You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taylor Swift had promised to help those affected by sexual assault after winning the court case Dominic Lipinski/PA Images

'You are not alone': Taylor Swift makes 'generous' donation to sexual assault charity

The pop star won a sexual assault lawsuit against a radio DJ on Monday.

POP STAR TAYLOR Swift has made a “generous” donation to a US charity that supports victims of sexual assault after winning a groping lawsuit against a former radio DJ, the organisation confirmed yesterday.

Joyful Heart Foundation, a national organisation working to transform society’s response to sexual assault, domestic violence and child abuse, declined to disclose the amount of the donation.

“I hope that Taylor’s very public experience – and her decision to speak out – not only helps empower other victims to speak up and take action, but offers them solidarity,” said its founder, the actress Mariska Hargitay.

I’m honored by her dedication and commitment to these issues, and I’m deeply grateful for her support of the Joyful Heart Foundation.

Charity CEO Maile Zambuto thanked Swift for her “generous investment” and said the singer’s actions “send a powerful message to survivors everywhere: you matter. What happens to you matters. And you are not alone.”

The 27-year-old Bad Blood songstress won her sexual assault lawsuit on Monday. A jury in a Denver federal court deliberated for four hours before allowing her complaint that David Mueller had fondled her buttocks during a photo op in 2013.

Swift, who was awarded a nominal $1 in damages, promised to donate to charities in the wake of her ordeal. According to Forbes she is worth $44 million (€37.45 million).

“I acknowledge the privilege that I benefit from in life, in society and in my ability to shoulder the enormous cost of defending myself in a trial like this,” Swift said in a statement thanking the court.

My hope is to help those whose voices should also be heard. Therefore, I will be making donations in the near future to multiple organisations that help sexual assault victims defend themselves.

Hargitay starred as a police detective on Law and Order: Special Victims Unit, a drama about New York officers who investigate sexually related crimes.

Hamptons Magazine Memorial Day Soiree-Southampton, NY Hargitay played Detective Olivia Benson in the popular TV show Sonia Moskowitz / Zuma Press/PA Images Sonia Moskowitz / Zuma Press/PA Images / Zuma Press/PA Images

She says one in three women report being physically or sexually abused by a husband or boyfriend at some point in their lives, and that someone is sexually assaulted every two minutes in the United States.

© AFP 2017

Read: Taylor Swift wins sexual assault case against DJ

Read: ‘It was a definite grab. A very long grab’ – Taylor Swift testifies that DJ groped her under her skirt

View 32 comments
32 Comments
    Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:44 PM

An Taoiseach did NOT say “do not go out for shopping”. We would starve otherwise!! You could cause widespread panic with that comment. Please change!!

Mute Caoimhín
    Favourite Caoimhín
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:49 PM

@DeeM: This article is specifically for people cocooning though. He said people can go shopping but people cocooning is a different set of rule. You exclamation marks are causing more panic.

Mute Jean Kelly
    Favourite Jean Kelly
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:53 PM

@DeeM: if a person is cocooning they can not go out for shopping. I leave the shopping in my vulnerable family members garden, another member of the family that has also been staying at home with them removes the packaging if they can and sprays and wipe all the food down before bringing it into the house. Shoes and coats dont enter the main part of the house and are removed in porch.

Mute Keelin Connolly
    Favourite Keelin Connolly

@Caoimhín: Exactly! ‘Healthy’ people can go to the shop for essentials but the elderly and medically vulnerable people must make alternative arrangements. They must not leave the house.

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:54 PM

@Caoimhín: you misunderstood, this is for the over 70s and vulnerable

Mute Andy O Brien
    Favourite Andy O Brien
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:56 PM

@DeeM: it’s for people over 70 and it’s part of the guidelines

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:42 AM

@Caoimhín: Fair enough.. Misunderstood!! Duh!!

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:43 AM

@Caoimhín: I didn’t put that many exclamation marks did I? Recognised I misread the headline too… Oops! Sorry!!

Mute brendan fitzsimons
    Favourite brendan fitzsimons
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:15 AM

@DeeM:

Wow! That’s a first….someone conceding they made a mistake.

I’d give you 10 upticks if they’d let me :)

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:44 AM

@brendan fitzsimons: So kind thanks!! Stay safe everyone.. Look after the elderly and vulnerable people in your lives as best you can. Its going to be a hard road ahead but we’ll get through this.

Mute Nell foran
    Favourite Nell foran
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:11 AM

@Keelin Connolly: t

Mute Nell foran
    Favourite Nell foran
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:12 AM

@Keelin Connolly: thats great i am one of those people but so is my daughter so there is no one who can get my groceries what do i do in those circumstances

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:16 AM

@Nell foran: contact your local gaa club or garda station if you have no one else, many round the country are helping out. Otherwise try to put a list of at least three other people who could help, doesn’t have to be family, that way if one gets sick you have two in backup

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:16 PM

@Nell foran: Seen loads of pics on social media yesterday of Guards doing shopping for older/vulnerable people. The commissioner said earlier if you need help call the local station and they will organise it for you.

Mute Keelin Connolly
    Favourite Keelin Connolly
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:28 PM

@Nell foran: I am also one of those people told I cannot leave the house, by order of my specialists and now the government. Today, I got a delivery from my local supermarket. They left it outside the back door. My friend called with other essentials, again they left it outside the back door while I waved at her through the window. I understand it’s difficult however, I am more susceptible to getting the virus as I have a low immune system. I’m am staying in in order to not get sick and more than likely need hospital treatment and also to not pass it on if i was asymptomatic for a few days. We all have to do our bit as much as we can.

Mute annmarie
    Favourite annmarie
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:51 PM

How am I supposed to cocoon, I do fall into the at risk category, I have 3 year old twins to take care of, and a husband who is supposed to go to work because its deemed essential, eventough the company makes knees and hips and all non essential surgeries such as knee replacement surgery, has been cancelled,?

Mute COYBIG
    Favourite COYBIG
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:58 PM

@annmarie: if you need to self isolate, which it sounds like you do, your husband should be entitled to some form of statutory leave such as parental leave. You can find some info here, https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/employment/employment_rights_during_covid19_restrictions.html#l428e5

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:24 AM

@COYBIG: I feel for you, I really do. But can’t your husband get groceries on the way home from work? If he’s not living with, can’t someone else? If you’re vulnerable, you shouldn’t be putting yourself at risk, for your own sake and your children’s

Mute Lynn
    Favourite Lynn
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:46 AM

@annmarie: your husband will definitely be able to get time off due to this

Mute annmarie
    Favourite annmarie
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:13 AM

@COYBIG: thank you for the link, that was really helpful

Mute John Cassin
    Favourite John Cassin
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:16 AM

My wife and I feel a lot safer now. We have already been cocooning for the last two weeks. Family gets the shopping for us. You can only catch the virus from someone else so if you isolate and cocoon you should be safe.

Mute Benny McHale
    Favourite Benny McHale
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:02 AM

@John Cassin: So long as the virus isn’t on the shopping

Mute Declan Snow
    Favourite Declan Snow

Look after your elderly relatives and neighbours and anyone who has to stay in. This will be a combined effort to keep us all safe.

Mute Me
    Favourite Me
    Mar 28th 2020, 6:37 AM

Just want to say
    You guys are great supporting each other here in the comments.. Keep it up and stay safe

Mute Oliver Mahon
    Favourite Oliver Mahon
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:57 PM

I am minding my mother with dementia who is 80 , up to now just leaving the house for shopping do I now have to try and get the shopping delivered obviously this is all new to me

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:05 AM

@Oliver Mahon: difficult situation Oliver with caring for an elderly parent but yes it’s best and advised now to avoid all physical contact.

Mute Declan Snow
    Favourite Declan Snow
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:07 AM

@Oliver Mahon: best to do that I’d say Oliver. Keep safe you and your mother.

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:28 AM

@Oliver Mahon: no, you can shop for both of you if you’re not ill. If you are, call someone to help. At worst, call the Gardaí!! A lot of us need help, but more are willing to help, whether it’s medicine or groceries, anyone under 70 and not in the category of ‘vulnerable’ can get these for you.

Mute Oliver Mahon
    Favourite Oliver Mahon
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:46 AM

@Caddyshack: I do that sit six feet away from her at all times , separate bathrooms but I have to cook for her etc and just be there for her impossible situation, as she is not capable of the normal day to day stuff, but still coherent enough in other ways

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:47 AM

@Oliver Mahon: I look after my dad…hes blind and has many of the underlined conditions…he hasn’t been out in public for 2 weeks…we have been spending the time out in his garden. I live 10 minutes from him…I’m taking every possible precaution to keep him well..and look after my own family…I havnt been in contact with anyone…keeping my distance…its very hard and scarey…

Mute RJ
    Favourite RJ
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:41 PM

Could u take “do I have to do it” out of the headline.

Mute RJ
    Favourite RJ
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:05 AM

@RJ: thank you for changing

Mute Cosmological
    Favourite Cosmological
    Mar 28th 2020, 6:29 AM

I’m all for it, at the end I’m turning in to a butterfly and bůggering off.

Mute Edel Mc Nulty
    Favourite Edel Mc Nulty
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:21 AM

Hi. What about a child’s access to the other parent. Do they still go

Mute Marlnor
    Favourite Marlnor
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:48 AM

@Edel Mc Nulty: In the UK they have said that this is allowed during their lockdown

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Favourite Lorraine Mac Rory
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:46 AM

@Edel Mc Nulty: be sensible. if both parents are isolating and neither is vulnerable then they’re is no increased risk by a child going between two isolating households. On the other hand plenty of vulnerable or at risk people and people with symptoms are attempting to isolate from their own children WITHIN houses to avoid spreading this virus. So there may be reasons, perhaps temporary, that it’s not in someone’s medical interest that a child visit.
    It’s important though that children get to maintain relationships and support networks during this time so if there is a reason the child can’t visit a parent then plenty of facetime/ phone calls etc and re- establishment of a normal routine as soon as possible.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:09 AM

How are over 70’s with no kids or support supposed to shop for food ? This is too harsh and not possible . Why not institute an hour where only the over 70’s can go out of the houses and shop while we stay at home ?

With food deliveries taking so many days and those over 70 not using the internet this is a bad measure.

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:18 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: there are volunteers all over the country offering help. They are coordinated by Covid Community Response. There is a phone number on their webpage.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:55 AM

@Sam Rhodes: i know but it makes me uneasy to lock the elderly at home two weeks straight . It would be more humane to give them 2 hours each day in which they can go for their walk and shopping . Loneliness, lack of exercise and sun can be very harmful for the elderly. The sacrifice should be on us to stay home between say 10 and 12 every day . It would be fairer .

Mute Frances Madden
    Favourite Frances Madden
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:42 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: phone A L O N E, a charity,set up to support in this situation. Also, your community nurse. Your priest or church leader should be able to organise. All else fails, call the Garda, (police)
    @Sam Rhodes, Isabel may not be handy withe internet. Why not go the extra mile and include the phone no.

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:16 AM

If you have a touch of another cold/flu, don’t power through it. You don’t want to be fighting a couple of things when you catch this.

Mute Deirdre Mitchell
    Favourite Deirdre Mitchell
    Mar 28th 2020, 6:57 AM

I’m in the vulnerable category. How can I pay for shopping if they don’t want to accept cash and I don’t want to give my card & pin to someone I don’t know?

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:26 AM

@Deirdre Mitchell: you can use Tesco click and collect you can pay by card online and have someone collect it. It’s the only solution I can think of.

Mute Mary Josephine
    Favourite Mary Josephine
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:36 AM

@Deirdre Mitchell: contactless payment? The limit will be €50 from April 1st.

Mute Susan O'flaherty
    Favourite Susan O'flaherty
    Mar 29th 2020, 7:06 PM

@Deirdre Mitchell: although no slots available in my tesco for next 4 weeks

Mute Aoife Leighton
    Favourite Aoife Leighton
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:07 AM

What if you are a Healthcare worker and you fall into one of those categories? Do we not go to work?

Mute Evelyn Crowley
    Favourite Evelyn Crowley
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:20 AM

@Aoife Leighton: See the little clause – *or any essential/key worker advice should be sought from Occupational Health who can give specific advice on individual conditions.https://t.co/8BvWb5ruQg
    So they may be told to go to work.

Mute Nell foran
    Favourite Nell foran
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:10 AM

What do people do who have to cocoon but have no one to help get their groceries etc.
    Who do you contact

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:15 AM

@Nell foran: go to covidcommunityresponse.ie. There’s a number to text and you’ll be put in touch with volunteers in your area

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes

@Nell foran: google Covid Community Resoonse. There’s a website with a number to text and you’ll be put in touch with volunteers in your area

Mute Imagine !
    Favourite Imagine !
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:09 AM

New York is very short on ventilators. If we have any spares we need to fly them over asap. Don’t we make them here? Can we build excess ventilators anyone? We need to build on mass and send them where that are needed. Can we increase the number we make by upscaling production asap? Anyone know anything about ventilators in Ireland?

Mute Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Favourite Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:27 AM

@Imagine !: According to Trump, they are making plenty . So that’s that sorted . Likewise England refused the EU help so must be ok. We will need what we can make here , ICU beds filling fast .

Mute Gary Conroy
    Favourite Gary Conroy
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:53 AM

@Imagine !: we will need every ventilator we can get our hands on and then some….like Italy the time is going to come when nurses and doctors will have to make the choice of who gets the ventilator and who dies. Most countries even western countries are not ready or capable of handling what’s about to come

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:03 AM

@Imagine !: have a look at Open Source ventilators on google. Massive progress being made in and open source cheap ventilator. As regards ventilators in Ireland we make 50% of the worlds total output.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:07 AM

@Bríd Uí Mhaoluala: So you listen to the village idiot from the country that has more live cases on a daily basis and more people dying daily now. Starting a sentence with trump said…… Well it leads to sarcasm at best if not outright abuse. Boris “I shook everybody’s hand” Johnson is another oddball

Mute brendan fitzsimons
    Favourite brendan fitzsimons
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:22 AM

@Gary Kearney:

“Ireland we make 50% of the worlds total output.”

Yes, I’ve read that too…I think the problem is support systems; intubement and other specialist operations need qualified personnel.

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Mar 28th 2020, 6:09 AM

@Imagine !: look up @AaronDHannon on Twitter. He’s designing ventilators for those countries that desperately need them. The design drawings are nearly finished. He has some go fund me page as he wanted to raise money quickly.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:32 AM

@Gary Kearney: We don’t make 50% of the worlds ventilators. Hamilton (America) produce 15,000 annually while a chinese company produces 3000 per month. Medtronic in galway produced 250 per month before the crisis raising to 500 per month now. There are about 5 more major producers around the world so no way we cpuld be producing 50%

Mute Evelyn Crowley
    Favourite Evelyn Crowley
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:16 AM

And are HCW who are vulnerable under the list going to be made work? See the little clause – *or any essential/key worker advice should be sought from Occupational Health who can give specific advice on individual conditions.https://t.co/8BvWb5ruQg

Mute Kevin Murphy
    Favourite Kevin Murphy
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:34 AM

What if your 80 year-old rebellious father says that this is a load of rubbish and he will be going out anyway? How likely is it that the Guards will do anything about it if he goes out regardless?

Mute El_Duderino
    Favourite El_Duderino
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:48 AM

@Kevin Murphy: Maybe do his shopping for him anyway, whether he likes it or not. That will give him 1 less excuse to go out. When/if the situation gets worse and people he knows are on ventilators he might cop on.

Mute Jeanette Dunne
    Favourite Jeanette Dunne
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:57 AM

Having a child with special needs and a partner who works in a supermarket.
    How on earth do I keep her well, what about retail workers, they must be at risk to bringing it back to their families.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:39 PM

I’m on immunosuppressants. How do i know if its “sufficient to significantly increase risk of infection”? Its a bit vague and it’s hard getting anyone to answer the phone. I’m due back in work Monday and I’m panicking a bit if I’m honest.

Mute Donna Hughes
    Favourite Donna Hughes
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:15 PM

@Ben Dunne: same here!

Mute Sarah McGuinness
    Favourite Sarah McGuinness
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:09 AM

I am a Healthcare Worker but also an informal carer for my parents.. anyone know what this would mean for me?

Mute christopher banahan
    Favourite christopher banahan
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:50 AM

My wife has a heart condition and is waiting to have a stent put in . Though is only in her fifties and still works full time in her office at home .Does she fall into the cocooning category ?

Mute Isabel Oliveira

@christopher banahan: if she’s waiting for a stent yes . Please keep her home as much as she can , unless she’s already taking anti coagulants as a precaution while waiting . It depends how severe it is but ring the GP for advice inclusively it may be of benefit for her to walk gently . Ask her GP ASAP.

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:10 AM

Contactless payment with BOI is currently in use:

Mute jp tobin
    Favourite jp tobin
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:03 PM

Big relief, all along it was said that diabetes was in the high risk tocse its not means at least shopping and exercise is still on…

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:35 PM

This exposes a big gap in modernisation: while it’s very hard to get groceries delivered these days, except from someone helping you out, in Ireland it’s not legally permitted to deliver medicines by post at all.

This is anomalous, as most other European countries permit and regulate this. So if you don’t have someone to go to the pharmacy for you, you better not need any prescriptions.

And even you have someone, you could reduce the number of people going to pharmacies, waiting in queues etc., if this were in place.

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:12 AM

That means you can pay up to €50 contactless with BOI.
    I don’t know about the other banks.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Mar 29th 2020, 12:14 AM

The in laws are over 70and can’t get internet delivery as all the slots are booked for weeks

Mute Frances Madden
    Favourite Frances Madden
    Mar 29th 2020, 9:14 AM

@ed w:
    You get the list and do the booking a nd the delivery is made by Tesco to them

Mute Dean Conway
    Favourite Dean Conway
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:57 AM

My partner is being forced to work and should be cocooning – Does anyone know if this is legal .?? Thanks

Mute Frances Madden
    Favourite Frances Madden
    Mar 29th 2020, 5:54 AM

@Ed W Couple of things you could do. If you get up at around 5 am with the order ready to go, you may get a slot. . Bear in mind it will be about 2-3 weeks ahead. Do this every week. You can make changes neared to the time

Mute Frances Madden
    Favourite Frances Madden
    Mar 29th 2020, 9:17 AM

@Ed W : Couple of things you could do. If you get up at around 5 am with the order ready to go, you may get a slot. . Bear in mind it will be about 2-3 weeks ahead. Do this every week. You can make changes neared to the time