You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A 60 KILOMETRE-per-hour speed limit on local roads is set to be put in place in November, according to the Minister of State at the Department of Transport.
The planned changes include speed limits being lowered from 100 km/h to 80 km/h on national secondary roads and from 80km/h to 60km/h on rural roads.
Within towns, cities and built up areas, the limit will be 30km/h, while roads on the outskirts or arterial routes around urban areas will have a limit of 50km/h.
The 120 km/h speed limit on motorways and 100 km/h on national roads will remain as they are.
Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Lawless said: “The intention is that in November of this year, by year end, the 60 kilometre default local road limit will be introduced.
“That will be followed in the early new year by the regional road limit and so on.”
The announcement was made in response to an increase in road deaths last year. 184 people were killed on Irish roads last year, up almost 20% in a year and 33% higher than before the pandemic.
This year, there have been 105 fatalities on Irish roads, an increase of fourteen on the same period last year.
Lawless said two pieces of legislation were approved by Cabinet yesterday “to correct some anomalies within the system”. They will be introduced in the Dáil in the next term.
“The first one was data sharing between the local authorities, the Road Safety Authority and An Garda Síochána,” he said.
“Historically, at the scene of a crash, the Gardaí are first investigators, first responders, and they would collect information as part of an investigation as to the causes, the road conditions, the who, what, when, and that’s obviously very useful to roads engineers and local county council.
“If there’s a pattern identified, they can take remediation action and maybe look at straightening out the road, or the road surface or whatever technical issues may arise.”
He said an issue arose with sharing that data relating to GDPR “and other technical reasons”, which was flagged by the local authorities themselves.
“They said look, we’re not comfortable receiving this data for various technical legal reasons. So this puts that back on a solid footing. There’s a foundation there that the data can be shared from the Road Safety Authority, from the Department of Transport, on to the local authorities.”
He said he hoped that the Bill would be enacted before Christmas.
The second piece of legislation will end the need for paper tax discs. Currently, motorists are legally required to display their motor tax disc to drive in a public place.
“We’ve had the discs since pre independence. 1920 is the year that our road tax disc was introduced. There’s a lot of water under the bridge since 1920 and most countries now would have a digital footprint,” Lawless said.
He said Gardaí now use automated number plate recognition (ANPR), where they can scan a registration plate and see if the driver is insured, have they been disqualified from driving or if the car is stolen.
“For the ordinary road user, the habitual practice of opening up the envelope in the letterbox, taking out the disc, carefully cerating it so it doesn’t tear and getting it on the dashboard of the vehicle, that would be thing of the past,” he said.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
88 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
People who stick to the speed limits that are already in place are not the problem…… changing the speed limits will not stop someone who never did a test in the 1970s and got a license granted to them who drive at a constant 60km an hour no matter what road they are on they drive at one speed…..it wont stop Muppets overthinking on bends or driving 2 close to the car Infront…. this is just a speed van revenue boost nothing more
@and the hit’s just keep coming: might put the “Muppets” off the road quicker as they are also more likely to not obey speed restrictions. I do agree with the poster above though, an approach to lowering limits in areas of known danger instead of blanket restriction could be looked at. But it’s probably easier and cheaper and lazier to do it this way. Throw a bit of money at actually resourcing the guards better. Increasing their numbers and presence of roads policing on roads to identify the ‘muppets’ you are right to mention would also be helpful.
@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: think you need to reword that, 20 yr old in the 70’s now 70 yr old, and we paid for lessons and Sat our test in the 70’s.
@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: morto, he’s not implying they were given at birth. A 70 year old would have been 16 or so at the turn of the 1970′s.
@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: math is fine, get your license at 20 years old in the 1970′s would make you a driver in their 70′s now, using your logic they would have been granted a license at birth. Dope of the day
Everything in this country is a ‘blanket’ application to problems. Some dangerous bends, road stretches are liable to see collisions – government solution = lower speed limit on every road in the class.
Reductions of speed should only apply for areas with poor quality or sharp turns, like they do in the USA where they put speed limits on sharp turns, etc…
Typical Irish knee-jerk solution. We’re a daft juvenile nation on these types of issues.
@Laois Weather: People become juveniles and like to be treated that way with health and safety issues as an area of exploitation by academic and political circles who often have other objectives in mind. Everything from traffic to weather control is issued as an imperative to save lives but usually to direct society to approved human behaviour.
Ask these same politicians how many will suffer because they can’t afford to keep the atmosphere out over their heads while they have everyone concerned about a hot atmosphere. I see juvenile reactions to this terrible imbalance in society.
So much for a secular society ruled by laws of nature and civil laws (enlightenment subculture).
I see there is no mention of the causes of the accidents last year. The only thing is common that we are allowed to know is that they were all late at night, on back roads – sometimes alcohol was involved. A sensible response would be to target these situations with enforcement or a day / night limit like some places have for these roads.
But no, we choose to reduce the limit on all roads. Roads where you see speed cameras on mile long straights with 2 lanes and a shoulder each side – and the cameras are there every sunny day (where there are no accidents).
This is one of two things – its revenue raising, simple as that – or its punishing the driver again and trying to remove our freedom to travel when and where we like. Right out of the UKs ‘nudge unit’ playbook.
What’s worse is we continue to vote for these simpletons -possibly because there is no other option.
@Tony Humphreys: you hear this argument all the time about the locations of speed traps.
The point is, someone speeding there is likely to speed everywhere.
So put the traps where it’s likely to catch more drivers who ignore the limits.
It really is simple.
@Ciaran Foster: I would disagree with this wide brush stroke. On a long straight stretch, in dry and sunny weather, anyone may be speeding (unless cruise control is on). Most of those would not be speeding on other roads or conditions.
I saw 2 of these speed traps today in Tipp and Kildare, both in accident-free zones. This is a money-making exercise. Speed cameras should be placed where speed is an actual danger (and maybe sometimes on ‘safe’ stretches too to help enforce speed limits, but not all the time as they are nowadays)
@Jerry LeFrog: One problem with that is that there usually isn’t room to park a bicycle let alone a speed trap van in many of the most dangerous spots. So it would have to be fixed cameras on poles which gets expensive given the number of dangerous spots on our roads.
@Gavan Hogan: Oh agreed outside where I live it’s a 50km zone, with a digital speed sign and this morning as most mornings every car , van and the 139 Naas to Blanchardstown bus were all clocked at 70kph.
It’ll take a death for something to change, and yes I’ve written letters as during school times pavements are full of school children.
@Paul O’Mahoney: It wont even take a death. We need enforcement. We need the garda enforcing traffic laws (speed, phones, traffic lights) instead of checking tax discs. Not even a speed camera, but officers in cars patrolling.
@Tony Humphreys: I wrote to Guards and they said they passed on my concerns that was 2020….nothing done and I doubt anything will be done, I’ll forward letters to Lawless as its his constituency highlighting the fact nothing has been done and blanket policies aren’t the answer.
@Paul O’Mahoney: Problem is it doesn’t I know were a reactive society but really THIS legislation is the solution, according to our leaders. We need infrastructure, but it’s never coming because we’re skinflints.
@Concerned Driver: Saving 10 minutes on a Cork to Dublin trip is hardly worth the hassle, or is it?
Drivers claiming it does, will then go over the increased speed limit again, do over 130.
@Concerned Driver: Yet Sunday morning the M1 had 2 speed cameras on a clear, dry, sunny day with very little traffic. This is nothing to do with safety, just revenue.
@Michael O’Brien: You’re wasting your time in arguing.
I believe, drivers who give out about speed cameras are the ones who regularly break the speed limit.
Otherwise, why would would you care?
However: I have to agree that the speed checks on any road lack proper implementation.
There should be much more of them, in more different places.
The penalties should significantly increase, depending on how much you’re over. Something like:
Up to 20%, the current 3 penalty points and a fixed charge fine of €160.
Double it by every every 10% after that.
The fine in general should increase, if the current ones are not covering the cost.
The government actually should made money on it, because it’s easily avoidable and nobody is forced to break the simple rule of a speed limit.
@Michael O’Brien: Exactly. That’s why they are reducing the limit on the majority of roads where there has never been an accident – to increase revenue. It has nothing to do with safety.
@Michael O’Brien: When speed limits are set too low for the actual road conditions (sight-lines, entrances/junctions, widths, road-surfaces, etc), and safe drivers naturally choose a speed that is safe for the conditions, it may be over the posted limit (if you’re a safe driver, your chosen speed is often well under the posted limit too), so non-compliance goes up whilst safety levels remain the same. Blanket speed limits based on the class of road bring all speed limits into disrepute, encourage drivers to disregard them in their driving style, and bring (fair) accusations of revenue-raising, statistics-massaging, and press-release sound-bites (XX drivers caught speeding last weekend). No one wants to see deaths from excessive speed, but when speed limits are wrong, safe drivers are being hit with fines and points and yet no lives are being saved.
The couple of young lads that will be in the news in the next week or two when they die in a road crash will stil be dead, they’ll still speed because there is no enforcement. Current speed limits are safe on vehicles just need more boots on the ground. Easy money
Why not like most of Europe that reduces the speed limit in dangerous areas regardless of road classification . You can go from 100 to 80 to 60 and back on the one stretch of road. National route or secondary..
Won’t make a blind bit of difference. It’ll not be enforced on local roads with any regularity. Might even drive up accidents as people will get very frustrated by slow drivers and take more chances. Technically a tractor can now drive at the speed limit on rural roads and you can’t overstake with out speeding. To do this as a blanket and not focused on roads where there are multiple accidents is just bonkers.
what makes us different from the French or the Germans that we have to introduce uniquely Irish speed limits that are more restrictive on roads that are less busy than those countries, are Fianna Fail determined to do another ‘world first’
@Gerry Ryan: What make us different unfortunately from the French & Germans is that they generally know how to drive properly & also their rules of the road are enforced more than they are here. 3 penalty points & a €120 fine with enforcement would sort out the deplorable Lane Discipline overnight i.m.o. in Ireland.
That’s the easiest and laziest option. I do agree 40 kph limit on some local roads, but a blanket limit on all local roads is once again reactionary overkill. And when there is no change to accident statistics on local roads in a few years time, what do they do, reduce to 30 kph? Idiots will be idiots no matter about limits.
@Toyo Ke: Vision Zero means no risk, which means no vehicles at all. The agenda is not road safety as we all accept some risk to simply live and go about – its about taking us back to the dark ages.
A clampdown on phone use and downright complacency is needed rapidly and it needs to be enforced. 6 month ban for using your phone. There’s absolutely no need for anyone to be checking a phone whilst driving. Speed kills but so does not looking where you’re going!
@Tezmond McVicar: 100% agree with you.
Go to any car park, or possible just step out your door and watch.
You will a lot of people getting to their car, pulling the phone out to make a call and start driving. And no, they’re not connecting to Bluetooth or whatever, because they keep the phone in their hand, at their ear.
It was bad before Covid, but got much worse after.
Rules in general seem not to apply anymore, are getting ignored by much more people and a zero tolerance approach is required to push back to, at least, normal levels.
@Chutes: Where do you set the limit, breaking point?
If 10% of the population steal stuff in shops, that makes it okay
and everyone else can follow?
If your not happy with the speed limits, talk to councilor, get a campaign going or whatever.
“widely ignored”, according to your perception, is not a valid argument to break the rules or continue to do so.
@Wolfgang Bonow: You don’t get to decide the validity of my argument and I care not a jot what you think of it.
Some bllsht about stealing isn’t connected.
I drive, I can see the rules being widely ignored with my own eyes, I don’t need you there.
I never said I was or wasn’t happy but even if I wasn’t, why would I talk to a councillor, it’s not like they do fk all!
I’ve seen so much footage of armed military in the US attacking peaceful protestors. It’s upsetting, it’s infuriating, its hard to watch but we must, people need to see what’s happening. #GeorgeFloyd dying before our eyes should be a wake up call for all of us #blacklivesmatter
@Michele Milne: Interesting point you made, but I would argue:
There’re too many signs for drivers already. There might be stretches on this road where you can do 80km with no issue at all.
There might be bends or small hills where you should and need to slow down,
If you don’t know the road, that’s what you do, or at least, should do.
But: Drivers are ignoring these really basics, expecting a sign of warning for anything.
They never learned properly, by an instructor, how to drive at night, on a motorway, because it was not not\is still not a requirement.
On the other side, you have seasoned drivers who won’t take notice of a lot of signs, because there simply so many of them, or they are put and left there for whatever reason.
Example: I’m driving all over Ireland and a lot of times on roads I’ve never been before.
I cannot even try count the amount of signs for “Accident Black Spot”, “Road ahead flooded” (months after the last heavy rain).
Balancing this is not an easy task, I can imagine, but in the end, it’s the drivers responsibility to slow down before a bend, a hill or whatever, if he\she doesn’t know this particular road.
I doubt that most of the fatal accidents are caused by an, assumed, to high speed limit.
As far as I remember, most reports are saying “Known to locals” or similar = the driver did know the road.
@Wolfgang Bonow: “but in the end, it’s the drivers responsibility to slow down before a bend, a hill or whatever, if he\she doesn’t know this particular road.”
I’ve 50 km/h on my road and people drive about 80 on it. More at night. I’ve contacted the council 3 times about it and fobbed off everytime. All I want is better signage. Thanks for nothing DLR.
As regards the tax disc. Why is there a tariff if you tax a car for 3 or 6 months ?
With most taxing online the administration is minimal to process motor tax yet there is extra money to be paid ??
I’m going to continue to drive within the envelope of my abilities.
Already the limits imposed are low for many roads and are regularly ignored. What makes anyone think dropping limits will make those who ignore the limits change behaviour? It hasn’t worked before now.
There is no substitute for experience on the road. If you can’t maintain 100kmh like many of those gifted their licenses, we’ll lower the limits for you.
@Chutes: So, what you’re saying basically with your first sentence is,
you’re not willing to follow the rules of the road and therefore by character unsuitable to be behind a wheel.
Is that what you’re saying?
When speed limits are set too low for the actual road conditions (sight-lines, entrances/junctions, widths, road-surfaces, etc), and safe drivers naturally choose a speed that is safe for the conditions, it may be over the posted limit (PS: if you’re a safe driver, your chosen speed is often well under the posted limit too), so non-compliance goes up whilst safety levels remain the same. Blanket/too-low speed limits based on the class of road bring all speed limits into disrepute, encourage drivers to disregard them in their driving style, and bring (fair) accusations of revenue-raising, statistics-massaging, and press-release sound-bites (XX drivers caught speeding last weekend). No one wants to see deaths from excessive speed, but when speed limits are wrong, safe drivers are being hit with fines and points and yet no lives are being saved.
4 people have been killed on a small straight 60 km speed limit road in the last year out by me. All seem to have lost control and been killed instantly. Don’t know this it going to be enforced imo.
@Jamie Hinch: Putting up a permanent camera, or regular patrols – or even a study on the causes of accidents and actually targeting the blackspot is beyond the whit of the n u t jobs in power.
Instead punish us all like bad children – worthy of that jumped up schoolteacher leading FF, of the schoolkid leading FG
@David Stapleton: Ireland doesn’t have a road tax.
Maybe you do mean the “Motor Tax”?
And yes, most European countries do have an annual tax on the car itself, like the Irish Motor Tax.
You might think about the VRT, but that’s a different story and Ireland is paying fines every year for this to the EU.
@Shimo F: How much can be, if at all?
I don’t agree with a blanket speed reduction at all
and I believe it will have zero impact on the road fatalities or accidents.
But a few minutes won’t make any noticeable difference to the economy.
There have been countless tests and studies done across Europe over the last decades about speed and time saving (Google it).
No matter who did the study, pretty much all came to the same conclusion:
Yes, you save some minutes on longer trips, but you also pay more more for your petrol\diesel consumption.
A lot of these tests\studies were done in Germany, with stretches on the “Autobahn” without any speed limits.
You can save significant time at 3am, doing 200 km\h or more, but it costs a lot more in petrol\diesel as well.
@Shimo F: it will affect the economy: speed traps, more revenue made. And less money in motorists’ pockets. And an increase in insurance costs for having points on the licence
What is the evidence of how many fatal accidents happened on rural roads when the current speed limit of 80Kph was being observed. There are no accident reports published just blanked statements speed, drink were the cause no facts were they wearing seatbelts what condition was the car in what speed was the car doing road conditions the county council have not been told
If introduced in the right way. It can work. Ie 30k in the town centers. And then increased to 50 the further out you go. I was in France and all towns have a limit of 30k.
The problem here is our government will make a bags of this and then use the lower limits to profit and get people off the roads.
Any new car bought now will have a restricted speed limiter on them that will slow the car down if your going above the limit apparently not sure how true this is ?
Haven’t seen a squad car in our rural area in 20 years local pubs flat out get in your car and drive home after your 12 diet cokes changing a few sign posts will make no difference. Rural ireland is cut adrift with police numbers zero inforcement
Could all paper not be eliminated from windscreens?
Why can’t all the vehicle registration plate details that are collected by toll bridges , roads and ‘go safe cameras etc be automatically put through the Garda ANPR system and automatic fines etc be issued. The technology is there, use it. They could also follow up on all the licences that are not surrendered when required to do so?
Coupling these changes with more frequent, more reliable, and lower cost (preferably FREE) public transportation options that go faster than those limits might get a few cars off streets in the cities.
We still have a fair few people who were handed licenses without sitting a test. Any thought being given to how to make sure they know what they’re doing? I know my late auntie was a menace on the roads so somehow managed to never have an accident.
China to slap extra 34% tariffs on all US imports in retaliation to Trump measures
3 hrs ago
Charged
Russell Brand charged with rape, indecent assault, oral rape and sexual assault
1 hr ago
Live Blog
US stocks drop sharply as EU considers response to Trump tariffs
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say