You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/RollingNews.ie

Supermac's is raking in the cash as profits more than double to €12m

Owner Pat McDonagh and wife Una netted a major windfall during the year.

PROFITS SOARED AT the company behind fast-food chain Supermac’s last year, more than doubling to just under €12 million.

According to new accounts just filed by Supermac’s Ireland, the company had sales of just over €116 million in the 12 months to the end of 2015, up nearly one-quarter on the tally for the year before.

The firm, which is owned by Galway entrepreneur Pat McDonagh and his wife Una, who set up the first outlet in the chain at Ballinasloe, County Galway in 1978, made an operating profit of just under €14 million compared to slightly under €10 million in 2014.

After paying out about €2.2 million in taxes, Supermac’s was left with a net profit of €11.9 million – more than double the €5.7 million reported by the business the year before.

Windfall

An average of 1,336 people were employed by Supermac’s Ireland during the year, up from 1,032 the year before. This resulted in staff costs rising from about €22 million to just over €27 million.

The accounts also show that Pat McDonagh and his wife Una received a major windfall during the year, as Supermac’s Ireland purchased property from the pair at “open market value” of nearly €27 million. Some €10.4 million was still due to be paid to the couple at year-end.

pat mcdonagh supermacs Supermac's founder Pat McDonagh RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

As well as owning more than 100 Supermac’s outlets, McDonagh also owns several hotels, fast-food outlets and motorway petrol stations – most notably his Barack Obama Plaza in Offaly.

The directors report for Supermac’s Ireland noted: “The activities of the group are diverse. They incorporate the hospitality sector, including quick service restaurants, hotels, service stations and the property sector.”

Expansion

McDonagh said at the start of the year that Supermac’s expected to open six new branches during 2016 in a move that would likely create at least 200 new jobs.

However, while it continues to expand across Ireland, the chain has apparently been stymied in its plans to move into mainland Europe and Australia due to opposition from American fast-food giant McDonalds.

The US company, which operates about 34,000 outlets across the world, had filed a 41-page complaint with the EU’s Office for Harmonisation in the Internal Market (OHIM) about Supermac’s pending bid for a Europe-wide trademark.

In its decision, OHIM has partially upheld McDonald’s claim, rejecting Supermac’s trademark application for a number of items including food and drink services.

While Supermac’s was awarded its own trademark in Europe, it lost the part of the case which allowed it to sell its core products – including toys, food, drinks, coffee, ice-cream and meat.

Written by Paul O’Donoghue and posted on Fora.ie

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 39 comments
39 Comments
    Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:23 PM

“After paying out about €2.2 million in taxes, Supermac’s was left with a net profit of €11.9 million”

Good to see they actually seem to be paying the right % of tax, quite a few companies of their size could do with doing the same.

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:35 PM

Pat Mc Donagh is a true entrepreneur . He has diversified into subs , dinners , coffees , filling stations , hotels etc etc these profits are not just on junk food.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:14 PM

Finnster, the petrol station outlets are franchises.

Mute Ciaran Whyte
    Favourite Ciaran Whyte
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:22 PM

He’s an investor, not an entrepreneur.

But fair dues regardless

Nov 22nd 2016, 9:38 PM

Aye he invented the sangwidch.

Mute Ciaran Farrell
    Favourite Ciaran Farrell
    Nov 22nd 2016, 11:35 PM

Not all are franchises Tom… For example last Friday a new filling station and Supermacs opened in Charlestown Co Mayo; this particular one is fully owned by Pat and his wife. Point taken though as many of the rest of them are indeed franchises.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Nov 23rd 2016, 10:02 AM

Yes he didn’t get the Idea from Mcdonalds, Subway and pizza parlours. True entrapenour.

Nov 23rd 2016, 10:36 PM

@Vincent Wallace: can you get a mighty mac, curry chips and a pizza slice from any of the places you mentioned, whilst also buying Irish? No is the answer.

Mute Galway Spurs
    Favourite Galway Spurs
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:45 PM

For his sponsorship of Galway hurlers through the years I make it my mission to support him by eating a snack box in O’Connell street on the days I go to Croker to watch Kilkenny spank us!

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:58 PM

Pat started sponsoring Galway in 1989.
    12 months after they won their last AI.
    It’s been great for Pat but sadly not so for Galway.

Mute Galway Spurs
    Favourite Galway Spurs
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:14 PM

100% agree seamus

Mute Irin Flynn
    Favourite Irin Flynn
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:59 PM

I was in Tullamore there in 2014 for a Leinster semi final replay of Kilkenny Vs Galway.I just couldn’t believe my eyes when after the match I was walking back up the main street and seen a massive line for the towns Supermacs,it was out the front door and up the street! (no exaggeration).Fair play to the galway supporters

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:38 PM

I Love their garlic and cheese fries :)

Nov 22nd 2016, 8:41 PM

Smokey bacon burger.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:42 PM

Some amount of Sangwiches.

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:51 PM

Fair play to them. However I must point out that they use ketchup on their burgers east of the Shannon, but in the West they use the proper burger sauce. I know the proper sauce is merely a mix of ketchup and mayo, but please ensure consistency in the product range.

Mute Mumpsimus
    Favourite Mumpsimus
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:55 PM

They have to cater to cultural tastes I suppose.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Nov 23rd 2016, 9:57 AM

@Bob McShane:.The Dubs won’t eat the burger sauce. Evrywhere else they do. Kilkenny all down south east anyway.

Mute Sum Yung Guy
    Favourite Sum Yung Guy
    Nov 22nd 2016, 11:00 PM

This is the multimillionaire who went to the High Court to abolish EROs which set minimum pay and conditions for workers in lower-paid jobs.

Yet judging by the comments here,he is some kind of hero.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Nov 23rd 2016, 9:59 AM

@Sum Yung Guy: Sure jasus he sponsores the Galway hurlers. Who cares about his contempt for the people who make his millions for him.

Mute Seymour business
    Favourite Seymour business
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:13 PM

I hear he was originally in the business of selling really good rain coats but when that venture failed he started selling burgers and kept the name supermacs. Ture story.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:19 PM

From Wikipedia, you rascal:
    The Restaurant was named together by locals and its owners: The founder, Pat McDonagh, earned the nickname ‘Supermac’ whilst playing Gaelic football for the Carmelite College in Moate. This then became the natural choice of name for his business, “Supermac’s”

Mute David Dickenson
    Favourite David Dickenson
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:40 PM

@Seymour business:I’m ture it is.

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:22 PM

Guess you say Supermac’s are becoming obese on the profits from junk food.
    The business class will say – Great news.
    Unfortunately the health of the nation is at stake here.

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:26 PM

@Frederick Burden: No one’s forcing anyone to go in Frederick. Again, it’s all down to education (and not a sugar tax!)

Mute L
    Favourite L
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:34 PM

How about people take some personal responsibility for their own life and choices they make…can we at least start there?!

Mute ISBA - Seamus Maye
    Favourite ISBA - Seamus Maye
    Nov 22nd 2016, 11:34 PM

Frederic, can’t go with that at all. It’s a different issue. Fair play to them. McDonalds came to Ireland in 1978 too. A great success story.

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:55 PM

I’m not surprised. I got a snack box on Saturday after an absence of 2 years or so. It used to be well up there as far as quality was concerned.. If such a comment is applicable to fast food. But jaaasus it was bad…very very bad!

It’s obviously cost cutting and relying on a drunk customer base. Not sustainable I fear Mr. McDonagh

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:16 PM

Not sustainable? Did you read how much profit they are making? I wouldn’t think he’d be taking advise from the journal commentators

Mute Shaymoose
    Favourite Shaymoose
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:48 PM

They changed their taco fries recipe a few years ago…very disappointing now

Nov 22nd 2016, 8:42 PM

Why?

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Nov 23rd 2016, 12:25 AM

As a bouncer friend of mine once told me.. “after a lash of pints people would ate shite on a stick if you put the right sauce on it “.

Mute Sj Hanley
    Favourite Sj Hanley
    Nov 23rd 2016, 4:32 AM

I’m with you here, it’s rank

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Nov 23rd 2016, 7:35 AM

Of course they are.i remember when a snack box was 3.40.its 7 something now.

Mute Rónán Ó Dufaigh
    Favourite Rónán Ó Dufaigh
    Nov 22nd 2016, 11:43 PM

Papa Johns must be doing alright then !

Mute Bob Woodward
    Favourite Bob Woodward
    Nov 23rd 2016, 10:49 AM

Great to see, years of had work and investment paying off for Pat. Of course for our friends on the hard left Pat is everything they despise , some one who through business ability and entrepreneurship created a company that employs hundred of people. They would have more regard for a scrumbag thief off the street because he is “misunderstood” and has been forced into crime by big bad capitalism . To them Pat is evil because he tried to make a profit and better himself and his family.

Mute paddy Jennings
    Favourite paddy Jennings
    Nov 23rd 2016, 2:40 AM

Snack box with curry is unreal

Mute Oh yeah, that guy
    Favourite Oh yeah, that guy
    Nov 23rd 2016, 12:48 PM

They take in all that money and he still won’t pay his workers minimum wage.

Mute Linda Hughes
    Favourite Linda Hughes
    Nov 23rd 2016, 2:00 AM

Give it to the homeless!