, in a way it would have killed her if no one reported it.
I was hoping to see Ming elected. It would have been an entertaining spectacle to see him deal with EP rules.
Dress Code.
In accordance with the delegate’s diplomatic status a formal dress code is required. For male
delegates a tie is obligatory and for female no revealing outfits are allowed. Informal clothing,
such as jeans and trainers, also traditional or religious outfits are out of order. The secretariat
reserves the right to expel a delegate due to his or her dress code.
Norm, Sorry, it might be an overly complex grammatical construct for you – I can break it down:
Heretofore I had been hoping to see Ming elected. Now that he will be associated with being a Dustin the Turkey protest candidate, I do not expect his election is likely.
Norm, this isn’t about me, it’s about Ming and his image and how he like to portray himself. Read the article. Is he or is he not a turkey candidate and was the Dustin gag worse for him or its creator? I’m on the fence; it’s not particularly good for either of them.
John last response to you, try reading the article correctly, it is not about Ming’s image it is about a Labour candidate engaging in negative campaigning and the backlash she has attracted on twitter.Now I’m done with you.Annoy someone else if you wish.
“Now that he will be associated with being a Dustin the Turkey protest candidate, I do not suspect his election is likely.”
So, what, you think that Costello’s lame photoshop has fatally wounded Ming’s campaign? You really are misunderstanding how this little stunt has been perceived.
She and HIV Phil need to shit stir to get media attention. While Emer pretends she is TheSwan and has a total face transformation for her election posters. The reality and the posters are “poles” apart. If Labour get a seat I will be amazed.
Just asking a question here! Could she have been fraped? I’ve no idea of who this lady is but it beggers belief that anyone could be that stupid! She would have been as well off to say forget me and vote Ming! I can’t get my head around how anyone with any level of intelligence could not see how this can backfire!
Do you remember Pat Rabbite ‘s little gem when asked about election promises, his answer was “isn’t that what you tend to do during an election”.She is a member of the same party.
Though obvious, it was refreshing honesty from Rabbitte as each party tries to out-top the other in an election campaign with promises they have no idea whether they can deliver or not, nor a crystal ball.
bribing the electorate with an ‘I’ll work for free’ promise to hand over your wages means even the candidate themselves doesn’t see their contribution as of being any value. Not a swing factor for me. Totally impractical given the expense of commuting to Europe; but Ming is no stranger to impracticality.
Saying she is running for euro elections to look good is not a sexist remark because being a woman was not mentioned in it. no more than america is getting involved in Ukraine to look big and tough is a sexist remark
“My view is that he’s a populist candidate,” she says.
Why do people take perfectly acceptable terms and turn them into veiled insults these days?
“A supporter of Populism, a political philosophy urging social and political system change that favors “the people” over “the elites”, or favors the common people over the rich and wealthy business owners”
Told you O’Reilly, Independent all the way and Ming in my opinion is the best Independent in my area, Mullins has way too much baggage (dogma) for my liking.
Btw I will take it as a veiled compliant.
Good night O’Reilly.
Ming is a scruffy twit! If he was to get to Europe how would he travel! Between the smell of turf and scruff who’d sit anywhere close to him! (Apart from Mick ‘sideshow bob’ wally and the moan Clare Daly)
Ha ha, almost feel sorry for her, almost. She probably did all the “right” things, student politics etc to set her up for a nice career leeching off the rest of us but now poor diddums is being usurped by what she and her ilk would see as a “pot smoking waster”. Clocked her as one of those types as soon as I saw the poster
Keep it up Ming, though I cant help but feel a lot in the Dail will be relieved to see him head off to europe
Why is Ming going for Europe anyway? He’ll have to give up his Dail seat and somebody from the bigger parties will probably take his seat….thus losing all the ground he has made up over the last few years….
Fitz it shows that an established party is running scared of an independent and resorts to cyber bullying to try to damage an election opponent. Maybe we will have another politician in custody before this campaign ends.
Bob, maybe I am missing something but one person saying another is running for election to “look good” is not sexist in any way shape or form. If she had said the same of Ming would we see demands to withdraw the sexist comment. Please people show some common sense, the phrase “look good” is unisex and can apply equally to men and women. I am shocked that anyone would regard this as a sexist comment.
Sorry Kevin but to me he is being sexist – he is playing on the stereotype of women being more interested in cloths and make-up than men. It’s pretty obvious to me.
Bob, with all due respect where in his comment, does he mention clothes and make up, the term looking good is not a sexist term and should not be hi-jacked as such. It might be said we are posting here to “look good” is there even a hint of sexism in that. I am amazed that anyone, could regard “look good” as sexist.
What an absolute backward idiot she is. I can’t believe what she has just done. Childish. This is outlandish pathetic and worrying. She needs to apologize and start focussing on the things that matter.
She won’t be punished but the votes she gets will get her indirectly. Moron. Would far far prefer Ming than her.
Ming might seem out there but the man tells like it is. Absolute moron Higgins. Should just leave.
I’d rather vote for Ming, who at least worked from the ground up and got himself elected than Ms Higgins who couldn’t even scrape together the handful of votes needed to get into the Seanad!
Doctor anything you like, your the only Ming-ing party in the Daíl. Labour are no more and you’re going to be just a distant memory following up and coming elections…… Good rid dens to turn coats and fraudsters
She just pressed the self-destruct button on her election, should lose her seat in the Seanad for improper conduct too.(shouldn’t be there to begin with)
labour will do anything to deflect media away from questioning gilmores resolute defence and support for shatter…….as regards turkeys are they any different from the pigs whose noses have been stuffed in the euro troughs for the last 4 years….at least Ming represents his constituents and with the other independents have been the strongest opposition in the dail.without them the whistleblowers would never had been heard…bit rich coming from a labour senator whose party campaigned for its abolition and instead of stepping down from the seanad is happy to enjoy the pay and perks…..hypocrite
Ah no, I was hoping to make a comment about Lorraine Higgins’ policies for Europe but I put it straight into the fire when it arrived yesterday. I asked my partner was there any post this morning and she said there were two flyers from Fine Gael Candidates, I asked her who they were from and she said I don’t know I threw them on the fire. Come Labour and Fine Gael more literature please we could use it during this unusually cold spell.
Senator Higgins’ name will be on the ballot paper handed to me on 23rd, I wonder will hell have frozen over by then?
It’s a shame the Journal didn’t use Ming’s full quote but then again they only tend to do anti-Labour hit pieces. Saw we’re up and the rest of the parties down in the last SBP poll. Didn’t see it getting an article of its own?
Ever occur to you that ye guys make it so easy to do a “hit piece”?
Lorraine being a cyber bully and the Cllr in Mullingar setting the litter warden on a young mother.
Not going to end well on count day tbh.
Well it looks like when the pressure is on a major party the will stoop to noting less that engage on a dirty tricks campaign to win favor from the electorate, miss Higgins there is a saying that is often used if you don’t like the heat of the fire then get out of the kitchen .
if you have issue with Mr Flanagan in respect of a comment he alleged made on a radio programme he has a natural human right to free speech, but you responded in a assault on his character and his public standing knowing and intentionally knowing that your actions would result in causing some harm and damage to Mr Flanagan, and you then didn’t deny you engaged in a personal attack and assault on him , you need to take step back and reflect on how you are going to implement damage control and bow out of this election with some dignity still in place , you are lucky Mr Flanagan is not taking any further action against you because if he did you will deserve it and it would be your own fault , but if you had any maturity the best thing you can do is apoligise to Mr Flanagan in public and in writing, he dosent deserve noting less
For me, nothing is more boring than press coverage of spats on social media. Other than a candidate’s dreams, nothing quite has less bearing on anything in the real world.
Irish stock market falls 5.5% as European and Asian markets in freefall amid looming Trump tariffs
Updated
14 mins ago
church to church
Francis-Charles meeting off the cards in historic Italy visit following health scares
22 mins ago
Wildfire
Man arrested in connection with 'deliberate ignition' of major fire in Mourne Mountains
Updated
13 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say