You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"They were broken, full of blood" - four-year-old girl pricked by used syringe in Dublin

Catherine Leonard has described how her daughter came upon a bag of discarded syringes close to their home.

Updated 8pm

catherine2 The needles that were found in the bag Facebook Facebook

A DUBLIN MOTHER has told of how her four-year-old daughter came upon a bag of used drug syringes and pricked herself on one.

Catherine Leonard’s daughter had been playing with her friends close to their home at Ard na Meala, Ballymun, on Friday evening last, 2 September.

The children came upon a discarded Super Valu bag close to a wall beside the houses, but not visible from within the house itself.

“My husband found them playing at 7.30pm,” Catherine told TheJournal.ie.

They were out playing at the front of the green just in front of the house, about 10 yards away. Kids being kids they went to investigate the bag.

“My husband went down to fetch the kids for bedtime,” she says. “He found them digging a hole with the needles and let a roar and the three of them dropped them. They didn’t know they were doing anything wrong.”

There were about eight to 10 used syringes inside, says Catherine. “They were broken and full of blood. There were bloody tissues in the bag and the kind of stuff you use for cooking drugs.”

We brought the kids back inside and scrubbed them clean – the skin didn’t seem to be broken. Then after things had calmed down my little one came in and said ‘we were only playing a game, we took the plastic off and stuck it in’.
That was when I first realised she’d been punctured. She said: ‘it only hurt for a minute when it scraped me’.

catherine 1 The bag that contained the syringes remained at the wall near the houses until the following day

Blood tests

Catherine says that her husband called the gardaí at 7.45pm, however no patrol ever arrived. Dublin City Council (DCC) was likewise notified.

The gardaí said in a statement this evening that the incident was reported to An Garda Siochana and the matter is currently being investigated.

Her husband removed the syringes from the bag. They were subsequently brought to Temple Street Children’s Hospital that evening as the family brought their daughter in for blood tests.

“I’m heartbroken with this. I was on the floor and someone had to pick me up when I realised what happened,” says Catherine.

She only started school on Monday. It should have been a happy week.

Catherine says that the staff at Temple Street have given her “some reassurance”: “They said that you need about two millilitres of fresh blood before you need to start worrying about HIV, and the blood in them was old. We’re hoping to get some results this week.”

Her daughter is now on a course of strong antibiotics for the next week.

“She’s oblivious to all this, but it’s absolutely sickening for us,” says an emotional Catherine, who says the only person who would help her was local Sinn Féin councillor Noeleen Reilly, who contacted DCC that evening at 9pm on behalf of the family with a view to getting the rubbish removed.

Speaking regarding the incident, Reilly said: “My heart goes out to the parents involved.”

“It is now not safe for children to play outside their homes,” she said.

ardnameala Ard na Meala, Ballymun Google Maps Google Maps

Someone just dumped a bag of needles without a care in the world for who would find them. This is totally unacceptable for anyone to do this whatever issues they may have.
After repeated requests the rubbish was still there, though the needles had been removed, and this is after many calls to Dublin City Council and the gardaí.  The response has not been adequate and is a direct result of funding cuts within Ballymun.

Receipt

Catherine says that despite repeated requests to both DCC and the gardaí the rubbish wasn’t removed from the area until 5pm the following day.

She says that when she called to Ballymun Garda Station the next day she reported to a Garda on duty that she had found a receipt in the Super Valu bag from the local store dated Thursday 1 September.

“She just said to me that even if they could identify whoever had paid for the goods there was no guarantee that it was them who had dumped the bag,” says Catherine.

“We’re ten years in that house and this is the first time I’ve seen something like this,” she added.

TheJournal.ie has contacted both Dublin City Council and the gardaí regarding this matter.

Read: The Artane Band says it won’t be changing its name despite industrial school history

Read: Strike: Dublin Bus says services will end at 9pm tomorrow ahead of Thursday action

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute John Gallagher
    Favourite John Gallagher
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:51 PM

In all fairness it’s hardly up to the guards to remove syringes, it’s the council who clean up the area!!! It’s like the authorities are being blamed and not a word about the people who leave these syringes behind them!?!?

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:00 PM

Well it would be up to the council to remove the syringes, I presume, but the Gardaí to deal with the illegal drug use.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:28 PM

The gardai do prosecute them daily but the courts give fines or suspended sentences and the bleeding heart do gooders try to absolute personal responsibility from the junkies.

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Sep 6th 2016, 6:22 PM

they dont even give them fines, they give them BMWs disguised as fines!

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Sep 6th 2016, 6:49 PM

@ john
    And where do you think the syringes come from? The authorities using the free needle program. Stop supplying the needles for free, an exchange program wud stamp that out. Charge for fresh needles or free if they return the old one. No more needles lying around.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 7:44 PM

If you care charging for needles they’ll reuse then which is a huge part of the problem with IV drug use.

Mute Kers Neil
    Favourite Kers Neil
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:54 PM

Syringes or not , the amount of uncollected refuse and illegal dumping in this country is a disgrace.

Mute Eamonn
    Favourite Eamonn
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:46 PM

Junkies have a disregard for anyone else but themselves. They commit crimes to fund their habits and endanger the lives of others knowing there are no consequences because our Guards are stretched to the limit. All this talk about injection centres and drug rehab programmes is misplaced. Remove all social benefits until clean. That will stop it.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:01 PM

How will that stop it exactly. I think it’s fair to say it’s been established at this point that addicts will and do resort to crime to fund their habit. In what way will removing all social benefits compel users to get clean? Surely drug-related crime rates will increase if social benefits are removed..

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:03 PM

Silly Daffy. Don’t help people who need help because… er… reasons.

Mute Ollie O'Brien
    Favourite Ollie O'Brien
    Sep 6th 2016, 7:34 PM

Round them up and stick them in a tiled room with a bucket for 9 weeks and let them go thru the dts , less of the mammying and bleeding heart bs and bit more tough love is required

Mute O-'Seán
    Favourite O-'Seán
    Sep 6th 2016, 11:14 PM

number of thumbs up demonstrates the ignorance. How will this stop the scourge? ‘Where there’s a will’ …
    yes it makes good people monsters but you are wrong the centers are working in Canada, Switzerland and more. The Portuguese lapped up the benefits in their society although they had the common sense to stop criminalising users and, more importantly, addicts.
    https://news.vice.com/article/ungass-portugal-what-happened-after-decriminalization-drugs-weed-to-heroin

Mute Alan Flood
    Favourite Alan Flood
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:24 PM

They had the answer when the bad gear was on the streets . Cops worked overtime to get rid of it .

Mute Dean Sheehan
    Favourite Dean Sheehan
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:50 PM

Wat r u on bout Alan? The gards have no answer to gear on the street.Dublin is covered in it,has been for years.the cards may aswel have there fingers up there holes.ther use less

Mute Dave Gillen
    Favourite Dave Gillen
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:56 PM

I think he’s pointing out that the gards could have let the lethal drugs that hit irish streets a while back run their course and culled the junkie population instead of working so hard to get that particular batch off the streets.

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:30 PM

yeh he’s gone a bit ‘CIA / crack cocaine’ on us there

Mute Alan Flood
    Favourite Alan Flood
    Sep 6th 2016, 6:26 PM

Spot on

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:33 PM

But we can’t have safe injection centers to help minimise this sort of thing because ill-informed right-wing idiots and the FG Holy Joe Country and Western brigade think it’s bad and wrong and wil encourage drug use and hate it because it was proposed by uber-liberal girlyman Aodhán Ó Ríordáin when he was a TD.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:52 PM

Because like all trolls, it’s the highlight of their day.

Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:53 PM

There was a very feel-good article the other day about how a drug that save the lives of multiple overdosers should be distributed for free and how empowering it all is, blah blah. And how good it feels to save the life of a junkie who over shot himself. All the comments that were considered to be of the buzz killing type were taken down. Didn’t fit with junkie as harmless victim narrative . Then when you see the reality of what drug addicts leave behind in their wake, the reality of their absolute self indulgence and the pain and damage they inflict it just makes me angry that resources go into these people that could be better spent on more deserving people with better outcome possibilities.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:56 PM

“Safe injection centres are the answer alright. However, it wouldnt be heroin I would advocate injecting. ”

- Yeah, murdering problematic people is a great idea.

“O’ Riordan and the rest of the liberals need a reality check. Junkies choose their lifestyle and bring their misery upon the rest of society”

- And safe injecting centers woudl reduce the misery they bring to the rest of society, and themselves, and reduce the financial cost to society too.

“Do you think injection centres are somehow going to cause the junkies to be bestowed with civic responsibility and not leave needles on the streets ever again?”

- Why are you asking me that when I quite clearly stated in the comment you’re responding to that “safe injection centers to help minimise this sort of thing”. HELP MINIMISE. How hard a concept is that to understand?

“It’s the uber-liberals that infest our judiciary that turf these junkies onto the streets time and time again wile looking after their friends suckling from the free-legal-aid teat.”

- What the f__k does that have to do with providing safe injecting centers to take them OFF the street?

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:59 PM

“Then when you see the reality of what drug addicts leave behind in their wake, the reality of their absolute self indulgence and the pain and damage they inflict it just makes me angry that resources go into these people that could be better spent on more deserving people with better outcome possibilities.”

And providing safe injecting centres would remove some of what they leave behind, drug paraphernalia. Would reduce the healthcare cost of dealing with unsafe injecting, sharing needles etc. Would reduce the risk of overdosing, which will, regardless of what some might like, take up resources like emergency services etc.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:34 PM

If you have nothing useful to add to the discussion, Marg, the just keep quiet.

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:35 PM

damn those uber-liberals, using ride-sharing apps in a free and easy manner.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:40 PM

If you have nothing useful to add to the discussion, Marg, then just keep quiet.

Mute The Clarifier
    Favourite The Clarifier
    Sep 6th 2016, 7:08 PM

Ah the bleeding hearts are out in force. How about this solution? Three strikes approach…you are given help three times and if you are still a junkie after that, then no more help. No dole, no free houses, not a penny more from the tax payer. As I said its a lifestyle choice, they are given endless help and dont take it

Mute The Clarifier
    Favourite The Clarifier
    Sep 6th 2016, 7:13 PM

@cleverjake Take a wander down to Our Ladys in Crumlin or Temple Street and you will see people who need help. Children all over the country need life saving operations and medicine and your lot want to spend the health budget on people who made bad choices. Those kids didnt make and bad choices and they suffer because millions are spent on wasters. Shame on you and your liberal friends

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 7:42 PM

How about we build safe injecting centers and use the money saved treating people for sharing needles and help avoid situations like this and resources spent on treating children like this little girl when it could be avoidable and direct the money into Crumlin or Temple Street hospitals rather than harp on about political ideology and achieve nothing but more waste?

Mute The Clarifier
    Favourite The Clarifier
    Sep 6th 2016, 7:58 PM

How about we dont spend another cent on wasters and divert the money saved to the real hard cases? How about we stop indulging the waster generation who think they are entitled to not work and get paid. The govt pay heroin addicts €188 a week and they spend it on gear. The truth is that the govt are directly funding Kinihan and Freddy and the rest of the dealers. Taxpayers money is directly funding the murder on our streets. Wake up and smell the coffee. This is the reality of not only tolerating but funding drug dealers by giving free money to wasters

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Sep 6th 2016, 8:27 PM

“Some of the most vulnerable people in society…” No. Some of the most vulnerable are among those junkies prey on. Old people, special needs people, kids. Through no fault of their own, they are the people who get mugged, robbed, beaten, dragged down lanes, and exposed to dangerous needles junkies left behind, because they are vulnerable. We hear the stories over and over. They also missed out on services that the government can’t afford because they are too busy looking out for people who made a conscious decision to ruin their own lives with drugs.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 9:05 PM

“How about we dont spend another cent on wasters and divert the money saved to the real hard cases?”

Because if we don’t things like this happen.

“How about we stop indulging the waster generation who think they are entitled to not work and get paid. ”

Are you even addressing the issue here ot just ranting?

“The govt pay heroin addicts €188 a week and they spend it on gear. The truth is that the govt are directly funding Kinihan and Freddy and the rest of the dealers.”

What are you on about?

“Taxpayers money is directly funding the murder on our streets. Wake up and smell the coffee. This is the reality of not only tolerating but funding drug dealers by giving free money to wasters”

What has this got to do with the issue being discussed?

Mute The Clarifier
    Favourite The Clarifier
    Sep 6th 2016, 10:54 PM

There isnt enough money to go around in the health service. Straight question…you have €1 million to spend on either injection centres or life saving operations, which do you choose? No bluff, no answering my question with a question, which one do you choose?

Mute O-'Seán
    Favourite O-'Seán
    Sep 6th 2016, 11:18 PM

at least recognise that there isnt the money because of a deliberate EU/Europe-wide constructed financial crisis ..the results of which are to privatise our resources and drive ordinary people’s living standards into the abyss. However now that we know ROI is ready for the centers – why dont we stop arguing and introduce a few ?

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Sep 6th 2016, 11:23 PM

which do you choose which do you choose which do you choose which do you choose?

Mute Gwen denny
    Favourite Gwen denny
    Sep 7th 2016, 7:31 AM

Jake surely even people from a poor socio- economical background know the word NO !!!!!!! . Nobody forced these people to take their first drug NOBODY . And now innocent children are waiting for blood results because of their total disregard for people by just dropping their needles ” wherever” . Would you be as understanding if it was your child ????

Mute Gwen denny
    Favourite Gwen denny
    Sep 7th 2016, 7:36 AM

So Phil because marg does not agree with you, she has nothing useful to say ????. She is as entitled to her opinion on this as much as you are so relax and act like an adult

Mute The Clarifier
    Favourite The Clarifier
    Sep 7th 2016, 1:31 PM

You have once again dodged the question being asked. €1 million to spend on heroin addicts or children who need life saving operations…who would you rather spend it on? This is the reality

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Sep 6th 2016, 8:07 PM

I was there yesterday and two as it seemed men a bit out of it were asking each other in a most delightful manner, Would you rob that shop to each other, what a delight and both dressed in immaculate clothing, that made me wonder if these druggies stole the clothes they were wearing as well?
    What a delight for tourists…
    Too sarcastic I think?

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Sep 6th 2016, 11:21 PM

reads a bit like a poem

Mute Angry Gaming
    Favourite Angry Gaming
    Sep 6th 2016, 8:38 PM

3….2……1…. Que the Druggies are victims and the PC bollocks excuses .

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Sep 6th 2016, 11:22 PM

the druggies are victims. Yours, PC Bollocks.

Mute Angry Gaming
    Favourite Angry Gaming
    Sep 7th 2016, 11:04 AM

Sure they are. I wonder how many victims the average drug user has left in their wake . Ever had a family member attacked with a needle?? Ever had a house ransacked by a user. ever had a business broken into by a user?.
    I wouldn’t even call them human, never mind victims.

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Favourite Lauren Masterson
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:42 PM

The only way to stop this is having these centres .you hear these stories with kids too often .

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:53 PM

No, we should bury our heads in the sand and hope it goes away all on its own.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:02 PM

And rant about how providing such a service is being nice to junkies while ignoring pretty much all the other benefits.

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Favourite Lauren Masterson
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:30 PM

Let me make it clear though i don’t have any sympathy for junkies they disgust me but if this lessons the chance of my children coming in contact with their filthy needles I’d support it !

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:48 PM

Injection centres are a step in the right direction of course but, just like prisons, the NIMBYs will be all over any kind of planning permission or works installation to ensure that these facilities are not installed within a jumbo jet’s roar of their area. Yet they will complain until the cows come home. Meanwhile the councils will remain in a constant state of paralysis with respect to a decision on this while Joe Public remains in harms way.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Sep 6th 2016, 7:30 PM

Exactly my thinking Lauren. Couldn’t care less about addicts. It’s everybody else I’m worried about.

Sep 6th 2016, 8:10 PM

Kids that are born junkies and have to go through detox as soon as they are born are then just handed back to their junkie mothers .. I’ll never understand that …

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    Sep 6th 2016, 8:38 PM

@Sean

Wouldn’t you have the same attitude if it was actually ‘in your backyard’ and YOUR property would lose 50 grand in value almost overnight?

I’m all for injection centres if it helps to reduce those incidents but not in predominantly residential areas.

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Sep 6th 2016, 11:24 PM

i dont have a backyard, or a property worth e50k- so im fine with it

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Sep 6th 2016, 4:28 PM

We as a society needs to open up civic responsibility centres for junkies.
    Take the money from the health budget.

Mute Charles Pigano
    Favourite Charles Pigano
    Sep 6th 2016, 5:09 PM

Stay classy Ballymuh

Mute Stuart Kelly
    Favourite Stuart Kelly
    Sep 6th 2016, 6:02 PM

People mention injection centres great idea let’s get these useless carcasses out of the city and build an injection centre in foxrock.

Mute O-'Seán
    Favourite O-'Seán
    Sep 6th 2016, 11:06 PM

Introduce the injection centers. No excuses we are still waiting in this country.