You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Spanner in the works for dissolving Dáil on Thursday due to president's schedule clash

The room typically used to announce the dissolution of the Dáil is out of action for much of Thursday.

LAST UPDATE | 1 Nov 2024

DISSOLVING THE DÁIL on Thursday could prove problematic for Taoiseach Simon Harris due to President Michael D Higgins’ schedule. 

Harris said yesterday that he will not be “dilly dallying” around after the Finance Bill is passed and will provide clarity as to when the general election will be.

The bill is expected to be debated for four hours next Tuesday in the Dáil, with TDs voting on the bill on Wednesday night. 

The draft Dáil schedule for Wednesday includes a number of other legislative items to be concluded, fueling expectations that the Taoiseach will travel to Áras an Uachtaráin on Thursday to seek a dissolution of the Dáil. 

However, the president is scheduled to deliver the Kofi Annan Eminent Speakers’ Lecture next Thursday between 2pm and 4pm, meaning Harris could not travel to Áras an Uachtaráin to speak to the president between those hours. 

The president is likely to be preparing for the speech in the hours before it begins, further ruling out the time available for Harris to travel to the Áras. 

In addition, a press release from Áras an Uachtaráin this afternoon confirms that the  lecture will be delivered live online from the State Reception Room, which is the room that is traditionally used for any announcement of the Dáil dissolution.

The hiccup could mean the Taoiseach might have to wait until Thursday evening or Friday morning to travel to Áras an Uachtaráin, unless Harris decides to pay a visit late on Wednesday evening. 

However, further doubt on a Friday announcement has been cast with the Taoiseach confirming that he plans to travel to Budapest for an informal EU Council meeting that day. 

new-fine-gael-leader-simon-harris-leaving-aras-an-uachtarain-after-meeting-the-president-of-ireland-michael-d-higgins-left-to-receive-the-seal-of-office-after-being-appointed-irelands-new-taoiseach Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Speaking today, Harris said he ahs consistently said he won’t be “dilly-dallying or waiting around once that piece of legislation (Finance Bill) is passed”.

“So the exact choreography is a matter for during the week. But there will be an election in the coming days,” Harris added.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

77 Comments
    Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:09 PM

Just like FF and FG . SF will not acknowledge the immigration problem and side with the natives .Irish people do not have a problem with people coming here to work and contribute to society . Irish people rightly do not want busloads of males been dumped into communities.This is wrong and SF would not acknowledge that in a meaningful way.
    If you travel abroad to countries like Poland , you do not see tent cities , you don’t see freeloaders in their cities. Why? Because their government listened to and protected their people .
    All SF had to do was acknowledge that perhaps , Irish people are right in their calls for something to be done that actually favours the people of Ireland and not the thousands of freeloaders we have currently milking the system.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:18 PM

Again, immigration wasn’t an issue to anyone other than the skin-triggered because the current govt who gave us your so called “immigration problem” have been comfortably re-elected, with anti-immigration parties getting decimated. Nobody has to pander to the far right now, they lost, FFG won.

Mute Kieran Ferrett
    Favourite Kieran Ferrett
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:24 PM

@BL Music: sure if that’s the case then why are ff/fg getting seats everywhere

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:54 PM

@9QRixo8H: The only party that got decimated is the pro Hamastinian and pro free immigration Shinners.
    “Brits out – everyone else in” simply doesn’t wash with their former supporters.
    There is no Right wing party in Ireland except by the definition of the Lazy Loony Left Layabouts.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 9th 2024, 6:31 PM

@BL Music: How anyone could get a single thumbs up for such buncombe really is beyond me.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jun 9th 2024, 7:20 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: SF haven’t done well but they’re the 3rd largest party, how many seats did your far-right anti-immigrant parties get? A whopping zero. Racists have no mandate.

Mute Terry Brophy
    Favourite Terry Brophy
    Jun 9th 2024, 7:32 PM

@BL Music: funny how just SF suffered isn’t it, kind of utterly undermines your argument, if your assessment of the importance and impact of the “immigration problem” was correct we’d have had sways of the countless anti immigration candidates elected….. Guess what they bombed

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jun 9th 2024, 8:29 PM

@BL Music: can’t say that that’s racist, allowing people to enter the country without checking they’re backgrounds couldn’t possibly cause a problem. As our spanner himself roderic o gorman says we have a legal and moral obligation to house those entering the country. Obviously to whoever enters the country not what’s currently in it.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:10 PM

Saw this on twitter:

“The only Sinn Fein person having a good day today is probably Jonathan Dowdall in Portlaoise Prison, who’s stuck his house on the market for €800k.”

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:39 PM

@honey badger: Also, from Twitter:
    Sinn Fein spent €111,000 on Facebook advertising for this campaign. For 11%.
    Actual LOL!

Mute 6gRrQtLn
    Favourite 6gRrQtLn
    Jun 9th 2024, 4:53 PM

She needs to go, the whingeing old bag

Mute Martin Kenny
    Favourite Martin Kenny
    Jun 9th 2024, 4:55 PM

@6gRrQtLn: no, leave her there, doing a great job

Mute 6gRrQtLn
    Favourite 6gRrQtLn
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:03 PM

@Martin Kenny: valid point

Mute Philip Murphy
    Favourite Philip Murphy
    Jun 9th 2024, 7:44 PM

@6gRrQtLn: and who is capable of replacing her

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 9th 2024, 7:55 PM

@Philip Murphy: Nigel Farage.

Mute 6gRrQtLn
    Favourite 6gRrQtLn
    Jun 10th 2024, 6:48 AM

@Philip Murphy: no one should replace her, SF should be abolished all together, terrorists shouldn’t be allowed to run for government

Mute Alan OConnor
    Favourite Alan OConnor
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:06 PM

She needs to realise politics isn’t conducted on social media.

In a post vote survey 30 percent plus people said they had had a visit from an FF/FG candidate. Only 18 percent had one from SF.

They need a new leader. She’s absolutely ruined them.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:06 PM

You’d have had my vote if Pierce Doherty was the leader.
    He talks sense.

Mute Martin Kenny
    Favourite Martin Kenny
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:13 PM

@Tom: you mean how he wants affordable housing for everyone, just not in his area?

Mute Kush OMeara
    Favourite Kush OMeara
    Jun 9th 2024, 6:22 PM

SFs traditional vote bank has been working class communities that are most impacted by very local issues. When SF started courting Hamas sympathizers and being all fascinated with Palestine and any other trending topics that didn’t resonate with the local communities, they lost those votes.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jun 9th 2024, 6:33 PM

@Kush OMeara: hari kari by sinn fein. Everyone could see that coming a mile away with the meely mouth re immigration and focus on palestine plus their referendum fcuk up. Mary Lou needs to go straight away and the party need to reorientate back to their core support , apologising on bended knee for betraying everyone.

Mute Renshai Renshai
    Favourite Renshai Renshai
    Jun 10th 2024, 11:36 AM

@Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson: hand control back to ‘Belfast’

Mute Paddy Kelly
    Favourite Paddy Kelly
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:35 PM

And she’s blaming the ‘current government’ for SF’s failure at the polls..whilst the ‘current government’ are running away with it; I’m confused..how does that work? The voting public have rejected SF’s programme for their ‘Change’..but I don’t think either ML or PD understand a 2-figure vote..

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:36 PM

How is it that nobody can spell Pearse???? I do agree that marylou should go. She single handedly alienated the sf support. Thank you marylou!!!

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jun 9th 2024, 5:27 PM

@BL Music:

“Just like FF and FG . SF will not acknowledge the immigration problem and side with the natives”

FF and FG seem to be doing alright despite your allegation that they don’t “side with the natives”. By your own logic nobody would vote for FF, FG or SF due to the “males being dumped into communities”. Something does not add up as FG and FF have garnered plenty of votes.

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Jun 9th 2024, 6:33 PM

Sadly i think Pierce Doherty needs to become leader . Very disappointed really thought people would vote for change . Not the same old boys club . Then again only half country voted these people same ones giving out.

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Jun 9th 2024, 7:53 PM

@martin finnegan: The loudest complainers couldn’t be bothered to vote obviously!!

Mute Wakeupkerrycoco Wakeupkerrycoco
    Favourite Wakeupkerrycoco Wakeupkerrycoco
    Jun 9th 2024, 7:12 PM

Let’s face it, FF/FG have been buying the locals votes for the last 12 months, money talks,every fiver extra,each lump some payment,each cost of living payment and every little increase & lots of handouts to communities across the country to white wash the crumbling buildings in the local squares.Brings all the locals to the schools to use their vote as a thank you to the government parties.Irish voters are always bought in the run up to elections, this will go on until the GE. It too will work then also as voters are always grateful for the few extra bob.Irish people love their money, whoever gives them more will have their hand shook.As long as donohue and mcgrath keep the handouts coming their almost guaranteed to be in government up to the beginning of the 2030s so get comfy everyone!.

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Jun 9th 2024, 7:51 PM

@Wakeupkerrycoco Wakeupkerrycoco: Dream on dear boy!!!! People just saw straight through the sf mullarkey!!

Mute Wakeupkerrycoco Wakeupkerrycoco
    Favourite Wakeupkerrycoco Wakeupkerrycoco
    Jun 9th 2024, 10:20 PM

@chris gaffney: Didn’t mention SF in my comment but yes I’d agree that people were not convinced by what SF have to offer anymore. Too slow to react to immigration and seemed to be having notions of grandeur before winning anything major.
    My comment was about peoples votes being bought by government.

Mute Renshai Renshai
    Favourite Renshai Renshai
    Jun 9th 2024, 6:44 PM

A poor display